Brussels World Fair 1935

Theme of transport and colonization

April 27, 1935 - November 6, 1935


Back - List of Pavilions

Water and Forestry

Water and Forestry at the Exhibition Brussels 1935

© E. Sergysels

Architect(s) : Henry Profiter

Erected at the corner of Avenue Astrid and Avenue des Frondaisons, behind a clump of beautiful poplars, the Pavillon des Eaux et Forêts (architect Henry Profiter), comprised three large divisions: the official participation of the Ministry of Agriculture, Hunting and Fishing. The Pavilion was built entirely of Belgian wood: the exterior facades were made of elm "bastaings", the roof of split larch shingles, the panelling and the ceilings of spruce, plane tree, ash and francpicard.

In the foreground, a rotunda 11 metres in diameter housed a series of aquariums populated by the collections of Belgian fish farmers. This exhibition extended along the entrance hall. Ingeniously illuminated, it allowed the various species of the country's aquatic fauna to evolve freely.

Stands were devoted to fishing gear, equipment and breeding material.

From this hallway, a large bay gave access to the Hunting Hall where, under glass cases, the renowned products of the national armoury were displayed. The room was decorated all around with hunting trophies and was completed by a diorama showing "The Duck Hunt" by the painter De Kat.

Thanks to the cooperation of the hunters, the most beautiful pieces of hunting pictures were brought together here. In the category of "Brocades", two of the exhibits represented records for Belgium: the one for height with 32 cm. 1/2, and the one for strangeness with a 14-pointed one.

These splendid trophies testify to the results obtained thanks to the rational measures adopted by the masters of Vénerie. We now shoot with bullets; on the other hand, the improvement of food in all its forms, the regeneration of game by the introduction of new blood, the constitution of large reserves, have considerably enriched our game stock.

Entomology, grains, mushrooms, etc., were also represented in this room.

A low passageway separated it from the one reserved for the participation of the Ministry of Agriculture. At the intersection of the two wings, the reconstruction of a corner of the Ardennes forest, with its particular fauna and flora, showed the visitor most of our game animals, as well as their most dangerous enemies. The animals were classified under three headings:
1) the Belgian forest fauna: stag, wild boar, wild boar, pheasant, rabbit, partridge, woodcock, roe deer, capercaillie, hare, ermine, polecat, ferret, badger, fox, blackbird, black-headed warbler, greenfinch
2) Enemies of game: otter, hobo, long-eared owl, owl, roe deer, falcon, merlin, cuckoo, grey hawk, common buzzard, common kestrel, peregrine falcon, common sparrowhawk, wildcat, weasel, marten, polecat, badger, fox, weasel, squirrel, magpie, jay;
3) the enemies of fish: grey heron, white stork, otter, kite, oystercatcher, coot, crane, moorhen, avocet, polecat, kingfisher, redshank, spotted redshank, redshank, henbane, common buzzard, common crow, marsh buzzard, cormorant, red kite, bittern, red godwit, black-headed gull, water blackbird.

Charts indicated the forest wealth of each province; specimens of our various wood species, suggestive documentation on the fight against tree diseases, and a series of display cases devoted to insect pests made this pavilion a particularly instructive centre.

The most recent forestry statistics, those of 1930, indicate that our forests have a total surface area of 21,000 hectares, of which 39,380 hectares are full deciduous forest, including the Soignes forest and those of the Ardennes; 82,410 hectares of coppice under forest; 99,420 hectares of coniferous forest, scattered in clumps of varying size from the Dunes to the top of the Hautes-Fagnes; 590 hectares of seedlings and deciduous plants; 39,200 hectares of simple coppice situated in the Basses et Moyennes Ardennes.

Without including the massifs of the annexed country, the area under coniferous trees increased by some 20,000 hectares between 1910 and 1930; it had increased from 30,130 hectares in 1895 to 55,490 hectares in 1910.

The Ministry of Agriculture has, since 1885, afforested large tracts of uncultivated land abandoned by users, enlarged the forest area, and enriched the forest by increasing the number and size of trees.

The Administration of Water and Forests has created 13 forestry inspectorates sharing 46 cantonnements, divided into a varied number of brigades, each comprising several triages.

The total number of forestry officers is approximately 750. These jobs are given to those who have obtained a certificate of competence in forestry. Inspectors, deputy directors and general guards must hold a diploma in agricultural or agronomic engineering issued by the Institutes of Gembloux, Leuven and Ghent.

This Administration is also responsible for the general management of hunting and river affairs, and for the supervision of fishing. It has often already provided for the stocking of young fish in the rivers. It has also organised a consultancy service for private individuals in all matters relating to forestry, as well as a special service for scientific experiments in forestry.
* * *
The Water and Forest Pavilion was inaugurated on 23 May by Mr. De Schrijver, Minister of Agriculture, who was received by Mr. Charles Terlinden, president of the group.
In response to his welcome address, the Minister expressed his admiration for the magnificent ensemble created in this Pavilion, which gave a complete overview of the fauna of our forests and plains, in a very appropriate setting.

© Le Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles 1935

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Eaux et Forêts


Eaux et Forêts à l'exposition de Bruxelles 1935

© E. Sergysels
Architecte(s) : Henry Profiter

Erigé à l'angle des Avenue Astrid et des Frondaisons, derrière un massif de beaux peupliers, le Pavillon des Eaux et Forêts (architecte Henry Profiter), comprenait trois grandes divisions : la participation officielle du Ministère de l'Agriculture, la Chasse et la Pêche. Le Pavillon était construit entièrement en bois belges : les façades extérieures en « bastaings » d'orme, la couverture en bardeaux de mélèze refendus, 4es lambris et les plafonds en épicéa, platane, frêne, francpicard.

A l'avant-plan, une rotonde de 11 mètres de diamètre abritait une série d'aquariums peuplés par les collections des pisciculteurs belges. Cette exposition se prolongeait le long du vestibule d'entrée. Ingénieusement illuminée, elle permettait de voir évoluer librement les diverses espèces de la faune aquatique du pays.

Des stands étaient consacrés aux engins de pêche, aux appareils, au matériel d'élevage.

De ce vestibule, une large baie donnait accès à la salle de la Chasse où, sous des vitrines, étaient exposés les produits réputés de l'armurerie nationale. Garnie sur tout son pourtour de trophées de chasse, cette salle était complétée par un diorama représentant « La Chasse aux Canards », du peintre De Kat.

Grâce à la collaboration des chasseurs, les , plus belles pièces de tableaux de chasse s'y trouvaient réunies. Dans la catégorie des « Brocarts », deux des pièces exposées représentaient des records à l'actif de la Belgique : celui de la hauteur avec 32 cm. 1/2, celui de la bizarrerie avec un 14 pointes.

Ces splendides trophées témoignent des résultats obtenus, grâce aux mesures rationnelles adoptées par les maîtres de Vénerie. On tire à présent à balles; d'autre part, l'amélioration de la nourriture sous toutes ses formes, la régénération du gibier par l'introduction de sang nouveau, la constitution de grandes réserves, ont considérablement enrichi notre cheptel giboyeux.

L'entomologie, les grains, les champignons, etc., étaient également représentés dans cette salle.

Un passage surbaissé la séparait de celle réservée à la participation du Ministère de l'Agriculture. A l'intersection des deux ailes, la reconstitution d'un coin de forêt ardennaise, avec sa faune et sa flore particulière, montrait au visiteur la plupart de nos animaux-gibiers, ainsi que leurs ennemis les plus dangereux. Les animaux étaient classés sous trois rubriques :
1) la faune forestière belge : cerf, sanglier, marcassin, faisan, lapin, perdrix, gelinotte, bécasse, chevreuil, coq de bruyère, lièvre, hermine, putois, furet, blaireau, renard, merle noir, fauvette à tête noire, verdier;
2) les ennemis du gibier : loutre, hobereau, hibou moyen, duc, cheviche, faucon, émerillon, coucou, buse cendrée, buse pas-su e, crécerelle des clochers, faucon pèlerin, épervier commun, buse vulgaire, chat sauvage, fouine, hermine, martre, putois, blaireau, renard, belette, écureuil, pie, geai;
3) les ennemis du poisson : héron cendré, cigogne blanche, loutre, milouin, huitrier, foulque, grue, poule d'eau, avocette, putois, martin-pêcheur, chevalier gambette, chevalier pointillé, chevalier sylvain, buzard Saint-Martin, corneille mantelée, buzard des marais, cormoran, milan royal, butor étoile, barge rousse, mouette rieuse, merle d'eau.

Des graphiques indiquaient les richesses forestières de chaque province; des spécimens de nos diverses espèces de bois, une documentation suggestive sur la lutte contre les maladies des arbres, une série de vitrines consacrées aux insectes nuisibles faisaient de ce pavillon un centre particulièrement instructif.

La plus récente statistique forestière, celle de 1930, indique que nos forêts ont une superficie totale de 21,000 Ha, dont 39,380 Ha de futaie pleine feuillue comprenant la forêt de Soignes et celles des Ardennes; 82,410 Ha de taillis sous futaie; 99,420 Ha de futaie résineuse, disséminée en massifs d'étendues variables depuis les Dunes jusqu'au sommet des Hautes-Fagnes; 590 Ha de semis et plantes feuillues, 39,200 Ha de taillis simples situés dans les Basses et Moyennes Ardennes.

Sans y comprendre, les massifs du pays annexé, l'étendue résineuse a augmenté de quelque 20,000 Ha de 1910 à 1930; elle a d'ailleurs passé de 30,130 Ha en 1895 à 55,490 Ha en 1910.

Le Ministère de l'Agriculture a, depuis 1885, boisé de grandes étendues de terrains incultes délaissés par les usagers, agrandi l'aire forestière, enrichi la forêt en augmentant le nombre et les dimensions des arbres.

L'Administration des Eaux et Forêts a créé 13 inspections forestières se partageant 46 cantonnements, répartis en un nombre varié de brigades qui comprennent chacune plusieurs triages.

L'ensemble des agents forestiers comporte environ 750 préposés. Ces emplois sont conférés à ceux qui ont obtenu un certificat de capacité en sylviculture. Les Inspecteurs, sous-directeurs et gardes généraux doivent être porteurs du diplôme d'ingénieur agricole ou agronome délivré par les Instituts de Gembloux, Louvain et Gand.

Cette Administration possède également la gestion générale des affaires de chasse et celle des rivières,- la surveillance de la pêche lui appartient. Souvent déjà, elle a pourvu au peuplement des rivières en jeunes poissons. Elle a organisé en outre un service de consultations aux particuliers pour tout ce qui relève de la sylviculture, ainsi qu'un service spécial des expériences scientifiques en matière forestière.
* * *
Le Pavillon des Eaux et Forêts fut inauguré le 23 mai par M. De Schrijver, ministre de l'Agriculture, qui fut reçu par M. Charles Terlinden, président du groupe.
En réponse à son allocution de bienvenue, le Ministre exprima son admiration pour le magnifique ensemble réalisé dans ce Pavillon, et qui donnait un aperçu complet de la faune de nos forêts et de nos plaines, dans un cadre tout à fait approprié.

© Le Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles 1935