Brussels World Fair 1935

Theme of transport and colonization

April 27, 1935 - November 6, 1935


Back - List of Pavilions

Graphic Arts

Graphic Arts at the Exhibition Expo Brussels 1935

© E. Sergysels

Architect(s) : F. Petit

In the immediate vicinity of the Pavillon des Arts Décoratifs stood the Pavillon des Arts Graphiques, which housed the general instruments and processes of the arts, sciences and literature. With a surface area of approximately 2000 m2, its height was proportionate to the objects on display, whose limited dimensions required an intimate setting. It was designed by the architect Fernand Petit; the frescoes and stained glass windows in the halls were based on cartoons by the painter Armand Paulis; the sculptor Bernard Callie created two allegorical figures for the garden: "Inspiration" and "Thought".

The different classes were divided as follows: a first group was composed of paper, as a vehicle for the manifestations of the Arts and Sciences; printing; bookselling; photography and its industrial applications. It occupied two large halls accessible from Astrid Avenue through two circular entrances, the sides of which were reserved for the Press; between these two halls, the office instruments class occupied the centre of the upper part of the pavilion, the sloping ground having ordered the arrangement in three levels.

For each of these classes, the most modern equipment and the most sophisticated accessories illustrated the progress made by national industry. Typographic and lithographic work, photomechanics, rotogravure and bookbinding attracted attention. The Salon de la Presse Belge, meticulously arranged, showed the public the leading role played by our press in the economic life of the country. There was also eloquent documentation on the resistance to the occupying forces during the war and issues of the first newspapers published after the armistice. An interesting collection of foil cutters, photographs of the founders of the General Association of the Belgian Press and a series of illustrated documents on the history of the dynasty completed this attractive exhibition.

The Book Section, in which the main Belgian publishing houses were represented, included a very rich and varied collection: school books, atlases, picture books, artistically bound books, books for everyday use; semi-luxury and luxury editions, missals and prayer books, all different aspects of publishing, both French and Flemish.

On the middle floor were the precision instruments and surgery sections, grouped around a rotunda containing the gondola of the aerostat in which Messrs Piccard and Cosyns made their journey into the mysterious regions of the stratosphere.

The lower landing was given over to the exhibition of coins and medals, where working machines struck artistic tokens commemorating the Exhibition and 50 franc coins.

A covered gallery ran the length of the building, surrounding a picturesque green grove.

The whole of this Pavilion allowed visitors to appreciate the importance of publishing in our country, whose origins go back a long way; for if Gutenberg is the inventor of the printing typeface, Belgium, through its illustrious children Thierry Martens of Aalst and Jean Britto of Bruges, can claim a large share in the first dissemination of thought through the printed book, the successor to the handwritten book.

"The art and craft of printing achieved a high reputation in the old Netherlands during the 16th and 17th centuries, to which the glory of Christopher Plantin and his emulators is the most striking testimony.

In the 19th century, publishing in Belgium experienced a period of great prosperity.

The absence of international copyright regulations made it perfectly legal to reproduce works of the mind without the author's permission: counterfeiting of the works of French authors made the fortune of Belgian printers and publishers from 1815 to 1845.

After this period, the book industry had to adapt to new conditions: printing, working for export, developed to the detriment of publishing.

In 1840, 760 new works were published in Belgium. In 1880, this figure reached 1176, and in 1913, 3,245.

Then came the war period, when production was almost nil. In 1919, a recovery was felt with 2302 works. Since then, this figure has remained more or less constant.

When in 1880 the "Bibliographie Nationale" drew up an inventory of our intellectual production during the first half-century of our independence, it noted 80,000 titles. After that date and especially from 1900 to 1914, production increased: 72,926 titles were noted for the period 1881 to 1914.

Without neglecting any technical progress, our printing works have never abandoned the search for quality, and a whole school of talented illustrators has provided national publishing with remarkable works.

Modern illustration processes are infinitely varied: heliogravure, offset, letterpress, watercolour inks, all different working methods that have given illustration a prodigious development.

As for the Belgian press, its traditions are no less ancient and the role it has played in national activity no less considerable.

In 1457, the first printers in Mainz and Strasbourg published the important news of the war against the Turks on loose sheets. In 1563 the "Notizie Seritte" published in Venice were paid for with a "gazetta", a Venetian coin, hence the name "gazette", which extended to all newspapers.

In 1619, Abraham Verhoeven of Antwerp published his "Antwerpsche Tijdingen" almost regularly.

In France, the first newspaper was the "Mercure français", which existed from 1644 to 1825; then came the "Gazette de France", founded in 1672 by Théophraste Renaudot.

In Belgium "De Gazet van Gent" still appears daily and has been in existence for 266 years.


BELGIAN PRESS.

The General Association of the Belgian Press is the moral, organic and duly qualified representation of the country's daily press. Five regional sections ensure its influence in the nine provinces. A sixth section, the Union de la Presse Etrangère (Union of Foreign Press), brings together all professional journalists, correspondents of the major newspapers of the two continents.

In order to ensure the civil existence of these organisations and to defend the professional and social interests of the members of the organisation, a professional Union of the Belgian Press has been set up, which owns a Press House, manages the Unemployment Fund, the joint purchasing office, publishes the professional periodical bulletin "Le Journaliste", as well as the Directory of the Belgian Press.

In close collaboration with the Belgian Press Association, the owners, directors and publishers of newspapers have formed the Entente des Directeurs de journaux de Bruxelles and the Fédération des Directeurs des journaux de province.

While maintaining close friendly relations, journalists are also grouped according to their political affinities: the Association of Catholic Journalists, the Association of Liberal Journalists and the Union of Socialist Journalists.

Finally, we should mention the solidarity and mutual aid organisations; the conciliation and disciplinary council; the Institute for Journalists with its permanent courses and the various specialised groups acting under the aegis of the General Association.


PHOTOGRAPHY.

The photographic industry came into being around 1880. Before that time photographers had to prepare their own plates and paper, and it was not until long afterwards that they abandoned this technique in favour of the gelatino-bromide emulsion.

The war, by creating new applications for photography, allowed it to flourish: the manufacture of fast emulsions; panchromatic emulsions; emulsions sensitized to infrared radiation; advances in microphotography and aerial and astronomical photography; the development of radiography, all of which are diverse aspects of the activity of this industry.

At the same time, it created a range of papers to meet the most stringent requirements: papers of different shades, tinted supports; papers for the reproduction of documents; papers for the recording of oscillations (used in electrocardiography); radiographic papers, reversible papers, etc.

The use of precision equipment for testing emulsions and the raw materials used in their composition quickly became widespread. The sensitometer and the spectrograph, previously reserved for research laboratories, were definitively introduced into control laboratories. The stalagmometer (apparatus for measuring surface tension), the ionometer, the microscope and several other precision devices rendered and still render invaluable services every day.

The photographic industry has thus resolutely embarked on the path of rational techniques whose field of application continues to expand.

© Le Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles 1935

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Arts Graphiques


Arts Graphiques à l'exposition de Bruxelles 1935

© E. Sergysels
Architecte(s) : F. Petit

A proximité immédiate du Pavillon des Arts décoratifs s'élevait le Pavillon des Arts graphiques, où se trouvaient réunis les instruments et procédés généraux des lettres, des sciences et des arts. D'une superficie de 2000 m2 environ, sa hauteur était proportionnée aux objets exposés, dont les dimensions restreintes exigeaient un cadre intime. Il était l'œuvre de l'architecte Fernand Petit; les fresques et les vitraux des halls avaient été réalisés d'après les cartons du peintre Armand Paulis; le sculpteur Bernard Callie avait exécuté pour le jardin deux figures allégoriques : « l'Inspiration » et « la Pensée ».

Les différentes classes se répartissaient de la manière suivante : un premier groupe se composait du papier, en tant que véhicule des manifestations des Arts et des Sciences; de l'imprimerie; de la librairie; de la photographie et de ses applications industrielles. Il occupait deux grands halls accessibles de l'Avenue Astrid par deux entrées circulaires dont les bas-côtés étaient réservés à la Presse; entre ces deux halls, la classe des instruments de bureau occupait le centre de la partie haute du pavillon, le terrain déclive ayant commandé la disposition en trois paliers.

Pour chacune de ces classes, les appareils les plus modernes, les accessoires les plus perfectionnés illustraient les progrès réalisés par l'industrie nationale. Les travaux typographiques et lithographiques; la photo-mécanique, l'héliogravure, la reliure y attiraient l'attention. Le Salon de la Presse belge, minutieusement ordonné, montrait au public le rôle de premier plan joué par notre presse dans la vie économique du pays. On y trouvait également une documentation éloquente relative à la résistance à l'occupant, durant la guerre et des numéros des premiers journaux parus au lendemain de l'armistice. Une intéressante collection de coupe-file, les photographies des fondateurs de l'Association Générale de la Presse belge, une série de documents illustrés sur l'histoire de la dynastie, complétaient cette attrayante exposition.

La Section du Livre, dans laquelle étaient représentées les principales maisons d'édition de Belgique, comportait une collection très riche et très variée : livres scolaires, atlas, livres d'images, livres artistiquement reliés, livres d'usage courant ; éditions de demi-luxe et de luxe, missels et livres de prières, autant d'aspects différents de l'édition, tant française que flamande.

Au palier intermédiaire voisinaient la classe des instruments de précision et celle de la chirurgie, groupées autour d'une rotonde où se trouvait la nacelle de l'aérostat, à bord duquel MM. Piccard et Cosyns accomplirent leur voyage dans les régions mystérieuses de la stratosphère.

Le palier inférieur était affecté à l'exposition de la monnaie et des médailles ; des machines en activité y frappaient des jetons artistiques commémorant l'Exposition et des pièces de 50 francs.

Une galerie couverte courait le long du bâtiment, entourant un bosquet de verdure aux aspects pittoresques.

L'ensemble de ce Pavillon permettait aux visiteurs de se rendre compte de l'importance de l'édition dans notre pays, dont les origines remontent très haut dans le passé ; car si Gutenberg est l'inventeur du caractère d'imprimerie, la Belgique, par ses illustres enfants Thierry Martens d'Alost et Jean Britto de Bruges, peut revendiquer une grande part dans la première diffusion de la pensée par le livre imprimé, successeur du livre manuscrit.

« L'Art et le faict d'imprimerie » ont atteint dans les anciens Pays-Bas, durant le XVIe et le XVIIe siècle, une haute réputation, dont la gloire de Christophe Plantin et de ses émules est le témoignage le plus éclatant.

C'est au XIXe siècle que l'édition connut en Belgique une période d'éclatante prospérité.

L'absence de réglementation internationale des droits d'auteurs rendait parfaitement licite la reproduction des œuvres de l'esprit sans l'autorisation de l'auteur : aussi, la contrefaçon des œuvres des auteurs français fit-elle la fortune des imprimeurs et éditeurs belges de 1815 à 1845.

Après cette époque, les industries du Livre durent s'adapter à des conditions nouvelles : l'imprimerie, travaillant pour l'exportation, se développa au détriment de l'édition.

En 1840, 760 ouvrages nouveaux sont publiés en Belgique. Ce chiffre atteint en 1880, 1176, en 1913, 3,245.

Puis c'est la période de guerre où la production est à peu près nulle. En 1919, la reprise se fait sentir avec 2302 ouvrages. Depuis lors, ce chiffre reste à peu près constant.

Lorsqu'en 1880, la « Bibliographie Nationale » dressa un inventaire de notre production intellectuelle pendant le premier demi-siècle de notre indépendance, elle releva 80.000 titres. Après cette date et surtout de 1900 à 1914, la production augmenta : on nota 72.926 titres pour la période 1881 à 1914.

Sans rien négliger des progrès techniques, notre imprimerie ne s'est jamais départie de la recherche de la qualité ; et toute une Ecole d'illustrateurs, riche en talent, a doté l'édition nationale d'œuvres remarquables.

Les procédés modernes d'illustration sont d'une infinie variété : héliogravure, offset, typo-hélio, procédé utilisant les encres aquarelles, autant de méthodes de travail différentes qui ont donné à l'illustration un développement prodigieux.

Quant à la presse belge, ses traditions ne sont pas moins anciennes ni moins considérable le rôle qu'elle a joué dans l'activité nationale.

C'est en 1457 que les premiers imprimeurs de Mayence et de Strasbourg publièrent sur feuilles volantes les nouvelles importantes de la guerre contre les Turcs. En 1563 les « Notizie Seritte » publiées à Venise se payaient une « gazetta », pièce de monnaie vénitienne, d'où le nom de gazette qui s'étendit à tous les journaux.

En 1619, Abraham Verhoeven, d'Anvers publia quasi régulièrement ses « Antwerpsche Tijdingen ».

En France le premier journal fut le « Mercure français » qui vécut de 1644 à 1825; vint ensuite la « Gazette de France » fondée en 1672 par Théophraste Renaudot.

En Belgique « De Gazet van Gent » paraissant encore quotidiennement, compte aujourd'hui 266 années d'existence.


PRESSE BELGE.

L'Association Générale de la Presse belge est la représentation morale, organique et dûment qualifiée de la Presse quotidienne du pays. Cinq sections régionales assurent son rayonnement dans les neuf provinces. Une 6ième section, l'Union de la Presse Etrangère, réunit tous les journalistes de métier, correspondants des grands journaux des deux continents.

Pour assurer l'existence civile de ces organismes, pour servir la défense des intérêts professionnels et sociaux des membres de l'organisation, il a été constitué une Union professionnelle de la Presse belge, qui possède une maison de la Presse, gère le Fonds de Chômage, l'économat des achats en commun, édite le bulletin professionnel périodique « Le Journaliste », ainsi que l'Annuaire de la Presse belge.

Les propriétaires, directeurs et éditeurs de journaux ont constitué, en collaboration intime avec l'Association de la Presse belge, l'Entente des Directeurs de journaux de Bruxelles et la Fédération des Directeurs des journaux de province.

Tout en entretenant des relations étroites d'amitié, les journalistes sont groupés aussi selon leurs affinités politiques : Association des Journalistes catholiques; Association des Journalistes libéraux et Syndicat des Journalistes socialistes.

Signalons enfin les œuvres de solidarité et d'entraide; le conseil de conciliation et de discipline; l'Institut pour journalistes avec ses cours permanents et les divers groupements de spécialisation agissant sous l'égide de l'Association Générale.


LA PHOTOGRAPHIE.

L'industrie photographique prit naissance vers 1880. Avant cette époque les photographes devaient préparer eux-mêmes leurs plaques et leurs papier et ce n'est que longtemps après qu'ils abandonnèrent cette technique pour adopter l'émulsion au gélatino-bromure.

La guerre, en créant de nouvelles applications de .la photographie permit à celle-ci de prendre son plein épanouissement : la fabrication d'émulsions rapides; d'émulsions panchromatiques; d'émulsions sensibilisées aux radiations infra-rouge; les progrès de la microphotographie et de la photographie aérienne et astronomique; le développement de la radiographie, autant d'aspects divers de l'activité de cette industrie.

Parallèlement, elle créa un assortiment de papiers répondant aux exigences les plus rigoureuses : papiers de tons différents, supports teintés; papiers pour la reproduction de documents; pour l'enregistrement d'oscillations (employés en électrocardiographie); papiers radiographiques, inversibles, etc.

L'usage des appareils de précision pour l'essai des émulsions et des matières premières entrant dans leur composition, se généralisa rapidement. Le sensitomètre, le spectrographe, réservés auparavant aux laboratoires de recherches, furent introduits définitivement dans les laboratoires de contrôle. Le stalagmomètre (appareil pour mesurer la tension superficielle); l'ionomètre, le microscope et plusieurs autres appareils de précision rendirent et rendent encore chaque jour d'inappréciables services.

L'industrie photographique s'est ainsi résolument engagée dans la voie des techniques rationnelles dont le champ d'application ne cesse de s'étendre.

© Le Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles 1935