World Expo 2010 Shanghai - Expo 2010

Better city, better life

May 1, 2010 - October 31, 2010


Back - List of Pavilions

"Trace" pavilion

© Remko Tanis

This pavilion, located in Zone D, combines traditional and modern exhibition facilities. According to the chronology of urban development, the exhibition is divided into three halls - "Origin", "Development" and "Wisdom" - to gradually show the origin of the birth of cities and their development, their humanistic and transformative logic, and their wisdom focused on innovation and harmony.

- The "Origin" room shows cities at the beginning of the agricultural age, as well as the origins of the birth of the city and its elements, the urban embryos in the Yellow River and Yangtze River basins, the first beliefs of human beings and the protective genius of cities, as well as the evolution of Greek cities.

- The "Development" room shows mature cities such as Florence, Amsterdam, Byzantium, Istanbul, as well as the streets of the Song Dynasty in China and the Edo period in Japan. This area also displays the progress of urban development in Tibet and the Imperial Palace - a symbol of the ancient Chinese capital.

- The "Wisdom" room presents cities from the industrial revolution. The "Chaplin and the Machine" zone shows the "double-edged" effect of industrialisation on urban life; New York and London are used as examples to illustrate the urban wisdom of innovation; a variety of old Chinese buildings express the cultural fusion that took place through the Beijing-Hangzhou Grand Canal; a comparison between the Shikumen of yesterday and today through comics shows the transformation of Shanghai.

©Official Guide - Expo 2010 Shanghai China

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Pavillon "Trace"


Pavillon

© Remko Tanis

Ce pavillon, situé dans la zone D, combine des moyens d'exposition traditionnels et modernes. Selon la chronologie du développement urbain, l'exposition est répartie dans trois salles — «Origine», «Développement» et «Sagesse» — pour montrer graduellement l'origine de la naissance des villes et leur développement, leur logique humaniste et transformatrice ainsi que leur sagesse axée sur l'innovation et l'harmonie.

- La salle «Origine» expose les villes au début de l'âge agricole, ainsi que les origines de la naissance de la ville et ses éléments, les embryons urbains dans les bassins du Fleuve Jaune et du Yangtsé, les premières croyances des êtres humains et le génie protecteur des villes, ainsi que l'évolution des cités grecques.

- La salle «Développement» montre des villes d'âge mûr telles que Florence, Amsterdam, Byzance, Istanbul, ainsi que les rues de la dynastie Song de Chine et de l'époque d'Edo au Japon. Dans cette zone sont aussi exposés les progrès du développement urbain au Tibet et le Palais impérial -symbole de l'ancienne capitale chinoise.

- La salle «Sagesse» présente des villes datant de la révolution industrielle. La zone «Chaplin et la machine» montre l'effet à «double tranchant» de l'industrialisation sur la vie urbaine; New York et Londres servent d'exemples pour illustrer la sagesse urbaine de l'innovation; une variété d'anciennes constructions chinoises expriment la fusion culturelle qui s'est produite par le biais du Grand Canal Pékin-Hangzhou; une comparaison entre les Shikumen d'hier et d'aujourd'hui à travers la bande dessinée montre la transformation de la ville de Shanghai.

©Official Guide - Expo 2010 Shanghai China