World Expo 2010 Shanghai - Expo 2010

Better city, better life

May 1, 2010 - October 31, 2010


Back - List of Pavilions

Central and South America

Central and South America at the Exhibition Shanghai 2010

© Duan Kaiyao

The Central and South American pavilion consists of Bolivia, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay and Uruguay.


Bolivia Pavilion

Films, interactive multimedia videos, exhibits and images interpret the idea of the good life of Bolivians: luxury and purity are both the essence of nature and life, their symbiosis and contrast unfolding the plurality of our world. The pavilion is composed of the following areas:
"History", "Nature", "Circular screen corridor", "Trade" and "Culture".

- History" presents the historical themes of Bolivia through three touch screens.

- Nature" shows you the ecological environment of the country through artificial landscapes and multimedia.

- The circular screen will show the thematic film "I lend you the Earth".


Costa Rica Pavilion

Located at the cultural meeting point between the Central and South American continents, Costa Rica possesses not only cultural diversity but also natural harmony.

By developing its tourism, trade, economy and society, it maintains a good ecological balance. The Pavilion has taken as design elements stone balls that represent the particular culture of the first aborigines. Peace, industrial investment, education and the environment will be the four main themes of the exhibition.

- Taste local specialities, including coffee, while enjoying the art of coffee making inside the pavilion.

- A variety of cultural activities, modern music concert, art exhibition, cocktail etc.


Dominican Republic Pavilion

Surrounded by the Caribbean Sea, the Dominican Republic is a tourist destination with over 100 holiday villages. The pavilion presents the development of tourism and civilization in the country as well as the efforts made to contribute to the economy and the creation of techniques, reinforcing the link between urbanization and the enhancement of the life of the inhabitants and advocating an original and intelligent tropical lifestyle.

- The pavilion has a western style.

- The photos and the documentary film give you the opportunity to get to know this country from different angles.


Ecuador pavilion

The pavilion, with its eastern dome, consists of the exhibition areas of "the centre of the world", "the islands", "the sea coast", "the Amazon" and "the Andes", which represent the geographical characteristics of Ecuador and show its charm based on the original diversity of its geography, nature, biology and culture.

- In the area of the islands, visitors can, with the help of a telescope, see the volcanoes of the Galapagos Islands, special species such as turtles, flamingos and lizards.

- The 360° circular screen cinema shows you the joyful and colourful Ecuador.

- You can participate in folkloric games to experience Ecuadorian joy.


El Salvador Pavilion

The pavilion has been given a primitive style, a "burning volcano" stands in the middle of the pavilion, this is the biggest feature of the "volcano country".

Demonstrations of the "volcano", sales of coffee and art objects, LED video area etc., show you the volcanic geography, an ancient culture and the efforts of the Salvadorans to lead a better life, while taking advantage of their rich thermal and water resources.

- In the "volcano" area, a huge "volcano" supported by steel structures, the scene of the erupting volcano mouth is presented with the effects of membrane structures and chandeliers.

- Handicrafts, porcelains, textiles etc., a demonstration of a simple way of life inherited from the very ancient Maya culture.

- Inside the "Volcano", visitors can taste and buy high quality coffee grown in the volcano soil of El Salvador.


Guatemala Pavilion

Visitors can learn more about the diversity of Guatemalan civilisation, modern city management and research into the future way of life, through the exhibition based on the long history of this country. The recently recovered Mirador pyramid will also be presented on this occasion.

- The dances show the evolution and development of folk art.

- Visitors are invited to taste cocoa, coffee, sweets and wine which play a very important role in the history, daily life and trade of the country.


Honduras Pavilion

The Honduran town of Copan in northern Central America is world famous for its Mayan ruins, which were one of the religious and political centres of the ancient Maya and the site of the oldest and largest ruins in the Mayan civilisation. The pavilion is concise and atmospheric, the Mayan culture of the Copan ruins site are the main design elements: two rock columns at the stone door with human head figures
The pavilion is concise and atmospheric, the Mayan culture of the Copan ruins site are the main design elements: two rock columns at the stone door with human heads from the Copan ruins site, an imitation of the red Mayan shrine in the centre of the pavilion, with attractive veins and high-relief.

- The interior floor of the pavilion is divided into green and blue, signifying that Honduras is a country by the sea.

- Visitors will be able to learn more about this beautiful country with the photos of Honduran customs and costumes on the interior wall of the pavilion, highlighted by palm trees.


Nicaragua pavilion

The particular landscapes of lakes and volcanoes give an ancient and mysterious colour to this country. The scene surrounded by watercourse looks like an island covered with grass. The presentation tells about the love to the present life of Nicaraguans wishing to create a new century after having suffered a long time of social upheaval.

- The water screen wall shows you a beautiful landscape of the waterfall.

- Music, culture, traditional dance and handicrafts make you experience the enthusiasm and hospitality of the Nicaraguans.


Panama Pavilion

The blue and green coloured pavilion is based on the model of the Panama Canal to show you a modernised city. You can admire the landscapes along the canal, learn about Panama's efforts to build a better city.

- Manufactured according to the transformed canal, the model can simulate the opening of ship gates.

- The water screen wall depicts the real operation of the Panama Canal, whose mission is to connect the Atlantic Ocean to the Pacific Ocean.

- In the LED area a video is projected on the current circumstances and local customs of Panama.


Uruguay Pavilion

Arranged as a city centre square, the pavilion combines metropolitan life with attractive landscapes. Typical art objects, photos and videos reflect the successful building of a modern city, a comfortable environment and a quality life provided by the national education of Uruguayans who are constantly pursuing the sustainable development of the economy and human sciences.

- The exhibition shows Uruguay's progress in various fields, such as the universalization of innovative science and technology, the Internet and telecommunications, the construction of advanced logistic infrastructure, education, the energy matrix, economic growth and social justice.

- Uruguayan artists are ready to show you local performances.

- Visitors can rest on site.

©Official Guide - Expo 2010 Shanghai China

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Amérique Centrale et Amérique du Sud


Amérique Centrale et Amérique du Sud à l'exposition de Shanghai 2010

© Duan Kaiyao

Le pavillon d'Amérique Centrale et du Sud se compose de la Bolivie, du Costa Rica, de la République dominicaine, de l'Equateur, d'EI Salvador, du Guatemala, du Honduras, du Nicaragua, du Panama, du Paraguay et de l'Uruguay.


Pavillon de Bolivie

Les films, les vidéos multimédias interactives, les objets exposés et les images interprètent l'idée d'une belle vie des Boliviens: le luxe et la pureté sont tous les deux l'essence de la nature et de la vie, leur symbiose et contraste déroule de la pluralité de notre monde. Le pavillon est composé des espaces suivants:
«Histoire», «Nature», «couloir à écran circulaire», «Commerce» et «Culture».

- «Histoire» vous présente les thèmes historiques de la Bolivie à l'aide de trois écrans tactiles.

- «Nature» vous montre l'environnement écologique du pays à travers les paysages artificiels et les multimédias.

- L'écran circulaire projettera le film thématique «Je te prête la Terre».


Pavillon du Costa Rica

Situé à la rencontre culturelle entre le continent du centre américain et du sud américain, Costa Rica possède non seulement une diversité culturelle mais aussi une harmonie naturelle.

En développant son tourisme, commerce, économie et sa société, il maintient un bon équilibre écologique. Le Pavillon a pris comme éléments de design des boules en pierre qui représentent la culture particulière des premiers aborigènes. La paix, l'investissement industriel, l'éducation, l'environnement seront les quatre grands thèmes de l'exposition.

- Goûter les spécialités locales, notamment goûter le café tout en appréciant l'art de fabrication de café à l'intérieur du pavillon.

- Une variété d'activités culturelle, le concert de la musique moderne, l'exposition artistique, cocktail etc.


Pavillon de la République Dominicaine

Entourée de la mer des Caraïbes, la République Dominicaine est une destination touristique regroupant une centaine de villages de vacances. Le pavillon vous présente le développement du tourisme et la civilisation du pays ainsi que les efforts contribues à l'économie et à la création des techniques, en renforçant le lien entre l'urbanisation et le rehaussement de la vie des habitants et préconisant un mode de vie tropical à la fois original et intelligent.

- La forme du pavillon est de style occidental.

- Les photos et le documentaire vous offrent la possibilité de connaître ce pays sous différents angles.


Pavillon de l'Equateur

Avec la coupole à l'orientale, le pavillon se compose des zones d'exposition concernant «le centre du monde», «les îles», «la côte de la mer», «l'Amazone» et «la cordillère des Andes» représentant les caractéristiques géographiques de l'Equateur pour se montrer le charme basé sur la diversité originaire de la géographie, de la nature, de la biologie et de la culture.

- Dans la zone des îles, les visiteurs peuvent, à l'aide d'un télescope, voir les volcans des îles Galapagos, les espèces particulières comme les tortues, flamants et lézards.

- Le cinéma à écran circulaire à 360° vous présente l'Equateur joyeux et coloré.

- Vous pouvez participer aux jeux folkloriques pour expérimenter la joie équatorienne.


Pavillon du Salvador

Le pavillon a pris un style primitif, un «volcan en flamme» se dressé au milieu du pavillon, c'est la plus grande caractéristique du «pays de volcan».

Démonstration du «volcan», ventes de café et des objets artistiques, zone en vidéo de LED etc., vous montrent la géographie volcanique, une culture très ancienne et les efforts des salvadoriens pour mener une meilleure vie, tout en profitant de leur riche ressource thermique et hydraulique.

- Dans l'espace «volcan», un immense «volcan» soutenu par des structures d'acier, la scène de la bouche de volcan en éruption est présentée avec les effets des structures de membrane et les lustres.

- Produits d'artisanat, les porcelaines, les textiles etc., une démonstration d'un mode de vie simple hérité de la culture très ancienne de Maya.

- A l'intérieur du «Volcan», les visiteurs peuvent déguster et acheter le café de haute qualité cultivé dans le sol de volcan du Salvador.


Pavillon du Guatemala

Les visiteurs peuvent approfondir leur connaissance sur la diversité de la civilisation du Guatemala, la gestion moderne des villes ainsi que la recherche sur la mode de vie prospective, à travers l'exposition basée sur la longue histoire de ce pays. La pyramide Mirador récemment retrouvée sera aussi présentée à cette occasion.

- Les danses montrent l'évolution et le développement de l'art folklorique.

- Les visiteurs sont invités à déguster le cacao, café, la friandise et du vin qui jouent un rôle très important dans l'histoire, dans la vie quotidienne et dans le commerce du pays.


Pavillon du Honduras

La bourgade Copan du Honduras situé dans le Nord de l'Amérique centrale est mondialement connue des ruines Maya où était un des centres religieux et politique des Mayas anciens et le site de ruines les plus anciennes et les plus grandes dans la civilisation Maya. Le pavillon est concis et atmosphérique, la culture Maya du site des ruines Copan sont les éléments de conception principaux: deux colonnes en roche à la porte de pierre à figuration de têtes
humaines du site des ruines Copan, une imitation du sanctuaire Maya rouge au centre du pavillon, avec des veines et haut-relief bien attractifs.

- Le sol intérieur du pavillon est divisé en couleur verte et bleue, signifiant que le Honduras est un pays au bord des eaux.

- Les visiteurs pourront approfondir leur connaissance de ce beau pays avec les photos présentant les moeurs et costumes du Honduras sur mur intérieur du pavillon, ressortis par palmier.


Pavillon du Nicaragua

Les paysages particuliers des lacs et volcans donnent la couleur ancienne et mystérieuse à ce pays. La scène entourée du cours d'eau ressemble à une île couverte de la pelouse. La présentation raconte l'amour à la vie actuelle des Nicaraguayens désirant créer un nouveau siècle après avoir subi depuis longtemps un bouleversement social.

- Le mur d'écran d'eau vous montre un paysage magnifique de la cascade.

- La musique, la culture, la danse traditionnelle et l'artisanat vous font expérimenter l'enthousiasme et l'hospitalité des Nicaraguayens.


Pavillon du Panama

Le pavillon coloré en bleu et en vert se base sur le modèle du canal de Panama pour vous montrer une ville modernisée. Vous pouvez admirer les paysages le long du canal, connaître les efforts déployés par le Panama pour construire une meilleure ville.

- Manufacturé conformément au canal transformé, le modèle peut simuler l'ouverture des vannes de navire.

- Le mur d'écran d'eau met en scène le fonctionnement réel du canal de Panama qui a pour mission de relier l'océan Atlantique à l'océan Pacifique.

- Dans la zone LED se projette une vidéo sur les circonstances actuelles et mœurs locales du Panama.


Pavillon de l'Uruguay

Aménagé comme la place au centre ville, le pavillon combine la vie métropolitaine avec les paysages séduisants. Les objets d'art typiques, les photos et les vidéos reflètent la réussite de l'édification d'une ville moderne, d'un environnement confortable et d'une vie de qualité apportée par l'éducation nationale des Uruguayens qui ne cessent de poursuivre le développement durable de l'économie et des sciences de l'Homme.

- L'exposition vous fait connaître le progrès de l'Uruguay dans les domaines divers concernant l'universalisation des sciences et technologies innovantes, de l'internet et de la télécommunication, la construction de l'infrastructure logistique perfectionnée, l'éducation, la matrice d'énergie, la croissance économique et la justice sociale.

- Les artistes uruguayens sont prêts à vous montrer les spectacles locaux.

- Les visiteurs peuvent se reposer sur place.

©Official Guide - Expo 2010 Shanghai China