World Exhibition Paris 1878

New Technologies

May 1, 1878 - October 31, 1878


Back - List of Pavilions

Csarda and Gypsy Musicians

manque image

One of the most popular sights on the Champ-de-Mars is certainly the csarda or Hungarian hostel, a wooden construction, covered with thatch, which was erected on a piece of land given by the Spanish section, on the side of the Exhibition which borders the avenue Suffren.
The csarda is unfortunately too small to contain the huge crowd of visitors that the exhibition is expected to attract. Unfortunately, the csarda is too small to accommodate the enormous number of visitors it receives every day. It consists of a common room and a portico topped by a small balcony. On an adjoining platform, an orchestra of sixteen Gypsy musicians, or rather Hungarians, mixed with two or three more or less authentic Gypsies, constitutes the most powerful attraction of the place.

These musicians play various Hungarian pieces, alternated with German music, without omitting the most complicated waltzes of Strauss, all with ease and regularity, but also with too much dryness of play, increased by a too fast movement, however to the applause of the listeners, which is the main thing. Their instruments are violins, violas, cellos, double basses, a small clarinet and a tympanum, a struck string instrument, a kind of piano in its embryonic state. But what makes these already curious artists so special is that they seem to ignore fatigue. Playing music eighteen hours a day seems as natural to them as to a mechanical piano, with which one could find more than one other similarity. They play at the csarda from eleven in the morning to five in the evening; then at the Fanta restaurant, quai d'Orsay, until nine o'clock; then at the Orangerie des Tuileries, until eleven. After that, they are not infrequently requested by some rich private individual to come and add to the splendour of the ball or the evening he is giving the exotic brilliance of their playing, a request to which they always respond with the best grace in the world.

As for the csarda itself, as far as we have been able to judge from a first experience, it seems to have imposed on itself the mission of making us feel that Hungarian cuisine has the particularity of accommodating everything in a red pepper sauce. We don't mind this at all, but it does push the consumption of the wines, which are excellent, too far. We especially recommend the Dioszegï Bakar and the Palugyay Castle: it is the sauce that makes the chilli pepper come through, and would make it come through much better if it were necessary.

©Exposition Universelle de 1878

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Csarda et Musiciens Tziganes



Une des curiosités les plus populaires du Champ-de-Mars est certainement la csarda ou auberge hongroise, construction
en bois, couverte de chaume, qui a été élevée sur un terrain cédé par la section espagnole, sur le côté de l’Exposition qui borde l’avenue de Suffren. La csarda est malheureusement de dimensions trop exiguës pour contenir la foule énorme de visiteurs qu’elle reçoit chaque jour. Elle se compose d’une salle commune et d'un portique surmonté d’un petit balcon. Sur une estrade attenante, un orchestre de seize musiciens tziganes, ou plutôt hongrois, panachés de deux ou trois Tziganes plus ou moins authentiques, qui constitue l’attraction la plus puissante du lieu.

Ces musiciens exécutent des morceaux hongrois variés, alternés de musique allemande, sans omettre les valses les plus compliquées de Strauss, le tout avec aisance et régularité, mais aussi avec une trop grande sécheresse de jeu, augmentée encore d’un mouvement trop rapide, toutefois aux applaudissements des auditeurs, ce qui est le principal. Leurs instruments sont des violons, des altos, des violoncelles, des contre-basses, une petite clarinette et un tympanon, instrument à cordes frappées, espèce de piano à l’état embryonnaire. Mais ce qui singularise le plus ces artistes déjà si curieux, c’est qu’ils paraissent ignorer la fatigue. Faire de la musique dix-huit heures par jour leur paraît tout aussi naturel qu’à un piano mécanique, avec lequel on pourrait leur trouver plus d’un autre point de ressemblance. Us jouent à la csarda de onze heures du matin à cinq heures du soir; puis au restaurant Fanta, quai d’Orsay, jusqu’à neuf heures; ensuite à l’Orangerie des Tuileries, jusqu’à onze heures. Après cela, il n’est pas rare qu’ils soient requis par quelque riche particulier de venir ajouter à l’éclat du bal ou de la soirée qu’il donne l’éclat exotique de leur jeu, réquisition à laquelle ils répondent toujours de la meilleure grâce du monde.

Quant k la csarda elle-même, autant que nous avons pu eu juger par une première expérience, elle paraît s’être imposé la mission de nous faire sentir que la cuisine hongroise a pour particularité d’accommoder toute chose à la sauce au piment rouge. Cela ne nous déplaît pas absolument, mais pousse trop à la consommation des vins, qui sont excellents. Nous recommandons surtout le Dioszegï Bakar et le château Palugyay : c’est la sauce qui fait passer le piment, et qui ferait passer bien autre chose s’il était nécessaire.

©Exposition Universelle de 1878