Back - List of Pavilions

Ministry of the Interior - Expo Paris 1878

Missing picture

Like the city of Paris and the Ministry of Public Works, the Ministry of the Interior wanted to have its own pavilion, and it has set up along the Avenue de la Mothe-Piquet, almost opposite the Ecole Militaire. We will talk about it in detail here, as its exhibition fits in with the ideas we are discussing at the moment.

You can see plans, maps, models (both small and large), reproductions of various processes, which will acquaint you with the main workings of the general and particular administrations, institutions of public utility: penitentiary and charitable establishments, prisons, agricultural colonies, insane asylums, etc., the complications of the vicinal system, the historical riches of the departmental archives, etc.

Among the maps, we note the new map of France drawn up by the vicinal service; the penitentiary map, indicating the central houses, houses of strength, correctional facilities, detention, arrest, justice, penitentiary colonies, the map of charity in France.

Of particular interest is the exhibition of the department of the insane.

Alongside relief models and plans giving all the details of the organisation of our main asylums, such as Charenton, Sainte-Anne, Ville-Evrard, Saint-Yon, Vaucluse, the work carried out by the residents of these homes was exhibited: embroidery, artificial flowers, sewing for the women; carpentry, locksmithing, etc., for the men.

There is something touching about this exhibition, when one considers that it was poor madmen who provided the elements.

The exhibition of the penitentiary colonies, those of Mettray and Corsica in particular, is no less instructive.

Next are the central prisons, Gaillon and Poissy, which exhibit a life-size model of a prisoner's cell, of the new type, complete with its meagre furniture.

Then come the charitable establishments: the asylum of Le Vésinet with its comfortable cell; the service of assisted children, the crèches, the maternal charity societies, the patronage of released convicts, the mutual aid societies, the rescue societies, etc., then the educational establishments for the Young Blind and the Deaf and Dumb, with the instruments of their education, the various procedures used to teach them to read, write, work, etc.

There are also plans of establishments and works of public utility carried out by various towns or communes; an exhibition of municipal regulations, of registers of deliberations of some general councils.

The exhibition of the departmental archives presents us with heliogravure reproductions of one hundred and seventy-two rare and curious manuscripts relating to the history of the French provinces from the 7th to the 18th century.

The oldest of these documents is an authentic copy of the relics of Saint Monulphe, found in the shrine that contained these relics, at Notre-Dame de Chartres.

Among the most curious are a letter from Salomon de Caus to the aldermen of Rouen, concerning the construction of a bridge (1618); the text of the capitulation of Luxeuil, signed by Turenne (1642), and finally a receipt from Molière, dated Pezenas (1656).

©Les Merveilles de l'Exposition de 1878

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Ministère de l'Intérieur



Comme la ville de Paris et comme le ministère des travaux publics, le ministère de l’intérieur a voulu avoir un pavillon à lui, et il s’est installé au long de l’avenue de la Mothe-Piquet, presque en face de l’Ecole militaire. Nous en parlerons ici en détail, son exposition rentrant par sa nature dans l’ordre d’idées qui nous occupe en ce moment.

On y voit des plans, des cartes, des modèles réduits ou non, des reproductions de procédés divers, qui vous mettent au courant des rouages principaux de l’administration générale et des administrations particulières, des institutions d’utilité publique : établissements pénitentiaires et de bienfaisance, prisons, colonies agricoles, asiles d’aliénés, etc., des complications du système vicinal, des richesses historiques des archives départementales, etc.

Parmi les cartes, nous noterons la nouvelle carte de France dressée par le service vicinal; la carte pénitentiaire, indiquant les maisons centrales, maisons de force, de correction, de détention, d’arrêt, de justice, les colonies pénitentiaires, la carte de la charité en France.

L’exposition du service des aliénés offre un intérêt tout particulier.

On a exposé, à côté des modèles en relief et des plans donnant tous les détails d’organisation de nos principaux asiles, tels que Charenton, Sainte-Anne, la Ville-Evrard, Saint-Yon, Vaucluse, les travaux exécutés par les pensionnaires de ces maisons : broderie, fleurs artificielles, couture pour les femmes; menuiserie, serrurerie, etc., pour les hommes.

On trouve que cette exposition a quelque chose de touchant, quand on réfléchit que ce sont de pauvres fous qui en ont fourni les éléments.

L’exposition des colonies pénitentiaires, celles de Mettray et de la Corse notamment, n’est pas moins instructive.

Voici maintenant les maisons centrales, Gaillon, Poissy qui expose un modèle en grandeur naturelle d’une cellule de prisonnier, du type nouveau, garnie de son chétif mobilier.

Viennent ensuite les établissements de bienfaisance : l’asile du Vésinet avec sa cellule confortable; le service des enfants assistés, les crèches, les sociétés de charité maternelle, de patronage des condamnés libérés, de secours mutuels, de sauvetage, etc., puis les établissements d’éducation des Jeunes-Aveugles et des Sourds-Muets, avec les instruments de leur éducation, les procédés divers employés pour leur apprendre à lire, écrire, travailler, etc.

Il y a aussi des plans d’établissements et de travaux d’utilité publique exécutés par diverses villes ou communes; une exposition des règlements municipaux, de registres des délibérations de quelques conseils généraux.

L’exposition du service des archives départementales nous présente des reproductions à l’héliogravure de cent soixante-douze manuscrits rares et curieux ayant trait à l’histoire des provinces françaises du VIIe au XVIIIe siècle.

Le plus ancien de ces documents est un authentique des reliques de saint Monulphe, trouvé dans la châsse qui contenait ces reliques, à Notre-Dame de Chartres.

Parmi les plus curieux, nous citerons une lettre de Salomon de Caus aux échevins de Rouen, relative à la construction d’un pont (1618) ; le texte de la capitulation de Luxeuil, signé Turenne (1642), et enfin une quittance de Molière, datée de Pezenas (1656).

©Les Merveilles de l'Exposition de 1878