Haiti - Expo Paris 1878

Missing picture

The exhibition of the Republic of Haiti has the peculiarity that the government is the only exhibitor, with the exception of Mr. E. Nau, of Port-au-Prince, who has sent a very interesting mineralogical collection.

Far from it, it shows splendid samples of everything that man can desire in a climate of the nature of Haiti.

It is truly regrettable that Haiti has only occupied a small showcase in the Champ de Mars Palace, so small and so poorly placed that, in order to find it, it was necessary to have a very determined intention to discover it.

We will not stop at the ceramics or the camp objects; we will come straight to the wood collections.

The amazed visitor will find there mahogany, campêche, iron, gayac, ebony, cedar, pine, mancenilla, latanier, red wood, mule wood, tin, spearhead, guava, lace, etc., etc., etc.

Among the food products, we find rice, corn, manioc, beans, sugar cane; orange, pineapple and coconut jams; sugar from the Port-au-Prince plain; and rum and tafia.

In addition, here are some details that we find in the Special Catalogue of the Republic of Haiti and that will certainly interest the reader:
"The Republic of Haiti occupies more than the western third, or almost half, of the large island of Haiti, or Santo Domingo, in the West Indies. The island of Haiti is situated between the 17th, 55th and 20th degrees of north latitude, and between the 71st, 77th degree of west longitude of the Paris meridian. It is bounded on the north, west and south by the Caribbean Sea. A wavy line, running from the mouth of the Massacre River in the north to the Anse à Pitre River in the south, separates the Republic of Haiti from the Dominican Republic, both of which are independent. The population is 800,000.

"The coasts of the Haitian Republic are deeply indented and form safe shelters for ships on all sides. The bay of Mancenillo, the mole Saint-Nicolas, the gulf of Gonaïves, the bays of Port-au-Prince, Leogane, Cayes, Anse d'Heinault, Aquin and Jacmel, correspond to the principal indentations of this coastal line.

"The main ports are : Port-au-Prince, Les Cayes, Jérémie, Gonaïves, Cap Haïtien, Saint-Marc, Jacmel.

"The total area of File is 753 square kilometres. It is about 160 leagues long, from east to west, and the width, from north to south, varies from 7 to 60 leagues; the circumference is 360 leagues.

"The island is watered by medium-sized rivers and by a large number of streams; mineral and thermal springs gush out of various mountains, and a few lakes, of which the most important is that of Assuey, also contribute to giving the land a salutary freshness and to developing a magnificent vegetation there.
The soil is mountainous and presents alternately wooded heights where the altitude and the proximity of the sea maintain a salutary breeze, and deep valleys, where the hot temperature of the tropics provokes the development of an exuberant vegetation.

"Some islands near the coast belong to the Haitian Republic.

"Ferruginous, salty or sulphurous mineral waters; marble, jasper, agates, opal, sulphur, bitumen, earth coal, anthracite, are abundant in File. Iron, tin, copper, antimony, manganese, mercury in the native state; silver, gold and platinum are found there, and all these products of the mineral kingdom could give rise to very advantageous exploitations.

"As for the vegetable kingdom, mahogany, oak, pine, fustic, satinwood and a host of other woods, suitable for civil and naval construction and for cabinet-making, form immense forests on the mountains, which can give fruitful products for export.

"To these products must be added the wax of the palm tree, dividivi and many other products of the country, such as the orange tree with all its varieties, the pineapple, the banana, the sapodilla, the mango, the cherimoya, etc., etc., which provide the table with excellent fruit.

. "The great wealth of the country, as remarkable, abundant and exceptional products of the soil, is above all the coffee, which is rightly appreciated on all the markets of the world and which holds a place of first order by its quantity and its quality.

"Coffee is a natural product of the Haitian soil and one of the greatest riches of the Republic. The annual production of this product is about 63 million pounds and its export, both to Europe and America, reaches the enormous figure of 60 million pounds annually. Haitian coffees on the major European markets are classified as follows:
"1° Saint-Marc; 2° Gonaïves; 3° Cap and Port-de-Paix; 4° Port-au-Prince, Léogane and Jacmel; 3°Miragoane; 6° Jérémie, Cayes and Aquin.

"The products which appear at the Exhibition, although naturally sorted, perfectly represent the average type of their origin, and they are classified by district without comment, in order to leave to each one the share which is due to him.

"The government is at present making great efforts to achieve the complete cleaning of this precious product, by bringing in machines to shell and sort the coffees, to distribute them as premiums.
coffee, to distribute them as premiums to the farmers. We can therefore rightly expect, in a very short time, a rapid improvement and a natural increase in the value of Haitian coffees on the commercial markets of Europe.

"The coffees of Haiti are rightly highly esteemed by French consumers; few types, in fact, combine the same degree of aroma and strength.

"Next come cocoa and cotton, dyewoods, tobacco, tortoiseshell, rum and tafia, roucou, turmeric, pite, cochineal, aloe, etc., etc.

"The territory of the Republic is divided into two parts: the first part of the island is a large area of land, and the second part of the island is a large area of water.

"The territory of the Republic is divided into five departments, themselves subdivided into arrondissements and communes.

"The main cities are Port-au-Prince, the first port of the Republic, situated at the end of the bay of Gonave; the other most important cities are: Cap Haïtien, Jacmel, Cayes, Gonaïves, Môle-Saint-Nicolas, Jérémie, Saint-Marc. There are a number of industrial establishments in and around the towns, such as foundries, distilleries, breweries, tanneries, and shoe factories; ten ports open to foreign ships carry on a very important import and export trade.

"The countries with which Haiti trades are, in order of importance: the United States, France, England, Germany and almost all the other countries of the world.

"The climate is healthy and temperate. The political and civil legislation is the French legislation, more or less modified.

"Education is in honour in the State. The inhabitants use the French language and profess the Catholic religion, without excluding any other worship.

"This island has thus been magnificently endowed by nature, and it is up to the free populations who possess it today to develop more and more so many gifts of Providence.

©Les Merveilles de l'Exposition de 1878

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Haïti



L’exposition de la république d’Haïti offre cette particularité que le gouvernement est le seul exposant, à l’exception toutefois de M. E. Nau, de Port-au-Prince, qui a envoyé une très-intéressante collection minéralogique.

Est-ce à dire que l’exposition de ce pays soit pauvre? loin de là, elle montre de splendides échantillons de tout ce que l’homme peut désirer sous un climat de la nature de celui de Haïti.

Il est vraiment regrettable que Haïti n’ait occupé au palais du Champ de Mars qu’une petite vitrine, si restreinte et si mal placée que, pour la trouver, il fallait positivement avoir l’intention très-arrêtée de la découvrir.

Nous ne nous arrêterons pas à la céramique ni aux objets de campement ; nous arriverons de suite aux collections de bois.

Le visiteur émerveillé trouve là des bois d’acajou, de campêche, de fer, de gayac, d’ébène, de cèdre, de pin, de mancenillier, de latanier, des bois rouges, bois de mulet, de fer-blanc, de fer de lance, de goyavier, de dentelle, etc., etc.

Aux produits alimentaires, nous trouvons le riz, le maïs, le manioc, les haricots, la canne à sucre; les confitures d’oranges, d’ananas, de coco ; le sucre de la plaine du Port-au-Prince ; enfin, le rhum et le tafia.

Voici, au surplus, des détails que nous trouvons dans le Catalogue spécial de la République d’Haïti et qui intéresseront certainement le lecteur :
« La République d’Haïti occupe plus du tiers occidental, soit presque la moitié de la grande île d’Haïti, ou Saint-Domingue, dans les Antilles. L’île d’Haïti est située entre le 17e, 55 et le 20e degré de latitude nord, et entre le 71e, 77 degré de longitude ouest du méridien de Paris. Elle est bornée au nord, à l’ouest et au sud par la mer des Antilles. Une ligne ondulée, qui va de l’embouchure de la rivière du Massacre au nord, jusqu’à la rivière de l’Anse à Pitre au sud, sépare la République d’Haïti de la République dominicaine, toutes deux respectivement indépendantes. La population est de 800,000 habitants.

« Les côtes de la République haïtienne sont profondément découpées et forment de tous côtés des abris sûrs pour les vaisseaux. La baie de Mancenillo, le môle Saint-Nicolas, le golfe des Gonaïves, les baies du Port-au-Prince, de Leogane, des Cayes, de l’anse d’Heinault, d’Aquin et de Jacmel, correspondent aux principales échancrures de cette ligne côtière.

« Les principaux ports sont : Port-au-Prince, les Cayes, Jérémie, les Gonaïves, le cap Haïtien, Saint-Marc, Jacmel.

« La superficie totale de File est de 753 myriamètres carrés. Elle a environ 160 lieues de longueur, de l’est à l’ouest, et la largeur, du nord au sud, varie de 7 à 60 lieues; la circonférence est de 360 lieues.

« L’ile est arrosée par des fleuves do moyenne grandeur et par un grand nombre de rivières; des sources d’eaux minérales et thermales jaillissent de diverses montagnes, et quelques lacs, parmi lesquels le plus important est celui d’Assuey, contribuent aussi à donner à la terre une fraîcheur salutaire et à y développer une magnifique végétation.
Le sol est montagneux et présente alternativement tantôt des hauteurs boisées où l’altitude et le voisinage de la mer entretiennent une brise salutaire, et tantôt des vallées profondes, où la température chaude des tropiques provoque le développement d’une végétation exubérante.

« Quelques îles voisines de la côte appartiennent à la République haïtienne.

« Les eaux minérales ferrugineuses, salées ou sulfureuses ; les marbres, le jaspe, les agates, l’opale, le soufre, le bitume, le charbon de terre, les anthracites, se trouvent abondamment dans File. Le fer, l’étain, le cuivre, l’antimoine, la manganèse, le mercure à l’état natif; l’argent, l’or et le platine s’y rencontrent, et tous ces produits du règne minéral pourraient donner lieu à des exploitations très avantageuses.

« Quant au règne végétal, l’acajou, le chêne, le pin, le fustic, le bois de satin et une foule d’autres bois, propres aùx constructions civiles, navales et à l'ébénisterie, forment sur les montagnes des forêts immenses, qui peuvent donner à l’exportation des produits fructueux.

« Il faut ajouter à ces produits la cire du palmier, le dividivi et beaucoup d’autres produits du pays, tels que l’oranger avec toutes sses variétés, l’ananas, la banane, la sapotille, le mango, les cherimolles, etc., etc., qui fournissent à la table d’excellents fruits.

. « La grande richesse du pays, comme produits remarquables, abondants et exceptionnels du sol, c’est surtout les cafés, qui sont appréciés avec juste raison sur tous les marchés du monde et qui y tiennent une place de premier ordre par leur quantité et par leur qualité.

« Le café est un produit naturel du sol haïtien et une des plus grandes richesses de la République. La production annuelle de ce produit est de 63 millions de livres environ et son exportation, tant en Europe qu’en Amérique, atteint annuellement le chiffre énorme de 60 millions de livres. Les cafés d’Haïti sur les grands marchés d'Europe sont ainsi classés :
« 1° Saint-Marc; 2° Gonaïves; 3° Cap et Port-de-Paix ; 4° Port-au-Prince, Léogane et Jacmel; 3°Miragoane; 6° Jérémie, Cayes et d’Aquin.

« Les produits qui figurent à l’Exposition, quoique triés naturellement, représentent parfaitement le type moyen de leur provenance, et ils sont classés par arrondissement sans commentaire, afin de laisser à chacun la part qui lui revient.

« Le gouvernement fait en ce moment de grands efforts pour arriver au nettoiement complet de ce précieux produit, en faisant venir des machines à décortiquer et à trier les
cafés, pour les distribuer en primes aux cultivateurs. On peut donc compter à bon droit, dans un très-bref délai, sur une amélioration rapide, et sur une plus-value naturelle des cafés d’Haïti, sur les marchés commerciaux d’Europe.

« Les cafés d’Haïti sont avec raison fort estimés par la consommation française ; peu de sortes, en effet, réunissent au même degré l’arôme et la force.

« Viennent ensuite les cacaos et les cotons, les bois de teinture, le tabac, l’écaille, le rhum et le tafia, le roucou, le curcuma, le pite, la cochenille, l’aloès, etc., etc.

« Tout le monde sait, du reste, combien, au temps de sa plus grande prospérité, cette île a été célèbre par sa richesse.

« Le territoire de la République est divisé en cinq départements, subdivisés eux-mêmes en arrondissements et communes.

« Les villes principales sont Port-au-Prince, premier port de la République, situé à l’extrémité de la baie de la Gonave ; les autres villes les plus importantes sont : le Cap Haïtien, Jacmel, les Cayes, Gonaïves, Môle-Saint-Nicolas, Jérémie, Saint-Marc. On trouve dans les villes ou dans les environs un certain nombre d’établissements industriels, tels que fonderies, distilleries, brasseries, tanneries, cordonneries ; dix ports ouverts aux navires étrangers font un commerce très-important d’importation et d’exportation.

« Les pays avec lesquels se fait le commerce d’Haïti sont, par ordre d’importance : — les Etats-Unis, la France, l’Angleterre, l’Allemagne et presque tous les autres pays du monde.

« Le climat est sain et tempéré. La législation politique et civile est la législation française, plus ou moins modifiée.

« L’éducation est en honneur dans l’État. Les habitants se servent de la langue française et professent la religion catholique, sans exclure aucun autre culte.

« Cette île a donc été magnifiquement dotée par la nature, et c’est aux populations libres qui la possèdent aujourd’hui à développer de plus en plus tant de dons de la Providence. »

©Les Merveilles de l'Exposition de 1878