Back - List of Pavilions

Voruz Crane -

Voruz Crane at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1878

The crane is an ingenious combination of the winch and the pulley, used to lift heavy loads to transport them, thanks to the pivot on which it turns, to a great distance. Industrial progress, after having substituted hydraulic power for human muscle power in the operation of the crane, has ended up, without consenting to the abandonment of either of these two engines, by applying steam. This application was carried out in England by Sir W. Armstrong, who had previously worked in the field. Armstrong, who had first applied hydraulic power, not to mention various improvements in construction, and in France by Messrs. Claparède and others. Useful modifications, suggested by experience, have since been made to this machine; the Voruz crane, which we saw in operation at the Exhibition, near the Rapp gate, has benefited from all these improvements.

This machine, very simple in construction, weighs 35,000 kilograms. It consists of a central iron pivot weighing 9,000 kilograms, enclosed at a depth of 5 metres in a masonry mass. The plate which ends it at its exit from the ground supports on one side a steam boiler, on the other the lever, and in the centre the various parts of the winch, which can be operated by manpower or by steam, depending on the case: by manpower with the help of a simple crank, or by steam activating two pistons, the cylinders of which are placed on the side of the masonry, which act on cranks which set in motion the shaft of the winch. A huge chain slides over cylinders along the boom and is wound onto the winch.

The lifting jib of the Voruz crane has a range of 7.5 metres, so that by picking up a loaded wagon weighing 10,000 kilograms at 7.5 metres to the right or to the left, as we have seen it do, it can carry it an equal distance to the opposite side, thus making it travel a total of 15 metres in space; but it can also set me down on the way, hold it suspended or return it to the place where it was picked up, according to the mechanic's fancy.

It is indeed a very powerful and docile instrument.

©L'Exposition de Paris 1878

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Grue Voruz


Grue Voruz à l'exposition de Paris 1878

La grue est une combinaison ingénieuse du treuil et de la poulie, servant à élever de pesants fardeaux pour les transporter, grâce au pivot sur lequel elle tourne, à une couche distance. Le progrès industriel, après avoir substitué, dans la manœuvre de la grue, la force hydraulique à la force musculaire de l’homme, a fini, sans consentir à l’abandon de l’un ni de l’autre de ces deux moteurs, par y appliquer la vapeur. Cette application a été réalisée en Angleterre par sir W. Armstrong, qui y avait d’abord appliqué la force hydraulique, sans parler de divers perfectionnements de construction, et en France par MM. Claparède et autres. Des modifications utiles, suggérées par l'expérience, ont été depuis apportées à cette machine; la grue Voruz, que nous avons vue fonctionner à l’Exposition, près de la porte Rapp, a profité de tous ces perfectionnements.

Cette machine, très-simple de construction, pèse 35,000 kilogrammes. Elle se compose d’un pivot central en fer pesant 9,000 kilogrammes, enfermé à 5 mètres de profondeur dans un massif de maçonnerie. La plaque qui le termine à sa sortie du sol supporte d’un côté une chaudière à vapeur, de l’autre le levier, au centre les diverses parties du treuil, qui peut être manœuvré à bras d’homme ou par la vapeur suivant le cas : à bras d'homme à l'aide d’une simple manivelle, ou par la vapeur actionnant deux pistons dont les cylindres sont placés sur le côté du massif de maçonnerie, lesquels agissent sur des manivelles qui mettent en mouvement l’arbre du treuil. Une chaîne énorme glisse sur des cylindres disposés le long de la flèche et vient s’enrouler sur le treuil.

La flèche de levage de la grue Voruz a 7 mètres 50 de portée, de sorte qu’en prenant à 7 mètres 50 à droite ou à gauche, un wagon chargé, de 10,000 kilogrammes pesant, comme nous le lui avons vu faire, elle peut le transporter à une distance égale du côté opposé, lui faisant accomplir ainsi un trajet total de 15 mètres dans l’espace; mais elle peut également Je déposer en chemin, le tenir suspendu ou le remettre au lieu où elle l’a pris, suivant la fantaisie du mécanicien.

C’est en vérité un instrument bien puissant et bien docile.

©L'Exposition de Paris 1878