Back - List of Pavilions

Monaco -

Monaco at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1878

Of modern architecture, with Moorish reminiscences, the pavilion of the Principality of Monaco, which rises in the park of the Champ-de-Mars, close to the Spanish pavilion, offers on the outside an aspect full of gaiety and brightness. A stone balustrade surrounds the building, and between this balustrade and the pavilion a garden has been planted, a true Monegasque garden where palm trees, olive trees, laurels, etc., sway their exotic branches with pleasure.

This pavilion is preceded on the façade by a Moorish-style porch-perandah under which the entrance doors open; the general decoration is polychrome; the roof is surmounted by a glass belvedere.

In the centre of the vast room where Ton enters, after crossing the threshold of this charming little palace, a Moorish fountain is dug into the ground, elegantly decorated with painted tiles on its flat edges, from which several jets of water spout out, spreading a pleasant coolness all around - in summer - and over which the leaves of a gigantic palm tree fall gracefully. Coloured stained glass windows occasionally soften the sun's rays, allowing only a soft, veiled light to penetrate the interior, which is very favourable to the objects on display.

Looking up at the upper part of the wall on the left, one sees first of all a beautiful portrait of the mother of the present reigning prince; then, all around, the complete series of the princes of Monaco, from Grimaldi I to Prince Charles III, portraits executed in terracotta on a blue background and surrounded by frames with heraldic ornaments, also in terracotta, of perfect execution. Only the portrait of the princess is painted in oil.

The exhibition of the principality, gathered in this pavilion, is composed first of all of agricultural products, magnificent cereals, olives with the oils that the industry draws from them, preserved fruits, essences and perfumes extracted from the flowers of this privileged country; then there are objects of fantasy or ornament in olive wood curiously worked, sculpted and inlaid with great art, and sculpted ivories. Monegasque artists excel in ivory carving. We note several frames and various articles of this kind which are true masterpieces, ivory plaques with flowers sculpted in low relief, deeply carved, which are marvels of delicacy and finish.

But it is especially in ceramics that Monaco triumphs. There are vases, drinking bowls, plates, statuettes of an elegance of form and a brilliance of colour that it is hardly possible to surpass. The ornamental motifs of the vases are generally flowers and fruits modelled in high relief, in garlands, in bouquets, or isolated, but always with a warm colouring that suits the fruits and flowers of these heavenly lands.

Finally, a beautiful model of the cathedral of Monaco.

Most of the objects exhibited belong to the Société industrielle et artistique de Monaco, to whose efforts the organisation of this beautiful exhibition is almost entirely due.

©L'Exposition Universelle 1878

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Monaco


Monaco à l'exposition de Paris 1878

D’architecture moderne, avec des réminiscences mauresques, le pavillon de la principauté de Monaco, qui s’élève dans le parc du Champ-de-Mars, près du pavillon espagnol, offre à l'extérieur un aspect plein de gaieté et d’éclat. Une balustrade de pierre entoure l’édifice, et entre cette balustrade et le pavillon on a planté un jardin, un vrai jardin monégasque où les palmiers, les oliviers, les lauriers, etc., balancent à plaisir leurs ramures exotiques.

Ce pavillon est précédé sur la façade d’un porche-vérandah de style mauresque sous lequel s’ouvrent les portes d’entrée ; la décoration générale est polychrôme; le toit est surmonté d’un belvédère vitré.

Au centre de la vaste salle où Ton pénètre, après avoir franchi le seuil de ce charmant petit palais, est creusée dans le sol, peu profondément, une fontaine mauresque, élégamment décorée de tuiles peintes sur ses bords plats, d’où s’élancent plusieurs jets d’eau répandant alentour une fraîcheur agréable — en été—et sur lesquels retombent gracieusement les feuilles d'un gigantesque palmier. Des vitraux de couleur atténuent à l’occasion l’ardeur des rayons du soleil, ne laissant pénétrer à l’intérieur qu’une lumière douce et voilée, très-favorable aux objets exposés.

En levant les yeux vers la partie supérieure du mur à gauche, on aperçoit d’abord un beau portrait de la mère du prince actuellement régnant; puis, tout autour, s’étend la série complète des princes de Monaco, depuis Grimaldi 1er jusqu’au prince Charles III, portraits exécutés en terre cuite sur fond bleu et entourés de cadres aux ornements héraldiques également en terre cuite d’une exécution parfaite. Le portrait de la princesse seul est peint à l’huile.

L’exposition de la principauté, réunie dans ce pavillon, se compose tout d’abord des produits agricoles, des céréales magnifiques, des olives avec les huiles que l’industrie en tire, des conserves de fruits, des essences et des parfums extraits des fleurs de ce pays privilégié ; puis ce sont des objets de fantaisie ou d'ornement en bois d’olivier curieusement travaillés, sculptés et incrustés avec beaucoup d’art, et des ivoires sculptés. Les artistes monégasques excellent dans la sculpture sur ivoire. Nous remarquons plusieurs cadres et des articles divers qui sont en ce genre de véritables chefs-d’œuvre, des plaques d’ivoire avec des fleurs sculptées en bas relief, profondément fouillées, qui sont des merveilles de délicatesse et de fini.

Mais c’est surtout dans la céramique que Monaco triomphe. Il y a là des vases, des buires, des assiettes, des statuettes d’une élégance de forme et d’un éclat de couleur qu'il est à peine possible de surpasser. Les motifs d’ornement des vases sont généralement des fleurs et des fruits modelés en haut-relief, en guirlandes, en bouquets, ou isolés, mais toujours d’une coloration chaude qui convient aux fruits et aux fleurs de ces contrées bénies du ciel.

Signalons enfin un beau modèle réduit de la cathédrale de Monaco.

La plus grande partie des objets exposés appartient à la Société industrielle et artistique de Monaco, aux efforts de laquelle d’ailleurs l’organisation de cette belle exposition est presque entièrement due.

©L'Exposition Universelle 1878