Back - List of Pavilions

Spanish Agricultural Pavilion - Expo Paris 1878

Spanish Agricultural Pavilion at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1878
Architect(s) : Albert de Quintana

The pavilion that the general commissioner of the Spanish section, Mr. Emilio de Santos, had the happy idea of erecting in the park of the Champ-de-Mars, is located in that part of the park which extends from the Porte de Grenelle to the Pont d'Iéna, very close to the pavilion of the Principality of Monaco and in front of the special exhibition of the Society for the Relief of the Wounded. Built and fitted out under the direction of Mr. Albert de Quintana, who wanted to make it a little marvel and succeeded fully in doing so, the Spanish pavilion was not opened to the public until rather late (it was inaugurated on June 21), who made up for it as best they could by making repeated visits to it, the enthusiastic report of which they then spread in their own bosom.

In an outside gallery are exhibited various objects more or less related to agriculture, wickerwork, ropes, samples of forest products, and above all numerous samples of the various ores of which the country is still so rich, although the exploitation leaves something to be desired. But the visitor stops very little in this gallery. Woods, ropes, minerals, these are to be seen everywhere; but he has been told of the wonders of the interior, and he is anxious to enjoy them in order to bear witness to them on occasion.

The interior of the pavilion is divided, not precisely into two rooms, but into two distinct parts. In the first, the mining and especially the agricultural products themselves are exhibited, all the riches of a soil that would only need to be worked better to become one of the most fertile in the world. Cereals and olive trees grow here almost without the help of man. Almonds, liquorice wood, drugs and a thousand other products also come from the Iberian peninsula. All these products of Spain, and those of her colonies too, products of Catalonia, Andalusia, Extremadura, the Balearic Islands; products of the mines of San-Juan de las Abadesas; various products of the Canary Islands, the Philippines, Cuba and Puerto Rico, are arranged in the first part of the pavilion, in a perfect order for the study of the agricultural riches of this country, and in a picturesque and attractive way for the eye of the visitor. However, it is the back of the pavilion that attracts him irresistibly, for he can already see, through the three large arches that separate it from the part where he is, an orgy of light and colour flooding a Moorish fairy-tale setting.

This part of the pavilion has the air of an ancient chapel, but decorated in an eminently secular style and taste. On every side of the room one sees nothing but bottles, liquors and wines, whose curiously assorted colours form a pleasant pattern, skilfully traced on a rich tapestry. On the walls, around the pillars, on the ceiling, forming stalactites, one sees only bottles and always bottles. The ceiling is glazed, and under the windows, bottles full of yellow and red liquors have been attached, neck down, by means of wire holders, so that when the sun comes to strike them, the reflections passing through the liquors project the different colours around them, as they would do in church windows. These rays of coloured light strike the inclined glass panes, which reflect them and multiply the images they illuminate ad infinitum.

The effect is magical; the pen refuses to describe it; and only a work of art and patience at the same time could make it obtain from elements so singularly gathered: it seems that there are not less than 30,000 bottles contributing to this luminous decoration!

Let us add that, near the entrance of the pavilion, a young Spanish woman sells cigars and cigarettes and Spanish tobacco in all its forms to the visitors, at the right price, with a very pleasant smile on top of that.

©L'Exposition Universelle 1878

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Pavillon Agricole Espagnol


Pavillon Agricole Espagnol à l'exposition de Paris 1878

Architecte(s) : Albert de Quintana

Le pavillon que le commissaire général de la section espagnole, M. Emilio de Santos, a eu l’heureuse idée d’élever dans le parc du Champ-de-Mars, se trouve dans cette partie du parc qui s’étend de la porte de Grenelle au pont d’Iéna tout près du pavillon de la principauté de Monaco et devant l’exposition particulière de la Société de secours aux blessés. Construit et aménagé sous la direction de M. Albert de Quintana, qui en a voulu faire une petite merveille et y a pleinement réussi, le pavillon espagnol n’a été ouvert qu’assez tard au public (il a été inauguré le 21 juin), lequel s’est rattrapé comme il a pu en y faisant des visites réitérées dont il répandait ensuite dans son propre sein la relation enthousiaste.

Dans une galerie extérieure sont exposés divers objets ressortissant plus ou moins à l’agriculture, des travaux de sparterie, des cordages, des échantillons des produits forestiers, et surtout des échantillons nombreux des minerais divers dont le pays est si riche encore, bien que l’exploitation laisse à désirer. Mais le visiteur s’arrête peu dans cette galerie. Les bois, les cordages, les minéraux, cela se voit un peu partout ; mais on lui a parlé des merveilles de l’intérieur, et il a hâte d’en jouir pour en rendre témoignage à l’occasion.

L’intérieur du pavillon est divisé, non pas précisément en deux salles, mais en deux parties distinctes. Dans la première sont exposés les produits miniers et surtout agricoles proprement dits, toutes ces richesses d’un sol qui ne demanderait qu’à être mieux travaillé pour devenir un des plus fertiles du monde. Les céréales et l’olivier y poussent presque sans le secours de l’homme. Amandes, bois de réglisse, drogueries et mille autres produits nous viennent aussi de la péninsule ibérique. Tous ces produits de l’Espagne, et ceux de ses colonies aussi, produits de la Catalogne, de l’Andalousie, de l’Extremadura, des iles Baléares ; produits des mines de San-Juan de las Abadesas ; produits divers des Canaries, des Philippines, de Cuba et de Porto-Rico, sont rangés dans la première partie du pavillon, dans un ordre parfait pour l’étude des richesses agricoles de ce pays, et d’une façon pittoresque et séduisante pour l’œil du visiteur. Cependant c’est le fond du pavillon qui l’attire irrésistiblement, car il aperçoit déjà, à travers les trois grandes’ arcades qui le séparent de la partie où il se trouve, une orgie de lumière et de couleur inondant un décor de féerie mauresque.

Cette partie du pavillon affecte des airs d’antique chapelle, mais ornée dans un style et dans un goût éminemment profanes. De quelque côté qu’on se tourne, on ne voit que des bouteilles, liqueurs et vins, dont les couleurs curieusement assorties forment comme un dessin d’un agréable motif, habilement tracé sur une riche tapisserie. Sur les murs, autour des piliers, au plafond, formant stalactites, on ne voit que des bouteilles et toujours des bouteilles. Le plafond est vitré, et sous les vitres on a attaché, le goulot en bas, au moyen de porte-bouteilles en fil de fer, des bouteilles pleines de liqueurs jaunes et rouges, de sorte que lorsque le soleil vient les frapper, les reflets en passant à travers les liqueurs en projettent alentour les différentes couleurs, ainsi que le feraient des vitraux d’église. Or ces rayons de lumière colorée viennent frapper des glaces inclinées qui les réfléchissent et multiplient à l’infini les images qu’ils illuminent.

L’effet est magique ; la plume se refuse à le décrire ; et un travail d’art et de patience à la fois a pu seul le faire obtenir d’éléments si singulièrement rassemblés : il paraît qu’il n’y a pas moins de 30,000 bouteilles concourant à cette décoration lumineuse!

Ajoutons que, près de l’entrée du pavillon, une jeune Espagnole bien authentique vend aux visiteurs des cigares et des cigarettes et du tabac d’Espagne sous toutes ses formes, au plus juste prix, avec un très-agréable sourire par-dessus le marché.

©L'Exposition Universelle 1878