World Exhibition Paris 1878

New Technologies

May 1, 1878 - October 31, 1878


Back - List of Pavilions

Austria - Hungary

Austria - Hungary at the Exhibition Paris 1878

Austria-Hungary alone represents German architecture at the Champ de Mars.

The facade that Austria-Hungary had built consists of a series of arches, the arches of which rest on coupled columns. The tympanums and friezes are decorated in grisaille.

Although this composition, because of its research and the disguised borrowings it seems to have made, from the point of view of decoration, to Italian style, is not entirely to be praised, it must be acknowledged that it does not lack distinction.

We believe, however, that this façade was built more as an artistic gallery.

The statues which crown the cornice, says Mr. Clovis Lamarre, are allegorical figures due to Mr. Baer, Austrian sculptor. Enormous masts, at the top of which float, on one side, the yellow Austrian standard with the black two-headed eagle, and on the other, the Hungarian colours, horizontal, red, white and green, stand at the two ends, where there are also offices for each section.

Statues of bronzed plaster or white marble have been placed under the arcades, some of which are very striking. Here is Kundmann's Goldsmith, a graceful young woman contemplating a ewer; Beethoven, by Zumbusch, a gigantic personification of this great musical genius. The hair is in disarray, the forehead is inspired, the artist is wrapped in wide, well-filled draperies. Albrecht Durer, the old master of the German school, by Schmidgruber: he is clad in a vast pelisse, with fur lapels; pensive under his long hair, he holds a canvas in his hand. In the centre, a full-length statue of the Austrian emperor is enthroned in the middle of a bed of flowers and shrubs; the sovereign has the type we know, with a high forehead and cheeks covered with thick sideburns; he is in uniform and has his hand resting on his sword; on either side, two allegorical women by Kundmann are holding out wreaths.

Other statues are placed to the right of the emperor, they are Michelangelo Buonaroiti, by Wagner, a magnificent white marble which represents the Italian artist dreaming, chisel in hand, and superbly wrapped in a mantle from which emerge powerful legs. Zumbusch's Prometheus, a somewhat tormented figure, shows us the ancient demigod on his rock; posted behind him, a pitiless vulture extends its head to gnaw at his liver. Finally, the sculptor Lax decorates the last archway with Science, a winged woman-genius, holding a crown in one hand and a torch in the other.

The interior panels are lined with architectural plans, and decorated here and there with a few busts. We particularly noticed the competition project of a monument for François Déak. It is a mausoleum of great character, surrounded by almost fantastic torches: Ex tumulo vita est, as the legend says. The architect

Eméric Steindlex designed a new opera house for Budapest and the restoration of Vajda-IIunxad Castle; Louis Ranscher, the Budapest teacher training college, a café-restaurant in Zurich, and the town hall in Grossenbain, Saxony.

In the frames of the architect Ray, the palace of the Hungarian railway administration and the town hall of Kecskemet, whose magnificent central tower surmounts a massive triple entrance, are especially admired; the overall view, which is very beautiful, is brightened up by a crowd of groups in native costumes.

©Les Merveilles de l'Exposition de 1878

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Autriche - Hongrie


Autriche - Hongrie à l'exposition de Paris 1878

L’Autriche-Hongrie représente seule au Champ de Mars l’architecture allemande.

La façade qu’elle a faits construire se compose d’une suite d’arcades dont les cintres reposent sur des colonnettes accouplées. Les tympans et les frises sont décorés en grisaille.

Bien que cette composition, en raison de sa recherche et des emprunts déguisés qu’elle semble avoir fait, au point de vue de la décoration, à l’afféterie italienne, ne soit pas entièrement à louer, il faut reconnaître cependant qu’elle ne manque point de distinction.

Nous croyons cependant devoir dire que cette façade a été construite plutôt pour servir de galerie artistique.

Les statues qui couronnent la corniche, dit M. Clovis Lamarre, sont des figures allégoriques dues à M. Baer, sculpteur autrichien. D’énormes mâts, au haut desquels flottent, d’un côté l’étendard autrichien jaune avec l’aigle noir à deux têtes, de l’autre les couleurs hongroises, horizontale, rouge, blanc et vert, se dressent aux deux extrémités, où sont également ménagés des bureaux pour chaque section.

On a placé sous les arcades des statues de plâtre bronzé ou de marbre blanc dont quelques-unes attirent l’attention. Voici l’Orfèvrerie, de Kundmann, gracieuse jeune femme contemplant une aiguière ; Beethoven, par Zumbusch, gigantesque personnification de ce grand génie musical. Les cheveux sont en désordre, le front est inspiré, l’artiste est enveloppé dans des draperies larges et bien étoffées. Albrecht Durer, le vieux maître de l’école allemande,par Schmidgruber : il est revêtu d’une vaste pelisse, aux revers de fourrure ; pensif sous ses longs cheveux, il tient une toile à la main. Au centre, trône une statue en pied de l’empereur d Autriche, au milieu d’un massif de fleurs et d’arbustes; le souverain a le type qu’on lui connaît, le front élevé, les joues garnies d’épais favoris ; il est en uniforme et a la main appuyée sur son épée ; de chaque côté, deux femmes allégoriques de Kundmann lui tendent des couronnes.

D’autres statues sont placées à droite de l’empereur, ce sont Michel-Ange Buonaroiti, par Wagner, magnifique marbre blanc qui représente l’artiste italien rêveur, le ciseau en main, et superbement enveloppé dans un manteau d'où émergent des jambes puissantes. Prométhèe, de Zumbusch, figure quelque peu tourmentée, nous montrant le demi-dieu antique sur son rocher; posté derrière lui, un vautour impitoyable allonge la tête pour lui ronger le foie. Enfin le sculpteur Lax garnit la dernière arcade avec la Science, femme-génie, ailée, tenant d’une main une couronne, de l’autre un flambeau.

Les panneaux intérieurs sont tapissés de plans d’architecture, et ornés çà et là de quelques bustes. Nous avons remarqué particulièrement le projet de concours d’un monument pour François Déak. C’est un mausolée d’un grand caractère, entouré de tor-. chères presque fantastiques : Ex tumulo vita est, comme dit la légende. L’architecte

Eméric Steindlex pose un projet de nouvel opéra pour Budapest, et la restauration du château de Vajda-IIunxad ; Louis Ranscher, l’école normale de Budapest, un café-restaurant à Zurich, et l’hôtel de ville de Grossenbain, en Saxe.

Dans les cadres de l’architecte Ray, on admire surtout le palais de l’administration des chemins de fer hongrois, et l’hôtel de ville de Kecskemet, dont la magnifique tour centrale surmonte une entrée triple et massive ; la vue d’ensemble, qui est très-belle, est égayée par une foule de groupes en costumes indigènes.

©Les Merveilles de l'Exposition de 1878