Back - List of Pavilions

Switzerland - Expo Paris 1878

Switzerland at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1878
Architect(s) : Jaëger

It seemed difficult to admit, says M. Brébant in the Rappel, that another façade than that of a chalet could represent, in the Avenue des Nations, the architecture of Switzerland, it is however what M. Jaëger, the architect charged by Switzerland, his country, wanted to indicate. The chalet is the dwelling of the mountains, but there are plains in Switzerland, and the house built by Mr. Jaëger is the dwelling of the plains; its façade is built in the style of the houses of the seventeenth century, of which there are still many specimens in the canton of Argovia.

The large entrance door, twelve metres wide, is surmounted by a vast terrace
The large entrance door, twelve metres wide, is surmounted by a vast terrace which is covered by a sort of azure dome studded with silver stars in the form of a vault, and bordered by a light gallery with finely turned wooden balusters.

In the middle of the terrace stands a clock flanked by two mannequins, known as Jacquemarts, covered in Burgundian armour, originating from the battle of Morat and on loan from the Zurich museum. Above the vault stands a bell tower at the bottom of which is inscribed the Swiss motto: One for all, all for one. This vault is supported by two enormous pillars on which are painted the arms of Switzerland, a crimson coat of arms with a silver cross, supported by two lions; below this coat of arms, one reads: Swiss Confederation, in French on the left side, in German on the right side

To the right of the large entrance door is a large bay closed by coloured glass, while to the left there are two bays separated by a small door; above the three bays are painted the arms of the twenty-two cantons of Switzerland, while the small door is surmounted by this motto of Jean de Muller: The politics of a free people means nothing if it is not inspired by patriotic devotion.

©Les Merveilles de l'Exposition de 1878

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Suisse


Suisse à l'exposition de Paris 1878

Architecte(s) : Jaëger

Il semblait difficile d’admettre, dit M. Brébant dans le Rappel, qu’une autre façade que celle d’un chalet pût représenter, dans l’avenue des Nations, l’architecture de la Suisse, c’est cependant ce qu’a désiré indiquer M. Jaëger, l’architecte chargé par la Suisse, son pays, de construire la façade typique de la République helvétique ; le chalet est l’habitation de la montagne, mais il y a des plaines en Suisse, et la maison construite par M. Jaëger est l’habitation de la plaine ; sa façade est bâtie dans le style des maisons du XVIIe siècle, dont on retrouve encore de nombreux spécimens dans le canton d’Argovie.

La grande porte d’entrée, large de douze mètres, est surmontée d’une vaste terrasse
qu’abrite une sorte de coupole azurée et constellée d’étoiles d’argent en forme de voûte, et que borde une galerie légère dont les balustres sont en bois finement tourné.

Au milieu de la terrasse s’élève une horloge flanquée de deux mannequins, dits Jacquemarts, couverts d’armures bourguignonnes, provenant de la bataille de Morat et prêtées par le musée de Zurich.; au-dessus de la voûte se dresse un clocheton au bas duquel est inscrite la devise suisse : Un pour tous, tous pour un l cette voûte est supportée par deux énormes piliers sur lesquels sont peintes les armes de la Suisse, un écusson fond pourpre avec croix d’argent, soutenu par deux lions; au-dessous de cet écusson, on lit ces mots : Confédération suisse, en français du côté gauche, en allemand du côté droit.

A droite de la grande porte d’entrée, est une large travée fermée par des vitres de couleur, tandis que, à gauche, il y en a deux, séparées par une petite porte de dégagement ; au-dessus des trois travées sont peintes les armes des vingt-deux cantons de la Suisse, tandis que la petite porte est surmontée de cette devise de Jean de Muller: La politique d'un peuple libre ne signifie rien si elle n'est pas inspirée par le dévouement patriotique.

©Les Merveilles de l'Exposition de 1878