Back - List of Pavilions

Russia - Expo Paris 1878

Russia at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1878

The Russian facade is made entirely of wood, like the Norwegian and Swedish facades, with excessively and elegantly elaborate ornamentation.

All in all, it is a great originality and therefore a great success of curiosity.

Forty metres long and five metres deep, it is an exact reproduction of the house where Peter the Great was born, in Kolomna, a town near Moscow, and the wooden staircase leading to the first floor is borrowed from the Kremlin. It is, in a word, the type of boyar's house, called terma, as opposed to the isba, the dwelling of the Russian peasant.

Wooden construction applies in Russia, say Messrs Lamarre and Léger, not only to villages, but to most rustic buildings; thus, on the main railway lines, the stations are made of wood; in the vicinity of the large cities, delightful wooden villas rise in the middle of forests or gardens. Wooden architecture has acquired a true national style in Russia and lends itself to a very elegant decoration; it suffices, to convince oneself of this, to compare the Russian facade with the Swiss chalets, whose well-known type is unfortunately missing from the Exhibition.

M. Viollet-Leduc, in his book on Russian art, says: "Without mentioning the poetic character of the national songs in Russia, or the Russian peasant's pronounced taste for music, it is enough to mention the particular research that presides over the decoration of his dwelling, his modest and unvaried furnishings, his simple and coarse fabrics. When travelling through the villages of Greater Russia, one is struck by the multicoloured, often charmingly light borders on towels, tablecloths, shirts and other products of the same kind of rustic work of the Russian villagers... The same characteristic ornamentation is found in the carts, sledges and boats of Russian peasants. The national clothing of both sexes bears a stamp of elegance; bright colours dominate, without offending the eye by too many bigarrhas; simple and even coarse in its elements, the Russian costume presents harmony and easily lends itself, with slight modifications, to the demands of the most refined taste."

©Les Merveilles de l'Exposition de 1878

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Russie


Russie à l'exposition de Paris 1878

Toute en bois, comme les façades norvégienne et suédoise, avec des ornements excessivement et élégamment fouillés, telle se présente à nous la façade russe.

En somme, une grande originalité et par suite un grand succès de curiosité.

Longue de 40 mètres et profonde de cinq, elle reproduit exactement celle de la maison où naquit Pierre le Grand, à Kolomna, ville voisine de Moscou, et l’escalier de bois qui conduit au premier étage est emprunté au Kremlin. C’est, en un mot, le type de la maison du boyard, appelée téréma, par opposition à l’isba, demeure du paysan russe.

La construction en bois s’applique en Russie, disent MM. Lamarre et Léger, non-seulement aux villages, mais à la plupart des constructions rustiques; ainsi, sur les grandes lignes de chemins de fer, les stations sont en bois ; aux environs des grandes Villes, de ravissantes villas en bois s’élèvent au milieu des forêts ou des jardins. L’architecture du bois a acquis en Russie un Véritable style national et se prête à une décoration fort élégante ; il suffit, pour s’en convaincre, de comparer la façade russe avec les chalets suisses, dont le type bien connu manque malheureusement à l’Exposition.

M. Viollet-Leduc, dans son livre sur l’art russe, dit : « Sans parler du caractère poétique des chansons nationales en Russie, du goût si prononcé du paysan russe pour la musique, il suffit de citer la recherche particulière qui préside au décor de sa demeure, de son mobilier modeste et peu varié, de ses simples et grossiers tissus. En parcourant les villages de la Grande-Russie, on se plaît à regarder les bordures à dessins multicolores, souvent d’une légèreté charmante, qui ornent les serviettes, les nappes, les chemises et autres produits du même genre de travail rustique des villageois russes... La même ornementation caractéristique se retrouve dans les chariots, les traîneaux et les bateaux des paysans russes. Le vêtement national de l’un et l’autre sexe porte un cachet d’élégance ; les couleurs vives y dominent, sans offenser l’œil par trop de bigarrures ; simple et même grossier dans ses éléments, le costume russe présente de l’harmonie et se prête facilement, moyennant de légères modifications, aux exigences du goût le plus épuré. »

©Les Merveilles de l'Exposition de 1878