World Exhibition Paris 1878

New Technologies

May 1, 1878 - October 31, 1878


Back - List of Pavilions

Head of the Statue of Liberty

Head of the Statue of Liberty at the Exhibition Paris 1878

Architect(s) : Bartholdi

Philadelphia had the arm and the part of the torch held in the hand; Paris has the head: the Champ-de-Mars has therefore nothing to envy to Fairmount-Park.

We know that this ultra-colossal statue of Liberty Enlightening the World, the work of M. Bartholdi, is intended to perpetuate the memory of the founding of American independence and the part that France played in it. It will be erected on Pilot de Bedloe, in the harbour of New York itself, at the entrance to the Hudson, where it will really light up the world, as it will serve as a lighthouse. It is by means of voluntary subscriptions collected in both countries that the promoters of the work will be able, soon we hope, to give the final consecration to this great idea.

With the pedestal, the height of the monument will exceed 100 metres. The body of the statue measures 34 metres, the arm and the torch 13 metres, and the base 25 metres. Exposed as it will be to all winds, we thought of ensuring its stability by new procedures: instead of a masonry mass, we imagined interior partitions rising to about half the height of the statue and which will be filled with sand, so that, in case of repairs to be made, rather than having a long and costly demolition work, we will only have to let this sand flow.

The Statue of Liberty is of hammered copper; she stands with her right arm raised perpendicularly, armed with the torch, her left arm bent, supporting the tables bearing the engraved articles of the Declaration of Independence (July 4, 1776); a tunic envelops her from shoulders to feet with artfully draped folds; the head is girded with rays from which electric lights will emanate, surrounding her as if in a bright halo. - As a lighthouse, to be honest, this crown of flames will not have the importance of a first-rate device; but this is undoubtedly not the purpose that has been proposed.

The head of this colossal statue rises in the park of the Champ-de-Mars, towards the middle of the small alley parallel to the central alley which leads from the Pont d'Iéna to the entrance of honour, on the left in this direction; but it can be seen from a distance. An iron staircase has been installed inside this head so that the public can climb to the top and look through the skylights, i.e. the eyes. On the ground floor is a small shop where photographs of the model as it is and of the New York harbour with the statue placed on its island and crowned with radiant lights are sold. The entrance fee for the panorama of this view, which has been mounted for some time in the Tuileries, is included in the purchase of the photograph.
All the money collected in this way is paid into the subscription fund.

©L'Exposition Universelle 1878

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Tête de la Statue de la Liberté


Tête de la Statue de la Liberté à l'exposition de Paris 1878

Architecte(s) : Bartholdi

Philadelphie a eu le bras et la partie du flambeau tenue dans la main ; Paris a la tête : le Champ-de-Mars n’a donc rien à envier à Fairmount-Park.

On sait que cette statue ultra-colossale de la Liberté éclairant le monde, œuvre de M. Bartholdi, est destinée à perpétuer le souvenir de la fondation de l’indépendance américaine et de la part que la France y a prise. Elle sera élevée sur Pilot de Bedloe, dans la rade même de New-York, à l’entrée de l’Hudson, où elle éclairera vraiment le monde, car elle y servira de phare. C'est au moyen de souscriptions volontaires réunies dans les deux pays que' les promoteurs de l’œuvre pourront, prochainement nous l’espérons, donner la dernière consécration à cette grande idée.

Avec le piédestal, la hauteur du monument excédera 100 mètres. Le corps de la statue mesure 34 mètres, le bras et le flambeau 13 mètres, et le soubassement 25 mètres. Exposée comme elle le sera à tous les vents, on a songé à assurer sa stabilité par des procédés nouveaux : au lieu d’un massif de maçonnerie, on a imaginé des cloisons intérieures s’élevant environ à la moitié de la hauteur delà statue et qui seront remplies de sable, de sorte que, dans le cas de réparations à faire, plutôt que d’avoir un travail de démolition long et coûteux, on n’aura qu’à laisser écouler ce sable.

La statue de la Liberté est en cuivre martelé; elle est debout, le bras droit levé perpendiculairement, armé du flambeau, le bras gauche replié, soutenant les tables portant gravés les articles de la Déclaration d’indépendance (4 juillet 1776); une tunique l’enveloppe, des épaules jusqu’aux pieds, de plis drapés avec art ; la tête est ceinte de rayons d’où s’échapperont des feux électriques qui l’entoureront comme d’une auréole éclatante. — En tant que phare, pour être sincère, cette couronne de flammes n’aura pas l’importance d’un appareil de premier ordre; mais ce n’est sans doute pas le but qu’on s’est proposé.

La tête de cette statue colossale s’élève au parc du Champ -de-Mars, vers le milieu de la petite allée parallèle à l’allée centrale qui conduit du pont d’Iéna à l’entrée d’honneur, à gauche dans cette direction ; mais elle se voit de loin. On a installé à l’intérieur de cette tête un escalier en fer qui permet au public de s’y engager jusqu’au sommet pour regarder par les lucarnes, c’est-à-dire les yeux. Au rez-de-chaussée, est une petite boutique où l’on vend les photographies du modèle tel qu’il est et de la rade de New-York avec la statue placée sur son îlot et couronnée de feux rayonnants. Le droit d’entrée au panorama de cette vue, monté depuis quelque temps aux Tuileries, est compris dans l’achat de la photographie.
Tout l’argent ainsi recueilli est versé dans la caisse de la souscription.

©L'Exposition Universelle 1878