World Exhibition Paris 1878

New Technologies

May 1, 1878 - October 31, 1878


Back - List of Pavilions

English Section

English Section at the Exhibition Paris 1878

Architect(s) : W.-H. Lascelles, R. Norman Shaw, Gilbert R. Redgrave, Doulton de Lambeth, Tarring & Wilkinson, Redgrave, William Cubitt & Cie, Colliuson & Lock, Collcutt

There are five buildings separated by gardens, the series of which forms the typical façade of the British section of the Champ-de-Mars.

The first, built by Mr. W.-H. Lascelles, to the designs of Mr. R. Norman Shaw, reproduces, in imitation red brick, a house of the time of Queen Anne.

The second, known as the Prince of Wales' pavilion, was built to the designs of Mr. Gilbert R. Redgrave; it is a very successful specimen of Elizabethan architecture, to which we propose to return.

The third, with a red brick and terracotta façade, is intended for the Commission's service, and is the work of Mr. Doulton, of Lambeth, guided by the designs of Messrs. Tarring and Wilkinson.

The fourth building is perhaps the most characteristic of all.
It is a rustic cottage, in that old English style still so much in favour in Cheshire, the timber frame of which forms a frame for plaster panels. The design of this cottage is due to Mr. Redgrave, architect of the British Commission, and it was executed by the very workmen of Messrs. William Cubitt and Co. We give today the drawing of this remarkable construction.

Finally, the fifth and last of the series represents a specimen of the architecture of the time of William and Mary. It was built by Messrs Colliuson and Lock, to the designs of Mr Collcutt.

IN DETAIL:

The first house that comes into view represents a middle-class dwelling for the countryside or the province.
The builder of this house is Mr. Lascelles; the architect Mr. Norman Shaw. His system has the great advantage of being very economical; you can have a house for a few thousand francs.

Built in a very charming style, and above all very much loved by the English, the style of the time of Queen Anne; it has three floors, vast, spacious, airy, and furnished in the manner of the time, by Messrs. Jackson and Araham.

The ground floor serves as an anteroom, or rather a waiting room; it is here that the visitor casts off his coat and stays until he is received.

The room is wide, one can breathe in it, one can take a real walk in it; the window, placed at about one metre in height, is wide, but not very high; it spreads an honest and very discreet light in the room; it illuminates the family life, it does not reveal it.

On the first floor is the living room, on the second the bedrooms, on the third the servants' rooms. The kitchen, which we forgot to mention, is naturally on the ground floor, to the right of the antechamber.

The furniture is less entirely in the style of the period than the house, but it is an almost exact imitation of it.

Furniture, armchairs, seats, beds, all of it is large, solid, comfortable; all of it is made of those solid English woods so justly renowned and, a detail to be noted, all the furniture is solid, there is no veneer. Open the secretaries, the drawers come and go with astonishing ease; the wood they are made of does not play.

All the ornaments are of wrought copper.

In this house, we noticed, among other curiosities, a magnificent fireplace of the period, which we will describe to you.

The platform of the chimney is almost at man's height, as is the woodwork that goes around the room.

Above this platform is a sort of two-tiered shelf, but one such as you have never seen in France; the first tier, which is immediately above the mantelpiece, has three small mirrors forming frames in front of which vases, tea sets, etc. are placed; the second tier is decorated in the same way, but with the difference that the mirror which decorates it is in one piece and occupies the whole of its width.

This kind of superimposed ornamentation is often found, and sometimes in a much more complicated way, in the furniture of the period, especially in furniture used as an office.

This house is used for the conferences of the British Royal Commission.


the pavilion of his highness the prince of wales.

The external form of this pavilion is not very attractive to the eye or the mind.

A modest portico forms the entrance; it is flanked on each side by two grilled windows, between which are niches for statues; the first and only floor repeats the architectural design of the ground floor, with the difference that the portico framing the middle window is surmounted by a massive capital rather like the crowning of triumphal arches, and on which the British flag flies. The two windows on the first floor, absolutely identical to those on the ground floor, above which they are mathematically placed, are surmounted by a kind of small dome, the nationality of which is difficult to identify.

On the ground floor, the empty space between the small stone pilasters is filled with red bricks whose interstices are sealed with plaster; the effect is not ugly, but it is ordinary; on the first floor, where there is no more ashlar, all the masonry is made up of these red bricks; to break the monotony, some sort of black brick lozenges have been used, which contrast a little with the red without completely achieving the desired result.

Let's go inside, what a difference and what a revelation! We understand that the architect, as a practical man, has resolutely sacrificed form to substance, appearance to comfort; indeed, the layout of the place is perfectly combined for the convenience of those who are to inhabit it; the layout is admirably conceived from all points of view.

The first thing to be noticed is the width and height of the ground floor; space has been spared in neither of these two dimensions, which shows the great sense of hygiene possessed by English architects.

The architect, - Mr. Redgrave, let us not forget to name him, was also concerned with the question of light. He didn't want a lot of light, nor did he want half light. So he lit his ground floor from above. The ceiling of each room in this charming pavilion is replaced by a pane of glass. This glass is coloured in such a way as to give each of the rooms it illuminates the degree of light it requires.

This is easily seen during a careful visit.

The shape of this pavilion is a very slightly elongated rectangle, almost a square; this rectangle is cut in its length and width into three unequal parts; it thus comprises nine rooms.
The vestibule is severely decorated; the woodwork is high, the paintings are dark green; on the wall, on either side of the door to the flats, is a silver shield; on the right, the staircase which leads to the upper floor; on the left, a large room for the service people. The floor is decorated with a simple and severe mosaic.

Opposite us, a large room: this is the dining room.

The glass is quite clear, its violet patterns, quite rare and spaced out, diffuse little light which falls plumb on the vast table loaded with a magnificent gold service.

The walls are lined with high panelling, above which have been hung rich English tapestries, representing the principal scenes of The Merry Wives of Windsor, and coming from the Royal Manufactory of that city.

One walks on a thick, richly patterned carpet, with a blue background, soberly coloured.

The furniture is covered with green velvet, velvet that looks like Utrecht velvet.

Behind the table, a vast fireplace, in the style of the one described above; above this fireplace, the portrait of the Queen of England.

On elegant sideboards, placed on both sides of the door, are ewers, precious vases, services which constitute masterpieces of goldsmithery.

Two rooms open onto the dining room, one on the right, the other on the left.

The one on the left is the Prince of Wales' smoking room; the one on the right is the princess' boudoir, a jewel, something fairy-like.

Behind these two rooms, one adjoining the smoking room and the other the boudoir, are two dressing rooms; a corridor which passes behind the dining room serves as a communication between them.

The prince's smoking room is furnished with admirable taste. The light which it receives is soft and favourable to rest as well as to work. The woodwork is high, the wall hanging consists of large panels of green velvet. At the top, a very rich border runs around the flat; it represents chinoiseries on a gold background.

This kind of chinoiserie is very curious; we find it on a screen at the entrance to the smoking room; the background is gold, the design is in coloured silk; it represents vases of flowers and climbing plants with birds.

In front of the fireplace is a desk, in front of which you see attached to the wall on one side the portrait of the Prince, and on the other that of the Princess of Wales; both are painted on porcelain and extremely well done.

Another small desk, - a working desk, - is on the opposite side to the fireplace; the inkstand is of gold, as are the candlesticks.

To the right of the fireplace is a small sofa with a plain grey background.

There are many objets d'art in this room, but we have managed to avoid clutter.

The smoking room is closed with a garnet velvet curtain, which is held up by tiebacks made of small golden diamonds.

Behind the smoking room is the prince's toilet.

In a small cabinet, the walls of which are painted in soft green, is an elegant washbasin, decorated with aquatic subjects painted on porcelain; it is closed by means of blue hangings; next to it is a small room for changing clothes, and then the passage of communication of which we have spoken, and here we are in the house of Her Gracious Highness the Princess of Wales.

The washbasin and the toilet differ little from that of the Prince. Of course, the same cannot be said of the boudoir.

This boudoir is absolutely delightful.

The walls are hung with large blue panels; the whole furnishing is blue.

Beside a delightful little work-table is a screen similar in ornamentation to that which we noticed in the Prince's house, but with a blue background; opposite the table is a small lady's desk.

Elsewhere, rosewood furniture, an armchair, a sofa, a few chairs, and that is all.

At the back of the boudoir is an artificial grotto with a gushing fountain, aquatic animals, sea grass, etc. It is lined with mirrors. It is lined with mirrors arranged in such a way as to present the appearance of great depth and to produce beautiful reflective effects.

This boudoir is, we repeat, a real jewel of taste and delicacy; it is closed by means of a sort of vault, draped with doors from the Royal School of Needlework.


THE OTHER FAÇADES.

The first façade we notice after the princely pavilion is the terracotta and pottery house built by Messrs Doultœn and Co. and decorated inside by Messrs Shoolbred and Co.

It is also all red from the bottom to the top, except for half a dozen enamelled medallions which break the monotony.

Its façade is very elegant, and it is undeniable that it charms everyone, but it seems rather difficult to say, from an architectural point of view, to which period or to which genre it belongs. There is indeed everything on this façade; it even seems that the author was inspired by the Moorish style.

The house has two floors, the ground floor consisting of two windows with pointed arches resting on columns with capitals made of acanthus leaves.

The upper floor has three windows, also with arches, decorated with innumerable columns whose capitals are a mess. An open balustrade, which would suggest the existence of a terrace, completes the crown of the small building.

The interior is furnished by an exhibitor of Queen Anne style furniture. As you can see, we encounter this style everywhere. It is, we repeat, very popular in England, no doubt because of its elegance, as well as the convenience it offers.

The fourth is built by William Cubitt and Company, who are exhibitors for the first time, and is usually referred to as the Canada pavilion, because it is used for meetings of the Commission of that English possession, and has been decorated and furnished by Canadian exhibitors.

The fifth, built in the Anglo-Dutch style of the time of William and Mary, was decorated in the same style by Mr. Collinson and Sons.

This façade is completely different from the previous one; first of all it is all white, and secondly it has the advantage, although very simple, of representing a definite period, that of Elisabeth.
It has only two floors, a ground floor and a first floor; it occupies very little land, but how well the land was used! The first floor overhangs considerably; it is supported by four turned wooden columns, which form a sort of external peristyle in front of the ground floor. The room is naturally a little dark, but, if you go up to the first floor, what a spectacle is offered to you!

You will find a vast lounge furnished in a beautiful style, the front of which is made up entirely of glass windows. The light floods into the living room and from your armchair you can see the landscape for miles around.

Adjacent to the living room is a fairly large room that serves as a bedroom. Also in full light, it is equipped with all the comfort and elegance imaginable.

On the day we visited it contained an iron parade bed with gilt copper posts. Among the bedding, we noticed an ornamented silk bed cover worth 1,500 francs.

©Les Merveilles de l'Exposition de 1878

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Section Anglaise


Section Anglaise à l'exposition de Paris 1878

Architecte(s) : W.-H. Lascelles, R. Norman Shaw, Gilbert R. Redgrave, Doulton de Lambeth, Tarring et Wilkinson, Redgrave, William Cubitt et Cie, Colliuson et Lock, Collcutt

Les constructions séparées par des jardins dont la série constitue la façade typique de la section britannique, au Champ-de-Mars, sont au nombre de cinq.

La première, édifiée par M. W.-H. Lascelles, sur les dessins de M. R. Norman Shaw, reproduit, en imitation de brique rouge, une maison du temps de la reine Anne.

La deuxième, désignée sous le nom de pavillon du prince de Galles, a été bâtie sur les dessins de M. Gilbert R. Redgrave; c’est un spécimen très-réussi de l’architecture du temps d’Élisabeth, sur lequel nous nous proposons de revenir.

La troisième, à façade de brique rouge et terre cuite, destinée au service de la Commission, est l’œuvre de M. Doulton, de Lambeth, guidé par les dessins de MM. Tarring et Wilkinson.

La quatrième construction est peut-être la plus caractéristique de toutes.
C’est un cottage rustique, dans ce vieux style anglais encore si en faveur dans le Cheshire, dont la charpente en bois forme cadre à des panneaux de plâtre. Le dessin de ce cottage est dû à M. Redgrave, architecte delà Commission britannique, et il a été exécuté par les ouvriers même de MM. William Cubitt et Cie, appelés exprès â Paris. Nous donnons aujourd’hui le dessin de cette remarquable construction.

Enfin la cinquième et dernière de la série représente un spécimen de l’architecture du temps de Guillaume et Marie. Elle a été construite par MM. Colliuson et Lock, sur les dessins de M. Collcutt.

EN DETAILS:

La première maison qui s’offre à notre vue vous représente une habitation bourgeoise pour la campagne ou la province.
Le constructeur de cette maison est, M. Lascelles ; l’architecte M. Norman Shaw. Son système présente le grand avantage d’être très-économique ; on peut avoir une maison pour quelques milliers de francs.

Construite dans un style très-charmant et surtout très-aimé des anglais, le style du temps de la reine Anne ; elle a trois étages, vastes, spacieux, aérés, et meublés suivant la façon de l’époque, par MM. Jackson et Araham.

Le rez-de-chaussée sert d’antichambre ou plutôt de salle d’attente ; c’est là que le visiteur se débarrasse de son manteau et séjourne en attendant qu’on le reçoive.

La pièce est large, on y respire, on y peut faire une véritable promenade; la fenêtre, placée à un mètre d’élévation à peu près, est large, mais peu haute ; elle répand dans la pièce un jour honnête et très-discret ; elle éclaire la vie de famille, elle ne la divulgue pas.

Au premier étage, se trouve le salon ; au second les chambres à coucher, au troisième les chambres de domestiques. La cuisine, que nous avions oublié de mentionner, se trouve naturellement au rez-de-chaussée, à droite de l’antichambre.

Les meubles ont moins entièrement que la maison le style de l’époque ; mais ils en sont l’imitation presque exacte.

Meubles, fauteuils, sièges, lits, tout cela est large, solide, confortable ; tout cela est fait de ces solides bois anglais si justement renommés et, détail à noter, tous les meubles sont massifs, il n’y a pas de plaqué. Ouvrez les secrétaires, les tiroirs vont et viennent avec une étonnante facilité ; le bois dont ils sont faits né joue pas.

Tous les ornements sont en cuivre ouvragé.

Dans cette maison, nous avons remarqué, entre autres curiosités, une magnifique cheminée de l’époque, que nous allons vous décrire.

La plate-forme de la cheminée est à peu près à hauteur d’homme, comme la boiserie qui fait le tour de la pièce.

Au-dessus de cette plate-forme, est établie une sorte d’étagère à deux étages, mais une étagère comme vous n’en avez jamais vue en France ; le premier rang, celui qui se trouve immédiatement sur le dessus de la cheminée," présente trois petites glaces formant cadres devant lesquelles on pose des vases, services à thé, etc.; le second rang, lui, est orné de la même façon, mais avec cette différence que la glace qui le décore est d’un seul morceau et occupe toute sa largeur.

Ce genre d’ornementations superposées se rencontre, du reste, assez souvent, et quelquefois d’une façon bien plus compliquée, dans les meubles de l’époque, surtout dans les meubles à usage de bureau.

Cette maison sert pour les conférences de la Commission royale Britannique.


LE PAVILLON DE SON ALTESSE LE PRINCE DE GALLES.

La forme extérieure de ce pavillon n’a rien qui séduise beaucoup l’œil ni l’esprit.

Un modeste portique en figure l’entrée; il est flanqué, de chaque côté, de deux fenêtres grillées, entre lesquelles on remarque des niches pour recevoir des statues ; le premier et unique étage répète la conception architecturale du rez-de-chaussée, avec cette différence que le portique qui encadre la fenêtre du milieu est surmonté d’un chapiteau massif assez semblable au couronnement des arcs de triomphe et sur lequel flotte le drapeau britannique. Les deux fenêtres du premier étage, absolument pareilles à celles du rez-de-chaussée, au-dessus desquelles elles sont mathématiquement placées, sont surmontées d’espèces de petits dômes dont on a quelque peine à reconnaître la nationalité.

Au rez-de-chaussée, l’espace libre entre les petits pilastres de pierre est rempli par des briques rouges dont les interstices sont scellés avec du plâtre ; l’effet n’est pas vilain, mais il est ordinaire ; au premier étage, où il n’y a plus de pierre de taille, toute la maçonnerie se compose de ces briques rouges; pour en rompre la monotonie, on a eu recours à des sortes de losanges en briques noires qui tranchent un peu sur le rouge sans atteindre complètement le résultat cherché.

Pénétrons à l’intérieur, quelle différence et quelle révélation ! On comprend que l’architecte, en homme pratique, a résolument sacrifié la forme au fond, l’apparence au confortable; en effet, la disposition des lieux est parfaitement combinée pour la commodité de ceux qui doivent l’habiter ; l’aménagement est admirablement conçu à tous les points de vue.

On remarquera d’abord la largeur et la hauteur de ce rez-de-chaussée; l’espace n’y a été épargné dans aucune de ces deux dimensions, ce qui démontre le grand sentiment de l’hygiène que possèdent les architectes anglais.

L’architecte, — M. Redgrave, n’oublions pas de le nommer, s’est aussi préoccupé de la question de la lumière. Il n’a pas voulu un grand jour, il n’a pas voulu non plus un demi-jour. Il a donc éclairé son rez-de-chaussée par en haut. Le plafond de chaque pièce de ce charmant pavillon est remplacé par un vitrage. Ce vitrage est coloré de façon à donner à chacune des pièces qu’il éclaire le degré de lumière qui lui convient.

On s’en rend facilement compte au cours d’une visite attentive.

La forme de ce pavillon est un rectangle très-peu allongé, presque un carré; ce rectangle est coupé dans sa longueur et dans sa largeur en trois parties inégales ; il comprend donc neuf pièces.
Le vestibule est décoré sévèrement; les boiseries sont hautes, les peintures sont vert foncé ; au mur, de chaque côté de la porte des appartements, un bouclier argenté ; à droite, l’escalier qui conduit à l’étage supérieur ; à gauche, une grande salle pour les gens de service. Le sol est orné d’une mosaïque simple et sévère.

En face de nous, une grande salle : c’est la salle à manger.

Le vitrage est assez clair, ses dessins violets, assez rares et espacés, diffusent peu la lumière qui tombe d’aplomb sur la vaste table chargée d’un magnifique service-or.

Les murailles sont garnies de hautes boiseries, au-dessus desquelles ont été.tendues de riches tapisseries anglaises, représentant les principales scènes des Joyeuses commères de Windsor et provenant de la manufacture royale de cette ville.

On marche sur un épais tapis à dessin riche, sur fond bleu, sobrement coloré.

Les meubles sont recouverts de velours vert, de velours qui ressemble au velours d’Utrecht.

Derrière la table, une vaste cheminée, dans le style de celle que nous avons décrite plus haut ; au-dessus de cette cheminée, le portrait de la reine d’Angleterre.

Sur d’élégants buffets, placés aux deux côtés de la porte, ce ne sont qu’aiguières, vases précieux, services qui constituent des chefs-d’œuvre d’orfèvrerie.

Deux pièces donnent sur la salle à manger, l’une à droite, l’autre à gauche.

Celle de gauche est le fumoir du prince de Galles ; celle de droite est le boudoir de la princesse, un bijou, quelque chose de féerique.

En arrière de ces deux pièces, attenant l’un au fumoir et l’autre au boudoir, se trouvent deux cabinets de toilette ; un couloir qui passe derrière la salle à manger sert de communication entre eux.

Le fumoir du prince est meublé avec un goût admirable. La lumière qu’il reçoit rit douce et favorable au repos comme au travail. La boiserie est haute, la tenture murale se compose de grands panneaux de velours verts. En haut, une bordure très-riche fait le tour de l’appartement ; elle représente des chinoiseries sur fond or.

Ce genre de chinoiseries est fort curieux ; nous le retrouvons sur un paravent qui est à l’entrée du fumoir ; le fond est or, le dessin est en soie de couleurs ; cela représente des vases de fleurs et des plantes grimpantes avec des oiseaux.

Devant la cheminée, un bureau, en face duquel vous voyez appendus au mur d’un côté le portrait du prince, et de l’autre celui de la princesse de Galles ; tous deux sont peints sur porcelaine et extrêmement réussis.

Un autre petit bureau, — bureau de travail, — se trouve du côté opposé à la cheminée ; l’encrier est en or, ainsi que les chandeliers.

A droite de la cheminée, un petit canapé fond gris uni.

Il y a beaucoup d’objets d’art dans cette pièce, mais cependant on a réussi à éviter l’encombrement.

Le fumoir se ferme au moyen d’une tenture de velours grenat, que retiennent des embrasses formées de petits losanges dorés.

Derrière le fumoir, le cabinet de toilette du prince.

Dans un petit cabinet, dont les murs sont peints en vert tendre, se trouve un élégant lavabo, orné de sujets aquatiques peints sur porcelaine ; il se ferme au moyen de tentures bleues ; à côté une petite pièce pour changer de costume, puis le passage de communication dont nous avons parlé, et nous voici chez Sa Gracieuse Altesse la princesse de Galles.

Le lavabo et le cabinet de toilette diffèrent peu de celui du prince. Naturellement, il n’en est pas de même du boudoir.

Ce boudoir est absolument délicieux.

Les murs ont pour tentures de grands panneaux bleus ; tout l’ameublement d’ailleurs est bleu.

A côté d’une délicieuse petite table à ouvrage, un écran semblable comme ornementation à celui que nous avons remarqué chez le prince, mais sur fond bleu ; en face de la table, un petit bureau de dame.

Ailleurs, des meubles en bois de rose, un fauteuil, un canapé, quelques chaises, et c’est tout.

Dans le fond du boudoir, une grotte artificielle avec fontaine jaillissante, animaux aquatiques, herbes marines, etc. Elle est tapissée de glaces disposées de façon à présenter l’apparence d’une grande profondeur et à produire de beaux effets de réflexion.

Ce boudoir est, nous le répétons, un véritable bijou de goût et de délicatesse ; il se ferme au moyen d’une sorte de voûte, drapée de portières provenant de l’École royale des travaux d’art à l’aiguille.


LES AUTRES FAÇADES.

La première façade que nous remarquons après le pavillon princier, c’est la maison en terre cuite et en poterie construite par MM. Doultœn et Cie, et décorée intérieurement par MM. Shoolbred et Cie.

Aussi est-elle toute rouge du bas jusqu’en haut, à part une demi-douzaine de médaillons émaillés qui en rompent la monotonie.

Sa façade est très-élégante, et il est indéniable qu’elle charme tout le monde, mais il paraît assez difficile de dire, au point de vue architectural, à quelle époque ni à quel genre elle se rattache. Il y a de tout, en effet, sur cette façade ; il semble même que l’auteur se soit passablement inspiré du genre mauresque.

La maison a deux étages.Le rez-de-chaussée se compose de deux fenêtres à ogive coupée reposant sur des colonnettes,dont les chapiteaux sont faits de feuilles d’acanthe.

L’étage supérieur comprend trois fenêtres également à ogives, ornées d’innombrables colonnettes dont les chapiteaux font fouillis. Une balustrade à jour, et qui ferait croire à l’existence d’une terrasse, achève le couronnement du petit édifice.

L’intérieur est garni par les soins d'un exposant de meubles style Reine-Anne. Vous voyez que nous rencontrons ce style partout. Il est, nous le répétons, très-choyé en Angleterre, il le doit sans doute à son élégance, ainsi qu’à la commodité qu’il comporte.

La quatrième a pour constructeurs MM. William Cubitt et Cie, dont c’est le début comme exposants ; on la désigne ordinairement comme le pavillon du Canada, parce qu’elle est affectée aux réunions des membres de la Commission de cette possession anglaise, et a été en outre décorée et meublée par les soins d’exposants canadiens.

La cinquième enfin, construite dans le style anglo-hollandais du temps de Guillaume et Marie, a été décorée dans le même style par MM. Collinson et fils.

Cette façade est absolument différente de la précédente ; d’abord elle est toute blanche, ensuite elle a, quoique bien simple, l’avantage de représenter une époque définie, celle d’Elisabeth.
Elle n’a que deux étages, un rez-de-chaussée et un premier ; elle occupe très-peu de terrain, mais comme le terrain a été bien utilisé ! Le premier étage surplombe considérablement ; il est soutenu par quatre colonnettes en bois tourné, qui forment une sorte de péristyle extérieur devant le rez-de-chaussée. La salle est naturellement un peu sombre, mais, si vous montez au premier, quel spectacle s’offre à vous !

Vous trouvez, meublé dans un beau style, un vaste salon dont la façade se compose uniquement de châssis vitrés. La lumière pénètre ainsi à flots dans le salon et de votre fauteuil vous pourriez découvrir le paysage à plusieurs lieues à la ronde.

Attenante au salon, est une pièce assez grande et servant de chambre à coucher. Egalement en pleine lumière, elle e§t munie de tout le confortable et de toute l’élégance imaginables.

Le jour où nous l’avons visitée, elle contenait un lit à parade en fer, avec montants en cuivre doré. Parmi les objets de literie, nous avons remarqué une couverture de lit en soie ornementée qui valait 1,500 francs.

©Les Merveilles de l'Exposition de 1878