Back - List of Pavilions

China - Expo Paris 1878

China at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1878
Architect(s) : Sun-Ksing-Keng

In order to see the whole of the Chinese exhibition, it is necessary to complete the exploration of the galleries of the Champ-de-Mars with a walk through the Trocadero. It is there, near the Delessert gate, that the architect Sun-Ksing-Keng had these curious constructions built by Chinese workers, annexes to the Exhibition proper, the important parts of which came ready-made from Ningpo, ready to be erected, although it took a long time.

They consist of two galleries forming a pavilion in front, separated by a courtyard at the back of which stands another pavilion. Needless to say, the corners of the red roofs of these black and gold pavilions rise up towards the sky as if to witness their good behaviour. Between the gigantic fangs of the moustaches of those which end the galleries facing the Seine, two porcelain warriors, who look at each other as if they were earthenware dogs, add considerably to the local colour of the exterior ornamentation, where illumination vies with sculpture and carving and where dragons and chimeras indulge in fantastic sarabands.

As for the riches contained within, we would be repeating ourselves too much if we had to go over them. The important thing is that there is no trickery involved: we know that the 1878 Exhibition only admitted chinoiseries and Chinese (including the giant) of the most scrupulous authenticity - guaranteed on invoice.

©L'Exposition Universelle 1878

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Chine


Chine à l'exposition de Paris 1878

Architecte(s) : Sun-Ksing-Keng

Pourvoir toute l’exposition de la Chine, il est nécessaire de compléter par une promenade au Trocadéro l’exploration des galeries du Champ-de-Mars. C’est là, près de la porte Delessert, que l’architecte Sun-Ksing-Keng a fait élever par des ouvriers chinois ces curieuses constructions, annexes de l’Exposition proprement dite, dont les parties importantes sont venues toutes faites de Ningpo, prêtes à être montées, bien qu’on y ait mis le temps.

Elles se composent de deux galeries formant pavillon en façade, séparées par une cour au fond de laquelle s’élève un autre pavillon. Inutile de dire que les angles des toits rouges de ces pavillons noir et or se relèvent vers le ciel comme pour le prendre à témoin de leur bonne tenue. Entre les crocs de moustaches gigantesques de ceux qui terminent les galeries faisant face à la Seine, deux guerriers de porcelaine, qui se regardent en chiens de faïence, ajoutent considérablement à la couleur locale de l’ornementation extérieure, où l’enluminure le dispute à la sculpture et au découpage et où les dragons et les chimères se livrent à des sarabandes fantastiques.

Quant aux richesses renfermées là-dedans, nous nous répéterions trop s’il nous fallait les passer on revue. L’important c’est que le trucage n’y a aucune part : on sait que l’Exposition de 1878 n’a admis que des chinoiseries et des Chinois (y compris le géant) de la plus scrupuleuse authenticité — garantie sur facture.

©L'Exposition Universelle 1878