World Exhibition Paris 1878

New Technologies

May 1, 1878 - October 31, 1878


Back - List of Pavilions

Exhibition of Living Animals

manque image

Since all the kingdoms of nature must appear in an international exhibition, the Esplanade des Invalidés was largely enclosed and arranged to receive in turn the representatives of the horse and donkey species, the bovine species, the ovine species, the porcine species, the farmyard birds and the canine species; various competitions took place in three stages.

We will quickly sketch the physiognomy of these various exhibitions; let us start with the most noble conquest of man, that is to say, the horse.

The horse exhibition was very well attended and became from its opening the rendezvous of the whole international high-life.

The muzhiks in national costume who were looking after the horses of Grand Duke Nicholas of Russia, one of the greatest breeders in Europe, were watched with great curiosity.

The Belgian horses stood out for their solidity; our Breton and Norman breeds found many admirers and buyers.

Finally came the admirable English thoroughbreds, with their solemn-looking, impassive grooms.

Then came the Hungarian horses, whose praise is no longer due. The costume of their guards was very picturesque: Spanish-style hat, large shirt falling to the knees with large hanging sleeves, almost as long as the shirt, red waistcoat, black tie fringed with gold and large boots armed with enormous spurs.

In the annexes on the right, the asinine breed was represented; we saw there superb baudets and mules of an inappreciable breed.

The second competition, which took place from 7 to 18 June, included 1,700 bovine animals, of which 386 were from abroad; 825 sheep, of which 242 were from abroad; 381 pigs, of which 127 were from abroad; and 2,668 barnyard animals, broken down as follows 1,461 roosters and hens, 91 turkeys, 49 geese, 133 ducks, 18 guinea fowls, 518 pigeons and nearly 400 rabbits.

Dividing the exhibitors by nationality, there were: France, 461; Great Britain, 147, of which H. M. the Queen and H. E. the Queen of England, 147. M. the Queen and H. The only Portuguese exhibitor was Mr. Gagliardini, director of the farm-school of Cintra.
The competition was very successful. The Durham breed, a short-horned breed for slaughter, was greatly admired, with specimens being sold for 100,000 francs, followed by the Durham-Manceau breed, the result of crosses with the Manche breed.

The Hereford breed, an English breed, very developed body, short legs, long hair, pure red or shaded, with a white face, was represented by only one of these animals, which the Queen of England had sent; a few representatives of the Sussex and Devon breeds, and finally the Aberdeen and Angus breeds, such is the balance of England.

Our Charolais, our Nivernais, our Parthenais, our Garonnais, our Comtois, our Limousins, were justly admired. There were some remarkable types there.

As far as the dairy breed is concerned, this competition proved that we could compete with our Norman, Breton, etc. breeds abroad.

For the sheep breed, the struggle was limited to England and France, and the merit seemed to be equally shared between the two countries.

We do not see anything special to say about pigs or backyard dwellers, and we come to the dog.

The dog is man's friend, a friend who is not always lucky "all the same," as the song goes. The dog has seen all classes of society flock to his kennels and lavish him with the most flattering consideration.

The first category included guard dogs, sheepdogs, etc.; the second, hunting dogs; the third, pointing dogs; the fourth, greyhounds; the fifth, luxury and flat dogs; and the sixth, various dogs, exotic and others.

In this last category were classified the dogs of China and Polynesia, etc.; but how many species were unfortunately missed and therefore only appeared on paper!

Two St. Bernard dogs, Loulou and Minka, who shared the public's attention with some superb Newfoundlanders, were much in evidence.

Among the small species, we noticed a small dwarf terrier dog, black and tan. He was as big as a fist.

He was either lovely or ugly, depending on your taste.

©Les Merveilles de l'Exposition de 1878

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Exposition des Animaux Vivants



Tous les règnes de la nature devant figurer dans une exposition internationale, l’esplanade des Invalidés a été en grande partie enceinte de clôture et aménagée pour recevoir à tour de rôle les représentants de l’espèce chevaline et asine, de l’espèce bovine, de l’espèce ovine, de l’espèce porcine, des oiseaux de basse-cour et de l’espèce canine ; des concours divers ont eu lieu en trois fois.

Nous allons esquisser rapidement la physionomie de ces diverses expositions ; commençons par la plus noble conquête de l’homme, c’est-à-dire parle cheval.

L’exposition chevaline été très fréquentée et est devenue dès son ouverture le rendez-vous de tout le high-life international.

On regardait avec beaucoup de curiosité les moujiks en costume national, qui soignaient les chevaux du grand-duc Nicolas de Russie, un des plus grands éleveurs de l’Europe.

Les chevaux belges se faisaient remarquer par leur solidité ; nos races bretonne et normande ont trouvé beaucoup d’admirateurs et d’acheteurs.

Venaient enfin les admirables pur-sang anglais, avec leurs grooms à l’air solennel, à la physionomie impassible.

Puis les chevaux hongrois, dont l’éloge n’est plus à faire. Bien pittoresque était le costume de leurs gardiens : chapeau de forme espagnole, grande chemise tombant aux genoux avec de larges manches pendantes, presque aussi longues que la chemise, gilet de drap rouge, cravate noire frangée d’or et de grandes bottes armées d’énormes éperons.

Dans les annexes de droite, se trouvait la race asine ; nous y avons vu de superbes baudets et des mulets d’une race inappréciable.

Le deuxième concours, qui eut lieu du 7 au 18 juin, comprenait 1,700 animaux d’espèce bovine, dont 386 de provenance étrangère ; 825 d’espèce ovine, dont 242 de l’étranger; 381 d’espèce porcine, dont 127de l’étranger; enfin 2,668 lots d’animaux de basse-cour se décomposant comme suit : 1,461 coqs et poules, 91 dindes et dindons, 49 oies, 133 canards, 18 pintades, 518 pigeons et près de 400 lapins.

On comptait, en divisant les exposants par nationalités: France, 461 ; Grande-Bretagne, 147, dont S. M. la reine et S. A. le prince de Galles; Belgique, 39; Hollande, 13; Italie, 12; Suisse, 10; Autriche-Hongrie, 6 ; Danemark, 2; Portugal, 1. L’unique exposant portugais était M. Gagliardini, directeur de la ferme-école de Cintra.
Ce concours a été très-brillant. On a\ fort admiré la race Durham, race à courtes cornes, race de boucherie, dont on a vu des spécimens être payés 100,000 francs, puis la race Durham-manceau, résultat de croisements avec la race mancelle.

La race Hereford, race anglaise, corps très développé, jambes courtes, poil long, rouge pur ou nuancé, avec face blanche, n’était représentée que par un seul de ces animaux, que la reine d’Angleterre avait envoyé ; quelques représentants des races Sussex et Devon, enfin les races Aberdeen et Angus, tel est le bilan de l’Angleterre.

Nos charolais, nos nivernais, nos parthenais, nos garonnais, nos comtois, nos limousins, ont été justement admirés. Il y avait là des types remarquables.

En ce qui concerne la race laitière, ce concours a prouvé que nous pouvions disputer la palme à l’étranger, avec nos races normande, bretonne, etc.

Pour la race ovine, la lutte était circonscrite entre l’Angleterre et. la France, et le mérite semblait également partagé entre les deux pays.

Nous ne voyons rien de bien particulier à dire sur les porcs ni sur les habitants des basses-cours, et nous arrivons au chien.

Le chien est l’ami de l’homme, un ami qui n’a pas toujours de chance « tout d’même, » à ce que dit la chanson. Le chien a vu toutes les classes de la société se presser autour de ses chenils et lui prodiguer les témoignages d’une considération on ne peut plus flatteuse.

La première catégorie comprenait les chiens de garde, les chiens de berger, etc. ; la deuxième, les chiens de chasse à courre; la troisième, les chiens d’arrêt ; la quatrième, les lévriers; la cinquième, les chiens de luxe et d’appartement ; et la sixième, les chiens divers, exotiques et autres.

Dans cette dernière catégorie, étaient classés les chiens de Chine et de Polynésie, etc. ; mais combien d’espèces ont par malheur manqué à l’appel et n’ont par conséquent figuré que sur le papier !

On regardait beaucoup deux chiens du Saint-Bernard, Loulou et Minka, qui partageaient l’attention du public avec de superbes terre-neuve.

Parmi les petites espèces, nous avons remarqué un petit chien terrier nain, couleur noir et feu. Il était gros comme le poing.

Il était ravissant ou il était affreux, cela dépend des goûts.

©Les Merveilles de l'Exposition de 1878