World Exhibition Paris 1878

New Technologies

May 1, 1878 - October 31, 1878


Back - List of Pavilions

Exhibition of the Gas Lighting and Heating Company

manque image

The exhibition of the Parisian gas lighting and heating company.

A short distance from the Creusot pavilion, next to the one where the Ministry of Public Works had housed its interesting exhibition, one could see an elegant chalet with a jagged roof; this was where the appliances of the Parisian Gas Lighting and Heating Company were exhibited.

The reader will be grateful to us for devoting a few lines to this great company, which constitutes in our country, as it were, a national enterprise, and whose organization, so perfect and so accomplished, serves as a model not only in France, but also abroad.

Let us speak first of the gas itself.

Few people know the name of its inventor.

The man who first discovered the use of gas and its application was called Philippe Lebon, and it was in 1799 that he took out a patent to secure the ownership of his invention.

Shortly afterwards, Philippe Lebon saw the possibility of using gas as a driving force.

Today, the problem has been solved, thanks to the Lenoir machine, which appeared in 1860 and which has so far been found to be perfectly adequate.

The Compagnie Parisienne is nevertheless engaged in the study of a new gas machine, recently devised by M. Otto, which seems to solve in an even more satisfactory and more general way than the previous ones, the problem of the application of lighting gas to the production of motive power.

This machine combines the advantages of the Lenoir machine and the Langen and Otto machine, without having the disadvantages: form well suited to small installations, elimination of electricity, silent operation, reduction in gas consumption. We believe it will be a real success.
Two specimens of these machines were in operation at the Exhibition: one in the special pavilion of the Company, the other inside the Champ de Mars Palace.

As M. Camus, the active and eminent director of the Company, has rightly written in one of his interesting notices, the construction of gas machines offered particular difficulties. The time that elapsed between the first tests and the construction of a really practical machine gives the measure of the efforts that had to be made to reach the goal that Philippe Lebon had in mind.

But the distance between the realisation of an invention and its industrial exploitation is often very great. In 1863, the Lenoir machine was about to be forgotten. The high cost price discouraged the manufacturers, who could not find in the selling prices, even excessive, the remuneration of their work. The Compagnie Parisienne, which supplies the gas necessary for the gas machines operating within its perimeter, had the idea of being satisfied with the profit made on the gas thus consumed and of manufacturing machines to sell them at cost price. By this combination, which reconciled its interests with those of the public, it preserved for Parisian industry the benefit of an eminently French invention.


THE LIGHTING OF PARIS

The Company, as we know, is responsible for the lighting of the capital; constituted on a definitive basis in 1855 by the merger of the various companies which, at that time, shared the lighting of Paris, it found itself, at the time of the annexation which took place in 1860, obliged to light 7,000 hectares instead of the 3,288 which primitively made up the Parisian area.

The gas produced in the various factories is directed to Paris by means of large-diameter pipes which converge towards the centre of gravity of consumption situated in the vicinity of the Pointe Saint-Eustache. These outlet pipes, of which there are 20, where the gas flows at certain times of the evening at a speed of 5 to 6 metres per second, can deliver more than 130,000 cubic metres per hour. All of them communicate with each other, forming a vast reservoir from which smaller pipes draw, which themselves branch out infinitely to bring the gas to a suitable pressure at all points in the capital.

The result of this arrangement is that all the factories contribute to the supply of the network served by the Company, so that, in the event that one of them should, by accident, suspend its production, the lighting service would be instantly assured by the gas coming from the others. The length of the pipelines established both in Paris and in the suburban communes is 1,759,259 metres.

The maximum diameter of these pipes is 1 metre; the minimum diameter, at the ends of the network, is 0.054 metres.

The average diameter is 0.150 metres.

Since 1856, the Company has only laid leaded and bituminous sheet metal pipes. The use of this system has made accidents and pipe breaks extremely rare and has reduced the losses of the pipeline by half, but it did not lend itself well to the connection of the pipes to each other. The lack of rigidity of the sheet metal did not allow the use of cast iron connectors. This was remedied by the use of lead fittings fixed with clamps. These lead fittings meet the same needs as the cast iron crosses and elbows, while having the advantage of being able to be manufactured immediately, in each case, according to the respective positions of the pipes to be connected.

At the same time, the need to keep the gas in charge during the day, for industrial and domestic heating, provoked necessary and important improvements in the pipeline works. The Company proposed to eliminate the use of welding and consequently of fire in this work and to carry out openings and piercings of pipes without causing gas escapes. It has achieved the first goal by replacing welding by the application of parts made in the workshop, and the second by manufacturing special tools which allow the opening and drilling of the sheet metal without giving rise to the gas in the pipe, which is isolated by the introduction of rubber insulating balloons on both sides.

It is easy to understand, therefore, why consumption, which was only 40,774,400 cubic metres in 1855, rose to 116,171,727 cubic metres in 1865; in 1877, it reached the figure of 191,197,228 cubic metres, i.e. almost five times what it was at the beginning.

-The unceasing efforts of the Company to spread the use of gas and to facilitate its use in the most elegant hotels and in the most modest interiors, in the vast shops as well as in the most cramped shops, have been instrumental in the achievement of these happy results.

The reduction in the price of gas also contributed to a certain extent to this increase in consumption.

In 1855, the city paid an average of 30 centimes per cubic metre for gas to the old companies; the rate for individuals was 40 centimes.

The new agreements reduced the municipal price to 15 centimes per cubic metre and the price for private lighting to 30 centimes.

The Company illuminates not only Paris, but also fifty-one communes in the Seine and Seine-et-Oise departments.

The total number of public spouts amounts to about 42,486.

As for the number of private spouts, it may be estimated at 1,200,000.

The Company supplies gas to 124,178 subscribers; the gas is registered by special meters which are tested in the Company's laboratories, controlled by the Municipal Service and stamped by the Prefecture of the Seine.

The capital of the Company consists of 336,000 shares, with a nominal value of 250 francs, representing a sum of 84,000,000 francs, and 266,000 bonds, representing 111,745,000 francs.

These securities are regarded as a first-rate investment, and it is not surprising when one considers that the gross receipts of the Company amounted in 1877 to 69,103,784 fr. 65 c., while in 1856, the first year of its operation, the receipts had only reached the figure of 14,030,183 francs.

The pavilion of the Gas Company at the Exhibition cost one hundred and fifty thousand francs, and a visit to this exhibition was of the greatest interest.

Between the machines -Lcnoir and Olto and Langen- operating in the centre of the pavilion, there were extremely curious plans, as well as scale models of all the gasworks equipment. Chemical production also had a large place.

At the back was a showcase in which, in glass jars and bottles, the various products of coal, notably tar, naphthalene, paraffin, benzine, phenic acid, and the dyes: picric acid, aniline, fuchsin, alizarin, etc., whose discovery has produced such a profound revolution in the dyeing industry, were enclosed.

In another showcase were exhibited various silks and fabrics dyed with these materials in the most vivid and beautiful shades.

The production of gas is for the Company a source of various and very lucrative exploitations.

Thus gas gives :

1° Coke, about 450 million kilograms per year.
2° The dust resulting from the crushing of the coke.
3° Tars.
4° A large number of chemical products used for specific purposes.

Nothing is lost, everything is used; thus the stinking water that is recovered from the sumps and which has remained around the gas pipes is used to make ammonia.

The exhibition of the Parisian Gas Company naturally includes all the tools, meters, models of pipes, etc., etc.

In conclusion, we will give the reader the figure of the quantities of gas delivered annually to the public by the Company since the year 1855, when it was founded:

In 1855... 40,774,400 m3
1850.. . 47,335,475
1857.. . 56,042.640
1858.. . 62,159,300
1859.. . 67.628,116
1860.. . 75,518,922
1861.. . 84,230,670
1862.. . 93,076,220
1863.. . 100,833,258
1864.. . 109,610,003
1505.. . 116,171,727
1866.. . 122,334,605
In 1867... 136,569,762 m3
1868.. . 138,797,811
1869.. . 145,199,424
1870.. . 114,476,909
1871.. . 87,481,346
1872.. . 147,668,331
1873.. . 154,397,115
1874.. . 160,652,202
1875.. . 175,938,244
1876.. . 189,209,789
1877.. . 191,197,228

©Les Merveilles de l'Exposition de 1878

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Exposition de la Compagnie d'Eclairage et de Chauffage par le Gaz



l’exposition de la compagnie parisienne d’éclairage et de chauffage par le gaz.

A peu de distance du pavillon du Creusot, à côté de celui où le ministère des travaux publics avait logé son intéressante exposition, on remarquait un élégant chalet à la toiture dentelée ; c’était là que se trouvaient exposés les appareils de la Compagnie parisienne d’éclairage et de chauffage par le gaz.

Le lecteur nous saura gré de consacrer quelques lignes à cette grande compagnie qui constitue chez nous, en quelque sorte, une entreprise nationale et dont l’organisation si parfaite et si accomplie sert de modèle non pas seulement en France, mais encore à l’étranger.

Parlons d’abord du gaz lui-même.

Peu de personnes connaissent le nom de son inventeur.

L’homme qui, le premier, découvrit l’emploi du gaz et son application, s’appelait Philippe Lebon, et ce fut en 1799 qu’il prit un brevet pour s’assurer la propriété de son invention.

Peu de temps après, Philippe Lebon entrevoyait la possibilité d’utiliser le gaz comme force motrice.

Aujourd’hui, le problème est résolu, grâce à la machine Lenoir qui fit son apparition en 1860 et qui, jusqu’à présent, a été trouvée parfaitement suffisante.

La Compagnie Parisienne s’occupe néanmoins de l’étude d’une nouvelle machine à gaz, récemment imaginée par M. Otto, qui semble résoudre d’une manière plus satisfaisante encore et plus générale que les précédentes, le problème de l’application du gaz d’éclairage à la production de la force motrice.

Cette machine réunit, en effet, les avantages de la machine Lenoir et de la machine Langen et Otto, sans en avoir les inconvénients : forme bien appropriée aux installations restreintes, suppression de l’électricité, marche silencieuse, réduction de la consommation de gaz. Nous la croyons appelée à un véritable succès.
Deux spécimens de ces machines ont fonctionné à l’Exposition : l’une dans le pavillon spécial de la Compagnie, l’autre dans l’intérieur du palais du Champ de Mars.

Comme l’a très justement écrit, dans une de ses intéressantes notices, M. Camus, l’actif et éminent directeur de la Compagnie, la construction des machines à gaz offrait des difficultés particulières. Le temps qui s’est écoulé entre les premiers essais et la construction d’une machine réellement pratique, donne la mesure des efforts qu’il a fallu faire pour atteindre le but que Philippe Lebon avait en vue.

Mais, entre la réalisation d’une invention et son exploitation industrielle, la distance est souvent très grande. En 1863, la machine Lenoir allait tomber dans l’oubli. L’élévation de son prix de revient décourageait les constructeurs, qui ne trouvaient pas dans des prix de vente, même excessifs, la rémunération de leur travail. La Compagnie Parisienne qui fournit le gaz nécessaire aux machines à gaz fonctionnant dans son périmètre, eut la pensée de se contenter du bénéfice réalisé sur le gaz ainsi consommé et de fabriquer des machines pour les vendre à prix coûtant. Par cette .combinaison, qui conciliait ses intérêts avec ceux du public, elle a conservé à l’industrie parisienne le bénéfice d’une invention éminemment française.


L’ECLAIRAGE DE PARIS

La Compagnie, on le sait, est chargée de l’éclairage de la capitale ; constituée sur des bases définitives en 1855 par la réunion des différentes sociétés qui, à cette époque, se partageaient l’éclairage de Paris, elle se vit, lors de l’annexion qui eut lieu en 1860, obligée d’éclairer 7,000 hectares au lieu de 3,288 qui composaient primitivement le périmètre parisien.

Le gaz fabriqué dans les différentes usines est dirigé sur Paris au moyen de conduites de gros diamètre qui convergent vers le centre de gravité de la consommation situé aux environs de la pointe Saint-Eustache. Ces conduites de sortie, au nombre de 20, où le gaz circule, à certaines heures de la soirée, avec une vitesse de 5 à 6 mètres par seconde, peuvent débiter plus de 130,000 mètres cubes à l’heure. Communiquant toutes entre elles, elles forment un vaste réservoir où viennent puiser des conduites de moindre importance, qui se ramifient elles-mêmes à l’infini pour porter le gaz à une pression convenable sur tous les points de la capitale.

Il résulte de cette disposition que toutes les usines concourent à l’alimentation du réseau desservi par la Compagnie, de telle sorte que, dans le cas où l’une d’elle viendrait, par accident, à suspendre sa fabrication, le service de l’éclairage se trouverait instantanément assuré par le gaz venant des autres. La longueur des canalisations établies tant dans Paris que dans les communes de la banlieue est de 1,759,259 mètres.

Le diamètre maximum de ces conduites est de 1 mètre ; le diamètre minimum, aux extrémités du réseau, de 0m,054.

Le diamètre moyen est de 0m,150.

Depuis 1856, la Compagnie ne pose plus que des tuyaux de tôle plombée et bitumée. L’emploi de ce système a rendu les accidents et les ruptures de conduites extrêmement rares et a réduit de moitié les pertes de la canalisation, mais il se prêtait mal au raccordement des conduites entre elles. Le défaut de rigidité de la tôle ne permettait pas,' en effet, de faire usage de pièces de raccord en fonte. On y a suppléé au moyen de pièces en plomb fixées à l’aide de colliers. Ces raccords en plomb répondent aux mêmes besoins que les croix et coudes en fonte, tout en présentant sur eux l’avantage de pouvoir être fabriqués immédiatement, dans chaque cas, suivant les positions respectives des conduites à mettre en communication.

A la même époque, la nécessité de tenir le gaz en charge pendant le jour, pour le chauffage industriel et domestique, a provoqué des perfectionnements nécessaires et importants dans les travaux de canalisation. La Compagnie s’est proposé de supprimer l’emploi des soudures et par conséquent du feu dans ces travaux et de pratiquer les ouvertures et percements de tuyaux sans provoquer d’échappements de gaz. Elle a atteint le premier but en remplaçant la soudure par l’application de pièces faites dans l’atelier, et le second, en fabriquant des outils spéciaux qui permettent d’ouvrir et de percer la tôle sans donner issue au gaz de la conduite, d’ailleurs isolé par l’introduction, de part et d’autre, de ballons isolateurs en caoutchouc.

On comprendra facilement, dès lors, pourquoi la consommation, qui n’était que de 40,774,400 mètres cubes en 1855, s’éleva à 116,171,727 mètres cubes en 1865 ; en 1877, elle atteignit le chiffre de 191,197,228 mètres cubes, c’est-à-dire près du quintuple de ce qu’elle était à l’origine.

-Les efforts incessants de la Compagnie pour répandre l’emploi du gaz et en faciliter l’usage dans les hôtels les plus élégants et dans les intérieurs les plus modestes, dans les vastes magasins comme dans les boutiques les plus exiguës, ont été pour beaucoup dans la réalisation de ces heureux résultats.

L’abaissement du prix du gaz contribua aussi, dans une certaine mesure, à cet accroissement de consommation.

La ville payait en effet le gaz, en 1855, à raison de 30 centimes, en moyenne, le mètre cube, aux anciennes compagnies ; le tarif des particuliers était de 40 centimes.

Les nouvelles conventions ramenèrent le prix municipal à 15 centimes le mètre cube et le prix de l’éclairage particulier à 30 centimes.

La Compagnie éclaire non-seulement Paris, mais encore cinquante et une communes des départements de la Seine et de Seine-et-Oise.

Le nombre total des becs publics s’élève à environ 42,486.

Quant à celui des becs particuliers, on peut l’estimer à 1,200,000.

La Compagnie fournit du gaz à 124,178 abonnés ; le gaz est enregistré par des compteurs spéciaux qui sont essayés dans les laboratoires de la Compagnie, contrôlés par le Service Municipal et poinçonnés par la Préfecture de la Seine.

Le capital de la Compagnie se compose de 336,000 actions, d’une valeur nominale de 250 francs, représentant une somme de^ 84,000,000 de francs, et de 266,000 obligations, représentant 111,745,000 francs.

Ces titres sont regardés comme un placement de premier ordre et on n’en est pas surpris quand on considère que les recettes brutes de la Compagnie se sont élevées, en 1877, à 69,103,784 fr. 65 c., tandis que, en 1856, première année de son exploitation, les recettes n’avaient atteint que le chiffre de 14,030,183 francs.

Le pavillon de la Compagnie du gaz à l’Exposition a coûté cent cinquante mille francs-, une visite à cette exposition offrait le plus grand intérêt.

On voyait entre les machines-Lcnoir et Olto et Langen fonctionnant au centre du pavillon, des plans excessivement curieux, ainsi que des modèles réduits de tout le matériel des usines à gaz. La production chimique y occupait aussi une large place.

Au fond se trouvait une vitrine où, dans des bocaux et des bouteilles de verre, sont enfermés les différents produits de la houille, notamment le goudron, la naphtaline, la paraffine, la benzine, l’acide phénique, et les matières colorantes : l’acide picrique, l’aniline, la fuchsine, l’alizarine, etc., dont la découverte a produit dans l’industrie de la teinture une si profonde révolution.

Dans une autre vitrine étaient exposées des soieries et des étoffes diverses teintes avec ces matières des nuances les plus vives et les plus belles.

La production du gaz est pour la Compagnie une source d’exploitations diverses et très lucratives.

Ainsi le gaz donne :

1° Le coke, environ 450 millions de kilogrammes par an.
2° Le poussier résultant du concassement du coke.
3° Les goudrons.
4° Un grand nombre de produits chimiques servant à des usages particuliers.

Rien n’est perdu, tout s’utilise ; ainsi l’eau puante qu’on relire des puisards et qui a séjourné autour des conduits du gaz sert à faire de l’ammoniaque.

L’exposition de la Compagnie parisienne du gaz comprend naturellement tous les outils, compteurs, modèles de conduite, etc., etc.

En terminant, nous allons donner au lecteur le chiffre des quantités de gaz livrées annuellement au public par la Compagnie depuis l’année 1855, époque de sa fondation :

En 1855... 40,774,400 m3
1850.. . 47,335,475
1857.. . 56,042.640
1858.. . 62,159,300
1859.. . 67.628,116
1860.. . 75,518,922
1861.. . 84,230,670
1862.. . 93,076,220
1863.. . 100,833,258
1864.. . 109,610,003
1505.. . 116,171,727
1866.. . 122,334,605
En 1867... 136,569,762 m3
1868.. . 138,797,811
1869.. . 145,199,424
1870.. . 114,476,909
1871.. . 87,481,346
1872.. . 147,668,331
1873.. . 154,397,11S
1874.. . 160,652,202
1875.. . 175,938,244
1876.. . 189,209,789
1877.. . 191,197,228

©Les Merveilles de l'Exposition de 1878