World Exhibition Paris 1878

New Technologies

May 1, 1878 - October 31, 1878


Back - List of Pavilions

Heating and Lighting

manque image

This class is one of those which have attracted the most public attention, for it concerns the comfort of the interior, and it has been noticed that for some time now, following the example of our neighbours across the Channel, we have been attaching more and more importance to that comfort of which our fathers were so disdainful.

Among the relatively new methods of heating and lighting which are tending to become more widespread, we shall mention the great and powerful modern agent: gas.

Thus, there were many manufacturers of devices for the adaptation of gas to heating and lighting.

Let's start with the ones that struck us the most.

Gas in the home, this is how we could characterise the purpose and effect of the device exhibited by Mr. Lascols. The jury, as a great lord, who owes no account to his fantasies, persistently refused to examine it, but it is good, however, that we warn the public that there is a means of enjoying the calorific and illuminating advantages of gas, even when one is far from the towns or centres which, alone, have special factories.

The system of Mr. Lascols is applied with the greatest success in a good number of castles, workshops, factories, institutions, where it functions with regularity. It is no longer an invention in the period of trial and error; experience has confirmed and perfected it and it can be used without fail. In this way, one will be rid of the smoky and fetid lamps, requiring continual attention, and of the duller lanterns which fulfil their function so poorly in the corridors and common areas.

The gas produced by the Lascols appliance is the result of the ambient air passing through layers of mineral spirits; it contains no trace of sulphides, attacks neither paints nor gilding, and can be applied to all industrial or kitchen uses, like ordinary gas, which it surpasses in the beauty of its flame.

As for the apparatus itself, it consists of a bellows, an air bell and a carburettor.

We cannot go into any technical details here; those interested can see how it works in the Rue de Malte, at the Magasins Réunis, which Mr. Lascols illuminates with his system. Suffice it to say that the device is automatic, that it cannot be disturbed, and that by using it one can make at home, without disturbing oneself, without any care, the gas necessary for one's lighting and heating.

The cost price of a cubic metre of this instant gas varies with that of mineral petrol, but it does not exceed 30 centimes.

In the midst of this clutter of cooking utensils and all the aspects, here is a small device judiciously and rightly called the minute cooker, which at once obtained a great favour with our officers, who were specially called upon to profit by its advantages. It consists of two white metal plates, fitting tightly together with a stand (tripod), which is enclosed in the device when not in use. Nothing could be lighter or less cumbersome. We have never seen anything so convenient for fishermen, hunters and tourists.

The use is very simple. Is it to cook a chop? You put it in the lower plate after having sprinkled it with the desired spices, you place the other plate as a lid, then you install this closed box on the tripod. Half a newspaper is used to make slightly twisted sticks, which are burnt one after the other under the device, and after four minutes the meat is cooked to perfection and with perfect flavour; the fat retained on the plate can be used in another four minutes to cook thinly sliced potatoes. In eight minutes you can have a meal.

Moreover, all kinds of meat, eggs, fish and vegetables can be prepared in it: the steam that is formed contributes greatly to the cooking process and prevents the food from sticking to the bottom and burning.

This ingenious invention, as well as the steam kettle, of more or less the same shape, is due to M. Couza, exhibitor, 59, rue Meslay, in Paris.

The gas appliances we saw at the Exhibition were marked by a truly artistic taste.

In connection with the exhibition of Messrs. Seiler frères, the editor of France rightly points out a Louis XIII dining room suspension in nickel-plated bronze. This piece, of a very pure style, is distinguished by its extreme lightness; the middle lamp, descending with counterweight, is surrounded by four bouquets forming a set of seventeen lights; next to it, one notices a delightful little boudoir lamp in gilded bronze, with medallions; it is to be regretted that this work of art is not better displayed. This is not the right setting for such a pearl.

Here is a billiard room thyrse, Pompeian style, with three shades, of a severe aspect and great taste; the antique green bronze trim is of the most happy effect. The Chinese five-light chandelier in rubbed black bronze is very original: I bet it has aroused the curiosity of more than one connoisseur.

Here and there bouquets, arms, wall lights, portable gas lamps for offices, hallway lanterns: among the latter, I greatly admired a dog's head in art bronze serving as a device for a doorway; the idea is original and perfectly rendered.

Let us mention the Louis XVI chandelier with twelve lights mounted on two rows with crystal daggers, and, as a large volume piece, another chandelier with twelve lights, exhibited in the Champ de Mars annex.

The exhibition of Mr. Bengel presents, both for lighting and for heating, varied and graceful models.

This firm, now one of the most important, was founded in 1853 and began by manufacturing patented porcelain spouts, which were adopted and have remained since that time the standard models for the city of Paris.

It was also to Mr. Bengel that the introduction in France, around 1855, of gas cooking stoves was due, of which one can see beautiful specimens in the annex of the park (special pavilion of class 27).

But it is especially since 1856, when he added bronze lighting devices to his production, that this house took the considerable extension that it occupies today. Among the tasteful pieces that I find in his showcase, I would like to point out in particular: a Saxony-style dining room suspension in enamelled bronze; a Moorish lamp with gilded bronze cloisonné, irreproachable in style and execution; a Gothic church chandelier in old iron and gold, of a severe appearance and perfectly suited to the use for which it was intended; a series of billiard room lamps, anteroom lanterns, wall lights and bouquets of all styles, etc. There are still many beautiful things to report, which are not worth mentioning and which must be seen to be properly appreciated. Before I finish, I would like to say a few words about the new gas-fired calorifier exhibited by Mr. Bengel and called the hygienic calorifier. The aim of this device is to produce, from a given quantity of gas, the greatest calorific effect by concentrating in the heated part all the heat produced by combustion. Thanks to a special arrangement, the carbon monoxide is dissolved in the water vapour by a jet of steam that hits the flame, increasing its caloric power.

In this way, combustion is complete and no loss occurs; this method of heating is safe, simple and inexpensive.

We will now mention, at random, the four-muffle furnace of Messrs. Cuau aîné et Cie, for the use of chemists, glassmakers or ceramists, and finally the calorifier with hollow fins.

It does not seem possible to combine a larger heating surface in such a small volume. The device that Mr. Cuau aîné exhibited in the Palais occupies a space 1 metre wide by 1.56 metres deep, including the brick casing, and with its two circulation tubes has a heating surface of 35 metres, i.e. it can heat a cube of air 3,300 metres long, in other words, a house 20 metres long, 13 metres wide and 12 metres high. This is certainly a good result.

From a health point of view, all the guarantees seem to us to be assured, because the cast iron surfaces never redden, preserved as they are by a refractory earth lining, the air is never overheated.

Here is Mr. Pierre Gough's phoenix calorifier. These calorifiers are self-powered and require no maintenance. Imagine a cast iron tube enclosed in a sheet metal casing. The lower part of this tube rests on the grate of the fireplace; once the fire is lit, the reservoir is completely filled and closed with a lid; in this way, the draught is made externally, that is to say between the cylinder containing the fuel and the sheet metal envelope.

The great advantage of the Phoenix calorifier is that it gives a gentle and uniform heat; the fuel is only changed every twelve hours.

The patented device of Mr. Milhomme fils also deserves attention:
Mr. Milhomme's new apparatus, presented at the Exhibition of 1878, has given remarkable results.

The division of the smoke in the tubes, which form the main object of the invention, has given a great heating power in a relatively small apparatus. The combustion gases, more easily stripped of their caloric content by the numerous surfaces in contact, arrive cooled in the starting chimney.

With this system, it is also possible to use a smaller firebox than in many other appliances, in order to obtain the same amount of heat.

The dimensions of the chests and tubes can be modified according to the location, as well as their number, which makes it possible to build them in all the places designated by the architects and owners. It is for this reason that no numbered series has been made; the appliance is designed to heat, with a single fireplace, a volume of air varying between 200 and 10,000 cubic metres. It can be built in cellars or basements with little height.

Compared to many other systems, it has the advantage of transmitting the hot air sent to the vents more quickly after ignition by the multiplied heating surfaces.

Ventilations can be set up as required.

All fuels can be used in the fireplace.

The saturators can be placed at will.

We cannot encourage too much the improvement of the calorifier.

Is it not, in fact, the most convenient and hygienic method of heating, since it provides
1° equal distribution of heat in the rooms; 2° constant maintenance of a uniform degree of temperature; 3° elimination of numerous causes of fire; 4° cleanliness of the staircases and flats; 5° increase in the duration of the building by its better preservation; 6° reduction in the labour and trouble of the service people; 7° removal of the accidents which used to be so numerous in children's rooms; 8° finally, savings in fuel.

I would also like to mention Mr. Tommaire's small kitchen stoves:
These appliances are elegant, very solid and easy to transport, they replace with advantage the cast iron cookers, they have a relatively large oven which roasts perfectly, a steam room under the oven, a hot water tank, the top plate heats well on all its surface.

Real savings on fuel, 15 cents a day during the winter for cooking and heating at the same time.

Mention should also be made of the automatic regulating calorifier.

This new heater differs from other appliances in that it burns evenly, naturally by means of the automatic regulator. Through the sight glass, which is inclined for the convenience of the viewer, the combustion process can be examined.

When the coke is sufficiently red in the firebox, the lens is placed at a notch of the rack which brings it closer or less close to the air intake orifice according to the heat that one wants to obtain.

With this system, combustion regulates itself. When it becomes too hot, the supply air pushes the lens in front of the orifice where it is located: the draught stops and consequently the fire slows down. In this case, the draught is no longer as intense, so the lens moves forward, allowing new access to the air, and combustion is reactivated; in this way, the calorifier adjusts itself automatically, combustion is regular, and the temperature is always the same, without the need to worry about it, until the fuel is completely exhausted.

This appliance has no grate and does not require a pipe key. It has no competition in terms of economy, cleanliness and ease of service.

They are the most suitable devices for public buildings, greenhouses, offices, stairways, corridors, schools, hospitals, as well as for shops, workshops, flats, dining rooms, etc., etc.

It only remains to tell you about a very ingenious invention by Mr. Mousseron.

Here I give the floor to my colleague Trocadéro, from France:
"Today, flat heating has risen to the level of an art; a visit to class XXVII is enough to convince oneself of this. Among the exhibitions of our various manufacturers, I shall first point out that of M. Mousseron, which is, without question, the most remarkable from the point of view of progress made.

"Everyone is familiar with the various appliances created by Mr. Mousseron: first his stove-calorifier with refractory hearth, then his pyrometric calorifier for economical and hygienic heating; here again are the Mousseron appliances, adaptable to all fireplaces. Far from stopping in this path of progress, Mr. Mousseron has succeeded in eliminating the loss of heat resulting from the contact of calorific fireplaces with the outside air. To avoid the dangers that would result from the elimination of the pipes, what was needed? To destroy the carbon monoxide produced by combustion. This result, vainly sought until then, was achieved by the Brasero-Mousseron.

"Experiments carried out in high places have attested to its brilliant superiority, numerous scientific reports have indicated the results obtained, and important applications have been the result.

"The apparatus consists of: a grate, a hearth containing the fuel and an inverted bell, pierced with an infinite number of holes, which allow the draught; in its lower part, the bell rests on the grate; it is surmounted by a kettle filled with water which absorbs the carbonic acid, released in the combustion, and annihilates its harmful effects.

"The whole thing is enclosed in an elegant casing, mounted on wheels, which can be carried from one room to another, as one would a heater. Once the device is loaded, you don't have to worry about it all day; it gives off a gentle heat that is absolutely even and not stifling.

"It is used with great success in hospitals where, because of its qualities, it replaces the climate of Nice for the unfortunate patients. It is therefore the easiest, the most economical and the healthiest of all the methods of heating known to date.

©Les Merveilles de l'Exposition de 1878

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Chauffage et Eclairage



Cette classe est une de celles qui ont le plus retenu l’attention du public, car elle intéresse le confortable de l’intérieur et il a remarqué que, depuis un peu déjà, à l’exemple de nos voisins d’outre-Manche, nous attachons chaque jour plus d’importance à ce confortable dont nos pères se montraient si dédaigneux.

Parmi les procédés relativement nouveaux de chauffage et d’éclairage dont l’emploi tend à se généraliser, nous citerons le grand et puissant agent moderne : le gaz.

Aussi les fabricants d’appareils pour l’adaptation du gaz au chauffage et à l’éclairage étaient-ils nombreux.

Commençons par ceux qui nous ont le plus frappé.

Le gaz chez soi, ainsi pourrait-on caractériser le but et l’effet de l’appareil exposé par M. Lascols. Le jury, en grand seigneur, qui ne doit aucun compte de ses fantaisies, a refusé avec persistance de l’examiner, mais il est bon cependant que nous prévenions le public qu’il existe un moyen de jouir des avantages calorifiques et éclairants du gaz, même lorsqu’on est éloigné des villes ou des centres qui, seuls, possèdent des usines spéciales.

Le système de M. Lascols est appliqué avec le plus grand succès dans bon nombre de châteaux, d’ateliers, d’usines, d’institutions, où il fonctionne avec régularité. Ce n’est plus une invention dans la période des tâtonnements; l’expérience l’a consacrée et perfectionnée et l’on peut y recourir à coup sûr. Ainsi l’on sera débarrassé des lampes fumeuses et fétides, exigeant une attention continuelle et des lanternes plus tristes encore qui remplissent si médiocrement leur office dans les corridors et les communs.

Le gaz produit par l’appareil Lascols est le résultat de l’air ambiant traversant des couches d’essence minérale; il ne contient pas de traces de sulfures, n’attaque ni les peintures, ni les dorures, et peut s’appliquer à tous les usages industriels ou de cuisine, comme le gaz ordinaire, qu’il surpasse par la beauté de sa flamme.

Quant à l’appareil en lui-même, il se compose d’un soufflet, d’une cloche d’air et d’un carburateur.

Nous ne pouvons entrer ici dans aucun détail technique ; les intéressés peuvent en voir le fonctionnement rue de Malte, aux Magasins Réunis, que M. Lascols éclaire par son système. Qu’il nous suffise de dire que l’appareil est automatique, qu’il ne peut se déranger, et qu’en l’employant on peut faire chez soi, sans se déranger, sans aucun soin, le gaz nécessaire à son éclairage et à son chauffage.

Le prix de revient du mètre cube de ce gaz instantané varie avec celui de l’essence minérale, mais il ne dépasse pas 30 centimes.

Au milieu de cet encombrement d’ustensiles de cuisine et de tous les aspects, voici un petit appareil judicieusement et justement baptisé cuisine à la minute, qui a tout de suite obtenu une grande faveur auprès de nos officiers, appelés spécialement à profiter de ses avantages. Il consiste en deux assiettes en métal blanc, s’emboîtant hermétiquement avec un support (trépied), qui se renferme dans l’appareil quand on ne s’en sert pas. Rien de plus léger ni de moins encombrant. Nous ne voyons rien de si commode pour les pêcheurs, les chasseurs et les touristes.

L’usage en est très-simple. S’agit-il de faire cuire une côtelette? On la met dans l’assiette inférieure après l’avoir saupoudrée des épices voulues, on place l’autre assiette en couvercle, puis on installe cette boîte close sur le trépied. Avec une moitié de journal, on fait des baguettes légèrement tordues que l’on brûle l’une après l’autre sous l’appareil, et au bout de quatre minutes la viande est cuite à point et d’une saveur parfaite; la graisse retenue dans l’assiette peut servir en quatre autres minutes à cuire des pommes de terre coupées en tranches minces. En huit minutes, vous pouvez donc avoir un repas.

D’ailleurs on peut y préparer toutes les viandes, les œufs, le poisson, les légumes: la vapeur qui se forme contribue beaucoup à la cuisson, empêche le mets de s’attacher au fond et de brûler.

Cette ingénieuse invention, ainsi que la bouilloire à vapeur, à peu près de la même forme, est due à M. Couza, exposant, 59, rue Meslay, à Paris.

Les appareils à gaz que nous avons vus à l’Exposition étaient marqués au coin d’un goût véritablement artistique.

A propos de l’exposition de MM. Seiler frères, le rédacteur de la France signale avec raison une suspension de salle à manger Louis XIII en bronze nickelé. Cette pièce, d’un style très-pur, se distingue par son extrême légèreté; la lampe du milieu, descendant avec contre-poids, est entourée de quatre bouquets formant un ensemble de dix-sept lumières ; à côté, on remarque une ravissante petite lampe de boudoir.LouisXVI, en bronze doré, avec médaillons ; il est à regretter que cette œuvre d’art ne soit pas mieux en vue. Ce n’est point là l’écrin qui convient à une telle perle.

Voici plus loin un thyrse de salle de billard, style pompéien, à trois abat-jour, d’un aspect sévère et de grand goût ; la garniture bronze vert antique est du plus heureux effet. Très-original le lustre chinois à cinq lumières en bronze noir frotté : je gage qu’il a excité la curiosité de plus d’un connaisseur.

Çà et là des bouquets, des bras, des appliques, des lampes à gaz portatives pour bureaux, des lanternes de vestibule : parmi ces dernières, j’ai fort admiré une tête de chien en bronze d’art servant d’appareil pour porte cochère ; l’idée est originale et parfaitement rendue.

Mentionnons le lustre Louis XVI à douze lumières montées sur deux rangs avec poignards en cristal, et, comme pièce de grand volume, un autre lustre à douze lumières, exposé dans l’annexe du Champ de Mars.

L’exposition de M. Bengel présente, tant pour l’éclairage que pour le chauffage, des modèles variés et gracieux.

Cette maison, aujourd’hui une des plus importantes, fut fondée en 1853 et commença par la fabrication des becs brevetés en porcelaine, qui ont été adoptés et sont restés depuis cette époque les modèles types de la ville de Paris.

C’est également à M. Bengel qu’est due l’introduction en France, vers 1855, des fourneaux de cuisine au gaz, dont on peut voir de jolis spécimens dans l’annexe du parc (pavillon spécial de la classe 27).

Mais c’est surtout depuis 1856, époque à laquelle il joignit à sa fabrication les appareils d’éclairage en bronze, que cette maison prit l’extension considérable qu’elle occupe aujourd’hui. Parmi les pièces de goût que je retrouve dans sa vitrine, je désignerai spécialement : une suspension de salle à manger, façon Saxe, en bronze émaillé ; une lampe mauresque à cloisonnés en bronze doré, irréprochable de style et d’exécution ; un lustre gothique d’église en vieux fer et or, d’un aspect sévère et convenant parfaitement à l’emploi qui lui est destiné ; une série de lampes pour salles de billard, des lanternes d’antichambre, des appliques et bouquets de tous styles, etc. Il y aurait là encore de bien jolies choses à signaler, qui perdent à être dites et qu’on doit voir pour justement apprécier. Je veux, avant de terminer, dire deux mots du nouveau calorifère au gaz qu’a exposé M. Bengel et dénommé : calorifère hygiénique. Le but de cet appareil est de produire, d’une quantité de gaz déterminé, le plus grand effet calorique en concentrant dans la partie chauffée toute la chaleur produite par la combustion. Grâce à une disposition spéciale, l’oxyde de carbone se trouve dissous dans la vapeur d’eau par un jet de vapeur qui vient frapper la flamme en augmentant sa puissance calorique.

De cette façon, la combustion est complète et aucune déperdition n’a lieu ; ce mode de chauffage ne présente aucun danger, est simple et peu coûteux.

Nous citerons maintenant au hasard de la plume le fourneau à quatre moufles de MM. Cuau aîné et Cie, à l’usage des chimistes, verriers ou céramistes, enfin le calorifère à ailettes creuses.

Il ne paraît pas possible de réunir une surface de chauffe plus grande sous un volume aussi restreint. L’appareil que M. Cuau aîné a exposé dans le Palais occupe un emplacement de 1 mètre de large sur 1 m. 56 de profondeur, l’enveloppe en briques comprises, et présente avec ses deux tubes de circulation une surface de chauffe de 35 mètres, c'est-à-dire qu’il peut chauffer un cube d’air de 3,300 mètres, autrement dit une habitation ayant 20 mètres de long, 13 mètres de large et 12 mètres de hauteur. C’est là assurément un heureux résultat.

Au point de vue salubre, toutes les garanties nous semblent assurées, car les surfaces de fonte ne rougissant jamais, préservées qu’elles sont par une garniture en terre réfractaire, l’air n’est jamais surchauffé.

Voici maintenant le calorifère phénix de M. Pierre Gough. Ces calorifères s’alimentent d’eux-mêmes et n’exigent aucun entretien. Figurez vous un tube de fonte renfermé dans une enveloppe en tôle. La partie inférieure de ce tube repose sur la grille du foyer; une fois le feu allumé, on remplit complètement le réservoir que l’on ferme au moyen d’un couvercle ; de la sorte, le tirage se fait extérieurement, c’est-à-dire entre le cylindre qui contient le combustible et l'enveloppe de tôle.

Le grand avantage du calorifère phénix est de donner une chaleur douce et uniforme ; le combustible ne se renouvelle que toutes les douze heures.

L’appareil breveté de M. Milhomme fils mérite aussi de fixer l’attention :
Le nouvel appareil de M. Milhomme, présenté à l’Exposition de 1878, a donné des résultats remarquables.

La division de la fumée dans les tubes, qui forment l’objet principal de l’invention, a donné une grande puissance de chauffage dans un appareil relativement restreint. Les gaz de la combustion, plus facilement dépouillés de leur calorique par les nombreuses surfaces en contact, arrivent refroidis dans la cheminée de départ.

Aussi peut-on avec ce système, pour obtenir le même développement de calorique, faire usage utilement d’un foyer moins fort que dans beaucoup d’autres appareils.

Les dimensions des coffres et des tubes peuvent être modifiées suivant les emplacements, ainsi que leur nombre, ce qui permet d’en faire la construction dans tous les endroits désignés par les architectes et les propriétaires. C’est pour ce motif qu’il n’a pas été fait de série numérotée ; l’appareil se fait pour chauffer, avec un seul foyer, un volume d’air variant entre 200 et 10,000 mètres cubes. Il peut se construire dans des caves ou sous-sols qui ont peu de hauteur.

Sur beaucoup d’autres systèmes, il présente encore l’avantage de transmettre plus vite, après l’allumage, l’air chaud envoyé aux bouches parles surfaces de chauffe multipliées.

Des ventilations s’établiront suivant les besoins.

Tous les combustibles peuvent être utilisés dans le foyer.

Les saturateurs se placent à volonté.

On ne saurait trop encourager les perfectionnements du calorifère.

N’est-il pas, en effet, le mode de chauffage le plus commode, le «plus hygiénique, puisqu’il procure :
1° Répartition égale de la chaleur dans les pièces ; 2° maintien constant d’un degré uniforme de température ; 3° suppression dé nombreuses causes d’incendie ; 4° propreté des escaliers et des appartements ; 5° augmentation de la durée de l’immeuble par sa meilleure conservation ; 6° diminution de la main-d’œuvre et de la peine des gens de service ; 7° éloignement d’accidents autrefois si nombreux dans les chambres d’enfants ; 8° enfin, économie de combustible.

Une mention encore aux petits fourneaux de cuisine de M. Tommaire :
Ces appareils sont élégants, bien solides et très-faciles à transporter, ils remplacent avec avantage les cuisinières en fonte, ils ont un four relativement grand qui rôtit parfaitement, une étuve en dessous du four, un réservoir à eau chaude, la plaque de dessus chauffe bien sur toute sa surface.

Économie réelle sur le combustible, 15 centimes par jour pendant l’hiver pour faire la cuisine et se chauffer en même temps.

Une mention aussi à son calorifère à régulateur automatique.

Ce nouveau calorifère se distingue des autres appareils en ce que la combustion se fait régulièrement, et cela naturellement au moyen du régulateur automatique dont il est muni. Par le regard incliné pour la commodité de la vue on peut examiner la marche de la combustion.

Quand le coke est suffisamment rouge dans le foyer, on place la lentille à un cran de la crémaillère qui la rapproche plus ou moins de l’orifice de la prise d’air selon la chaleur que l’on veut obtenir.

Par ce système , la combustion se règle d’elle-même. Lorsqu'elle devient trop vive, l’air d’alimentation fait appliquer la lentille devant l’orifice où elle se trouve : le tirage cesse et par conséquent le feu se ralentit. Dans ce cas le tirage n’ayant plus lieu avec la même intensité, la lentille se reporte en avant, permet un nouvel accès à l’air et la combustion se ranime; fait de cette manière, le calorifère se règle automatiquement, la combustion se fait d’une manière régulière, et la température est toujours égale, sans qu’on ait besoin de s’en occuper, et ce, jusqu’à complète extinction de combustible.

Cet appareil n’a pas de grille et n’exige pas de clef de tuyau. Il ne craint aucune concurrence sous le rapport de l’économie, de la propreté et delà facilité du service.

Ce sont les appareils les plus convenables pour établissements publics, serres,bureaux, escaliers, corridors, écoles, hôpitaux, aussi bien que pour magasins, ateliers, appartements, salles à manger, etc., etc.

Il ne reste plus qu’à vous parler d’une invention très ingénieuse de M. Mousseron.

Ici je cède la parole à mon confrère Trocadéro, de la France :
« Aujourd’hui, le chauffage des appartements s’est élevé à la hauteur d’un art; il suffit pour s’en convaincre d’une visite à la classe XXVII. Parmi les expositions de nos divers fabricants, je signalerai d’abord celle de M. Mousseron, qui est, sans contredit, la plus remarquable au point de vue des progrès réalisés.

«Tout le monde connaît les divers appareils créés par M. Mousseron : c’est d’abord son poêle-calorifère à foyer réfractaire, puis son calorifère pyrométrique d’un chauffage économique et hygiénique; voici encore les appareils Mousseron, s’adaptant à toutes les cheminées. Loin de s’arrêter dans cette voie de progrès, M. Mousseron est arrivé à supprimer la déperdition de chaleur, provenant du contact des foyers caloriques avec l’air extérieur. Pour parer aux dangers qui devaient résulter de la suppression des tuyaux, que fallait-il? Détruire l’oxyde de carbone que produit la combustion. Ce résultat, vainement cherché jusqu’alors, est atteint par le Brasero-Mousseron.

« Les expériences faites en haut lieu en ont attesté l’éclatante supériorité, de nombreux rapports scientifiques ont signalé les résultats obtenus, et d’importantes applications en ont été le résultat.

«L’appareil se compose : d’une grille, d’un foyer contenant le combustible et d’une cloche renversée, percée d’une infinité de trous, qui permettent le tirage ; à sa partie inférieure, la cloche repose sur la grille; elle est surmontée d’une bouilloire remplie d’eau qui absorbe l’acide carbonique, dégagé dans la combustion, et annihile ses effets malfaisants.

« Le tout est renfermé dans une enveloppe élégante, montée sur roulettes, qu’on peut transporter d’une pièce dans une autre, comme on le ferait d’une chaufferette. Une fois l’appareil chargé, on n’a plus à s’en occuper tout le jour; il dégage une chaleur douce absolument régulière et sans être étouffante.

« Il est employé avec grand succès dans les hôpitaux où, à cause de ses qualités, il remplace pour les malheureux poitrinaires le climat de Nice. C’est donc bien là le plus facile, le plus économique et le plus sain de tous les modes de chauffage connus jusqu’à ce jour. »

©Les Merveilles de l'Exposition de 1878