Back - List of Pavilions

Siam -

Missing picture

The King of Siam, His Majesty Somdet-phra-Paraminda-maka-Koulaloukoru, is also, like Nasr-Eddin, the only exhibitor.

The educational group is no more represented in Siam than it was in Persia, but stationery, for example, figures; we see, indeed, white paper, black paper, black and white pencils.

The music class, too, is amply provided for. Do you like cymbals, gongs, hammers to make instruments sound?

Let's give the floor to Mr. J. Weber again:
"In the Siamese exhibition, he says, there are many instruments, a certain number of which are arranged as trophies; this does not always make it possible to distinguish their character. There is a tambourine and a dozen drums, some of them cylindrical in shape, more or less large, others of small size, having the shape of a ciborium with a truncated foot, or even a shape similar to that of a clepsydra. There are also some long-necked plucked instruments, a small oboe, a small flute and another wind instrument; then four large wooden harmoniums, with seventeen, twenty or twenty-one notes; two harmonicas with metal basins arranged not in two straight rows, as in the Indian instruments, but in a circle open on one side; the number of basins for each harmonium is sixteen. Finally, there are two series of bamboo organ pipes, each comprising fourteen pipes and shaped like long panpipes. Incidentally, we had already seen these and other instruments at the 1867 World Exhibition."


Goldsmithing, clothing, weapons.

The furniture, the tapestry and decorative works, and the ceramics are not of great interest; we will therefore pass quickly and arrive at the goldsmith's trade, which is remarkable.

The silver basins on trays, the tobacco boxes with gold lids, the betel nut cups, the shells with gold lids for the sacred water, the toilet articles are good goldsmith's work; moreover Siam is renowned in the East for the manufacture of these objects.

The silks find us a little indifferent; the clothes exhibited interest us by their picturesque aspect, we will quote among others a silk suit embroidered from one end to the other with silk and gold.

The weapons are represented in an absolutely primitive way; one sees only bows, shields, sabres and clubs.

The King of Siam has hardly any army except a few regiments for the service of his capital and the forts; but the Siamese navy is more important, with no less than twenty warships and twenty gunboats. The exhibition also offers a fine specimen of maritime construction, which is a model of a royal ship richly decorated with carvings and gilding, the original of which is thirty-four metres long and contains one hundred oarsmen.


Dramatic art, the products of the country.

The dramatic art exists, it seems, in Siam, and the royal exhibitor will have wanted, no doubt, to give the barbarians of the West a high idea of the civilisation of his country by sending us the theatrical crowns, the masks and the actress's headband which appear in class 42.

Now we come to the most serious part of the country.

We leave aside the pots, the cake grills, the copper lamps, the strips of matting, the betel baskets, the rhinoceros horns, the elephant tusks, the tiger teeth and the fishing implements, and we stop in front of the rural and forestry equipment.

Here we find what we lacked in other countries, ploughs, harrows, hoes, instruments for irrigating the fields, millstones, iron mills, winnowing mills.

So here is a people who are involved in agriculture.

For example, what a strange idea to have included a pair of tweezers and a bellows among the machine tools!

In class 57, there is a weaver's loom; a little further on, we find a number of small tools.

The foodstuffs consist of wheat, seeds, white rice, black rice and sago.


A Siamese funeral.

Let us not leave the domains of H.M. Somdet-phra-Paraminda-maka-Koulaloukorti, without giving you some curious details about the Siamese burials which we borrow from the very interesting book of Mgr Pallegoix on the kingdom of Siam.

"When a Thai is about to die, his parents go to call the talapoins; they pour lustrous water over the patient, recite verses from their sacred books on the vanity of human things, and utter loud moans interspersed at intervals with the exclamation arahong! arahong! a mystical word which applies to Buddha's chastity and his exemption from concupiscence. As soon as the patient has breathed his last, the family bursts into loud cries and lamentations.
Why do you leave us?" they cry, "and what have we done to offend you? Why did you not rather follow our advice and refrain from eating those fruits which give dyssentery and cause death? .... O desolation, O misery, O inconstancy of human things!

Then everyone rushes to the feet of the dead man, shouting, crying, kissing him, and showering him with tender reproaches. The body is then washed and wrapped in a white cloth; it is placed in a coffin lined with gold paper and decorated with metallic flowers. A canopy decorated in the same way as the beer, with additional garlands of natural flowers, is then prepared and the corpse is placed underneath.

"After two days, the coffin is taken out of the house, not through the door, but through an opening made in the wall, and it is made to run three times around the house at full speed, so that the deceased will lose the memory of the path he has taken and will not come to torment the living. The coffin is then transported to the sound of melancholic music in a large boat, and relatives and friends accompany it in small boats to the place where the body is to be burned. On arrival, the coffin is opened, and the corpse handed over to the priests, with a silver tical (about 3 francs) in its mouth, intended to pay for the funeral expenses. The officiant washes its face with coconut milk and cuts it into pieces, if the deceased had declared before his death that his last wish was to abandon his body to the vultures and birds of prey. Otherwise, the body is placed on the pyre, which the priest lights and which the relatives come to search, once it has been extinguished, to collect the large bones of the dead person and take them home in an urn."

©Les Merveilles de l'Exposition de 1878

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Siam



Le roi de Siam, Sa Majesté Somdet-phra-Paraminda-maka-Koulaloukoru, est aussi, à l’exemple de Nasr-Eddin, seul exposant.

Le groupe de l’enseignement n’est pas plus représenté en Siam qu’il ne l’était en Perse, mais la papeterie, par exemple, fait figure; nous voyons, en effet, du papier blanc, du papier noir, des crayons noirs et blancs.

La classe de la musique, elle aussi, est largement pourvue. Aimez-vous les cymbales, les gongs, les marteaux pour faire résonner les instruments ? on en a mis partout.

Cédons encore la parole à M. J. Weber :
« Dans l’exposition siamoise, dit-il, il y a beaucoup d’instruments dont un certain nombre est disposé en trophées; cela ne permet pas toujours d’en distinguer le caractère. Il y a un tambourin et une douzaine de tambours, les uns de forme cylindrique, plus ou moins gros, les autres de petite dimension, ayant la forme d’un ciboire au pied tronqué, ou bien encore une forme analogue à celle d’une clepsydre. On voit aussi quelques instruments à long manche et à cordes pincées, un petit hautbois, une petite flûte et un autre instrument à vent; puis quatre grands harmoniums à lames de bois, ayant dix-sept, vingt ou vingt et une notes ; deux harmonicas à bassins métalliques disposés non pas sur deux rangées droites, comme dans les instruments indiens, mais en cercle ouvert d’un côté ; le nombre des bassins pour chaque harmonium est de seize. Enfin il y a deux séries de tuyaux d’orgue de bambou, comprenant chacune quatorze tuyaux et ayant la forme de longues flûtes de Pan. Au reste, nous avions déjà vu ces instruments et d’autres à l’Exposition universelle de 1867.»


L’orfèvrerie, le vêtement, les armes.

Les meubles, les ouvrages de tapisserie et de décoration, la céramique ne présentent pas grand intérêt ; nous passerons donc rapidement et nous arriverons à l’orfèvrerie qui, elle, est remarquable.

Les bassins d’argent sur plateau, les boîtes à tabac avec couvercle d’or, les coupes à noix de bétel, les coquilles à couvercle d’or pour l’eau sacrée, les objets de toilette sont de bonne orfèvrerie ; au surplus le Siam est renommé en Orient pour la fabrication de ces objets.

Les soies nous trouvent un peu indifférents ; les vêtements exposés intéressent par leur aspect pittoresque, nous citerons entre autres un habit de soie brodé d’un bout à l’autre de soie et d’or.

Les armes sont représentées d’une façon absolument primitive ; on ne voit que des arcs, des boucliers, des sabres et des massues.

Le roi de Siam n’a guère, en fait d’armée, que quelques régiments pour le service de sa capitale et des forts ; mais la marine siamoise est plus importante, elle ne compte pas moins de vingt navires de guerre et vingt canonnières. Aussi l’exposition offre-t-elle un beau spécimen de construction maritime, qui est le modèle réduit d’un navire royal richement orné de sculptures et de dorures, dont l’original a trente-quatre mètres de long et contient cent rameurs.


L’art dramatique, lés produits du pays.

L’art dramatique existe, paraît-il, dans le Siam, et le royal exposant aura voulu, sans doute, donner aux barbares d’Occident une haute idée de la civilisation de son pays en nous envoyant les couronnes de théâtre, les masques et le bandeau d’actrice qui figurent dans la classe 42.

Nous voici arrivés à la partie la plus sérieuse du pays.

Nous laisserons de côté les chaudrons, les grils pour gâteaux, les lampes de cuivre, les bandes de nattes, les paniers à bétel, les cornes de rhinocéros, les défenses d’éléphant, les dents de tigre et les instruments de pèche, et nous nous arrêterons devant le matériel des exploitations rurales et forestières.

Là, nous trouvons ce qui nous manquait dans les autres pays, des charrues, des herses, des houes, des instruments pour irriguer les champs, des meules, des moulins à fer, des moulins à vanner.

Voici donc un peuple qui s’occupe d’agriculture.

Par exemple, quelle drôle d’idée d’avoir fait figurer une paire de pincettes et un soufflet parmi les machines outils!

Dans la classe 57, figure un métier de tisserand ; un peu plus loin, nous trouvons une quantité de petits outils.

Les produits alimentaires se composent de blé, de graines, de riz blanc, de riz noir, de Sagou.


Un enterrement siamois.

Ne quittons pas les domaines de S. M.Somdet-phra-Paraminda-maka-Koulaloukorti, sans vous donner sur les enterrements siamois de curieux détails que nous empruntons au livre si intéressant de Mgr Pallegoix sur le royaume de Siam.

« Quand un thaï est sur le point de mourir, ses parents vont quérir les talapoins ; ils répandent de l’eau lustrale sur le patient, récitent des versets de leurs livres sacrés sur la vanité des choses humaines et poussent de bruyants gémissements entrecoupés par intervalles dé l’exclamation arahong ! arahong ! mot mystique qui s’applique à la chasteté de Boudha et à son exemption de la concupiscence. Dès que le malade a exhalé son dernier soupir, la famille éclate en cris perçants et en lamentations.
« Pourquoi nous quittez-vous ? s’écrie-t-elle, et qu’avions-nous fait pour vous offenser? Que n’avez-vous plutôt suivi notre conseil en vous abstenant de manger ces fruits qui donnent la dyssenterie et qui causent la mort !.... O désolation, ô misère, ô inconstance des choses « humaines ! »

Puis chacun se précipite aux pieds du mort, criant, pleurant, le baisant, l’accablant de tendres reproches. Le corps est ensuite lavé et enveloppé dans une étoffe blanche ; il est déposé dans une bière garnie de papier doré et décorée de fleurs métalliques. On prépare alors un dais orné de la même façon que la bière, avec des guirlandes de fleurs naturelles en plus, et l’on place dessous le cadavre.

«Au bout de deux jours, la bière sort de la maison, non par la porte, mais par une ouverture pratiquée exprès dans le mur, et on lui fait faire, à toute vitesse, trois fois le tour de la maison, afin que le défunt perde ainsi le souvenir du chemin par où il a passé et ne vienne pas tourmenter les vivants. Le cercueil est alors transporté, au son d’une musique mélancolique, dans une grande barque, et les parents et amis l’accompagnent, dans de petits bateaux, jusqu’au lieu où le corps doit être brûlé. A l’arrivée, le cercueil est ouvert, et le cadavre remis aux mains des prêtres, ayant dans la bouche un tical d’argent (environ 3 francs), destiné au payement des frais funéraires. L’officiant en lave la face avec du lait de coco et le découpe en morceaux, si le défunt a déclaré avant de mourir que sa volonté dernière était d’abandonner son corps aux vautours et aux oiseaux de proie. Sinon, ce corps est placé sur le bûcher, que le prêtre allume et que les parents viennent fouiller, une fois éteint, pour y recueillir les gros os du mort et les transporter chez eux dans une urne. »

©Les Merveilles de l'Exposition de 1878