Back - List of Pavilions

Greece - Expo Paris 1878

Missing picture

THE FINE ARTS.

We, along with many others, are unable to say what Greek painting might have been like in the time of Apelles, not to go back to Zeuxis and Parrhasius, and even less to Bularca, but we cannot fail to recognise that modern Greek painting, as represented in the Fine Arts Gallery, suffers from little more than sheer numbers.

Greece occupies only one wall of the only room occupied by Portugal; this wall is a little more completely covered, not much; but what a difference!

The whole of Mr. Lydras' exhibition is worth seeing; it consists of national scenes of real charm: the Kiss, the Canary Burner, New Year's Eve, the Kidnapped Girl, Orphan Girl, a young girl half undressed, so that she can mend her miserable clothes, the Kitchen, a genre painting of very good execution and happy inspiration. We will then mention the Engagement in Greece, between six-year-old children, by Mr. Gy-zis; some of the paintings by Mr. Pericles Pantazis, who touches on all genres: genre, marine and landscape; Y Fire of the first Ottoman frigate at Erissos by Papanicoli, by Mr. Altamura; a beautiful Study 'The first Ottoman frigate at Erissos by Papanicoli, by Mr. Altamura; a beautiful Study 'The first Ottoman frigate at Erissos by Papanicoli, by Mr. Altamura; a beautiful Study 'The first Ottoman frigate at Erissos by Papanicoli, by Mr. Altamura. Altamura; a beautiful Study of a reclining woman, by M. Bizo; and finally the charming paintings by M. Ralli: Slave playing the guitar, Nur-mahal the Dancer, After the funeral, Souvenir of Megara and especially his Soubrette Louis XIV watering flowers.

The sculpture offers us some remarkable pieces, notably the portraits of M. Kossos, but nothing in sum that deserves to be particularly mentioned.


GREECE IN 1878.

We are pleased to speak of this beautiful country of Greece, which invented all the arts and sciences, which had all the glories and misfortunes, and which was finally the highest and most brilliant personality among the ancient nations.

This personality was so powerfully radiant, it is so undeniable that the Athens of old still dominates us; ancient Rome still dominates us, too, but to a lesser degree, and this is understandable, since the artistic and scientific revelation came to it from the Greeks.

As happens to all nations that their merit or sometimes - and there is evidence of this in history - simple chance, have raised them to the last degree of preponderance among peoples, Greece, when the hour of her fall came, crashed when she fell because she fell from too high.

Called upon by her geographical situation to be in constant turmoil, she found herself prey to all the barbarians who rushed to the West; she lived without living, she had no time to breathe.
When calmer times finally returned, when she was able to look at herself and question herself, Greece realised that she was no longer herself and that a new society, with other institutions, other tastes and other customs, was functioning around her.

She had to begin the work of assimilation and give up all that she had left of the Greece of old in order to be accepted and to hold her own in the European concert.

The part she took in the Exhibition of 1878, and the baggage she brought with her, give the measure of the progress made by this interesting little country, which today has no more than fifteen hundred thousand inhabitants.

The dominant profession in Greece at present is that of farmer, with industrialists coming second; for example, the number of men in the liberal professions is excessively considerable, considering the small size of the population.

This is a sign that the blood of the ancient Greeks is still flowing in the veins of the modern Greeks.

The reader will not be surprised, therefore, at the great number of schools of all kinds which abound in Greece, and at the large proportion given to teaching and study of all kinds.


EDUCATION IN GREECE.

As soon as a semblance of a lull occurred, Greece took advantage of it to raise its schools. This revival was not long in coming. The year 1829 saw only mutual primary schools as an innovation; but it saw the creation, in Aegina, of a central school containing 500 pupils, and an orphanage which fed 100 orphans of those who had died for the fatherland.

From then on, education followed an increasing progression, which we will quickly establish.

By 1833, in addition to a military school in Poros, there were 71 communal schools in Greece with 6,700 pupils and 39 Hellenic schools with 3,000 pupils.

A gymnasium with a Greek school was then founded, followed by a military school in Aegina.

In 1835, the following were founded: a theoretical and practical establishment for surgery, pharmacy and childbirth, two gymnasiums with Greek schools, in Athens and Hermopolis, and ten Greek schools for which the municipalities claimed responsibility.

In 1836, the Greek Society for the Education of Girls was founded.

Finally, in 1837, a national university was established.

Education, at all levels, was finally reborn in Greece, and the Greeks, who had taught the whole world everything for thousands of years, were finally going to learn in their turn.

As primary and middle school education had been provided, the demands of practical and artistic education were also met.

Thus a school of agriculture was founded in Tyre and a school of arts in Athens. Wasn't this returning the arts to their cradle?

In Nafplio, a naval school was founded in 1837; then, in 1867, five naval schools were established in Hydra, Spetza, Galaxidi and Argosteli.

As early as 1856, commerce was being taught in Syra and Patras.

As we can see, the gods of ancient Greece, the ones we learned to worship when we were at school and marvelled at the splendours of Homer, are still alive. Apollo, Mars and Mercury still have their altars, only they have been modernised. Mars does his one-year voluntary service, Apollo is a professor of rhetoric, and Mercury is a sea captain.


THE RAILWAYS IN GREECE.
Well, would one believe it, Greece, which shows such great elevation of ideas by the passion with which it pursues the development of public education, Greece which has not been able to die, although it has suffered misfortunes which would have wiped out any other nation for ever, Greece which now follows us in the path of progress, while waiting for it to perhaps get ahead of us, Greece still has only one railway which connects Athens to Piraeus.

And the route of this railway is ten kilometres long!


INTERNATIONAL LEGISLATION.

We felt that international legislation deserved a mention. We have borrowed the information we are about to read from the excellent work by Mr. Charles Fiiniaux, lawyer at the Conseil d'Ëtat: La Propriété industrielle et la propriété artistique et littéraire en France et à l'étranger :
Legislation. - The Penal Code of 30 December 1833 (art. 432 and 433) contains general provisions without distinguishing industrial property from literary and artistic property.

Duration of the right. - The author of works reproduced in print does not have a right to his work for his entire life; the duration of the right is only fifteen years from the first publication. But the sovereign may grant a more extensive privilege.

Scientific or artistic discoveries, works or productions are subject to the privilege regime.

Infringement. - During the fifteen years, or during the term of the privilege, the injured party may have the infringing copies seized and prosecute the infringers.

Penalties. - The fine is from 200 to 2,000 drachmas (180 to 1,800 fr.) where it has not been fixed by the privilege without prejudice to damages.

International law. - The foreigner, even if he has no special privilege, is protected for fifteen years, if the Greeks are protected in the country to which he belongs; this has existed in France for literary and artistic property since the decree of 28 March 1852.


FURNITURE.

After these general considerations, we will quickly enter into the examination of the Greek exhibition.

We shall pass, without stopping there, before the bookshop and printing classes; we shall, however, mention the house of Coromilas, an excellent printing house which almost single-handedly supplies the Orient with its teaching books, and then the catalogue of periodicals and books published in Greece from 1867 to 1877; attractive reading for those interested in the progress of peoples.

Stationery and music offer nothing of note.

Let us come to furniture and its accessories; Greece, once so refined, seems to us to sacrifice little to luxury; it is an industry which needs to be revived.

Ceramics has developed more, but it does not seem to have any great artistic pretensions; the objects exhibited are hardly used for anything but the household.

On the other hand, the carpet industry is very flourishing and its specimens are magnificent; the Orient could envy such products.


CLOTHING.
The spinning industry is one of the industries which has developed most in Greece in recent years; this is fortunate, especially if we consider the large number of workers whose existence is thus assured. Piraeus alone has nearly thirty steam-spinning factories.

The classes of cottons, yarns, wools and silks are the most and best represented at the Exhibition.

In the clothing class, life-size mannequins were adorned with the richest national costumes.

This is always an interesting and at the same time highly instructive spectacle; no description can give the visitor a better understanding of the type, genre and richness of the costumes.

We would have liked each of the distant countries to exhibit similar specimens of the costumes of the various classes at the Exhibition; this would have constituted a real museum, something like the history of costume in relief.


MINES.

Greece possesses mines of lead, iron, etc., but the great wealth, the true jewel in her crown, is marble.

What marble in the world can rival the white marbles of Paros, Tenos, Naxos and Erinia, the black marbles of Lacedemonia, the granite of Navossa?


FOOD PRODUCTS.

The olive tree flourishes in Greece; everyone knows that the olive tree, of which Minerva holds a branch in her hand, is the national tree of the ancient land of the gods.

After the olive, the most abundant product is wheat, with its various derivatives.

Next we find the famous honey of Mount Hymette; and finally the wines: - wines of Athens, Phaleres, Oedipsos, Myrtountron, Calavryta, Chalcis, Di-dynia, Oudros, Thira, Hopitaides, Lefkada, Ithaca, home of the wise Odysseus, Nemea, where Hercules killed his lion, Argos, Megara, Milo, etc., etc.

These wines, very aromatic, are almost entirely consumed in the East.


THE WEAPONS.

From the point of view of war, Greece sent nothing to the Exhibition of 1878; the weapons exhibited, six small objects, are of value only from the point of view of art and luxury. We will therefore limit ourselves, for the information of the reader, to the following details:
The army comprises 14,061 men, of whom 749 are commissioned officers and 2,422 are uncommissioned.

The navy comprises thirteen vessels, namely: two small battleships, the King George and the Queen Olga, six propeller vessels, three schooners, two cutters and the Amphitrite, the king's yacht.

The sea army consisted of 581 men and 71 officers.

In addition, here is what we find on military education in the excellent book by Mr. Mansolas, the general commissioner for Greece at the Exhibition:
Naval Schools. - With the aim of encouraging and instructing those who are destined to become sailors, a chair of theoretical instruction in the naval art was annexed to the Greek schools of Syra and Nafplio in 1837, for the special instruction of sailors. - Since 1867, five naval schools have been opened in each of the five main maritime cities: Hermopolis, Hydra, Spetza, Galaxidi and Argostoli. Each of these schools has two classes and a teacher. The number of pupils taught in these five schools is about 90. The instruction given there is completed after six months, and the students who have passed the examinations receive a diploma of captain of commerce.

Military school. - This school, founded in 1828 in Aegina, was specially organised in 1835 and transferred to Piraeus. According to the present organization, the teaching is divided into seven classes, with 16 teachers and 6 masters. The total number of students is limited by its organization to 40. - The subjects taught are Religion, Greek Language, Mathematics, Descriptive Geometry, Physics, Oryc-tology and Geology, Chemistry, Theoretical Mechanics and Agronomy, Topography, Geodesy, Roads, Art of War, Military Technology, Artillery, Architecture, Construction, Bridges, Applied Mechanics and Engineering, Fortification, Logic, French Language, Drawing, Calligraphy, Music, Fencing, Gymnastics.

The direction of the school is entrusted to a senior army officer. The State spends 193,000 drachmas annually on this school.

In addition to the special military instruction of this establishment, there are also particular schools attached to military corps, under the name of army schools, and for which 10,000 drachmas are still spent annually. Provision is also made for the maintenance of scholarship holders abroad.

The total sum of expenditure on military education amounts to 222,520 drachmas.

©Les Merveilles de l'Exposition de 1878

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Grèce



LES BEAUX-ARTS.

Nous sommes, avec bien d’autres, dans l’impossibilité de dire ce que pouvait être la peinture grecque au temps d’Apelle, pour ne pas remonter à Zeuxis et à Parrhasius et encore moins à Bularque, mais nous ne pouvons méconnaître que la peinture grecque moderne, telle qu’elle est représentée à la galerie des Beaux-arts, ne pèche guère que par le nombre.

La Grèce occupe un seul mur de l’unique salle occupée par le Portugal ; ce mur est un peu plus complètement couvert, pas beaucoup ; mais quelle différence !

Toute l’exposition de M. Lydras est à voir ; elle se compose de scènes nationales d’un charme véritable : le Baiser, le Brûlotier Canaris, la Veille du nouvel an, la Jeune fille enlevée, YOrpheline, jeune fille à moitié dévêtue, pour pouvoir raccommoder ses misérables nippes, la Cuisine, toile de genre d’une très-bonne exécution et d’une inspiration heureuse. Nous signalerons ensuite les Fiançailles en Grèce, entre enfants de six ans, de M. Gy-zis ; quelques-unes des toiles de M. Périclès Pantazis qui touche à tous les genres : genre, marine et paysage ; Y Incendie de la première frégate ottomane à Erissos par Papanicoli, de M. Altamura; une belle Étude'de femme couchée, de M. Bizo; enfin les charmantes toiles de M. Ralli : Esclave jouant de la guitare, Nur-mahal la Danseuse, Après l'enterrement, Souvenir de Mégare et surtout sa Soubrette Louis XIV arrosant des fleurs.

La sculpture nous offre quelques pièces remarquables, notamment les portraits de M. Kossos, mais rien en somme qui mérite d’être particulièrement signalé.


LA GRÈCE EN 1878.

Nous avons plaisir à parler de ce beau pays de Grèce qui inventa tous les arts et toutes les sciences, qui eut toutes les gloires et tous les malheurs, qui fut enfin parmi les nations antiques la plus haute et la plus éclatante personnalité.

Cette personnalité a été si puissamment rayonnante, elle est tellement indéniable que l’Athènes d’autrefois nous domine encore ; Rome antique nous domine encore, elle aussi, mais à un degré moindre, et cela se comprend, puisque la révélation artistique et scientifique lui vint des Grecs.

Comme il arrive à toutes les nations que leur mérite ou quelquefois — on en rencontre des preuves dans l’histoire,—le simple hasard, ont élevées au dernier degré de la prépondérance parmi les peuples, la Grèce, quand l’heure de la chute a sonné, s’est écrasée en tombant parce qu’elle tombait de trop haut.

Appelée par sa situation géographique à de continuelles perturbations, elle se trouva en proie à tous les barbares qui se ruaient sur l’Occident ; elle vécut sans vivre, elle n’eut pas le temps de respirer.
Quand des temps plus calmes revinrent enfin, quand elle put se regarder et s’interroger, la Grèce s’aperçut qu’elle n’était plus elle-même et qu'une société nouvelle, avec d’autres institutions, d’autres goûts et d’autres mœurs, fonctionnait autour d’elle.

Elle dut alors commencer un travail d’assimilation et renoncer à tout ce qui pouvait lui rester de la Grèce d’autrefois, afin de pouvoir être admise et tenir rang dans le concert européen.

La part qu’elle a prise à l’Exposition de 1878, le bagage qu’elle y a apporté, donnent la mesure des progrès accomplis par cet intéressant petit pays, qui ne compte aujourd’hui pas plus de quinze cent mille habitants.

La profession qui domine actuellement en Grèce est celle d’agriculteur, les industriels viennent en second lieu ; par exemple, le nombre des hommes qui exercent des professions libérales est excessivement considérable, eu égard au chiffre minime de la population.

On reconnaît à ce signe qu’il coule encore du sang des anciens Grecs dans les veines des Grecs modernes.

Le lecteur ne sera donc pas étonné de la grande quantité d’écoles de toutes sortes qui abondent en Grèce et de la large part faite à l’enseignement et aux études de toutes sortes.


L’ENSEIGNEMENT EN GRÈCE.

Dès qu’un semblant d’accalmie se fut produit, la Grèce en profita pour relever ses écoles. Ce relèvement ne date pas de loin. L’année 1829 ne trouva, en fait d’innovation, que des écoles primaires mutuelles; mais elle vit la création, à Égine, d’une école centrale contenant 500 élèves, et d’un orphelinat qui nourrissait 100 orphelins des victimes mortes pour la patrie.

L’enseignement suivit dès lors une progression croissante que nous allons établir rapidement.

Dès 1833, on compte en Grèce, outre une école militaire à Poros, 71 écoles communales avec 6,700 élèves et 39 écoles helléniques avec 3,000 élèves.

On fonde ensuite : — un gymnase avec une école hellénique, puis une école militaire à Égine.

En 1835, sont fondés : un établissement théorique et pratique de chirurgie, de pharmacie et d’accouchements, deux gymnases avec écoles helléniques, à Athènes et à Hermopolis, puis dix écoles helléniques dont les communes revendiquent la charge.

En 1836, on fonde la Société philecpediftique pour l’instruction des filles.

Enfin, en 1837, Y Université nationale surgit.

L’enseignement, à tous les degrés, renaissait enfin en Grèce, et les Grecs, qui avaient tout appris au monde entier depuis des milliers d’années, allaient enfin apprendre à leur tour.

Comme on avait fait la part de l’enseignement primaire et moyen, on obéit aussi aux exigences de l’enseignement pratique et artistique.

C’est ainsi que furent fondées à Tyrinthe une école d’agriculture et à Athènes, — naturellement, — une école des arts. N’était-ce pas rendre les arts à leur berceau?

A Nauplie, on fonde en 1837 une école de marine; puis, en 1867, cinq écoles navales sont établies à Hydra, à Spetza, à Galaxidi, à Argosteli.

Dès 1856, on enseignait le commerce à Syra et à Patras.

On le voit, les dieux de la Grèce antique, de celle que nous avons appris à adorer quand, au collège, on nous faisait nous émerveiller devant les splendeurs d’Homère, les dieux de la Grèce vivent toujours. Apollon, Mars et Mercure ont encore leurs autels ; seulement ils se sont modernisés. Mars fait son volontariat d’un an, Apollon est professeur de rhétorique, et Mercure est capitaine au long cours.


LES CHEMINS DE FER EN GRÈCE.
Eh bien! le croirait-on, la Grèce qui montre une si grande élévation d’idées par la passion avec laquelle elle poursuit le développement de l’instruction publique, la Grèce qui n’a pu mourir, quoiqu’elle ait subi des malheurs qui eussent à tout jamais anéanti n’importe quelle autre nation, la Grèce qui maintenant nous suit dans la voie du progrès en attendant qu’elle nous y devance peut-être, la Grèce n’a encore qu’un unique chemin de fer qui relie Athènes au Pirée.

Et le parcours de ce chemin de fer est de dix kilomètres !


LA LÉGISLATION INTERNATIONALE.

La législation internationale nous a paru mériter une mention. Nous empruntons les renseignements qu’on va lire à l’excellent ouvrage de M, Charles Fiiniaux, avocat au Conseil d’Ëtat : La Propriété industrielle et la propriété artistique et littéraire en France et à l'étranger :
Législation. — Le Code pénal du 30 décembre 1833 (art. 432 et 433) contient des dispositions générales sans distinguer la propriété industrielle de la propriété littéraire et artistique.

Durée du droit. — L’auteur d’œuvres se reproduisant par l’impression n’a pas un droit sur son œuvre pendant toute sa vie ; la durée du droit n’est que de quinze ans à partir de la première publication. Mais le souverain peut accorder un privilège plus étendu.

Les découvertes, œuvres ou productions scientifiques ou artistiques sont soumises au régime du privilège.

Contrefaçon. — Pendant les quinze années, ou pendant la durée du privilège, la partie lésée peut faire saisir les exemplaires contrefaits et poursuivre les contrefacteurs.

Pénalités. — L’amende est de 200 à 2,000 drachmes (180 à 1,800 fr.) lorsqu’elle n’a pas été fixée par le privilège sans préjudice des dommages-intérêts.

Droit international. — L’étranger, même s’il n’a pas de privilège spécial, est protégé pour quinze années, si les Grecs sont protégés dans le pays auquel il appartient ; ce qui existe en France pour la propriété littéraire et artistique depuis le décret du 28 mars 1852.


LE MOBILIER.

Après ces considérations d’un ordre général, nous allons entrer rapidement dans l’examen de l’exposition grecque.

Nous passerons, sans nous y arrêter, devant les classes de la librairie et de l’imprimerie ; nous mentionnerons cependant la maison Coromilas, une excellente imprimerie qui approvisionne presque seule l’Orient de ses livres d’enseignement, puis le catalogue des ouvrages périodiques et des livres édités en Grèce de 1867 à 1877 ; lecture attrayante pour ceux qui s’intéressent au progrès des peuples.

La papeterie, la musique n’offrent rien de saillant.

Arrivons au mobilier et à ses accessoires ; la Grèce, jadis si raffinée, nous paraît sacrifier peu au luxe ; c’est une industrie qui a besoin de renaître.

La céramique a pris plus de développement; mais elle ne parait pas avoir de grandes prétentions artistiques ; les objets exposés ne servent guère qu’au ménage.

En revanche, l’industrie des tapis est très-florissante et ses spécimens sont magnifiques ; l’Orient pourrait envier de tels produits.


LE VÊTEMENT.
La filature est une des industries qui se sont, depuis quelques années, développées le plus en Grèce ; cela est heureux, surtout si l’on songe au grand nombre d’ouvriers dont l’existence se trouve ainsi assurée. Le Pirée, à lui seul, compte près de trente filatures à vapeur.

Les classes des cotons, des fils, des laines et des soies, sont les plus et les mieux représentées à l’Exposition.

Dans la classe de l’habillement, des mannequins de grandeur naturelle ont été parés des plus riches costumes nationaux.

C’est là un spectacle toujours intéressant et en même temps on ne peut plus instructif; aucune description ne peut faire mieux comprendre au visiteur le type, le genre, la richesse des costumes.

Nous aurions voulu que, à l’Exposition, chacun des pays lointains exposât de semblables spécimens des costumes des diverses classes ; cela eût constitué un véritable musée, quelque chose comme l’histoire du costume en relief.


LES MINES.

La Grèce possède des mines de plomb, de fer, etc., mais la grande richesse, mais le véritable fleuron de sa couronne, c’est le marbre.

Quel marbre du monde pourrait rivaliser avec les marbres blancs de Paros, de Tenos, de Naxos et d’Erinia, avec les marbres noirs de Lacédémone, avec le granit de Navossa?


LES PRODUITS ALIMENTAIRES.

L’olivier fleurit en Grèce ; tout le monde sait que l’olivier, dont Minerve tient un rameau à la main, est l’arbre national de l’antique pays des dieux.

Après l’olive, le produit le plus abondant est le froment, avec ses divers dérivés.

Nous trouvons ensuite le fameux miel du mont Hymette ; enfin voici les vins : — vins d’Athènes, de Phalères, d’Œdipsos, de Myrtountron, de Calavryta, de Chalcis, de Di-dynie, d’Oudros, de Thira, d’Hopitaïdes, de Leucade, d’Ithaque, patrie du sage Ulysse, de Némée, où Hercule tua son lion, d’Argos, de Mégare, de Milo, etc., etc.

Ces vins, très-aromatiques, sont presque entièrement consommés en Orient.


LES ARMES.

Du point de vue de la guerre, la Grèce n’a rien envoyé à l’Exposition de 1878 ; les armes exposées, — six petits objets, — n’ont de valeur qu’au point de vue de l’art et du luxe. Nous nous bornerons donc, pour renseigner le lecteur, aux détails suivants :
L’armée comprend 14,061 hommes, dont 749 officiers commissionnés et 2,422 sans commission.

La marine comprend treize vaisseaux, savoir : deux petits cuirassés, le roi Georges et la reine Olga, six vaisseaux à hélice, trois goélettes, deux cutters et l’Amphitrite, yacht du roi.

L’armée de mer se compose de 581 hommes et 71 officiers.

Voici, en outre, sur l’enseignement militaire, ce que nous trouvons dans l’excellent livre de M. Mansolas, le commissaire général de la Grèce à l’Exposition :
Écoles navales. — Dans le but d’encourager et d’instruire ceux qui se destinent à la navigation, on a annexé, dès l’année 1837, auprès des écoles helléniques de Syra et de Nauplie, une chaire d’enseignement théorique de l’art naval pour 1 instruction spéciale des navigateurs. — Et, depuis l’année 1867, on a ouvert cinq écoles navales, réparties dans chacune des cinq principales villes maritimes :—Hermopolis, Hydra, Spetza, Galaxidi et Argostoli. Chacune de ces écoles comprend deux classes et un maître. Le nombre des élèves enseignés dans ces cinq écoles atteint le chiffre de 90 environ. L’instruction qu’on y donne est achevée au bout de six mois, et les élèves sortants qui ont réussi dans les examens reçoivent un diplôme de capitaine de commerce.

École militaire. — Cette École, fondée depuis l’année 1828, à Égine, a été spécialement organisée en 1835 et transférée au Pirée. Suivant l’organisation aujourd’hui en vigueur, l’enseignement y est divisé en sept classes, et comprend 16 professeurs et 6 maîtres. Le nombre total des élèves est limité par son organisation à 40. — Les matières qu’on y enseigne sont : la Religion, la Langue grecque, les Mathématiques, la Géométrie descriptive, la Physique, l’Oryc-tologie et la Géologie, la Chimie, la Mécanique théorique et l’Agronomie, la Topographie, la Géodésie, les Chaussées, l’Art de la guerre, la Technologie militaire, l’Artillerie, l'Architecture, la Construction, les Ponts, la Mécanique appliquée et le Génie, la Fortification, la Logique, la Langue française, le Dessin, la Calligraphie, la Musique, l’Escrime, la Gymnastique.

La direction de l’École est confiée à un officier supérieur de l’armée de terre. L’État dépense annuellement pour cette école 193,000 drachmes.

Outre l’instruction militaire spéciale de cet établissement, il existe aussi des écoles particulières attachées à des corps militaires, sous le nom d'écoles de l'armée, et pour lesquelles on dépense encore annuellement 10,000 drachmes. On pourvoit aussi à l’entretien des boursiers à l’étranger.

La somme totale des dépenses pour l’enseignement militaire monte à 222,520 drachmes.

©Les Merveilles de l'Exposition de 1878