International Exposition of Zaragoza 2008 - Expo 2008

Water and sustainable development

June 14, 2008 - September 14, 2008


Back - List of Pavilions

Nicaragua

Nicaragua at the Exhibition Expo Zaragoza 2008

© Philippe Lemaire

Rivers, lakes and lagoons. Nicaragua is the Central American country with the largest water reserves. Yet only 79% of the population has access to it. One of the country's main waterways, the San Juan River, has an important strategic value as an alternative route to the Panama Canal. The Nicaragua pavilion, with a series of panels, recounts the history of this river, as well as that of Lake Cocibolca, on whose shores one of the first Spanish cities on the continent, Granada, was founded, and presents the natural reserves of this Central American country.
The Indio Maíz reserve, located in the south-east of the country and comprising seven protected areas, is a well-preserved tropical rainforest, considered to be a veritable paradise for birds. There are also images from the Bosawas reserve, home to the sacred Miskitu and Mayangna mountains. These two peoples maintain their traditional methods of sustainable use of nature, and their activities contribute to the protection and conservation of the reserve.
The journey through the country is completed by the Water Route and an example of ecotourism: the Los Guatuzos forest life refuge. designed so that visitors can admire the landscape and observe biodiversity while participating in its preservation.

© Exposicion International Zaragoza 2008

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Nicaragua


Nicaragua à l'exposition de Saragosse 2008

© Philippe Lemaire

Rivières, lacs et lagunes. Le Nicaragua est le pays d'Amérique Centrale possédant les plus importantes réserves en eau. Pourtant, seule 79% de la population y a accès. L'une des principales voies fluviales du pays, le fleuve San Juan, possède une importante valeur stratégique dans la mesure où il constitue une route alternative au canal de Panama. Grâce à une série de panneaux, le pavillon du Nicaragua retrace l'histoire de ce fleuve, ainsi que celle du lac Cocibolca, sur les rives duquel a été fondée l'une des premières villes espagnoles du continent, Granada, et présente les réserves naturelles de ce pays d'Amérique Centrale.
Citons notamment celle d'Indio Maíz, située au sud est du pays et comprenant sept zones protégées: il s'agit d'une forêt tropicale humide bien préservée, considérée comme le véritable paradis des oiseaux. Des images de la réserve Bosawas, qui abrite les montagnes sacrées des Miskitu et Mayangna, sont également présentées. Ces deux peuples conservent leurs méthodes traditionnelles d'exploitation durable de la nature, et leurs activités contribuent à la protection et la conservation de la réserve.
Le parcours à travers le pays est complété par la Route de l'Eau et un exemple d'écotourisme: le refuge de vie sylvestre Los Guatuzos. conçu pour que les visiteurs puissent admirer le paysage et observer la biodiversité tout en participant à sa préservation.

© Exposicion International Zaragoza 2008