International Exposition of Zaragoza 2008 - Expo 2008

Water and sustainable development

June 14, 2008 - September 14, 2008


Back - List of Pavilions

Bridge Pavilion

Bridge Pavilion at the Exhibition Expo Zaragoza 2008

© Philippe lemaire

The Bridge Pavilion is probably the architectural star of the Expo. With its flower-like shape, a gladiolus with three stems anchored to the enclosure, is one of the three gateways to the exhibition. Anyone entering or leaving the Expo, on seeing the most emblematic work, designed by the Iraqi architect Zaha Hadid, will leave with the clear idea that water must be managed as a limited and precious asset. The projection of images and data is so overwhelming along the viaduct, that it is impossible not to raise awareness of the problem as you walk across it. Designed an exhibition that tries in equal parts to surprise and to make visitors aware.
A bombardment of new technologies helps to show thousands of people (about 1,300 per hour) how to get out of the crises that will occur in the year 2025 if water consumption and administration continue to be managed as they are now. The itinerary begins outside the halls of the bridge, in three large crystal, wood and metal cubes installed in the Expo entrance square.
In a small corner of the floating pavilion, the most didactic part is installed on the second floor, in a very dramatic setting, surrounded by high-definition screens that create a sense of urgency about the water situation.
Through the exhibition it is possible to learn about the history of people who have easy access to water and those who do not. In order to do this, information from more than 200 countries was synthesised and contact was made with more than one hundred governments. The pavilion is raised obliquely on the path of the river Ebro, very close to the bridge of the Third Millennium, in the Ronda del Rabal.
Its envelope is inspired in the scales of a shark that produce a natural microclimate inside. One of the technical characteristics of this work of engineering design is located in the anchoring of the infrastructure. In Spain there is no other building whose central pillars reach such a depth as the Bridge pavilion: 74 metres deep. It is, without doubt, the great masterpiece of the Expo.

© Exposicion International Zaragoza 2008

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Pavillon Pont


Pavillon Pont à l'exposition de Saragosse 2008

© Philippe lemaire

Le Pavillon Pont est probablement l'étoile architectonique de l'Expo. Avec sa forme de fleur, un glaïeul à trois tiges ancrées sur l'enceinte, est une des trois portes d'accès à l'exposition. Tous ceux qui entrent ou sortent de l'Expo, en voyant l'oeuvre la plus emblématique, conçue par l'architecte irakienne Zaha Hadid, partira avec la claire l'idée que l'eau doit être gérée comme un bien limité et précieux. La projection d'images et de données est tellement écrasante le long du viaduc, qu'il est impossible de ne pas faire prendre conscience du problème lorsqu' on le traverse. A conçu une exposition qui essaye à des parties égales de surprendre et de faire prendre conscience aux visiteurs.
Un bombardement de nouvelles technologies aide à montrer à de milliers de personnes (environ 1.300 par heure) comment sortir des crises auxquelles on arrivera pendant l'année 2025 si la consommation et l'administration de l'eau continuent d'être gérées comme elle l'est actuellement. L'itinéraire commence hors des salles du pont, dans trois grands cubes en cristal, bois et métal installés dans la place d'entrée à l'Expo.
Dans un petit coin du pavillon flottant, la partie la plus didactique se trouve installée au second étage, dans un décor très dramatique', entouré d'écrans de haute définition qui créent une sensation d'urgence' autour de la situation de l'eau.
Par le biais de l'exposition il est possible de connaître l'histoire des gens qui peuvent facilement accéder à l'eau et de ceux qui ne le peuvent pas. Pour confectionner cela, on a synthétisé des informations provenant de plus de 200 pays et on a entré en contact avec plus de une centaine de gouvernements. Le pavillon est levé dans l'oblique sur la voie de la rivière de l'Ebre, très proche du pont du Troisième Millénaire, dans la Ronde du Rabal.
Son enveloppe s'inspire dans les écailles d'un requin qui produisent un microclimat naturel intérieur. L'une des caractéristiques techniques de cette oeuvre d'ingénierie de conception est située dans l'ancrage de l'infrastructure. En Espagne il n'y a aucun autre bâtiment dont les piles centrales atteignent tant de profondeur comme celle du ?avillon Pont : 74 mètres de profondeur C'est, sans doute, le grand chef d'oeuvre de l'Expo.

© Exposicion International Zaragoza 2008