Back - List of Pavilions

Belgium -

Missing picture

After the French machines come those from Belgium. Along the wall are placed the spinning machines. In the middle you can see the 18th century reduction of a machine that lowers the workers in the mines and for the extraction of coal; it is made by Mr. Warocqué, in Mariemont. Further on are various railway devices, then a stamping machine for the State stamp, by Mr. Wynants, near Brussels, a wool carding machine, by Mr. Fairon, in Vervins. The Saint-Léonard company, in Liège, exhibited a six-wheeled locomotive.
Next to it is a device for exchanging railway dispatches between high-speed convoys.
Next come the machines of the John Cockerill company in Séraing, namely: a locomotive, Engerlh system; tested on the Northern Railway, it pulled a convoy of 46 wagons, weighing 670 tons, with a speed of 26 kilometres per hour and on ramps of up to 5 millimetres. Next to the same establishment is a stern with wrought iron rudder for one of the 2,000 ton ships being built for the Antwerp Transatlantic Company; the stern weighs 9,613 kilograms, the shaft 6,129 kilograms.

Turning to the left, we see in the middle a locomotive of Messrs. Zaman, Sabatier et Cie in Brussels; composing and distributing machines for typography, of M. Delcambre, in Brussels; a page clamp for printing, of M. Mackintosh, in Brussels; a printing machine, of M. Mackintosh, in Brussels; a printing machine, of M. Delcambre, in Brussels; a printing machine, of M. Mackintosh, in Brussels; a printing machine, of M. Mackintosh, in Brussels. Mackintosh, Brussels; a portable press for lithography and stamps, by Mr. Jeslein, Brussels; various spinning machines; a steam engine with oscillating cylinders, by Mr. Lestor-Stordeur; a ventilator for mine ventilation, by Mr. Fabry in Charleroi. On the side of the wall, one notices: a machine for splitting wool, from Mr. Laoureux in Verviers; machines and devices for sugar refineries, and a vertical motor machine of 12 horsepower, from Messrs. Cail, Halot and C', in Brussels; devices for distilleries fromM. Guyl and M. Delattre, in Brussels.

©Promenades dans l'exposition de 1855

Exposition universelle des produits de l'agriculture, de l'industrie et des beaux arts - Paris 1855

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-arts

15 mai 1855 - 15 novembre 1855


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Belgique

manque image

Après les machines françaises viennent celles de la Belgique. Le long du mur sont placés les appareils et machines de filature. Au milieu on voit la réduction au 18e d’un appareil qui fait descendre les ouvriers dans les mines et pour l’extraction du charbon; il est de M. Warocqué, à Mariemont. Plus loin se trouvent différents appareils de chemins de fer, ensuite une machine à timbrer pour le timbre de l’État, de M. Wynants, près Bruxelles, une droussette pour carder la laine, de M. Fairon, à Vervins. La société de Saint-Léonard, à Liège, a exposé une locomotive à six roues.
A côté est un appareil pour échanger les dépêches sur les chemins de fer entre les convois de grande vitesse.
Ensuite viennent les machines de la société John Cockerill à Séraing, savoir : une locomotive, système Engerlh ; essayée sur le chemin de fer du Nord, elle a traîné un convoi de 46 wagons, pesant 670 tonnes, avec une vitesse de 26 kilomètres à l’heure et sur des rampes jusqu’à 5 millimètres. On trouve à côté du même établissement un étambot avec gouvernail en fer forgé pour un des navires de 2,000 tonneaux en construction pour la Compagnie transatlantique d'Anvers; l’étambot pèse 9,613 kilogr., l'arbre 6,129 kilogrammes.

En tournant à main gauche, nous voyons au milieu une locomotive de MM. Zaman, Sabatier et Cie à Bruxelles; des machines à composer et à distribuer, pour typographie, de M. Delcambre, à Bruxelles ; un serre-page pour imprimerie, de M. Mackintosh, à Bruxelles; une presse portative pour lithographie et timbre, de M. Jeslein, à Bruxelles; différentes machines de filature; une machine à vapeur à cylindres oscillants, de M. Lestor-Stordeur; un ventilateur pour l’aérage des mines, de M. Fabry à Charleroi. Du côté du mur, on remarque : une machine pour échardonner la laine, de M. Laoureux à Verviers; des machines et appareils pour raffineries de sucre, et une machine motrice verticale de la force de 12 chevaux, de MM. Cail, Halot et C', à Bruxelles ; des appareils pour distillerie deM. Guyl et de M. Delattre, à Bruxelles.

©Promenades dans l'exposition de 1855