Universal Exhibition of Agricultural, Industrial and Fine Arts Products - Paris 1855

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

May 15, 1855 - November 15, 1855


Back - List of Pavilions

France

manque image

The first exhibition to be seen on entering France is that of clocks and precision instruments. Here the annex is separated into two aisles by a line of small shops which occupy the centre, leaning against each other and facing each other.

Let us enter the left-hand aisle, on the waterfront side: the visitor will notice in the first window a black marble clock by Grandperrin and a pendilla with porcelain medallions; opposite, a bell clock by Galle, in Paris. This clock, which runs for thirty hours without being wound, without oil, with pinions in one piece and tempered, costs only 600 fr. On the side, Arera has displayed a clock placed in a basket of flowers; flies mark the hours. Butterflies flutter around it, it is a kind of toy. Opposite, Albert Petry from Voulaines, presents a remarkable cheap bell tower clock. On the side, Brocot and Deletrez show a clock on a wooden body, indicating the days and months, and next to it a gilded clock surmounted by a candelabra that rises in the middle, a new system. Opposite, in the centre, stands the large and beautiful Bréguet display case. To the left of the window one sees his portable telegraph of the railways; on the front a printing telegraph of the Morse system, at the bottom the telegraphic apparatuses of the Southern and Northern railways, on each side, and that of the State in the middle. In a small watch at the front there are watches of 800, 1,900, 2,300 and 4,300 francs. In the middle are watches, one of 10,000 fr, which indicates the phases of the moon and which is sold to the viceroy of Egypt; the other perpetual watch whose whole mechanism is visible through a glass case and which is quoted 30,000 fr. On the left side is a sympathetic clock worth 12,000 fr, and finally a travel clock worth 6,000 fr. Paul Garnier, next to it, has exhibited a large clock on a box of a dozen feet. At the bottom are a service controller; night watchmen; a meter, and a steam pressure indicator on the left. Behind the latter is a movable sign cylinder for printing telegraphic dispatches (Morse system).

Next to it is the Niot Blin house with spindle turners, and you arrive at the large exhibition of Wagner nephew. A large public monument clock on top of a frame, which can be seen from the entire annex, forms the main room. The clock mechanism can be seen hanging between the pillars that support it. To the right of this clock, facing the Exhibition, in the middle of the annex, is a metronome for beating out the music. On the front, still on the right, is a very simple clock that is only priced at 400 francs; next to it is a movement that can run several dials. On the left, we see an instrument built for the École des Ponts-et-Chaussées, which records the movements of the tides. On the left is Galileo's clock, first built by his son in 1649, which
by his son in 1649, recomposed by Boquillon after a letter from Viviani in 1659 and executed by Wagner nephew. Back on the side that runs along the Cours-la-Reine, opposite Wagner, is a magnificent clock indicating the different hours according to the latitudes, Europe, Australia, Africa, then the months, the lunations, the constellations, etc., etc. The antipodes of Paris marked on it, are the small island of Saint-Pierre (Australia). In this aisle only the astronomical glasses of Bardou remain to be seen, the clock system for the church of Sainte-Clotilde, exhibited by Colin, and finally an important Breton manufacturer, M. Gourdin, who makes steeple clocks -, opposite, are samples of the clock-making of the Jura. In the galleries under the vault of the first floor, on the left, along the water, are weighing instruments, waxed cloths, soaps, chemical products and platinum vases for concentrating acids; on the right, stoves, furnaces and fountains.

Going back to the left-hand aisle, which we left at Wagner, we find precision instruments, in the middle section, regulators, physics instruments, a pneumatic machine, etc., a beautiful battery of 50 different elements, similar to the one used for lighting the docks, which cost 275 fr. Opposite are siphons for making seltzer. Then there are exhibitions of confectioners, the Fidèle Berger of the rue des Lombards, Guérin-Boulon the chocolate maker, etc. Opposite, instruments of physics and the daguerreotype. In the aisle on the right, we first meet in the centre, Mr. Charles Chevalier. He exhibits, among other things, daguerreotype boxes with the resulting plates; a magnificent transparent print on albumen from the Louvre pavilion can be seen. After Mr. Chevalier comes Breton, with an electro-medical apparatus and pneumatic machines. Opposite, Rogeat of Lyon with drawing machines and two steps after Rogeat, a model of a train and a locomotive boiler.

Behind this aisle continues the exhibition of smoke-making, which at its end also invades the centre. All the specimens of the use of caloric and cold are presented there. One will notice, in the centre, the system of ventilation and heating, applied to the Polytechnic school by Mr. René-Duvoir; on the right, next to it, that of the great Lariboissière hospital, of the Clos Saint-Lazare in Paris, next to that of the Imperial Institute of France; next to it again, the kitchens of the Lycée Napoléon, with a system of heating for the studies. All this is on the right". Then, still on the same side, we come to the exhibition of elastic anatomy pieces by Doctor Auzoux of Paris. One will notice a beautiful horse skin, a snake's head, a silkworm, etc. All these pieces can be dismantled and put together. All these pieces can be dismantled and are anatomically constructed inside. In the inner aisle are stoves and fireplaces; on the wall, tools for carving and large hardware. The aisle on the left is occupied by the windows of the Parisian perfumers.

Let us return to the right, where we find first on the side the marbles of Corsica; in the centre the forges of Audincourt; an altar of Lanfray and Baud of Lyon and an elegant pulpit in cast iron; then the model of a wrought iron shaft for the ether steamer, the Arago, and next to it, the model of a wrought iron hammer intended for a pestle of 8,000 kilograms for the workshops of the navy. These two pieces are under construction by Mr. Cavé. In the aisle on the left you can see cast iron, an enormous vat from the Conches foundry; in the middle section and immediately afterwards, the exhibition of Boigues, Chambourg et Cie, water pipes, wheels, a bust of the Emperor, and the
bust of the Emperor, an enormous gold cable, steel and sheet metal. On the side, still on the left, is a series of bells, among others a very well mended one.

At the end, there are safes. This aisle ends with a magnificent side mount, cast by Em. Martin, and by the bells for the church of Sainte-Clotilde in Paris, whose clock we have already seen, bells by Hildebrand. Along the wall are sheets and specimens of cast iron. In the aisle on the right, the side is occupied by marbles. In the centre is the exhibition of Montataire; rails of there 80 centimetres in length, 360 kilograms of weight, 19 metres in length on 380 kilograms of weight, 17 metres 50 centimetres on 149 kilograms of weight, sheet metal plates of 1550 and 1100 kilograms of weight. Opposite on the side, one will see beautiful pink and grey marble from Boulogne; next to it, a table in Fleury red, then steel and copper boards of great beauty. In the centre is the great exhibition of Jackson brothers, Pelin and Gaudet. They have exhibited the most remarkable piece of cast iron to be seen at the Exhibition - a steamboat shaft weighing no less than 23,000 kilograms.

In the left-hand aisle are forge products, and next to them, portable forges. In the centre, the exhibition of Banis et Cie (Vosges), offers an elegant portico built entirely of cast iron. Opposite, the Grand-Central Railway exhibited its cast iron. In the aisle on the right, we now find the coals. The mines of Anzin have built a massif, which is nothing other than a large model representing the interior of the mine, the series of works, the miners, their instruments, their working methods, their skips, their machines, etc. On the top of this massif, another small wooden model has been erected, intended to show the system of articulated bridges, invented and used by M. Cabony, engineer and director of the works at Anzin. At the back of this model are all the clothes and tools of the miners, hung up as a trophy. The bottom of the right-hand aisle, under the vault of the first floor, is occupied by hardware, brass wires, etc.; that on the left by coals and chemicals.

©Promenades dans l'exposition de 1855

Exposition universelle des produits de l'agriculture, de l'industrie et des beaux arts - Paris 1855

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-arts

15 mai 1855 - 15 novembre 1855


Retour - Liste Pavillons

France

manque image

La première exposition qui se présente quand on entre en France, est celle de l'horlogerie et des instruments de précision. L’annexe se trouve en cet endroit séparée en deux allées par une ligne de petites boutiques qui occupent le centre adossées deux à deux et ayant face sur chacune des allées.

Entrons dans l’allée de gauche, sur le côté du bord de l’eau : le visiteur remarquera dans la première vitrine une horloge en marbre noir de Grandperrin et une pendilla avec des médaillons de porcelaine; en face, une horloge à cloche de Galle, à Paris. Cette horloge, marchant trente heures sans être remontée, sans huile, avec pignons d’un seul morceau et trempés, ne coûte que 600 fr. Sur le côté, Arera a exposé une horloge placée dans une corbeille de fleurs ; des mouches marquent les heures. Des papillons voltigent autour, c’est une sorte de joujou. En face, Albert Petry de Voulaines, présente une horloge de clocher remarquable par son bon marché. Sur le côté, Brocot et Deletrez ont en montre une horloge sur corps en bois, indiquant les jours et les mois, et auprès une pendule dorée surmontée d’un candélabre qui s élevé au milieu, système nouveau. En face au centre, s’élève la grande et belle vitrine de Bréguet. A gauche de la vitrine on voit son télégraphe portatif des chemins de fer; sur le devant un télégraphe imprimeur du système Morse, au fond les appareils télégraphiques des chemins du Sud et du Nord, de chaque côté, et celui de l’Étal au milieu. Dans une petite montre par devant on voit des montres de 800, de 1,900 de 2,300 fr., de 4,300 fr. Au milieu sont des montres, l’une de 10,000 fr, qui indique les phases de la lune et qui est vendue au vice-roi d’Égypte ; l'autre montre perpétuelle dont tout le mécanisme est visible à travers une boîte de verre et qui est cotée 30,000 fr. Sur le côté gauche est une pendule sympathique de 12,000 fr, et enfin une pendule de voyage de 6,000 fr. Paul Garnier, à côté, a exposé une grande horloge élevée sur une boîte d’une douzaine de pieds. Au bas se trouvent un contrôleur du service; des veilleurs de nuit; adroite, un compteur, et un indicateur de pression de vapeur à gauche. Derrière ce dernier est un cylindre à signes mobiles pour impression de dépêches télégraphiques (système Morse).

A côté, la maison Niot Blin avec des tourne-broches, et l'on arrive à la grande exposition de Wagner neveu. Une grosse horloge de monument public surexhaussée sur un bâtis, et qui se voit de toute l’annexe, en forme la pièce principale. On voit le mécanisme de l’horloge suspendu entre les piliers qui la soutiennent. A droite de cette horloge, en faisant face à l’Exposition, dans le milieu de l'annexe, est un métronome pour battre les temps de la musique. Sur le devant, toujours à droite, une horloge très-simple qui n’est cotée que 400 fr.; à côté, un mouvement qui peut faire marcher plusieurs cadrans. A gauche, on voit un instrument construit pour l'École des Ponts-et-Chaussées, qui enregistre les mouvements des marées. A gauche enfin tout-à-fait, l'horloge de Galilée, construite pour la première fois
par son fils en 1649, recomposée par Boquillon d’après une lettre de Viviani, de 1659 et exécutée par Wagner neveu. En retour, du côté qui longe le Cours-la-Reine, en face de Wagner, est une magnifique horloge indiquant les heures différentes suivant les latitudes, Europe, Australie, Afrique, puis les mois, les lunaisons, les constellations, etc., etc. Les antipodes de Paris marqués sur elle, sont la petite île de Saint-Pierre (Australie). Dans cette allée il ne reste plus à voir que les lunettes astronomiques de Bardou, le système d’horloge pour l’église Sainte-Clotilde, exposé par Colin, et enfin un important fabricant breton, M. Gourdin, qui fabrique des horloges de clocher -, en face, sont des échantillons de l’horlogerie du Jura. Dans les galeries qui se trouvent sous la voûte du premier étage, à gauche, le long de l’eau, sont des instruments de pesage, des toiles cirées, des savons, des produits chimiques et des vases pu platine pour concentrer les acides ; à droite des poêles, des fourneaux et des fontaines.

En reprenant l’allée de gauche, que nous avons quittée à Wagner, nous trouvons des instruments de précision, dans le massif du centre, des régulateurs, des instruments de physique, machine pneumatique, etc., une belle batterie de 50 éléments divers, semblable à celle qui servait à l’éclairage des docks, et qui avait coûté 275 fr. En face sont des siphons pour la fabrication de l’eau de Seltz. Puis des expositions de confiseurs, le Fidèle Berger de la rue des Lombards, Guérin-Boulon le chocolatier, etc. En face, des instruments de la physique et du daguerréotype. Dans l’allée de droite, ou rencontre d'abord au centre, M. Charles Chevalier. Il expose entre autres des boîtes à daguerréotype avec planches obtenues; on voit une magnifique épreuve transparente sur albumine du pavillon du Louvre. Après M. Chevalier vient Breton, avec un appareil électro-médical et des machines pneumatiques. En face, Rogeat de Lyon avec des dessicateurs et deux pas après Rogeat, un modèle de train et de chaudière de locomotive.

Derrière cette allée continue l’exposition de la fumisterie, qui, à son extrémité, envahit également le centre. Tous les spécimens de l'emploi du calorique et du froid sont présentés là. On remarquera, au centre, le système de ventilation et de chauffage, appliqué à l’école Polytechnique par M. René-Duvoir; à droite, à côté, celui du grand hôpital Lariboissière, du clos Saint-Lazare à Paris, à côté de celui de l’Institut Impérial de France ; à côté encore, les cuisines du lycée Napoléon, avec un système de chauffage pour les études. Tout cela est à droite» On arrive ensuite, toujours du même côté, à l’exposition des pièces d’anatomie élastique du docteur Auzoux de Paris. On remarquera un bel écorché de cheval, une tète de serpent, un ver à soie, etc. Toutes ces pièces se démontent et sont construites anatomiquement dans l’intérieur. Dans l’allée intérieure sont des poêles et des cheminées; sur la muraille, des instruments de taillanderie et de grosse quincaillerie. L’allée de gauche est occupée par les vitrines des parfumeurs parisiens.

Revenons à droite, où nous trouvons d’abord sur le côté les marbres de la Corse ; au centre les forges d’Audincourt ; un autel de Lanfray et Baud de Lyon et une chaire élégante en fonte de fer; puis le modèle d’un arbre en fer forgé pour le bateau à vapeur d’éther, l’Arago, et à côté, le modèle d’un marteau en fer forgé destiné à un pilon de 8,000 kil. pour les ateliers de la marine. Ces deux pièces sont en construction chez M. Cavé. Dans l’allée de gauche on voit des fontes, une énorme cuve de la fonderie de Conches ; dans le massif du centre et aussitôt après, l’exposition de Boigues, Chambourg et Cie, des conduites d’eau, des roues, un
buste de l’Empereur, un énorme câble en l'or, des aciers et des tôles. Sur le côté, toujours à gauche, est une série de cloches, entre autres une fort bien raccommodée.

Au fond, des coffres-forts. Cette allée se termine par un magnifique affût de côté, fondu par Em. Martin, et par les cloches destinées à l’église Sainte-Clotilde de Paris, dont nous avons déjà vu l’horloge, cloches par Hildebrand. Le long du mur sont des tôles et des spécimens de fonte. Dans l’allée de droite, le côté est occupé par des marbres. Au centre est l'exposition de Montataire; des rails de là mètres 80 centimètres de longueur, de 360 kilogrammes de pesanteur, de 19 mètres de long sur 380 kil. de poids, de 17 mètres 50 centimètres sur 149 kilogr. de poids, des plaques de tôle de 1550 et 1100 kilogrammes de pesanteur. En face sur le côté, on verra de beaux marbres roses et gris venant de Boulogne ; à côté, une table en rouge Fleury, puis des planches d’acier et de cuivre de toute beauté. Au centre, on trouve la grande exposition de Jackson frères, Pelin et Gaudet. Ils ont exposé la plus remarquable pièce de fonte qui soit à l'Exposition-, c’est un arbre de bateau à vapeur qui ne pèse pas moins de 23,000 kilogrammes.

Dans l’allée de gauche sont des produits de forge, et à côté, des forges portatives. Au centre, l’exposition de Banis et Cie (Vosges), offre un élégant portique construit tout en fonte. En face, le chemin de fer Grand-Central a exposé ses fontes. Dans l’allée de droite, nous trouvons maintenant les houilles. Les mines d’Anzin ont construit un massif, qui n’est autre chose qu’un grand modèle représentant l’intérieur de la mine, la série des travaux, les mineurs, leurs instruments, leurs modes de travail, leurs bennes, leurs machines, etc. Sur le haut de ce massif, on a élevé un autre petit modèle en bois, destiné à montrer le système d’accrochages à ponts articulés, inventé et employé par M. Cabony, ingénieur et directeur des travaux à Anzin. Au retour de ce modèle sont tous les habits et outillage des mineurs, accrochés en trophée. Le fond de l’allée de droite, sous la voûte du premier étage, est occupé par la quincaillerie, les fils de laiton, etc. ; celui de gauche par des houilles et des produits chimiques.

©Promenades dans l'exposition de 1855