Back - List of Pavilions

Prussia -

Missing picture

On entering Prussia, one finds oneself in the presence of a magnificent evaporating apparatus for sugar factories, by A. Neckmann, composed of five boilers; it is a magnificent sample of Prussian copper foundries. To the right, in the centre, are some scythes; opposite, a long table, behind which another is placed, under the vault of the first floor, contains the samples with the machines, the plans by Mr. Borchers, engineer, and some products of the famous Harz mines in Hanover. There are twelve small cast iron statues of the apostles. In the centre, on the right, is the Rhine Forge Company, which, among other products, exhibits a rolled iron shaft, 7 metres, 015 millimetres long, 265 millimetres in diameter, and weighing 3,358 kilograms.

On the reverse side of the central massif are the plates, sheets, steel and brass wires of Jacobi, Daniel, from the Rhine provinces. In a small showcase in their exhibition there is nickel metal and oxide. Opposite, under the vault, are Brandenburg wools and leathers. On the other side, to the right, towards the wall, are samples of various ores, surmounted by the bust of the famous Alexander de Humbodt.

In the centre, on blocks of coal, stuffed animals, tigers, weasels, partridges; then on the left, a magnificent geological and mineralogical map of Prussia-Rhine and Westphalia exhibited by the Berlin Ministry of Public Works, then samples of zinc from Dellingen. The centre is now occupied by a series of bells from the steel mines and foundries of Boehun; one of these bells weighs 1,500 kilogr., the second 1,950,-.the third 2,750-, they cost 1 fr., 50 cent, per kilogr. split. These bells are painted black. The three others placed on the other side bear the following inscriptions: the first, Sancte Michaële, ora pro nobis; the second, Sancte Martine; the third, Sabbata pango , fanera plango, noxia frango. The Prussian exhibition ends with a large Bavarian clock on a case, in which the movement can be seen; the gongs are formed by two bells.

©Promenades dans l'exposition de 1855

Exposition universelle des produits de l'agriculture, de l'industrie et des beaux arts - Paris 1855

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-arts

15 mai 1855 - 15 novembre 1855


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Prusse

manque image

En entrant en Prusse, on se trouve en présence d’un magnifique appareil évaporatoire pour sucreries, par A. Neckmann, composé de cinq chaudières; c’est un magnifique échantillon des fonderies de cuivre prussiennes. A droite, au centre, se trouvent des faux ; en face, une longue table, derrière laquelle une autre se trouve placée, sous la voûte du premier étage, contient les échantillons avec les machines, les plans par M. Borchers, ingénieur, et quelques produits des fameuses mines du Harz en Hanovre. On y voit douze petites statues des apôtres en fonte. Au centre, à droite, se présente la société des forges du Rhin, qui, entre autres produits, expose un arbre de fer laminé, de 7 mètres, 015 millim., de longueur, de 265 millim., de diamètre, et d’un poids de 3,358 kilogrammes.

Sur le revers du massif du centre sont les plaques, les tôles, les fils d’acier et de laiton de Jacobi, Daniel, des provinces Rhénanes. On remarquera dans une petite vitrine de leur exposition du nickel en métal et ' en oxyde. En face sous la voûte, se trouvent des laines de Brandebourg et des cuirs. De l’autre côté, à droite, vers le mur, des échantillons de minerais divers, surmontés du buste du fameux Alexandre de Humbodt.

Au centre, sur des blocs de houille, des animaux empaillés, des tigres, des belettes, des perdrix ; puis à gauche, une magnifique carte géologique et minéralogique de la Prusse-Rhénane et Westphalienne exposée par le ministère des travaux publics de Berlin, puis des échantillons de zinc de Dellingen. Le centre est occupé maintenant par une série de cloches des mines et fonderies d’acier de Boehun ; l’une de ces cloches pèse 1,500 kilogr., la deuxième 1,950,-.la troisième 2,750-, elles coûtent 1 fr., 50 cent, le kilogr. fendu. Ces cloches sont peintes en noir. Les trois autres placées de l’autre côté portent les inscriptions suivantes : la première, Sancte Michaële, ora pro nobis ; la deuxième, Sancte Martine; la troisième, Sabbata pango , fanera plango, noxia frango. L’exposition prussienne se termine enfin par une grande horloge bavaroise élevée sur une caisse, dans laquelle on voit le mouvement ; les timbres sont formés par deux cloches.

©Promenades dans l'exposition de 1855