Universal Exhibition of Agricultural, Industrial and Fine Arts Products - Paris 1855

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

May 15, 1855 - November 15, 1855


Back - List of Pavilions

Access gallery to the Annex

manque image

To guide the visitor in the most suitable manner, we will ask him to go up to the small gallery on the Cours-la-Reine side, where he will find some furniture made of Algerian wood and silk fabrics made in Lyon from Algerian silks. Then a large group of display cases filled, on the left side, with agricultural products; on the right side, wax and other models of stuffed birds, etc., surgical apparatus, etc., are displayed. New methods of teaching reading, writing and arithmetic are displayed along the wall. The second group of showcases contains surgical instruments of all kinds. The third group is devoted to the art of dentistry and astronomical instruments. Next come the papers, instruments of physics, geometry, optics, etc., electrical apparatus, stereoscopes, etc., exhibited by France.

Belgium exhibits here beehives and agricultural products of all kinds, optical and physical instruments in general, telegraphs; and Austria, agricultural products, cutlery, magnetic and electrical apparatus of great beauty, weapons, geological maps and clocks. Prussia also has here electrical appliances, optical instruments, paper, rubber goods, etc.; Hesse, Saxony and Wurtemberg have agricultural products, minerals, paper, etc.; Norway has picturesque costumes, sledges, carriages and hides. The Dutch East India Company exhibits fabrics, agricultural products, wood, and objects used by the natives. Next come items from Norway, namely: agricultural products, minerals, household utensils, paper, and wood of all kinds. Sardinia has marble, minerals, etc., and Rome, the model of a roof made without using wood.

After passing some models of civil constructions, some minerals, terracotta objects and others, from France, we come to England and its colonies. There are alpacas, beehives and wallpaper from Britain. New Zealand exhibits woods, minerals and a very original collection of curiosities from that country, sent by Colonel Wyngard. The Cape of Good Hope has sent minerals, agricultural products, leather, wood, and some furniture made of these woods. Van Diemen's Land has stuffed birds, minerals and agricultural products; Australia has samples of letterpress, stuffed birds, ores from its gold mines, a hive of bees, grain, wines, etc. After the stuffed animals, skins, pictures of natives and other curiosities of the Indian Archipelago, comes Ceylon, which ends this gallery. This colony exhibits models of boats, furniture, jewellery, and various objects made by the natives.

©Promenades dans l'exposition de 1855

Exposition universelle des produits de l'agriculture, de l'industrie et des beaux arts - Paris 1855

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-arts

15 mai 1855 - 15 novembre 1855


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Galerie d'accès à l'Annexe

manque image

Pour conduire le visiteur de la manière la plus convenable, nous le prierons de monter à la petite galerie du côté du Cours-la-Reine, où il trouvera quelques meubles faits de bois d’Algérie et des étoffes de soie faites à Lyon de soies d’Algérie. Ensuite un grand groupe de vitrines remplies, du côté gauche, de produits agricoles; du côté droit, des modèles en cire et autres d’oiseaux empaillés, etc., d’appareils de chirurgie, eLc. On voit exposés le long du mur les nouveaux procédés pour l’enseignement de la lecture, de l’écriture et du calcul. Le second groupe de vitrines contient les instruments de chirurgie de toutes sortes. Le troisième groupe est consacré à l’art du dentiste et aux instruments astronomiques. Suivent les papiers, les instruments de physique, de géométrie, d’optique, etc., les appareils électriques les stéréoscopes, etc., exposés par la France.

La Belgique expose ici des ruches d’abeilles et des produits agricoles de toutes sortes, des instruments d’optique et de physique en général, des télégraphes; et l’Autriche, des produits agricoles, de la coutellerie, des appareils magnétiques et électriques d’une grande beauté, des armes, des cartes géologique et des pendules. La Prusse a également ici des appareils électriques, des instruments d’optique, du papier, des articles en caoutchouc, etc ; la Hesse, la Saxe et le Wurtemberg ont des produits agricoles, des minéraux, du papier, etc ; la Norwége a des costumes pittoresques, des traîneaux, des voitures et des peaux. La Compagnie Hollandaise des Indes Orientales expose des tissus, des produits agricoles, des bois, et des objets en usage chez les indigènes. Suivent encore des objets de la Norwége, savoir : des produits agricoles, des minéraux, des ustensiles de ménage, du papier, des bois de toutes sortes. La Sardaigne a du marbre, des minéraux, etc., et Rome, le modèle d’un toit fait sans emploi de bois.

Après avoir passé devant quelques modèles de constructions civiles, quelques minéraux, objets de terre cuite et autres, de France, on arrive à l’Angleterre et ses colonies. Il y a là des alpacas, des ruches d’abeilles et des papiers peints de la Grande-Bretagne. La Nouvelle-Zélande expose des bois, des minéraux et une collection très-originale des curiosités de ce pays, envoyée par le colonel Wyngard. Le Cap de Bonne-Espérance a envoyé des minéraux, des produits agricoles, des cuirs, du bois, et quelques meubles faits de ces bois. La terre de Van-Diemen a des oiseaux empaillés, des minéraux et des produits agricoles ; l’Australie des échantillons de typographie, des oiseaux empaillés, des minerais de ses mines aurifères, une ruche d’abeilles, des céréales, des vins, etc. Après les animaux empaillés, les peaux, les images d’indigènes et d’autres curiosités de l’Archipel des Indes, vient Ceylan, qui termine celte galerie. Celte colonie expose des modèles de bateaux, des meubles, de la bijouterie, et différents objets faits par les indigènes.

©Promenades dans l'exposition de 1855