Back - List of Pavilions

Agricultural machinery and implements -

Missing picture

Entering from the north, one sees samples of French wool of all kinds, including that of the imperial sheepfold at Rambouillet; then wheat of all kinds, including some samples of English and Australian wheat grown near Valenciennes. Turning left, one finds various agricultural products, among which tobacco and a very interesting collection of beehives. Further on, in the passage to the right of the entrance, there are samples of flax, hemp, wheat, etc., as well as a collection of fruits from Provence. Continuing, we find a very curious sample of the drainage work of M. de Bryas, and soon we find ourselves in the midst of a crowd of ploughs, machines for sowing and harvesting wheat, some of which are driven by steam. We also see millstones, churns, and all the utensils used on farms. We also see some devices for protecting vines against disease by using sulphur.

Here are the most remarkable agricultural implements: the wheat threshing machine of Mr. Dupetit-Delarue, engineer in Amiens; that of Mr. Bordier, in Blanzac, (Charente); another one-horse machine, of Mr. Ruot, of Chatillon-sur-Seine. M. Legendre, from Saint-Jean-d'Angély (Charente-Intérieure) exhibits a machine with a hand to dehusk the grains, of which only the gear wheel is of wrought iron, while all the rest is of cast iron. It has the strength of two men, and crushes 15 hectolitres of grain per day. A similar machine, with the strength of two horses, would do 40 hectolitres a day. A winnowing machine, next to it, winnows 80 hectolitres a day. Mr. Lolz, from Nantes, exhibited wheat threshing machines driven by steam, which threshed from 60 to 250 hectolitres per day, and others driven by a merry-go-round, which could thresh 50 to 120 hectolitres per day.
Mr. Renaud and Mr. Lotz exhibited steam-powered wheat-threshing machines, with a force of 4 horses, which make 100-300 hectolitres in 12 hours, and other machines with a merry-go-round, capable of making 80-120 hectolitres in the same space of time. - As for the mowing machines, there are not many of them: we have only noticed those of M. Courniers, of Saint-Romans (Isère), and that of M. de Gasparin. M.Roret, from Langres, also sent a mowing and harvesting machine. M. Laurent from Paris exhibited two machines for making drainage pipes, and M. Julienne a machine for making bricks. The portable presses of Mr. Coutiller de la Celette (Loire-et-Cher), of Mr. Lemonnier-Jully, of Chatillon (Côte-d'Or), and of Mr. Petit-Delorme, of Amiens, will also be looked at with interest. Messrs. Vachon et Cie of Lyon exhibit a machine that simultaneously threshes and cleans wheat, and Mr. Mourat has a large machine for cleaning wheat, and drilled and cut copper and zinc sheets, Messrs. Jevot, of Amiens, show a horizontal and a vertical machine for sifting and cleaning wheat, etc.

Belgium is represented in this collection by a steam machine for threshing wheat, which has the boiler on the outside, by Mr. Hocherau, of Haine-Saint-Pierre; by a harrow by Mr. Dufour, of Neufrilles, in Hainaut; by a sowing machine by Baron Cherret, by a real Norwegian harrow by Mr. Hocherau, and by the elegant churns of Messrs. Duchêne and Denis, of Namur.

A large number of ploughs and other agricultural equipment are placed in the garden.

Let us return to the large south door of the Palace, to visit the shed and the garden on the east side, on our left, before going through the Panorama. This shed is a sort of supplement to the coach house; for we find, on entering, a military ambulance van, which contains two stretcher beds for transporting the sick. Many of these canopies are used by our brave army in the Crimea. Behind it, we see two horses, loaded with caissons, containing canteens of surgeons and pharmacists. It is the Minister of War who is exhibiting these objects. Other parts of military crews follow, and at the end, we see wagons and models of railway wagons, among others a new braking system, in practice on the Northern Railway, first and second class canopies of the Geneva Railway, etc. On the sides are placed the objects of travel, namely trunks, desks, chairs, beds, packing objects, etc. The space separated by a wooden grid in this shed is intended for an exhibition of objects which their cheapness and good quality make particularly useful for simple domestic life. At the time of writing, this curious exhibition, created by Prince Napoleon, is being arranged.

In the garden are various objects used as garden ornaments and others, for example, optical instruments by Mr. Porro, etc. At the back of the garden are two houses, of which the one on the left is the model canteen; on the right, the model house which contains specimens of housing or exhibited by Mr. Clarse of London.

©Promenades dans l'exposition de 1855

Exposition universelle des produits de l'agriculture, de l'industrie et des beaux arts - Paris 1855

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-arts

15 mai 1855 - 15 novembre 1855


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Machines et instruments agricoles

manque image

En entrant du côté nord, on voit des échantillons de laines françaises de toutes sortes, et entre autres de celle de la bergerie impériale de Rambouillet ; ensuite du blé de toutes sortes, parmi lequel quelques échantillons de blé d’Angleterre et d'Australie, cultivé près Valenciennes. En tournant à gauche, on trouve différents produits agricoles, parmi lesquels du tabac et une collection très-intéressante de ruches d’abeilles. Plus loin, dans le passage à droite de l'entrée, des échantillons de lin, de chanvre, de blé, etc., ainsi qu’une collection de fruits de Provence. En continuant, on trouve un échantillon très-curieux des travaux de drainage de M. de Bryas, et bientôt on se trouve au milieu d'une foule de charrues, de machines à semer, abattre le blé, dont quelques-unes mues par la vapeur. Nous y voyons de plus des meules, des barattes, et tous les ustensiles employés dans les fermes. On y voit également quelques appareils pour garantir la vigne contre la maladie par l’emploi du soufre.

Voici les instruments agricoles les plus remarquables : la machine à battre le blé, de M. Dupetit-Delarue, ingénieur à Amiens ; celle de M. Bordier, à Blanzac,(Charente) ; un autre à un cheval, de M. Ruot, de Chatillon-sur Seine. M. Legendre, de Saint-Jean-d’Angély (Charente-Intérieure) expose une machine à bras à dépiquer les grains, dont la roue d’engrenage seulement est de fer forgé, tandis que tout le reste est en fonte. Elle est de la force de deux hommes, et dépique 15 hectolitres de grain par jour. Une machine pareille, de la force de deux chevaux, ferait 40 hectolitres par jour. Une machine à vanner, à côté, vanne 80 hectolitres par jour. M. Lolz, de Nantes, expose des machines à battre le blé mues par la vapeur, qui battent de 60 à 250 hectolitres par jour, et d’autres mues par un manège, qui peuvent battre 50 à 120 hectolitres par jour.
MM. Renaud et Lotz exposent des machines à vapeur à battre le blé, de la force de 4 chevaux, qui font 100-300 hectolitres en 12 heures, et d’autres machines à manège, capables de faire 80-120 hect. dans le même espace de temps. — Quant aux machines à faucher, leur nombre n’est pas grand : nous n’avons remarqué que celles de M. Courniers, de Saint-Romans (Isère), et celle de M.de Gasparin. M.Roret, de Langres, a envoyé également une machine à faucher et à moissonner. M. Laurent de Paris expose deux machines pour fabriquer des tuyaux de drainage, et M. Julienne une machine pour fabriquer des briques. On regardera encore avec intérêt les pressoirs portatifs de M. Coutiller de la Celette (Loire-et-Cher), de M. Lemonnier-Jully, de Chatillon (Côte-d’Or), et de M. Petit-Delorme, d’Amiens. MM. Vachon et Cie de Lyon exposent une machine qui bat et nettoie simultanément le blé, et M. Mourat a une grande machine pour nettoyer le blé, et des tôles de cuivre et de zinc percées et découpées, MM. Jevot, d’Amiens, montrent une machine horizontale et une verticale pour cribler et pour nettoyer le blé, etc.

La Belgique est représentée dans cette collection par une machine à vapeur à battre le blé, qui a la chaudière à l’extérieur, de M. Hocherau, de Haine-Saint-Pierre ; par une herse de M. Dufour, de Neufrilles, dans le Hainaut ; un semoir du baron Cherret, une vraie herse norvégienne de M. Hocherau, et les barattes élégantes de MM- Duchêne et Denis, de Namur.

Un grand nombre de charrues et d’autres appareils agricoles sont placés dans le jardin.

Retournons à la grande porte sud du Palais, pour visiter le hangar et le jardin du côté est, à main gauche, avant de parcourir le Panorama. Ce hangar est une sorte de supplément à celui de la carrosserie ; car nous y trouvons, en entrant, un fourgon d’ambulance militaire, qui contient deux lits-brancards pour transporter les malades. Un grand nombre de ces voilures servent à notre brave armée en Crimée. Derrière, on voit deux chevaux, chargés de caissons, contenant des cantines de chirurgiens et de pharmaciens. C'est M. le ministre de la guerre qui expose ces objets. D’autres parties d’équipages militaires suivent, et au bout, on voit des wagons et des modèles de wagons de chemin do fer, entre autres un nouveau système de frein, en pratique sur le chemin de fer du Nord, des voilures de première et deuxième classes du chemin de fer de Genève, eLc. Sur les côtés sont placés les objets de voyage, savoir des malles, des bureaux, chaises, lits, objets d’emballage, etc. L’espace séparé par une grille de bois, dans ce hangar, est destiné à une exposition des objets que leur bon marché et leur bonne qualité rendent particulièremènt utiles à la vie domestique la simple. Au moment où nous écrivons ceci, on est occupé à arranger celte exposition curieuse, créée par le prince Napoléon.

Dans le jardin, on voit différents objets qui servent d’ornements de jardin et autres, par exemple, instruments d’optique de M. Porro, etc. Au fond jardin se trouvent deux maisons, dont celle à gauche est la cantine-modèle; à droite, la maison-modèle qui renferme des spécimens de logements d'ou exposées par M. Clarse de Londres.

©Promenades dans l'exposition de 1855