Universal Exhibition of Agricultural, Industrial and Fine Arts Products - Paris 1855

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

May 15, 1855 - November 15, 1855


Back - List of Pavilions

Switzerland

manque image

The side of the vast square where one enters is occupied by boxes housing magnificent plumetis and crochet embroideries in the richest and most varied designs. Several designs represent subjects, such as the bust of Napoleon III emerging from the contours of the foliage of two trees; another represents an English and a French soldier holding hands; above, we see the arms of the gentle countries; a third shows us a huge courtyard of a Gothic cloister decorated with a fountain.

Continuing on, we reach the entrance to the northwestern staircase. On both sides of the door, there are several landscapes in relief which, at first sight, seem to be nothing more than toys: they are simply works of art in their own right. As you approach, you see that these landscapes are microscopic reliefs; the inventor, Mr. Vogelsang from Solothurn, presents visitors with magnifying glasses to examine the paintings in detail. The largest of the paintings on display is of the Hermitage of St. Verena near Solothurn, measuring about one and a half feet square, and is particularly noteworthy for its microscopic reproduction of rich vegetation and the harmony of the terrain, framed by imposing and picturesque rocks. On roses two rows high, small red dots can be seen which, when viewed with a magnifying glass, are centifolia roses, rosehips and other species of roses; each leaf can be analysed botanically; its veins, petioles and serrations can be distinguished. The short-stemmed gentian, the round-leaved bellflower, as well as the ranunculus, daisies and chrysanthemums sown on the lawn can also be clearly recognised on the rocks; the poplar, the cardinalina, the forget-me-not bordering the stream, as well as the strawberry tree with its flowers and fruits on the rocks, in the scrub and in the forest - let us also look at the hermit's garden, we can distinguish among other plants the gladiola, the tulip, the foxglove, the hyacinth. On the cliffs above, one could count 5,000 to 6,000 well-shaped leaves on a beech tree 18 lines high, as well as on the other trees and shrubs. Among the butterflies fluttering on the grass or fluttering on the flowers, the naturalist distinguishes a host of faithfully represented species. On the trees, there are sparrows, blackbirds, finches, beautiful peonies and squirrels. At the bottom, we see a number of human and animal figures. This relief, turned upside down and framed in an optical device, is magnified 30 to 50 times. This work, a real test of patience, is made of wood, silk and ivory, carved or cut out. Its author worked on it for seven years, and when one takes into consideration that this work is perhaps unique in its kind, one will not find the price of 15,000 fr. too high. Mr. Vogelsang exhibited two other reliefs made in the same way. One represents a plant garden with its trees, shrubs and different plants. One can see a grotto, a waterfall, the swimming pool, the fountain and the gardener's house; the garden rests on a stalactite base decorated with shells, corals, echyno-derms and beautiful minerals. The other relief shows the famous Monch and Eiger glaciers in their picturesque and grandiose reality.

Before continuing the examination of the Swiss exhibition, the visitor will examine the staircase pavilion, near which he is standing. The windows are adorned with painted stained glass windows, one of which is from Aachen in Prussia, others by M. Didron, in Paris, among which is The Child Christ in the Crib; others again by M. Laurent-Gsell in Paris, among which are The Education of the Virgin and The Adulterous Woman. On the landing of the staircase, on the right, there is a superb tinned mirror, 9 feet 7 inches high and framed in a magnificent gilded wood. In the middle of the vestibule is placed a continuous motion clock for the permanent demonstration of the rotation of the earth: M. Léon Foucault in Paris is the author. In front of it is a magnificent stuffed lion, exhibited by the Queen of England's fur house in Paris. This lion was killed by the famous lieutenant Gérard and cost 1,500 fr.

On entering the gallery and going up the room just mentioned, one sees on the right printed cotton fabrics from Zurich and furs from Lausanne. At the side of the room next to the Spanish exhibition, there is a pretty little chalet with a cut-out and a hole in the wall; it is placed between collections of rifles and pistols.

In the middle of the room and close to the chalet are well-built and inexpensive pianos. The adjacent square is occupied by display cabinets containing watch glasses, silkworms in all their transformations, cutlery, and blondes. In one of these showcases we notice two plates resembling engraved copper plates; one represents the Alhambra, the other the Crystal Palace of London. They are only imitations of intaglio made with very thin brass wires fixed in wood. The author, Mr. Knecht in Glarus, is offering 2,000 fr. to anyone who can make these objects exactly, in the same amount of time and with the same finesse. Finally, the same square also houses music boxes. The next square belongs to flour cloths, ribbons and music boxes, among which there is one that plays the overtures of Meyerbeer's Étoile du Nord and Auber's Marco Spada.

The square closest to the wall is that of the watchmaking industry in Geneva, Lausanne, Locle, Neuchâtel and La Chaux-de-Fonds. This is one of the main industries of Switzerland. One sees watches of all sizes, of all metals, decorated with fine stones or enamelled, decorated with portraits, guilloche landscapes, even maps of the globe. One must look especially at the marine chronometers and a watch decorated on the reverse with the Rutli oath, from Mr. Grandjean in Le Locle; the large Chinese watches from Messrs. Bovet frères in Fleurier; cameos, bracelets and watch brooches from Messrs. Mayer et Cie in Neuchâtel; a watch chain with a compass; two with enamelled portraits of the Emperor and Empress of the French; and finally, all kinds of timepieces. When one then returns to the door of the staircase and from there runs along the wall of the gallery, one encounters a series of boxes with plain or embroidered muslins; the back of the boxes is decorated with magnificent embroideries in white and colour, especially those of Mr. Altherr, Messrs Tanner and Kohler, and Messrs Alder and Mayer. The second box after the staircase contains a curtain depicting the apotheosis of Napoleon; that of the next box represents Napoleon crowned by Victory. The right side of the room, forming an angle with the wall we have just examined, still contains embroidery; in front of it are three elegant walnut pedestal tables, carved and decorated with coloured images.
Further on, a large display case contains the magnificent embroideries of M. Depierre in Lausanne, among others an embroidered handkerchief, the finest in the whole Exhibition, at a price of 1500 fr.; in addition, an oak prie-Dieu, covered with velvet and decorated with needlework in straw. The showcases on the other two sides of this room contain cotton and printed fabrics.

In the middle of the room there are four rows of showcases in a square pattern: the showcases facing the wall contain fine embroidery from St. Gallen and Appenzell, those on the right and left Bay ribbons and colonial fabrics from St. Gallen; the showcases on the opposite side of the wall contain wooden carvings: in addition to a large number of small chalets, fans, paper knives, figurines and statuettes, there is a cassette and a vase from M. Baumann in Brienz, a vase from the same town and a vase from the same town. In addition to a large number of small chalets, fans, paper knives, figurines and statuettes, there is a cassette and a vase by Mr. Baumann in Brienz, a carved walnut cassette by Mr. Michel in Brienz, and a magnificent carved vase by Mr. Fluck in Brienz. A long display case placed close to and in line with the carved wood display case contains straw braids from the canton of Aargau; these are trimmings for hats, fabrics, flowers and bouquets. Finally, the actual centre of this aisle is occupied by the silks, products of the numerous factories in the canton of Zurich.

When one moves forward from there to the gallery balustrade, one sees, in the front aisle, on the left, cotton fabrics from Aargau, and further on, in an enormous frame, an interesting collection of small engraved ivory high reliefs for clasps, engraved ivory paintings; among the latter, one depicts Queen Victoria on horseback; in addition, hair embroideries and some photographic prints; following the same aisle, on the right, one sees again colonnades from St. Gallen.

©Promenades dans l'exposition de 1855

Exposition universelle des produits de l'agriculture, de l'industrie et des beaux arts - Paris 1855

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-arts

15 mai 1855 - 15 novembre 1855


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Suisse

manque image

Le côté du vaste carré où l’on entre, est occupé par des loges abritant de magnifiques broderies au plumetis et au crochet, dans les dessins les plus riches et les plus variés. Plusieurs dessins représentent des sujets, tels que le buste de Napoléon III ressortant des contours du feuillage de deux arbres ; un autre représente un soldat anglais et un soldat français se tendant la main; au-dessus, on voit les armes des doux pays; un troisième nous montre une immense cour d’un cloître gothique ornée d’une fontaine.

En continuant, on parvient à l’entrée de l’escalier nord-ouest. Des deux côtés de la porte, on remarque plusieurs paysages en relief qui, au premier aspect, ne semblent être que des joujoux : ce sont tout bonnement des œuvres d’art dans leur genre. En approchant, on voit que ces paysages sont des reliefs microscopiques ; l'inventeur, M. Vogelsang de Soleure, à côté de ses produits, présente aux visiteur des loupes pour qu’ils puissent examiner les tableaux en détail. Le plus grand, parmi les tableaux exposés, représente l'Ermitage de sainte Vérène près de Soleure, il mesure à peu près un pied et demi carré et se distingue particulièrement par la reproduction microscopique d’une riche végétation et par l’harmonie du terrain, encadré de rochers imposants et pittoresques. Sur des rosiers de deux lignes de hauteur on aperçoit de petits points rouges qui, vus à la loupe, sont des roses centifeuilles, des églantiers et d’autres espèces de roses; chaque feuille peut en être analysée botaniquement ; on distingue ses nervures, ses pétioles, ses dentelures. On reconnaît aussi distinctement sur les rochers, les gentianes à tige courte, la campanule à feuilles rondes, ainsi que les renoncules, les pâquerettes et les chrysanthèmes semés sur le gazon ; le populage, la cardaline, le myosotis bordant le ruisseau, comme le fraisier avec ses fleurs et ses fruits sur les rochers, dans les broussailles et dans la forêt-, que l’on regarde aussi le jardin de l’ermite, on y distingue parmi d’autres plantes le glaïeul, la tulipe, la digitale, la hyacinthe. Sur les écueils des rochers, en haut, on pourrait compter de 5,000 à 6,000 feuilles bien conformées sur un hêtre de 18 lignes de haut, de même que sur les autres arbres et arbustes. Parmi les papillons voltigeant sur l’herbe ou se balançant sur les fleurs, le naturaliste distingue une foule d’espèces fidèlement représentées. Sur les arbres, il y a des moineaux, des merles, des pinsons, de très-beaux pivoines, des écureuils. En bas, on voit une quantité de figures d’hommes et d’animaux. Ce relief retourné et encadré dans un appareil optique est grossi de 30 à 50 fois. Ce travail, véritable épreuve de patience, est fait de bois, soie et ivoire, sculptés ou découpés. Son auteur y a travaillé pendant sept ans, et quand on prend en considération que cette œuvre est peut-être unique dans son genre, on ne trouvera pas le prix de 15,000 fr. trop élevé. M. Vogelsang a encore exposé deux autres reliefs confectionnés de la même manière. L’un représente un jardin des plantes avec ses arbres, arbustes et plantes différentes. On y remarque une grotte, une cascade, la piscine, la fontaine et l'habitation du jardinier ; le jardin repose sur une base en stalactite ornée de coquillages, coraux, échyno-dermes et de beaux minéraux. L’autre relief représente les fameux glaciers de Monch et de l’Eiger dans leur pittoresque et grandiose réalité.

Le visiteur examinera, avant de poursuivre l’examen de l’exposition suisse, le pavillon de l’escalier, près duquel il se trouve. Les croisées sont ornées de vitraux peints, dont un d’Aix-la-Chapelle en Prusse, d’autres de M. Didron, à Paris, parmi lesquels L'Enfant Christ dans la crèche; d’autres encore de M. Laurent-Gsell à Paris, parmi lesquels l’Éducation de la Vierge et la Femme adultère. Sur le palier de l’escalier, à droite on remarque une superbe glace étamée de 9 pieds 7 pouces anglais de hauteur et encadrée dans un cadre en bois doré magnifique. Au milieu du vestibule est placé une pendule à mouvement continu pour la démonstration permanente du mouvement de rotation de la terre : M. Léon Foucault à Paris en est l’auteur. Par devant, on voit un magnifique lion empaillé, exposé par la maison de fourrures A la reine d’Angleterre à Paris. Ce lion a été tué par le célèbre lieutenant Gérard et il coûte 1,500 fr.

En rentrant dans la galerie et remontant la salle dont nous venons de parler, on voit à droite des étoffes en coton imprimées de Zurich et des fourrures de Lausanne. Au côté de la salle adossée à l’exposition de l’Espagne, s’élève un joli petit chalet découpé et percé à jour ; il est placé entre des collections de fusils et de pistolets.

Au milieu de la salle et tout près du chalet se trouvent des pianos bien construits et à bon marché. Le carré voisin est occupé par des vitrines contenant des verres pour montres, des vers à soie dans toutes leurs transformations, de la coutellerie, des blondes. Dans une de ces vitrines on remarque deux plaques ressemblant à des planches de cuivre gravées ; l’une représente l’Alhambra, l’autre le Palais de cristal de Londres. Ce ne sont que des imitations de taille-douce faites avec des fils de laiton très-ténus fixés dans du bois. L’auteur, M. Knecht à Glaris, offre 2,000 fr. a celui qui fera ces objets exactement, pendant le même espace de temps et avec la même finesse. Enfin, le même carré abrite encore des boites à musique. Le carré suivant appartient aux tissus pour farine, aux rubans et aux boîtes à musique, parmi lesquelles il en est une qui joue les ouvertures de l’Étoile du Nord de Meyerbeer et de Marco Spada d’Auber.

Le carré le plus rapproché du mur est celui de l’horlogerie de Genève, Lausanne, Locle, Neuchâtel et la Chaux-de-Fonds. C’est là une des industries principales de la Suisse. On y voit des montres de toutes grandeurs, de tout métal, ornées de pierres fines ou émaillées, décorées de portraits, de paysages guillochés, voire même de cartes du globe. Il faut regarder surtout des chronomètres de marine et une montre ornée, sur le revers, du serment du Rutli, de M. Grandjean au Locle; les grandes montres chinoises de MM. Bovet frères à Fleurier-, les camées, bracelets et broches à montres de MM. Mayer et Cie à Neuchâtel; une chaîne de montre munie d’un compas; deux avec les portraits émaillés de l’Empereur et de l’Impératrice des Français; enfin des pièces d’horlogerie en tout genre. Quand on retourne ensuite jusqu’à la porte de l'escalier et que, de là, on longe le mur de la galerie, on rencontre une série de loges avec des mousselines uni ou brodées ; le fond des loges est décoré de magnifiques broderies en blanc et en couleur, surtout ce de M. Altherr, de MM. Tanner et Kohler, et de MM. Alder et Mayer. La seconde loge après l’escalier contient un rideau figurant l’apothéose de Napoléon ; celui de la loge suivante représente Napoléon couronné par la Victoire. Le côté droit de la salle, formant angle avec le mur que nous venons d'examiner contient encore des broderies ; par devant, se trouvent trois élégants guéridons en noyer, sculptés et ornés d’images en couleur.
Plus loin, une grande vitrine renferme les magnifiques broderies de M. Depierre à Lausanne, entre autres un mouchoir brodé, le plus fin de toute l’Exposition, au prix de 1500 fr. ; de plus, un prie-Dieu en chêne, recouvert de velours et orné de broderies à l'aiguille en paille. Les vitrines des deux autres côtés de cette salle contiennent des tissus de coton et des étoffes imprimées.

Au milieu de la salle, s’élèvent quatre rangées de vitrines en carré : les vitrines regardant le mur renferment les broderies fines de Saint-Gall et d’Appenzell, celles de droite et de gauche les rubans de Baie et les tissus de colon de Saint-Gall ; les vitrines placées au côté opposé du mur, les objets sculptés en bois : on y remarque, outre un grand nombre de petits chalets, d’éventails, de couteaux à papier, de figurines et statuettes, une cassette et un vase de M. Baumann à Brienz, une cassette sculptée en noyer de M. Michel à Brienz, et un magnifique vase sculpté de M. Fluck à Brienz. Une longue vitrine placée tout près et dans l’axe de celle des bois sculptés, contient les tresses de paille du canton d’Argovie; ce sont des garnitures pour chapeaux, des tissus, fleurs et bouquets. Enfin le centre proprement dit de cette allée est occupé par les soieries, produits des nombreuses fabriques du canton de Zurich.

Quand on se dirige de là en avant vers la balustrade de la galerie, on voit, dans l’allée du devant, a gauche, des tissus de coton d’Argovie, et plus loin, dans un énorme cadre, une intéressante collection de petits ' hauts-reliefs en ivoire gravé pour agrafe, des tableaux en ivoire gravé ; parmi ces derniers, l’un représente la reine Victoria à cheval ; de plus des broderies en cheveux et quelques épreuves photographiques ; en suivant la même allée, à droite, on voit encore des colonnades de Saint-Gall.

©Promenades dans l'exposition de 1855