Universal Exhibition of Agricultural, Industrial and Fine Arts Products - Paris 1855

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

May 15, 1855 - November 15, 1855


Back - List of Pavilions

Spain

manque image

In the first display, we see sheets. Around the hole are samples of porcelain and earthenware pottery, with samples of the clay used.

On the sides, on the left, are laces and tulles remarkable for their cheapness, despite their good execution. On the left hand side, for example, there is a fine gold embroidery that costs only 25 francs a metre, a beautiful mantilla for 480 francs, etc.

The opposite side contains the usual articles of wool and cotton fabrics, well packaged and cheap. The designs are naturally adapted to the taste and habits of the consumers.

In the second display, we notice, first on the left hand, a very beautiful vase modelled in wax, a damascene sword decorated with chiselling and precious stones, church ornaments, and a beautiful silver writing case belonging to the Duke of Valencia, with the inscription: Al hombre de est ado honor y gloria. A standing lion stands on a beautiful pedestal surrounded by war trophies. A gold laurel wreath belonging to the Duke of Victory, and beside it a pretty little picadore, piquing the silver bull, will be noticed again. Continuing to the right, we see plaster bas-reliefs, reproductions of the Alhambra, and on the panel of the large square photographs ; very pretty paintings on porcelain representing the picturesque costumes of Valencia, and medallions in modelled wax representing fights, done with great perfection, and, above, the same medallions chiselled in iron. Two birds in relief, chiselled in iron, are also noteworthy. Next to this are some beautiful firearms, belonging to the King of Spain, damascened, and a hunting knife with sculpture.

In the middle are some pieces of furniture, including a secretary in wood marquetry and two pianos. On the front, Spain has spread out some very beautiful rich silk fabrics, velvets and chenilles. There is also a hanging white metal chandelier, with a small statuette of Christ in the middle, of a very nice effect.

©Promenades dans l'exposition de 1855

Exposition universelle des produits de l'agriculture, de l'industrie et des beaux arts - Paris 1855

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-arts

15 mai 1855 - 15 novembre 1855


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Espagne

manque image

Dans le premier étalage, nous voyons des draps. Autour du trou, des échantillons de poterie en porcelaine et en faïence, avec les échantillons des terres employées.

Sur les côtés, se trouvent à gauche des dentelles et des tulles remarquables par leur bon marché, malgré leur bonne exécution. Ainsi on voit à main gauche une broderie en or fin qui ne coûte que 25 fr. le mètre, une belle mantille pour 480 fr., etc.

Le côté opposé contient les articles courants de tissus de laine et de coton, bien conditionnés et à bon marché. Les dessins sont naturellement adaptés au goût et aux habitudes des consommateurs.

Au second étalage, on remarque d'abord à main gauche, un très-beau vase modelé en cire, une épée damasquinée ornée de ciselures et de pierres précieuses, des ornements d’église, et un bel écritoire en argent appartenant au duc de Valence, avec l’inscription: Al hombre de est ado honor y gloria. Un lion debout est sur un beau piédestal entouré de trophées de guerre. Une couronne de lauriers en or appartenant au duc de la Victoire, et à côté d’elle un joli petit picadore, piquant le taureau en argent, seront encore remarqués en continuant à droite, nous voyons des bas-reliefs en plâtre, reproduction de l’Alhambra, et sur le panneau du grand carré des photographies ; de très-jolis tableaux sur porcelaine représentant les costumes pittoresques de Valence, et des médaillons en cire modelée représentant des combats, faits avec une grande perfection, et, au-dessus, les mêmes médaillons ciselés en fer. On remarquera encore deux oiseaux en relief ciselés dans le fer d’une exécution très-remarquable. A côté, on voit de belles armes à feu, appartenant au roi d'Espagne, damasquinées, et un couteau de chasse avec sculpture.

Le milieu est occupé de quelques meubles, parmi lesquels un secrétaire en marqueterie (mosaïque) de bois, et deux pianos. Sur le devant, l’Espagne a étalé de très-belles étoffes riches de soie, des velours et des chenilles On remarquera encore un lustre de métal blanc suspendu, avec une petite statuette du Christ au milieu, d’un très-joli effet.

©Promenades dans l'exposition de 1855