Universal Exhibition of Agricultural, Industrial and Fine Arts Products - Paris 1855

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

May 15, 1855 - November 15, 1855


Back - List of Pavilions

France

manque image

Now we are forced to go back down the gallery to the door by which we entered, in order to take the French products together. The visitor has already noticed the large and beautiful mirror in front of the entrance, which is made and displayed by the Montluçon manufactures.

As you walk up the large north gallery, you will see the fabrics of the French manufacturers. The aisles along the wall contain the famous silks and shawls of Paris, Lyon and Saint-Etienne. In the middle are the gold, silver and silk embroideries of Paris. To the left and closest to the balustrade are the windows of trimmings and confections from Paris, fabrics from Valenciennes, Cambrai, Amiens, Saint-Quentin, Sainte-Marie, Nîmes, Mulhouse and Rouen, embroideries from Paris, Nancy and Tarare, artificial fabrics and feathers from Paris, tapestries and the magnificent collection of lace. At the end of these aisles are the grey dyed silks, as well as the silkworms. In the middle of the main gallery is the entrance to the grand staircase. To the right of the entrance is a lodge containing the Aubusson carpets and tapestries. The pavilion on the staircase is decorated with tapestries and magnificent carpets from the factories of Messrs Réquillart, Laroque and Jacquemont, from M. Braquéné, and from M. Sallandrouze of Marseille. Among the latter, a carpet depicting the port of Marseilles stands out. A splendid Baccarat crystal chandelier hangs from the ceiling of the hallway. The large middle crossing is decorated with a stained glass window representing the City of Paris distributing laurel wreaths.

The staircase is flanked, on the right and left, by two corridors; the one on the right leads to the offices of the Imperial commission; in the one on the left, leading to the Emperor's waiting room, one sees an enormous tinned glass of Saint-Gobin, 5 metres high and 3 m. 15 c. wide, and in the other, a glass of the same size. 15 c. wide, and in a magnificent gilded wooden frame.

As you enter the gallery, you will see on the left, near the door, the Empress's salon and boudoir.

The first salon, as well as the furniture which decorates it, is decorated with very elegant tapestries embroidered by the demoiselles de Saint-Cyr under the direction of Mme de Maintenon.
Mme de Maintenon; these tapestries were sold during the first revolution, and bought back in 1866 by Messrs Mégard and Duval, upholsterers to H.M. the Emperor. On the table, on the left hand side, one will notice a paperweight made of Russian malachite, which was used by Napoleon I on St Helena.

Near the door is a very elegant little carriage, decorated with paintings, which was given to Her Majesty the Empress on her visit to London by Prince Albert, and which is used by Her Majesty to visit the Exhibition. The ceiling of the salon is painted on canvas. The small boudoir at the back is upholstered in pink and chocolate silk; the beautiful mirror which adorns the fireplace is an old Venetian mirror; in front of it, one will notice a small masterpiece in sculpted wood, made by a young artist, M. Boriot. The two small pieces of furniture, whose desk is decorated with lapis, are from the time of the Empire; the small Andalusian smuggler on the jardinière, a souvenir of His Majesty's native country. The beautiful mirror and the two solid silver candelabras are from Hunt and Roskell of London.

On leaving these rooms, we will advance to the balustrade of the gallery, to examine the French jewellery.

The first showcases are devoted to fake jewellery, and to that made of bronze and steel. First of all, we notice the showcase of M. Dufour, containing jewellery for mourning, in jet, among other things a whole fireplace set. Another showcase, that of Mr. Henry, contains, along with polished steel objects, a magnificent steel-handled sword with the imperial cipher; it was ordered by the French Emperor. Then come candy boxes of all kinds, followed by the jewellery of M. Masson, among which a ruby glass and gilt bronze cup, with the portraits of the Emperor and Empress, attracts your attention.
your attention. The following showcases contain mother-of-pearl objects and flasks: those of Mr. Quétard and Mr. Cornillon are particularly noteworthy. Mr. Thirion and Mr. Guidon exhibit very beautiful objects with fine mosaics, cameos and paintings. In Mr. Marguerie's showcase, one will notice, among other things, a gilded bronze chest, pierced with a pink silk lining and decorated with paintings representing various monuments of Paris, among others the Palais de l'Industrie. Here is Mr. Dotin's display case, with a large number of cups, bowls, vases and flasks, with enamelled paintings on gold, silver, platinum and copper: we can see a magnificent service with eighteen cups (1,800 fr.), a bowl enamelled on silver (800 fr.). The following display cabinets are filled with jasper and lapis enamelled objects. Then there is M. Pligne with an enormous silver bouquet, M. Greliche's displaying ivory flowers with gilded and enamelled copper leaves and stems, M. Faasse with his gilded and matte jewellery; finally, a whole series of showcases filled with imitation pearls, among which those of M. Constant-Valès are particularly noteworthy, with an enormous bouquet of pearls of all colours.

Now comes the real jewellery and goldsmiths' shops. The first showcase belongs to M. Jarry aîné: we notice a beautiful table in lapis mosaic, mounted on solid silver and gilded silver (35,000 fr.); a silver and gold plated sword, with lapis handle (1,800 fr.); a solid silver and gold plated cigar holder, surmounted by a group of Chimeras (6,000 fr. ); a small silver and chased chest, surmounted by the figure of Tasso, and adorned with high reliefs representing scenes from the Delivered Jerusalem (1,200 fr); a paperweight representing a lion struggling with a snake: the lion is silver, the snake silver and enamelled in green, while the tree trunk around which it is wound, is composed of a single piece of coral, one of the largest seen so far; the price of this jewel is 2,000 fr.

The next showcase belongs to Messrs. Robert and Barri: it contains a large number of magnificent cameos, shells, fine stones, coral, malachite, lava, mosaics from Rome and Florence. Among the following showcases are those of M. Roucou with jewellery and damascene weapons, M. Ray and M. Gentilhomme with gold chains and bracelets, M. Payen with gold filigree jewellery, M. d'Afrique with ornaments and gold jewellery with fine stones, including a superb headdress called Berthe, in silver filigree; M. Halley with his collection of decorations. In Mr. Bégard's showcase, we notice a silver statuette weighing 800 grams and representing Gaston de Foix, commander of the Italian army in 1512. Mr. Bruneau exhibits a fine collection of silver and vermeil cups, travel kits, snuffboxes and flasks.

Mr. Mellerio's showcase offers many remarkable things: we can see, among others, a diamond set filled with brioleltes that tremble and shake at the slightest movement, a set of black pearls and diamonds of a very high price, a very elegant gold and diamond watch, a rosette, a large diamond brooch, but above all two pieces, a small brooch representing a Madonna and a bouquet of field flowers in fine stones of the most varied colours. After him comes Mr. Lecointre with a host of magnificent objects; above all, one must see a splendid headdress and bodice plate; the headdress is made of lilac leaves, the bodice is composed of water leaves and pearls. We also notice a small silver cup and a silver box, sacred vases of very good shape; two mass books, one in gold, the other in silver; a pair of niello scissors and several pretty brooches.

Mr. Petiteau exhibits mainly coral and garnet jewellery mounted with silver. In the showcase of Mr. Marrel and Mr. Jarry, one will notice, among others, a set of diamonds on a light blue background, another with turquoise and diamonds, opals, pearls, a bracelet with an opal of enormous value, a set of rubies and diamonds, a very rich flask, etc. In the next showcase, belonging to Mr. Lemoine, one can admire a sapphire brooch with diamonds, a corsage set made entirely of diamonds of a new shape: a shower of white sparks escapes from the bosom of the glittering and flirtatious mobile flowers; the setting disappears under the brilliant facets; next to this set, one can see another made of (luxia) and yet another made of emeralds and diamonds; finally, there are two bracelets made of very precious stones.

The showcase of Messrs. Marret and Beaugrand is one of those which deserve our attention the most. It is worth noting a garland of cornflowers, in which there is not a single very large stone and which nevertheless cost 35,000 fr.; a necklace of pearls and diamonds, another of rubies and pearls, and yet another of Scottish pearls, all the same and white; a rosary of pearls, finished with an enamelled Byzantine cross; two hand mirrors in silver and ivory; a cigar case supported by four negroes (6,000 fr. ); a superb bracelet of pearls of all colours; and a mass book made of a single piece of jasper into which a garnet cross has been inlaid.

Here is now the showcase of Mr. Rouvenat. One notices a sword inlaid with lapis, emeralds, garnets and diamonds: all these stones run on enamelled backgrounds. Then there is an enormous and magnificent diamond ornament; the middle of the flowers that make it up is mounted in gold, the corollas are in silver, the stamens in ruby. We must also mention a very rich sword in silver and gold, with a brilliant figure on a smalt-coloured enamel background; a bracelet with a lizard; a pretty diamond brooch where an eagle, with sparkling wings, escapes from a nest of pink pearls; finally, a monstrance, inlaid with rubies, emeralds and diamonds: on it we see the four Evangelists, the spotless Lamb and Faith.

After this showcase, it is that of Mr. Morel in Sèvres. He exhibits the facsimile of a cup commissioned by the Duke of Luynes. It represents Perseus killing the monster to deliver Andromeda. The cup and the rock of the original, which can be seen in the nave, are made of a block of oriental jasper weighing 80 pounds; the figures and the ornaments of the mounting are of gold, 22 carats, repoussé and enamelled; nothing is made by casting. The price of this masterpiece is 70,000 fr. In the same showcase is a magnificent chatelaine inlaid with fine stones (6,000 fr.) - Mr. Thénard's showcase, one of the last of the real jewellery, contains beautiful gold, silver and bronze seals.

The following showcases are mostly filled with fake stone jewellery. One can distinguish especially those of Messrs Savary and Mosbach, of Messrs Bouillette and Hyvelin, of M. Masson; then comes that of M. Garandy of Marseilles with raw and worked corals, that of M. Gourdin, in Paris, with coral jewels; in this last one, one can see, underneath, a coral rock fished in the mouths of Bonifacio, at the place where the Semillante perished. We then arrive at the showcases of the lapidaries. Then comes the showcase of Messrs Chiquet and Taverni, where we notice, among various gold and silver objects, a crystal box inlaid with silver arabesques. Messrs Robineau and Sorin frères exhibit medals of sanctity, crosses, gold, silver and copper reliquaries. The aisle is completed by display cases containing objects of doubled gold and polished steel.

©Promenades dans l'exposition de 1855

Exposition universelle des produits de l'agriculture, de l'industrie et des beaux arts - Paris 1855

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-arts

15 mai 1855 - 15 novembre 1855


Retour - Liste Pavillons

France

manque image

Maintenant nous sommes forcés de redescendre la galerie jusqu’à la porte par laquelle nous sommes entrès, pour pouvoir prendre les produits français ensemble. Le visiteur a déjà remarqué la grande et belle glace en face de l’entrée, qui est fabriquée et exposé par les manufactures de Montluçon.

En remontant la grande galerie du nord, on a devant soi les tissus des manufactures françaises. Los allées qui longent le mur contiennent les célèbres soieries et les châles de Paris, Lyon et Saint-Étienne. Au milieu sont les broderies en or, argent et soie de Paris. A gauche et les plus rapprochées de la balustrade, se trouvent les vitrines des passementeries et confections de Paris, les tissus de Valenciennes, Cambrai, Amiens, Saint-Quentin, Sainte-Marie, Nîmes, Mulhouse, Rouen, les broderies de Paris, Nancy et Tarare, les (leurs artificielles et les plumes de Paris, les tapisseries et la magnifique collection des dentelles. Au bout de ces allées, sont les soies grèges teintes, ainsi que les vers à soie. Au milieu de la grande galerie, est l’entrée du grand escalier d’honneur. A droite de l’entrée se trouve une loge contenant les tapis et tapisseries d’Aubusson. Le pavillon do l’escalier est décoré de tapisseries, et de tapis magnifiques des fabriques de MM. Réquillart, Laroque et Jacquemont, de M. Braquéné, et de M. Sallandrouze de Marseille. Parmi ces derniers, on remarque un tapis représentant le port de Marseille. Au plafond du vestibule est suspendu un splendide lustre de cristal de Baccarat. La grande croisée du milieu est ornée d’un vitrail représentant la Ville de Paris distribuant des couronnes de lauriers.

L’escalier est flanqué, à droite et à gauche, de deux corridors; celui de droite conduit aux bureaux de la commission Impériale; dans celui de gauche, conduisant au salon d'attente de l’Empereur, on voit une énorme glace étamée de Saint-Gobin, 5 mètres de haut sur 3 m. 15 c. de large, et dans un magnifique cadre de bois doré.

En rentrant dans la galerie, on voit à gauche près de la porte, le salon et le boudoir de l’Impératrice.

Le premier salon ainsi que les meubles qui le garnissent sont ornés de tapisseries très-élégantes brodées par les demoiselles de Saint-Cyr sous la direction de
Mme de Maintenon ; ces tapisseries ont été vendues dans la première révolution, et rachetées en 1866 par MM Mégard et Duval, tapissiers de S. M. l’Empereur. Sur la table, à main gauche, on remarquera un presse-papier en malachite de Russie, qui a servi à Napoléon Ier à Sainte-Hélène.

Auprès de la porte, on voit une petite voiture à bras très-élégante, ornée de peintures, qui a été donnée à Sa Majesté l’Impératrice lors de sa visite à Londres par le prince Albert, et qui sert à Sa Majesté pour visiter l’Exposition. Le plafond du salon est peint sur toile. Le petit boudoir qui est au fond, est tapissé en soie rose et chocolat ; la belle glace qui orne la cheminée, est une ancienne glace de Venise; devant elle, on remarquera un petit chef-d’œuvre en bois sculpté, fait par un jeune artiste, M. Boriot. Les deux petits meubles, dont le bureau est orné de lapis, sont du temps de l’Empire ; le petit contrebandier Andalou sur la jardinière, un souvenir du pays natal de Sa Majesté. La belle glace et les deux candélabres en argent massif, sont de la maison Hunt et Roskell de Londres.

En sortant de ces salons, nous avancerons jusqu’à la balustrade de la galerie, pour examiner la bijouterie française.

Les premières vitrines sont consacrées aux bijoux faux, et à ceux en bronze et en acier. On y remarque tout d’abord la vitrine de M. Dufour, contenant de la bijouterie pour deuil, en jais, entre autres toute une garniture de cheminée. Une autre vitrine, celle de M. Henry, renferme avec des objets d’acier poli, une magnifique épée à poignée d’acier avec le chiffre impérial ; elle a été commandée par l’Empereur des français. Viennent ensuite des bonbonnières de tout genre, ensuite les bijouteries do M. Masson, parmi lesquelles une coupe en verre rubis et bronze doré, avec les portraits de l’Empereur et de l’Impératrice, attire
votre attention. Les vitrines suivantes contiennent des objets en nacre et des flacons : on y remarquera surtout ceux de M. Quétard et de M. Cornillon. MM. Thirion et Guidon exposent de très-beaux objets avec mosaïques fines, camées et peintures. Dans la vitrine de M. Marguerie on remarquera entre autres un coffre de bronze doré, percé à jour avec doublure en soie rose et orné de peintures représentant différents monuments de Paris, entre autres le Palais de l’Industrie. Voici maintenant la vitrine de M. Dotin, avec un grand nombre de tasses, de coupes, de vases et de flacons, avec peintures émaillées sur or, argent, platine et cuivre : on y remarque surtout un magnifique service à dix-huit tasses (1,800 fr.), une coupe émaillée sur argent (800 fr.). Les vitrines suivantes sont remplies d’objets émaillés de jaspe et de lapis. Voici ensuite M. Pligne avec un énorme bouquet en argent, celle de M. Greliche exposant des fleurs d’ivoire avec feuilles et tiges de cuivre doré et émaillé, M. Faasse avec ses bijoux dorés et mats ; enfin, toute une série de vitrines remplies de perles imitées, parmi lesquelles on remarque surtout celles de M. Constant-Valès, avec un énorme bouquet de perles de toutes couleurs.

Voici maintenant les bijouteries et orfèvreries vraies. La première vitrine appartient à M. Jarry aîné : on y remarque une belle table en mosaïque de lapis, montée sur argent massif et argent doré (35,000 fr.); une épée d’argent et d'or plaqué, avec poignée de lapis (1,800 fr.); un porte-cigares en argent massif et or plaqué, surmonté d’un groupe de Chimères (6,000 fr.); un petit coffre d'argent massif et ciselé, surmonté de la figure du Tasse, et orné de hauts-reliefs représentant des scènes de la Jérusalem délivrée (1,200 fr ); un presse-papier représentant un lion en lutte avec un serpent : le lion est en argent, le serpent en argent et émaillé en vert, tandis que le tronc d’arbre autour duquel il est enroulé, se compose d’un seul morceau de corail, un des plus grands que l’on ait vus jusqu’ici; le prix de ce bijou est de 2,000 fr.

La vitrine suivante appartient à MM. Robert et Barri: elle renferme un grand nombre de magnifiques camées, de coquilles, pierres fines, corail, malachite, lave, des mosaïques de Rome et de Florence. Parmi les vitrines suivantes, on distingue celles de M. Roucou avec des bijoux et armes damasquinées, M. Ray et M. Gentilhomme avec des chaînes et des bracelets d’or, M. Payen avec de la bijouterie de filigrane d’or, M. d'Afrique avec des parures et des bijoux d'or avec pierres fines, entre autres une superbe coiffure dite Berthe, en filigrane d’argent; M. Halley avec sa collection de décorations. Dans la vitrine de M. Bégard, on remarque une statuette d’argent estampé pesant 800 grammes et représentant Gaston de Foix, commandant de l’armée d’Italie en 1512. M. Bruneau expose une belle collection de tasses d’argent et de vermeil, de nécessaires de voyage, de tabatières et de flacons.

La vitrine de M. Mellerio offre beaucoup de choses remarquables : on y voit, entre autres, une parure de diamants remplie de brioleltes qui tremblent et s’agitent au moindre mouvement, une parure en perles noires et diamants d’un très-grand prix, une montre en or et diamants très-élégante, une rosace, une grande broche en diamants, mais surtout deux pièces, une petite broche représentant une madone et un bouquet de fleurs des champs en pierres fines, des couleurs les plus variées. Après lui vient M. Lecointre avec une foule d’objets magnifiques; il faut voir surtout une coiffure et une plaque de corsage splendides; la coiffure est faite avec des feuilles de lilas, le corsage est composé de feuilles d’eau et de perles. On remarque encore une petite coupe et un coffret d’argent, des vases sacrés de très-bonne forme; deux livres de messe, l'un en or, l’autre en argent; une paire de ciseaux niellée et plusieurs jolies broches.

M. Petiteau expose surtout des bijoux de corail et de grenat montés avec de l’argent. Dans la vitrine de MM. Marrel et Jarry, on remarquera entre autres, une parure de diamants sur fond bleu clair, une autre avec des turquoises et des diamants, des opales, des perles, un bracelet avec une opale d’énorme valeur, une parure en rubis et diamants, un flacon très-riche, etc. Dans la vitrine suivante, appartenant à M. Lemoine, on admirera une broche en saphir avec des diamants, une parure de corsage toute en diamants de forme nouvelle : une pluie d’étincelles blanches s’échappe du sein des fleurs mobiles scintillantes et coquettes ; la monture disparaît sous les facettes brillantes ; à côté de cette parure, on en voit une autre en (luxia et encore une d’émeraudes et de diamants; enfin deux bracelets de pierres de couleur très-précieuses.

La vitrine de MM. Marret et Beaugrand est une de celles qui méritent le plus de fixer notre attention. Il faut remarquer une guirlande de bleuets, où il n’y a pas une seule très-grosse pierre et qui coûte néanmoins 35,000 fr. ; un collier de perles et de diamants, un autre de rubis et de perles, encore un de perles d’Ecosse, toutes pareilles et blanches ; un chapelet de perles, terminé par une croix byzantine émaillée ; deux miroirs de main en argent et ivoire; un coffret à cigares supporté par quatre nègres (6,000 fr.); un superbe bracelet de perles de toutes couleurs; enfin un livre de messe composé d’un seul morceau de jaspe dans lequel on a incrusté une croix de grenat.

Voici maintenant la vitrine de M. Rouvenat. On y remarque un sabre incrusté de lapis, d’émeraudes, de grenats et de diamants : toutes ces pierres courent sur des fonds émaillés. On admirera ensuite une énorme et magnifique garniture de diamants; le milieu des fleurs qui la composent est monté en or, les corolles sont en argent, les étamines en rubis. Il faut mentionner aussi une épée très-riche en argent et or, avec un chiffre en brillants sur fond d’émail couleur de smalt; un bracelet avec un lézard; une jolie broche en diamants où un aigle, les ailes étincelantes, s’échappe d’un nid de perles rosées ; enfin, un ostensoir, incrusté de rubis, d’émeraudes et de diamants : ou y voit les quatre Évangélistes, l’Agneau sans tache et la Foi.

Après cette vitrine, c’est celle de M. Morel à Sèvres. Il expose le fac-similé d’une coupe commandée par le duc de Luynes. Elle représente Persée tuant le monstre pour délivrer Andromède. La coupe et le rocher de l’original, que l’on voit dans la nef, sont d’un bloc de jaspe oriental de 80 livres; les figures et les ornements de la monture sont en or, de 22 carats, repoussé et émaillé; rien n'y est fait par la fonte. Le prix de ce chef-d’œuvre est de 70,000 fr. On voit encore dans la même vitrine une magnifique châtelaine incrustée de pierres fines ( 6,000 fr.) — La vitrine de M. Thénard, une des dernières de la bijouterie vraie, contient de beaux cachets d’or, d’argent et de bronze.

Les vitrines suivantes sont remplies pour la plupart de bijoux de pierres fausses. On y distingue surtout celles de MM. Savary et Mosbach, de MM. Bouillette et Hyvelin, de M. Masson ; ensuite, vient celle de M. Garandy de Marseille avec des coraux bruts et ouvrés, celle de M. Gourdin, à Paris, avec des bijoux de corail; dans cette dernière, on voit, en dessous, un rocher de corail pêché aux bouches de Bonifacio, à l’endroit où a péri la Sémillante. On arrive ensuite aux vitrines des lapidaires. Puis, vient la vitrine de MM. Chiquet et Taverni, où l’on remarque entre différents objets d’or et d'argent un coffret de cristal incrusté d’arabesques d'argent. MM. Robineau, Sorin frères exposent des médailles de sainteté, croix, reliquaires d’or, d’argent et de cuivre. L’allée est terminée par des vitrines renfermant des objets d’or doublé et d’acier poli.

©Promenades dans l'exposition de 1855