Universal Exhibition of Agricultural, Industrial and Fine Arts Products - Paris 1855

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

May 15, 1855 - November 15, 1855


Back - List of Pavilions

Sardinia

manque image

Sardinia begins with a large blanket made of dyed skins. A bed cover, made of Flanders thread, and embroidered by needle, is on the right hand, and boots and shoes on the left. On the table is a small model of a ruin, on the right, and buttons for artificial flowers, and small fruits nicely arranged on the left. The second display shows us meerschaum pipes and cigar-holders, carved, by M. Duployez de Sonnet, at Turin; blankets, very ably made of small pieces of cloth of different colours; woollen and colonial fabrics, a dress, etc., and underneath, on the table, ruled paper, felt hats, a beautiful little plaster group, representing Napoleon I. and the King of Rome. On the other side, there is canvas, cotton tulle, embroidery, etc., and below, on the table, a geometric instrument, by M. Gibello, and samples of spinning. At the front, towards the nave, we see samples of silk spinning, lithographs and paintings executed on embroidery, which earned the exhibitor, Mr. Stéfani in Turin, the prize medal in London in 1851.

Around the next display in the middle are the famous embroideries of Genoa, of a very remarkable work, exhibited by Messrs Costa and Tessada. On the top, imitated fruits, in wax, by M. Valetti, in Piedmont, of great beauty, and which seem to us to be superior to what we have seen below, in the French exhibition.

The brushes seen there are distinguished by their excessive cheapness. - The third display begins with the exhibition of watches and clock movements from the Royal School of Clockmaking in Cluze, near Geneva, whose perfection has earned this establishment the prize medal in London. Next to it are violins made by M. Rocca, in Genoa. On the other side, a box intended to contain the sword that Napoleon I carried at the battle of Marengo, with bone inlay, two billiard cues also inlaid with bone and wood, surgical instruments, a few bindings, and a few bottles that are distinguished by their small number and inferiority.

Marquetry furniture and stuffed animals complete the Sardinian exhibition. Among the former, a large bookcase with wooden mosaic paintings representing different scenes from the history of Italy stands out on the front, on the west side. Mr Ciando in Nice is exhibiting this library, which has already won him a prize medal in London. But Mr. Berlalotto, his main worker, who is now thinking of making his own fortune after having made his master's, is himself exhibiting, next to it, tables in marquetry, in wood mosaic of a very fine work, which can be seen on the side facing the nave.

©Promenades dans l'exposition de 1855

Exposition universelle des produits de l'agriculture, de l'industrie et des beaux arts - Paris 1855

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-arts

15 mai 1855 - 15 novembre 1855


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Sardaigne

manque image

La Sardaigne débute par une grande couverture composée de peaux teintes. Une couverture de lit, faite de fil de Flandre, et brodée à l’aiguille, est à main droite, et des bottes et des souliers, à gauche. Sur la table, on voit un petit modèle d’une ruine, à droite, et des boutons pour fleurs artificielles, et de petits fruits joliment arrangés à gauche. Le deuxième étalage nous montre des pipes et des porte-cigares d’écume de mer, sculptés, de M. Duployez de Sonnet, à Turin ; des couvertures, très-habilement faites de petits morceaux de drap de différentes couleurs ; des tissus de laine et de colon, une robe, etc., et au-dessous, sur la table, du papier réglé, des chapeaux de feutre, un beau petit groupe en plâtre, représentant Napoléon Ier et le roi de Rome. De l’autre côté, il y a de la toile, des tulles de coton, des broderies, etc., et au-dessous, sur la table, un instrument de géométrie, de M. Gibello, et des échantillons de filature. Sur le devant, vers la nef, on voit des échantillons de filature de soie, des lithographies et des tableaux exécutés sur broderies, qui ont valu à l'exposant, M. Stéfani à Turin, la médaille de prix, a Londres, en 1851.

Autour de l’étalage suivant du milieu, sont les célèbres broderies de Gênes, d’un travail très-remarquable, exposées par MM. Costa et Tessada. Sur le haut, des fruits imités, en cire, de M. Valetti, en Piémont, d’une grande beauté, et qui nous paraissent supérieurs à ce que nous ayons vu en bas, dans l'exposition française.

Les brosses qu’on y voit se distinguent par l’excessif bon marché. — Le troisième étalage commence par l’exposition de montres et de mouvements d’horlogerie, de l’école royale d’horlogerie à Cluze, près Genève, dont la perfection a valu à cet établissement la médaille de prix à Londres. Des violons de M. Rocca, à Gènes, se trouvent à côté. De l'autre côté, une boite destinée à contenir l'épée que Napoléon Ier a portée à la bataille de Marengo, avec incrustation en os, deux queues de billards également incrustées d’os et de bois, des instruments de chirurgie, quelques reliures, et quelques bouteilles qui se distinguent par leur petit nombre et leur infériorité.

Des meubles en marqueterie et des animaux empaillés finissent l’exposition de la Sardaigne. Parmi les premiers, on remarquera sur le devant, du côté ouest, une grande bibliothèque avec des tableaux en mosaïque de bois représentant différentes scènes de l’histoire de l’Italie. C’est M. Ciando à Nice qui expose cette bibliothèque qui lui a déjà valu la médaille de prix à Londres. Mais M. Berlalotto, son principal ouvrier, qui pense maintenant à faire sa fortune après avoir fait celle de son maître expose lui-même, à côté, des tables eu marqueterie, en mosaïque de bois d’un très-beau travail, que l’on verra sur le côté qui regarde la nef.

©Promenades dans l'exposition de 1855