Back - List of Pavilions

Great Britain - Expo Paris 1855

Missing picture

The whole of the rest of this south side of the palace, and the east side as far as the great middle door, is occupied by the United Kingdom of Great Britain.

The first square in the front, next to the Parisian furniture square we have just left, is that of Elkington, Mason and Co. of London. It is known that Mr. Elkington invented the process, imported into France by Mr. Christofle, of silvering by electricity, so the display cases in this room are filled with silverware silvered by this process. Amongst those on the west side, one will find, close to the door which opens on to the transept, a very richly ornamented candelabra in the Celtic style, the body of which is formed by a natural horn mounted in the open, belonging to the Queen of England; further on, a very fine group representing the last interview of the Duke of Warwick with his wife, another group on a marble pedestal showing the interview of Queen Henrietta with Prince Rupert after the battle of Edgehill, all of which are taken from the history of England. Three candelabras will still attract the visitor's attention; they are executed in the Greek style and represent the feast of Anacreon, sculptured by M. Jeannest. The refreshment buckets decorated with bas-reliefs, copied from those in Albani, were bought by Princess Mathilde. Among the table tops, some in solid silver are to be admired, one representing Eurichtonius, introducing the use of the horse to the Athenians; another the Tithe in Boston Abbey in the good old days; a third of great size, with two table ends, representing scenes from Shakespeare's comedies. All these objects are designed by Mr. Grant. The rest are goblets, vases, candelabras, dinner and dessert services, and other specimens of galvanic and chemical silvering. In the middle are some very fine bronze statues, namely "Dorothy from Don Quixote," "Eve's Daughter," and "The Young Naturalist," all three by the chisel of Mr. John Bell. In front of these statues is a small table of antique green marble, supported by an Amazon striking down a Jaguar. The corners of this compartment are adorned with busts of the Queen, Prince Albert, Robert Peel and Wellington.

The next room shows us some very fine samples of saddlery, and lamps for carriages and railways, gas appliances, steel nibs, papier-mâché objects, adorned with inlays, namely: dressing tables, inkwells, kits, boxes, etc. Further on, we see samples of Scottish woollen cloth, and, going up, on the right, inkwells, bells, lamps of very great solidity and good taste: on the left, Trowbridge cloth. Next to this square, as you go downstairs, is a large square containing the common china and pottery of Messrs. Copeland, Rose, and Danielle, of which we have seen the finest samples in the trophies of these gentlemen, which are at the head of this square. The city of Glasgow has exhibited in the same square its famous wares. The tinware of Sheffield, of which we have also seen the finest specimens in the trophy of that city, fills the next square, with the exhibition of the linen industry of Ireland.

We now propose to the visitor to walk up the north aisle to the English back square, which is set against the wall on the south side, and which lies behind the square of Messrs. Elkington, Mason and Co. Here he will see a fine collection of fireplaces and stoves of all kinds; he will especially notice Dr. Arnott's smoking fireplaces, i.e. fireplaces that burn their smoke; harness fittings and locksmith's wares. Amongst the stoves, the first cross-aisle is the register fireplace invented by Messrs. Benham and Sons of London, and the kitchen appliance of the same manufacturer, which won him the great medal at the London Exhibition. The great advantages of this apparatus consist in the small amount of fuel employed, in the possibility of enlarging or diminishing the fire at will, and in the peculiar construction of the oven for meat, bread, pastry, etc., which is heated without the aid of a furnace, and which can be removed in order to clean the pipes. The same fire also heats the hot water tank behind the chimney. These appliances are made in sizes ranging from 4 to 7 feet wide. Another example is the pyropneumatic stove, which is located at the front of the square we have just mentioned. This stove, of the invention of Mr. Pierce of London, has an open hearth, is made of burnt earth, without any mixture of iron, and consumes very little coal, according to the inventor, whom we are forced to take at his word.

Among the locks, we shall mention, opposite these stoves of which we have just spoken, the Albion lock invented by Mr. Holland. This lock is of 10 levers and has, according to the unclear indication of the inventor, 15, 168, 189, 140,000 changes. This number of changes (we are still copying from the inventor's poster) is ten times greater than the locks of fifteen levers could give, and at one minute per change, day and night, it would take 25,036,484 years of work. Further on we find bells, baths, bottle cleaning and corking machines, and models of Dr. Arnott's smoke stacks. The showcases around the square contain fabrics of all kinds from Halifax, and glassware from the famous Chance and Co. of Birmingham, where one will admire Crown-glass lenses of remarkable size and purity, two of which are 0.74 in diameter. Along the wall is a billiard table, surrounded by table tops, mantels, and other objects which appear to be of marble, but which are only of slate enamelled by a process invented by Mr. Magnas, and which imitates marble in a very remarkable manner.

To the side, and along the wall, are furniture of all kinds, beds, tables, sofas, etc. The next square is occupied by the porcelain and earthenware of Minton and Company in Staffordshire. Here we notice, in the display case on the right, a very elegant dessert service in porcelain and porcelain-marble (see Copeland). The four beautiful baskets in the corners represent the four Seasons, and the two candelabras with a Highlander in costume carrying a hunting trophy are very beautiful. These and ten other candelabras were made for the Queen's own use at Balmoral Castle. But the Queen, having learned how much these two candelabras pleased the French Emperor, hastened to offer them to him graciously. The other display cabinets are filled with porcelain services of all kinds and statuettes and groups, among which Cain and Abel, the Mother and Child, Diana and the Hunter are the most remarkable. The display cabinets on the opposite side contain, among others, imitations of old Sèvres, the model of the toilet given by Prince Albert to the Queen, and very beautiful tea services in Dubarry rose, and others. In the centre, we see imitations of majolica and other samples of English pottery which are very remarkable, of which we also find samples on all the staircases of the Palace. Let us mention again the beautiful majolica planter in the middle, filled with flowers, before moving on to the other porcelains in this room. These are those of Messrs Wedgood which follow, among which are pretty groups and statuettes, representing Isaac and Rebecca, the Birth of Moses, etc. But what attracts the attention of this collection are the imitations of Etruscan and other ancient vases, which are of rare beauty.

Mr. Morley, Mr. Eismore, Mr. Walker, and others, have also porcelains and earthenware of great beauty.

After examining the very remarkable collection of Sheffield steelwork, which enjoys a European reputation, the visitor arrives at the south-east corner of the Palace, where the common goods which are manufactured in Manchester, that is to say, cotton fabrics, are displayed on numerous counters. In the centre of this eastern side, where we are now, are models of the civil constructions of all kinds in England, viaducts, bridges, railways, swimming pools, etc. These include the docks and harbour at Sunderland, the tube bridge between England and Scotland, models of ships, a mobile prison, etc. Here one will also find the cartridges of Messrs Schlesinger, Wello and Co. of which they supplied 35 million to the Turkish government in a period of six months. Pianos and a large church organ in the back, and the serpentine marble and slate objects in the aisle leading from the east door to the transept, complete the English exhibition on the ground floor of the Palace. Among the latter, we see first the products of the London and Penzance serpentine Company, consisting of beautiful fireplaces, vases, obelisks, etc. Next come candelabras, table tops and other objects made of glass mosaic, marble and scagliola, by Mr. Slevens in London. Further on is a Gothic column of scagliola, by Mr. Dolan in Manchester. Close to the entrance door, finally, are placed the works of Mr. Magnus in London, among others a mantelpiece of inlaid slate, another imitating Verona marble, another imitating lapis, finally a slate bath imitating granite.

©Promenades dans l'exposition de 1855

Exposition universelle des produits de l'agriculture, de l'industrie et des beaux arts - Paris 1855

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-arts

15 mai 1855 - 15 novembre 1855


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Grande-Bretagne

manque image

Tout, le reste de ce côté sud du palais, et le côté est jusqu’à la grande porte du milieu, sont occupés par le Royaume-Uni de la Grande-Bretagne.

Le premier carré du devant, à côté de celui des meubles parisiens que nous venons de quitter, est celui de la maison Elkington, Mason et Cie de Londres. On sait que M. Elkington a inventé le procédé, importé en France, par M. Christofle, d’argenter par l’électricité, Aussi les vitrines de ce carré sont remplies d’orfévrerie argentée par ce procédé. Parmi celles du côté ouest, on trouvera tout près de la porte qui donne sur le transept, un candélabre en style celtique très-richement orné, dont le corps est formé par un corne naturelle montée à jour, appartenant à la reine d’Angleterre ; plus loin, un très-beau groupe représentant la dernière entrevue du duc de Warwick avec sa femme, un autre groupe sur piédestal de marbre montrant l’entrevue de la reine Henriette avec le prince Rupert après la bataille d’Edgehill, sujets tirés de l’histoire de l’Angleterre. Trois candélabres attireront encore l’attention du visiteur; Ils sont exécutés dans le style grec et représentent la fête d’Anacréon, sculptée par M. Jeannest. Les seaux à rafraîchir ornés de bas-reliefs, copiés d’après ceux de la ville Albani, ont été achetés par la princesse Mathilde. Parmi les surtouts de table, on admirera quelques-uns en argent massif, celui représentant Eurichtonius, introduisant l’usage du cheval chez les Athéniens ; un autre la Dîme dans l’abbaye de Boston au bon vieux temps; un troisième de grande dimension, avec deux bouts de table, représentant des scènes des comédies de Shakespeare. Tous ces objets sont dessinés par M. Grant. Le reste est composé de coupes, vases, candélabres, services de dîner, de dessert et autres spécimens d’argenture et de dorure galvano-chimique. Au milieu, on a placé de très-belles statues de bronze, savoir « Dorothée tirée de Don Quichotte,’ « la Fille d’Ève » et « la jeune Naturaliste, » toutes les trois dues au ciseau de M. John Bell. Devant ces statues, une petite table en marbre vert antique, supportée par une Amazone terrassant un Jaguar. Les coins de ce compartiment sont ornés des bustes de la Reine, du prince Albert de Robert Peel et de Wellington.

Le carré suivant nous montre de très-beaux échantillons de la sellerie, et des lampes pour voitures et chemins de fer, des appareils de gaz, des plumes en acier , des objets en papier mâché, ornés d'incrustations, savoir : des tables de toilettes, des encriers, des nécessaires, des boîtes, etc. Plus loin, nous voyons des échantillons de tissus de laine de l’Ecosse, et, en remontant, à droite, des encriers, des cloches, des lampes d’une très-grande solidité et d’un très-bon goût : à gauche, du drap de Trowbridge. A côté de ce carré, en descendant, se trouvent, dans un grand carré, les porcelaines et les poteries courantes, de MM. Copeland, Rose et Danielle, dont nous avons vu les plus beaux échantillons dans les trophées de ces messieurs, qui se trouvent à la tète de ce carré. La ville de Glasgow a exposé dans le même carré ses marchandises célèbres. Les objets en fer blanc de Sheffield, dont nous avons également vu les plus beaux spécimens dans le trophée de cette ville, remplissent le carré suivant, avec l’exposition de l’industrie linière d’Irlande.

Nous proposons maintenant au visiteur de remonter l’allée nord, jusqu’au carré anglais du fond, adossé au mur du côté du sud, et qui se trouve derrière le carré de MM. Elkington, Mason et Cie. Ici, il verra une belle collection de cheminées et de poêles de toutes sortes ; il remarquera surtout les cheminées fumivores de M. le docteur Arnott, c’est-à-dire des cheminées qui brûlent leur fumée ; des garnitures des harnais et des objets de serrurerie. Parmi les poêles, on remarquera dans la première allée transversale, la cheminée à registre de l’invention de MM. Benham et fils de Londres, et l'appareil de cuisine du même fabricant, qui lui a valu la grande médaille à l'exposition de Londres. Les grands avantages de cet appareil consistent dans le peu de combustible employé, dans la possibilité d’élargir ou de diminuer le feu à volonté, et dans la construction toute particulière du four à viande, pain, pâtisserie, etc., qui est chauffée sans l’aide d’une fournaise et qui peut s’enlever afin de nettoyer les tuyaux. Le même feu chauffe également la citerne à eau chaude placée derrière la cheminée. Ces appareils sont faits de dimensions variant de 4 à 7 pieds de large. Citons encore le poêle pyropneumatique, qui se trouve sur le devant du carré dont nous venons de parler. Ce poêle, de l’invention de M. Pierce de Londres, a un foyer ouvert, est fait en terre brûlée, sans mélange de fer, et consume très-peu de charbon, d’après l’inventeur, que nous sommes forcés de croire sur parole.

Parmi les serrures, nous citerons en face de ces poêles dont nous venons de parler, la serrure Albion l'inventée par M. Holland. Cette serrure est de 10 leviers et présente d’après l’indication peu claire de l’inventeur, 15, 168, 189, 140,000 changements. Ce nombre de changements (nous copions toujours sur l’affiche de l’inventeur) est dix fois plus grand que les serrures de quinze leviers ne pourraient donner, et à une minute par changement, jour et nuit, il faudrait 25,036,484 années de travail. Plus loin, nous trouvons des cloches, des baignoires, des machines pour nettoyer et pour boucher des bouteilles, et des modèles de cheminées fumivores du docteur Arnott. Les vitrines qui se trouvent autour du carré contiennent des tissus de toutes sortes d’Halifax, et la verrerie de la célèbre maison Chance et Cie de Birmingham, où on admirera les lentilles de Crown-glass d’une grande dimension et d une pureté remarquable dont deux objectifs, de 0,74 de diamètre. Le long du mur, on trouve un billard, entouré de dessus de tables, de manteaux de cheminées, et d’autres objets qui paraissent en marbre, mais qui ne sont que d’ardoise émaillée par un procédé inventé par M. Magnas, et qui imite le marbre d’une manière très-remarquable.

A côté, et le long du mur, sont des meubles de toutes sortes, des lits, des tables, des canapés, etc. Le carré qui suit est occupé parles porcelaines et faïences de la maison Minton et Cie à Staffordshire. Ici, nous remarquons, dans la vitrine à main droite, un service de dessert très-élégant en porcelaine et en porcelaine-marbre (voir Copeland). Les quatre belles corbeilles, dans les coins, représentent les quatre Saisons, et les deux candélabres formés d’un Highlander en costume portant un trophée de chasse, sont très-beaux. Ces candélabres, ainsi que dix autres, ont été exécutés pour le propre usage de la Reine au château de Balmoral. Mais celle-ci, ayant appris combien ces deux candélabres plaisaient à l’Empereur des Français, s’est empressée de les lui offrir gracieusement. Les autres vitrines sont remplies de services en porcelaine de toutes sortes et de statuettes et groupes, parmi lesquels Caïn et Abel, la Mère et son Enfant, Diane et le Chasseur, les plus remarquables. Les vitrines du côté opposé contiennent entre autres des imitations de vieux Sèvres, le modèle de la toilette offerte par le prince Albert à la reine, et de très-beaux services de thé en rose Dubarry, et autres. Au centre, nous voyons des imitations de majolica et d’autres échantillons de la poterie anglaise très-remarquables, dont nous trouvons également des échantillons sur tous les escaliers du Palais. Citons encore la belle jardinière en majolica, au milieu, remplie de fleurs, avant de passer aux autres porcelaines de ce carré. Ce sont ceux de MM. Wedgood qui suivent parmi lesquelles de jolis groupes et statuettes, représentant Isaac et Rebecca, la Naissance de Moïse, etc. Mais ce qui attire surtout l’attention sur cette collection, ce sont les imitations de vases étrusques, et autres vases antiques, qui sont d’une rare beauté.

MM. Morley, Eismore, Walker et d’autres, ont également des porcelaines et des faïences d’une grande beauté.

Après avoir examiné la collection très-remarquable des ouvrages en acier de Sheffield qui jouissent d'une réputation européenne, le visiteur arrive au coin sud-est du Palais, où sont étalés sur des comptoirs nombreux, les marchandises courantes qui se fabriquent à Manchester, c’est-à-dire les tissus de coton. Au centre de ce côté est, où nous nous trouvons, sont les modèles des constructions civiles de toutes sortes de l’Angleterre, viaducs, ponts, chemins de fer, piscines, etc. Citons entre autres celui des docks et du port de Sunderland, et celui du pont tubulaire qui relie l’Angleterre à l’Écosse, des modèles de vaisseaux, d’une prison mobile, etc. Ici on trouvera aussi les cartouches de MM. Schlesinger, Wello et Cie dont ils ont fourni 35 millions au gouvernement turc, dans un espace de six mois. Des pianos et un grand orgue d’église dans le fond, et les objets en marbre serpentine et ardoise, dans l’allée qui conduit de la porte est au transept, terminent l’exposition anglaise du rez-de-chaussée du Palais. Parmi ces derniers, on voit d’abord les produits de la "London and Penzance serpentine Company", composés de belles cheminées, vases, obélisques, etc. Ensuite viennent des candélabres, dessus de tables et autres objets faits de mosaïque de verre, de marbre et de scagliola, de M. Slevens à Londres. Plus loin, ou voit une colonne gothique de scagliola, de M. Dolan à Manchester. Tout près de la porte d’entrée, enfin, sont placés les ouvrages de M. Magnus à Londres, entre autres une cheminée d’ardoise incrustée, uns autre imitant le marbre de Vérone, encore une imitant le lapis, enfin un bain d’ardoise imitant le granit.

©Promenades dans l'exposition de 1855