Universal Exhibition of Agricultural, Industrial and Fine Arts Products - Paris 1855

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

May 15, 1855 - November 15, 1855


Back - List of Pavilions

United States

manque image

Leaving the Belgian exhibition, we find ourselves in that of the United States, arranged opposite the great entrance of the northern pavilion. Starting from the right-hand perimeter, we first see views of the Crystal Palace in New York, some works of natural history, and a little further on other samples of American engraving and typography. Two pianos and a few violins prove that the Americans are not only occupied with useful things, but that they also cultivate the arts. This is followed by samples of ores exhibited by the French Society of Native Copper Mines (of Lake Superior), and next to it, a small cast iron medallion representing Franklin, the inventor of the lightning rod. The large carved oak sideboard decorated with paintings on wood is exhibited by M. Ringuet Leprince in New York and Paris. A small showcase next to it contains gold ores of crystallized gold and mercury sulphide (cinnabar). These crystallised gold ores are remarkable for their large size and the regularity of the crystals.

Next come the standards of weights and measures of North America, which were given by the Congress to the French Government, and which are of such accuracy that M. Silberman, curator of the Arts-et-Métiers, used one of these standards to adjust the platinum kilogram which was exhibited in 1851 at the London Exhibition. The scales of Mr. Kline, of New York, in a showcase, are also of superior workmanship and great sensitivity; for they measure half a milligram to 50 pounds.

The maps hanging on the side panel are the maps of winds and currents in the Atlantic and Pacific Oceans, drawn up by Lieutenant Maury, of the Washington Observatory. These charts are based on information from individual navigators; but the American government publishes them at its own expense and distributes them to navigators who oblige themselves to supply Lieutenant Maury with all the information and experience resulting from their voyages. On the tables, under the charts, we will see, next to the Californian gold, a model of a mobile spur and a breeching keel, of the invention of Mr. Maskell.

Further on we see samples of medals: and coins of the United States, models of vessels, principally that of the steamers Delaware and North-Carolina, and of a miniature steamer built by Mr. D. King, having a steam engine of 2,000 horse power and being only 6 feet in weight, with cargo, which enables her to sail the rivers. This ship contains 94 first class rooms, and 400 cabins, besides 500 steerage passengers. She has a capacity of 1,000 tons and can travel at 25 miles per hour, according to the exhibitor's statement. Samples of banknotes are displayed underneath.

The two middle pavilions are occupied by Mr. Goodyear's hard rubber goods. Rubber replaces wood, iron, copper and other hard materials: carved knife handles, theatrical binoculars, cases, surgical instruments, even small relief paintings imitating metal, and a book printed on rubber. - Behind the square we have just been looking at is a large square filled with other rubber objects of Mr. Goodyear, boots, clothes, musical instruments even, and even painted rubber hangings, one of which attracts the attention of our soldiers, who find in it scenes of the present war in the Crimea. The middle is occupied by a tent, canoes, buffers, etc., all made of rubber.

The square next to America's, on the south side of the nave, was also intended for the United States. But the consignments from America were so small that it was possible to give this square to a few late exhibitors, who filled it with beautiful furniture from Parisian factories, among which we may note a pretty little bookcase by M. Ribaillier, bought by the Emperor, a pretty piece of furniture in marquetry by M. Schindler, a beautiful jardinière, and armchairs and settees, in the middle. The western panel of this room is decorated with a monumental marble and bronze fireplace by M. Fourdinois, priced at 45,000 fr. An oval bas-relief which replaces the mirror represents a hunting subject; two figures in natural size, caressing dogs, are at the sides. The top is decorated with angels. All these ornaments are in bronze. Next to it is a pretty little piece of furniture made of Algerian wood, thuja and pistachio from the forests of the French government in Algeria, also exhibited by M. Fourdinois and bought by the Duke of Hamilton.

©Promenades dans l'exposition de 1855

Exposition universelle des produits de l'agriculture, de l'industrie et des beaux arts - Paris 1855

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-arts

15 mai 1855 - 15 novembre 1855


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Etats-Unis

manque image

En sortant de l’exposition belge, nous nous trouvons dans celle des États-Unis, arrangée en face de la grande entrée du pavillon nord. En commençant par le pourtour à main droite, nous voyons d’abord des vues du Palais de Cristal de New-York, des ouvrages; de l’histoire naturelle, et un peu plus loin d'autres échantillons de la gravure et de la typographie américaines. Deux pianos et quelques violons prouvent que les Américains ne s’occupent pas seulement des choses utiles, mais qu’ils cultivent en même temps les arts. Suivent les échantillons de minerais exposés par la Société française des mines de cuivre natif (du Lac Supérieur), et à côté, un petit médaillon en fer fondu représentant Franklin, l’inventeur du paratonnerre. Le grand buffet en chêne sculpté orné de peintures sur bois est exposé par M. Ringuet Leprince à New-York et Paris. Une petite vitrine à côté renferme des minerais aurifères d'or cristallisé et de sulfure de mercure (cinabre). Ces ; minerais d'or cristallisé sont remarquables par leur grande dimension et la régularité des cristaux.

Suivent les étalons de poids et mesures de l’Amérique du Nord, qui ont été donnés par le Congrès au gouvernement français, et qui sont d’une justesse telle, que M. Silberman, conservateur aux Arts-et-Métiers, a employé un de ces étalons pour ajuster le kilogramme en platine qui a été exposé en 1851 ii l’Exposition de Londres. Les balances de M. Kline, de New-York, dans une vitrine, sont également d’une exécution supérieure ri d’une grande sensibilité; car elles accusent un demi-milligramme pour 50 livres.

Les cartes suspendues sur le pan de ce côté sont les cartes des vents et des courants dans la mer Atlantique et dans l’Océan Pacifique, dressées par le lieutenant Maury, de l’Observatoire de Washington. Ces cartes sont basées sur des informations de navigateurs particuliers; mais le gouvernement américain les public à ses frais et les distribue aux navigateurs qui s’obligent à fournir au lieutenant Maury tous les renseignements et expériences résultant de leurs voyages. Sur les tables, au-dessous des cartes, on verra, à côté de l’or californien, un modèle d’un éperon mobile et d'une quille à culasse, de l’invention de M. Maskell.

Plus loin nous voyons des échantillons de médailles : et de monnaies des États-Unis, des modèles de vaisseaux, principalement celui des steamers Delaware et North-Carolina, et d’un steamer en miniature construit par M. D. King, ayant une machine à vapeur de 2,000 chevaux et ne jaugeant que 6 pieds, avec cargaison, ce qui lui permet de naviguer dans les rivières. Ce navire contient 94 chambres de première classe, et 400 cabines, outre 500 passagers d’entrepont. Sa capacité est de 1,000 tonnes, et il peut filer 25 milles à l’heure, d’après l’indication de l’exposant. Des échantillons de billets de banque se trouvent au-dessous.

Les deux pavillons du milieu sont occupés par les objets en caoutchouc durci de M. Goodyear. On y voit le caoutchouc remplacer le bois, le fer, le cuivre et d'autres matières dures : des manches à couteau sculptés, des jumelles de théâtres, des coffrets, des instruments de chirurgie, et même des petits tableaux e« relief imitant le métal, et un livre imprimé sur caoutchouc. — Derrière le carré que nous venons de parcourir, se trouve un grand carré rempli d’autres objet en caoutchouc de M. Goodyear, des bottes, des vêtements, des instruments de musique même, et jusqu’à des tentures peintes en caoutchouc, dont une attire ?ut' tout l’attention de nos soldats, qui y trouvent des scènes de la guerre actuelle en Crimée. Le milieu est occupé par une tente, des canots, des tampons, etc., tous en caoutchouc.

Le carré à côté de celui de l’Amérique, du côté sud de la nef, était également destiné aux États-Unis. Mais les envois de l’Amérique ont été si minimes, que l'on a pu donner ce carré à quelques exposants retardataires, qui l’ont rempli de beaux meubles de fabrique parisienne, parmi lesquels on remarquera une jolie petite bibliothèque de M. Ribaillier, achetée par l’Empereur, un joli meuble en marqueterie de M. Schindler, une belle jardinière, et des fauteuils et des canapés, au milieu. Le panneau ouest de ce carré est orné d’une cheminée monumentale en marbre et bronze. de M. Fourdinois, du prix de 45,000 fr. Un bas-relief ovale qui remplace la glace représente un sujet de chasse ; deux figures en grandeur naturelle, caressant des chiens, sont aux côtés. Le haut est orné d’anges. Tous ces ornements sont en bronze. A côté, on remarquera un joli petit meuble en bois d'Algérie, thuya et pistachier des forêts du gouvernement français en Algérie, exposé également par M. Fourdinois et acheté par le duc d’Hamilton.

©Promenades dans l'exposition de 1855