Universal Exhibition of Agricultural, Industrial and Fine Arts Products - Paris 1855

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

May 15, 1855 - November 15, 1855


Back - List of Pavilions

9th square

manque image

Let us turn to the right, where we find first of all andirons and accessories for fireplaces (shovels, tongs, etc.), among others a very beautiful fireplace set on the left hand, two seated Warriors, with war attributes, 550 fr. Mr. Popon has porcelain and gilt bronze clocks and lamps; Mr. Bavozet, clocks, including one on the right surmounted by a beautiful group of two fighting Cavaliers; and, on the left, a gilt bronze model of the cathedral of Reims, serving as a clock. - On Mr. Laureau's display, we see two lamps whose pedestal, surrounded by three figures representing Science, Industry and Agriculture, is priced at 150 fr. each. Among the small objects, the equestrian statue of Frederick the Great, worth 50 fr., and four statuettes, two of which on the left (oxidised silver), Europe and Asia, and on the right, Africa and America, gilded. These four statues earned the exhibitor the prize medal in London. His neighbour, M. Lefèvre, still has bronze imitations, including two charming little groups, the Hunting and Fishing, both 25 fr. - M. Moris fils, whose Horses of Marly we saw in the transept, exhibits large bronzes, as well as Pradier's Atalanta, 800 fr., Glodion's Bacchante, 800 fr. and Faillot's Signal du Sabbat. - These charming little objects are of the exhibitor's own composition and execution, as is the Amazon on the left. - Mr. Kreisser has porcelain with gilt bronze mounts, among others a very beautiful desk and a table with paintings on porcelain.

Messrs Eik and Durand, of whom we saw several large pieces in the nave, have here the tomb of the mother of the present King of Spain. - Among the objects which surround this tomb, one will notice, on the right hand; the Indian Hunter on the top, the Boar, the bust of the Pope below, and, on the left, that of Prince Napoleon, the Child with the tortoise, etc. - Messrs Villemsens and Lethimonier occupy the corner with church objects. - Next come Messrs. Leclercq: two statuettes, Agriculture and Commerce, 225 fr. each; - Zier, a column from the Place Vendôme, reproduced by electroplating, 1,000 fr.; - Poney, with plaster objects, covered in bronze by electricity.

Messrs. Lionnel frères and Feuquières also have objects produced by electroplating. In the middle of the display of the former is a large dish representing a scene from Dante's Inferno, by M. Garnier. - M. Gautier has seamless electroplating which he obtains by a process of his own.

M. Oudry exhibits samples of sheet metal, covered by electricity with a layer of pure copper, and a small model shows its application to the lining of vessels. - Mr. Thiébaut presents bronzes that have been taken out of the mould and not yet polished or chiselled.

In the first inner square, opposite, Mr. Lefèvre exhibits very pretty small paintings in relief produced by electroplating. - M. Pompon, next door, has very beautiful lamps and chandeliers, and M. Bernard small bronze objects, among which are a mounted cannon which serves as an inkstand, a Sailor with the English flag on a canoe, and a Highlander in gilt bronze, etc. - M. Morisot occupies the second side of the square, with chimney-pieces of great taste and variety. The fireguard at the top, in the shape of a peacock's tail, opens and closes by a spring. - M. Georgi exhibits lamps on the second side and a diaphanous reflector, producing no shadow. - A. Rouy has some bronzes cast by a new process of his own. - M- Lacarrière, on the fourth side, has again lamps of very varied and very graceful forms, as well as the two chandeliers carried by figures representing the Sun and the Moon. Opposite and in the second square in the middle are the lamps of Mr. Hubert. - Mr. Focx has church objects and Mr. Bogaert very well gilded zinc clocks, among which one representing the disarmed Love, for 500 fr., two statuettes (the Hunt), 14 fr. each, which imitate bronze perfectly. - Miroy frères have some very pretty groups and statues in bronzed zinc, as well as busts of the Queen and Prince Albert, Ceres and Pomona, etc. - M. Duchâteau has two large statuettes, Night and Day, 750 fr. per pair, Phidias, 100 fr., Michelangelo, 55 fr. etc., in galvanised zinc and gilt. - M. Boy, a very beautiful Spanish woman in natural size, seated; the bust of General Petit, two charming children, etc., also in bronzed zinc. - M. Patural closes the bronzes with some objects of a patented composition.

Behind the squares we have just visited are the galleries containing the other French products exhibited on the ground floor and placed under the vault. To get there, we ask the visitor to exit the nave, pass in front of the Mulhouse trophy, and turn right. - The first of these galleries, which he will find on his right, contains on his left hand French shoes, boots, shoes, ankle boots, etc., for men and women, made of leather, fabric, silk, satin, velvet, etc., simple, plain, decorated, embroidered, etc. It is a series of showcases that are quite curious to look through.

The display cases on the right are more ornate. They begin with buttons, that article almost exclusively special to the Paris factory, buttons of ivory, bone, metal, cloth, with a greater or lesser number of holes, stamped and embossed buttons, a speciality so remarkable that one of its factories in the Faubourg Saint-Antoine was commissioned, a few years ago, to mint coins for a government in South America. - After buttons, still on the right, come fans, another industry in which Paris is without rival. One will stop with interest in front of those of Meyer and Duvelleroy, European names. One will notice, before, rubber fans, then lace fans, exhibited by Voisin, of the most agreeable taste, and finally, in front, charming screens by Vieniet.

The galleries behind this one are occupied by woollen cloths and fabrics, and, right up against the wall of the Palace, by woollen combings.

Returning to the former, one continues to follow, on the left, the shoes; on the right, one enters the goldsmith's shop, after the fans and the screens. - As the main silversmiths are exhibited both in the transept and in the squares corresponding to the trophies, we will only have to go through them quickly. The visitor will stop for a moment in front of Halcot's exhibition, and then quickly move on to Lord's exhibition of spoon and fork moulds, followed by the products obtained, and finally the series of goldsmiths' tableware.

We then enter the goldsmith's shop, plated and in various alloys; we find first of all, still on the right hand side, the exhibition of alphenide, a white composition, invented by Messrs Halphen, imitating silver; then English silver exhibited by Sonnois (nickel composition), then a delightful dessert service, made for Mr Magne, Minister of Finance, and which is a specimen of the application of the Algerian cactus to the goldsmith's trade. The fibres of the cactus mounted in silver offer the lightest and most delicate aspect.

On the other side, to the left, the shoes give way to the Granger exhibition, armour, helmets, damascened cuirasses, crowns, trophies of Roman weapons, all adorned with fake stones and destined for the costume or the theatre. - Next come children's toys, masks, etc., among which we can distinguish Aubert, manufacturer of escamotage toys, and Lorbaud for tin toys. After the toys come walking sticks, parasols, umbrellas, whips, etc., then wedding baskets, and bodywork in general.

Returning to the first gallery, we find on the right first hats, then small pieces of furniture, boxes, etc., of Parisian manufacture, and finally we enter the tablettery which occupies the two sides of the gallery. - It begins, on the left, with the ivory tabletterie of the town of Dieppe, which has a traditional skill for these objects. First, there is a beautiful sculpted ivory Christ by Despoilly, then a monument of 40,000 pieces of ivory and wood; two beautiful sculpted ivory lamps, then large cut ivory leaves, a chapel, etc.; etc.

Opposite, there is the tablettery of buffalo horn, tortoiseshell, etc., pipes, spoons, chains, snuffboxes, cane and umbrella handles, visiting books, etc., etc.

Behind them were common glassware, window glass, tiles of all kinds, retort and experiment glasses, large spiral draws, wets, glass tubes, frosted glass, etc.

Applied to the wall, the marine and working ropework occupies all the recessed space of these galleries, and extends to the entrance door reserved for the exhibitors.

In the first gallery, after the exhibition of tableware, begins the very interesting exhibition of French photography.

The most remarkable exhibits are in the first square, on the panel to the left, which faces the visitor coming from the west. A magnificent view of the Arènes de Nîmes and another of the Mont-d'Or, by Bisson frères; the photographs of monuments and landscapes are executed on a large scale and achieved with admirable perfection. - On the opposite panel are the photographs of M. Bayard representing the Venus de Milo, under several faces.

M. Bayard, who is one of the fathers of photography, has already had the medal in London.

In the next square are the most beautiful photographs of the French exhibition; it is a panoramic view of the Mont Blanc range, formed by the union of fourteen plates in a single picture. The extent, the clarity, the perfect concordance of these prints is of the most surprising effect. - Then there are beautiful photographic prints by Gérothwohl and Tanner of Paris, representing busts of natural size. In the corridor between the second and third photographic squares, there are prints by Tournachon et Cie.

Photography is followed by printing. In the panel on the right, one will notice the colour prints, among others those of Chevreul, representing 720 shades, drawn from 4 mother colours. One will notice a very successful fan, made by this precedent, and vignettes; among others the portrait of Raphaël as a child. From there; one will go to see in the panel a beautiful Gospel, adorned with vignettes; then in the next square, on the right, the engravings of Goupil and Co., from the centre of which appears the beautiful hemicycle of the Palais des Beaux-Arts, painted by Delaroche; to the right of this hemicycle, at the bottom of the transverse panel, is a proof of the engraving of the Smala by Horace Vernet; after, in the same square, of.-, specimens of impressions in wash.

The corridor which separates this square from the next contains, on the panel facing the visitor, flowers cut with scissors with marvellous skill by Madame la Comtesse de Dampierre.

The following squares contain first of all specimens of chromolithography, headed by those of Graft, then caries and graphics, then finally the successive exhibitions of bookbinding and stationery, in the middle of which is a small machine for making envelopes; then finally specimens of music printing, which end the exhibition of this gallery.

To complete the French exhibition on the ground floor, we suggest that the visitor proceed to the large entrance on the east side, which separates the English and French sections. In this great aisle, which leads from the east door to the transept, the marbles of both countries have been placed. The French marbles are on the left. One notices, among other things, a beautiful shelf by M. Géruzet in Bagnères-de-Bigorre, columns and tables in stucco by M. Crapoix in Paris, a high relief representing Andromache at the capture of Troy, by M. Lépine (15,000 fr), marble objects from Corsica, a holy water font by M. Rougemont, magnificent fireplaces by M. Désauges, in Paris. Désauges, in Paris.

Behind this aisle and parallel to it are a large number of aisles, each devoted to a single branch of industry. The first contains corsets, shirts and ties; the second and third, hosiery; the fourth, men's clothing and theatrical wear; the fifth, straw and felt hats, headgear and hair wigs; the sixth, straw hats and wigs; the seventh, cotton fabrics; the eighth and ninth, laundries, finishes and dyes; the tenth, cotton weavings in the Upper Rhine; and the eleventh, various factories. These aisles are flanked on the right and left by two others, of which the one on the right or wall contains furs, wax busts, headdresses, braces, mechanical hats and gaiters; the one on the left contains basketry, feather dusters, laces and cords.

To the left of these aisles and forming an angle with them, there are others occupying the space behind the Imperial Printing House and up to the north wall of the palace. Starting with those at the front, we see brushmaking, tablettery and fans; bindings, cartons, books and samples of typographic foundry; papers, labels, mottos, engraved music; commercial registers, geographical maps, printing inks, etc. Among the caries is a relief plan of the siege of Sebastopol, by M. Bauerkeller in Paris. The back aisles contain embroidery and lace from Calais, calico, muslin, tulle, canvas, etc., from Colmar, Brittany and Laval, ropes, etc., porcelain, earthenware and ordinary pottery. Passing all these objects of lesser appearance, but of general utility, we return to the large entrance, where we find the terracotta objects of which we have spoken above, and on which we will take a quick look in passing.

Turning to the right, we see, at the entrance, reproductions of monuments from the Middle Ages, by Messrs. Virebent frères, a large Romanesque portico, natural size, and a small portico composed of fragments from the twelfth century. M. Graillon, on the other hand, has some nice small groups, among which are the Children at Play, Groups of Peasants, etc. Landais, in Tours, follows with very fine imitations of Bernard de Palissy; the manufacture of Voisinlieu, with stoneware pots, vases, etc.; that of Rubelles, with services, pots, vases; and finally, M. Barbizét, with imitations of Palissy, and a beautiful basket in the middle decorated with well imitated peaches and plums.

Opposite Mr. Follet, with various objects for garden ornaments and a vase, imitation of China, we see algarazzas or vases for refreshment. Mr. Lancestre, next door, has very beautiful vases, imitation China, one and a half metres high, which cost only 100 fr. each; Messrs. Rieder and Chambridge, volcanic porcelain, hardened and enamelled stoneware, their own process. M. Boissimon, with decorated baskets, vases, etc., and, at the end, M. Garnaud, with a balcony and statues in white terracotta. Among the latter, Polhymnia, after the antique, Leda, etc., and a large group, the Boar chased by Dogs, in one piece.

Continuing down the galleries, behind the squares, we find ordinary terracotta objects, bricks, slabs, fireplaces, etc. - Next come cotton fabrics, smooth woollen velvets, merinos, shawls from Amiens and Paris, sheets from Elbeuf and Sedan, fabrics from Roubaix, Lille, etc.

The visitor, having reached the end of the north side, turns left where he finds again the products of Lille, the glove-making of Paris and the province, and the fabrics, ordinary articles of Beauvais, Carcassonne, etc.

©Promenades dans l'exposition de 1855

Exposition universelle des produits de l'agriculture, de l'industrie et des beaux arts - Paris 1855

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-arts

15 mai 1855 - 15 novembre 1855


Retour - Liste Pavillons

9ème carré

manque image

Tournons à droite, où nous trouvons d’abord les chenets et les accessoires pour cheminées (pelles, pincettes, etc.), entre autres une très-belle garniture de foyer à main gauche, deux Guerriers assis, avec attributs de guerre, 550 fr. — M. Popon a des pendules et des lampes de porcelaine et bronze doré; M. Bavozet, des pendules, dont une à droite surmontée d’un beau groupe de deux Cavaliers combattant; et, à gauche, un modèle en bronze doré de la cathédrale de Reims, servant de pendule. — Sur l’étalage de M. Laureau, nous voyons deux lampes dont le piédestal, entouré de trois figures représentant la Science, l’Industrie et l’Agriculture, est du prix de 150 fr. chaque. Parmi les petits objets, la statue équestre de Frédéric-le-Grand, de 50 fr., et quatre statuettes dont deux à gauche (argent oxydé), l’Europe et l’Asie, et, à droite, l’Afrique et l’Amérique, dorées. Ces quatre statues ont valu à l’exposant la médaille de prix à Londres. Son voisin, M. Lefèvre, a encore des imitations de bronze parmi lesquelles deux charmants petits groupes, la Chasse et la Pêche, 25 fr. les deux. — M. Moris fils, do qui sont les Chevaux de Marly que nous avons vus au transept, expose de grands bronzes, ainsi que l’Atalante de Pradier, 800 fr., la Bacchante de Glodion, 800 fr., et le Signal du Sabbat, de Faillot. — Ces petits objets charmants sont de la composition et de l'exécution de l’exposant, ainsi que l’Amazone, à gauche. — M. Kreisser a des porcelaines avec montures de bronze doré, entre autres un très-beau bureau et une table avec peintures sur porcelaine.

MM. Eik et Durand, dont nous avons vu à la nef plusieurs grandes pièces, ont ici le tombeau de la mère du roi actuel d’Espagne. — Parmi les objets qui entourent ce tombeau, on remarquera, à main droite; le Chasseur indien sur le haut, le Sanglier, le buste du Pape en bas, et, à gauche, celui du prince Napoléon, l'Enfant à la tortue, etc. — MM. Villemsens et Lethimonier occupent le coin avec des objets d’église. — Suivent MM. Leclercq : deux statuettes, l’Agriculture et le Commerce, 225 fr. chaque; — Zier, colonne de. la place Vendôme, reproduite par la galvanoplastie, 1,000 fr.; — Poney, avec des objets de plâtre, couverts de bronze par l’électricité.

MM. Lionnel frères et Feuquières ont également des objets produits par la galvanoplastie. Au milieu de l'étalage du premier, on voit un grand plat représentant une scène de l’Enfer du Dante, par M. Garnier. — M. Gautier a des galvanoplasties sans soudure qu’il obtient par un procédé à lui.

M. Oudry expose des échantillons de tôles, couvertes par l’électricité d’une couche de cuivre pur, et un petit modèle en montre l'application à la doublure dos vaisseaux. — M. Thiébaut nous présente des bronzes sortis du moule, et pas encore polis ni ciselés.

Au premier carré intérieur, en face, M. Lefèvre expose de très-jolis petits tableaux en relief produits par la galvanoplastie. — M. Pompon, à côté, a des lampes et des lustres très-beaux, et M. Bernard de petits objets en bronze, parmi lesquels un canon monté qui sert d’encrier, un Matelot avec le drapeau anglais sur un canot, et un Highlander en bronze doré, etc. — M. Morisot occupe le second côté du carré, avec des galeries de cheminée de beaucoup de goût et de variété. Le garde-feu en haut, en forme de queue de paon, s’ouvre et se ferme par un ressort. — M. Georgi expose des lampes au deuxième côté et un réflecteur diaphane, ne produisant pas d’ombre. — A. Rouy a quelques bronzes moulés par un nouveau procédé à lui. — M- Lacarrière, au quatrième côté, a encore des lampes de formes très-variées et très-gracieuses, ainsi que les deux lustres portés par des figures représentant le Soleil et la Lune. En face et au deuxième carré du milieu, les lampes de M. Hubert. — M. Focx a des objets d'église et M. Bogaert des pendules en zinc très-bien dorées, parmi lesquelles une représentant l’Amour désarmé, pour 500 fr., deux statuettes (la Chasse), 14 fr. pièce, qui imitent parfaitement le bronze. — Miroy frères ont de très-jolis groupes et statues en zinc bronzé, ainsi que les bustes de la Reine et du prince Albert, Cérès et Pomone, etc. — M. Duchâteau a deux grandes statuettes, la Nuit et le Jour, 750 fr. la paire, Phidias, 100 fr., Michel-Ange, 55 fr., etc., en zinc galvanisé e.l doré. — M. Boy, une très-belle Espagnole en grandeur naturelle, assise; le buste du général Petit, deux enfants charmants, etc., également en zinc bronzé. — M. Patural clôt les bronzes avec quelques objets d’une composition brevetée.

Derrière les carrés que nous venons de parcourir, se trouvent les galeries qui renferment les autres produits français exposés au rez-de-chaussée et placés sous la voûte. Pour y arriver, nous prions le visiteur de sortir dans la nef, de passer devant le trophée de Mulhouse, et de tourner à droite. — La première de ces galeries qu’il trouvera à sa droite contient à main gauche les chaussures françaises, bottes, souliers, bottines, etc,, d’homme et de femme, en cuir, en étoffe, en soie, en satin, en velours, etc., simples, unis, ornés, brodés, etc. C’est une série de vitrines assez curieuses à parcourir de l’œil.

Les vitrines de droite sont plus ornées. Elles commencent par les boutons, cet article presque exclusivement spécial à la fabrique de Paris, boutons d’ivoire, d'os, de métal, d’étoffe, d’un nombre de trous plus ou moins grand, boutons frappés et estampés, spécialité tellement remarquable qu’une de ses fabriques du faubourg Saint-Antoine a été chargée, il y a quelques années, de frapper de la monnaie pour un gouvernement de l'Amérique du Sud. — Après les boutons, toujours à droite, viennent les éventails, encore une industrie où Paris est sans rival. On s’arrêtera avec intérêt devant ceux de Meyer et de Duvelleroy, noms européens. On remarquera, avant, des éventails en caoutchouc, puis des éventails en dentelle, exposés par Voisin, du goût le plus agréable, et enfin, devant, de charmants écrans de Vieniet.

Les galeries situées derrière celle-ci sont occupées par les draps et tissus de laine, et, tout-à-fait contre la muraille du Palais, par les peignages de laine.

En revenant dans la première, on continue à suivre, à main gauche, les chaussures ; à droite, on entre dans l’orfèvrerie, après les éventails et les écrans. — L’exposition des orfèvres principaux se trouvant tant dans le transept que dans les carrés qui correspondent aux trophées, nous n’aurons qu'il parcourir rapidement ceux-ci. Le visiteur s’arrêtera un instant devant l’exposition de Halcot, pour passer rapidement à celle de Lord qui expose des moules de cuillers et de fourchettes, puis des produits obtenus, enfin la série de fabrication des ustensiles de table en orfèvrerie.

On entre alors dans l’orfèvrerie plaquée et en alliages divers ; on trouve d'abord, toujours à main droite, l’exposition de l'alphénide, composition blanche, inventée par MM. Halphen, imitant bien l’argent; puis de l’argent anglais exposé par Sonnois (composition de nickel), puis un ravissant service de dessert, fabriqué pour M. Magne, ministre des finances, et qui est un spécimen de l'application du cactus algérien à l’orfèvrerie. Les fibres du cactus montées en argent offrent l’aspect le plus léger et le plus délicat.

De l’autre côté, à gauche, les chaussures font place à l’exposition de Granger, armures, casques, cuirasses damasquinés, couronnes, trophée d’armes romaines, le tout orné de pierres fausses et destiné au costume ou au théâtre. — Viennent ensuite les jouets d’enfant, les masques, etc., parmi lesquels oh distinguera Aubert, fabricant de jouets d'escamotage, et Lorbaud pour les jouets de fer blanc. Après les jouets, viennent les cannes, les ombrelles, les parapluies, les fouets, etc., puis les corbeilles de mariage, et labrosserie en général.

Revenus â nouveau dans la première galerie, nous trouvons à droite d'abord des chapeaux, puis de petits meubles, coffrets, etc., de fabrication parisienne, et enfin nous entrons dans la tabletterie qui occupe les deux côtés de la galerie. — Elle débute, à gauche, par la tabletterie d'ivoire de la ville de Dieppe, qui a pour ces objets une habileté traditionnelle. D’abord, nous citerons un beau Christ en ivoire sculpté, de Despoilly, puis un monument de 40,000 pièces d’ivoire et de bois; deux belles lampes d’ivoire sculpté, puis des feuilles d’ivoire coupé de grande dimension, une chapelle, etc.; etc.

En face, se trouve la tabletterie de corne de buffle, d’écaille,- etc., pipes, cuillers, chaînettes, tabatières, pommes de cannes et de parapluies, carnets de visite, etc., etc.

Derrière, on a placé la verrerie commune, le verre à vitre, les carreaux de toute sorte, les verres à cornue et à expériences, les grands étirages en spirale, les mouilles, les tubes de verre, les verres dépolis, etc.

Appliquée à la muraille, la corderie de marine et de travail occupe tout l'espace reculé de ces galeries, et s étend jusqu’à la porte d'entrée réservée aux exposants.

Dans la première galerie, après l’exposition de la tabletterie, commence l’exposition fort intéressante de la photographie française.

Les expositions les plus remarquables sont dans le premier carré, sur le panneau à gauche, qui fait face au visiteur qui vient de l’ouest. Une magnifique vue des Arènes de Nîmes et une autre du Mont-d’Or, par Bisson frères; les photographies de monuments et de paysage sont exécutées sur grande échelle et réussies avec une perfection admirable. — Sur le panneau en face, se trouvent les photographies de M. Bayard représentant la Vénus de Milo, sous plusieurs faces.

M. Bayard, qui est un des pères de la photographie, à déjà eu la médaille à Londres.

Dans le carré suivant, se trouvent les plus belles ; photographies de l’exposition française ; c’est une vue panoramique de la chaîne du Mont Blanc, formée de la réunion de quatorze planches en un seul tableau. L’étendue, la limpidité, la parfaite concordance de ces épreuves est de l’effet le plus surprenant. — On remarquera ensuite de belles épreuves photographiques de Gérothwohl et Tanner de Paris,- représentant des bustes de grandeur naturelle; —Dans le couloir qui sépare le second et le troisième carré de la photographie, on verra les épreuves de Tournachon et Cie.

A la photographie succède l'imprimerie. On remarquera dans le panneau à droite les impressions en couleurs, entre autres celles de Chevreul, représentant 720 nuances, tirées de 4 couleurs mères. On remarquera un éventail bien réussi, fabriqué par ce précédé, et des vignettes; entre autres le portrait de Raphaël enfant. De là; on ira voir dans le panneau un bel Évangile, orné de vignettes; puis dans le carré suivant, à droite, les gravures de Goupil et Cie, du centre desquelles figure le bel hémicycle du Palais des Beaux-Arts, peint par Delaroche; à droite de cet hémicycle, au bas du panneau transversal, est une épreuve de la gravure de la Smala d’Horace Vernet ;- après, dans le même carré, de.-, spécimens d’impressions au lavis.

Le couloir qui sépare ce carré du suivant renferme ; sur |e panneau qui fait face au visiteur des fleurs découpées aux ciseaux avec un merveilleux talent par Mme la comtesse de Dampierre.

Les carrés suivants contiennent d’abord des spécimens de chromolithographie, en tête ceux de Graft, puis des caries et graphiques, puis enfin les expositions successives de la reliure et de la papeterie, au milieu desquelles se trouve une petite machine à fabriquer les enveloppes ; puis enfin des spécimens d’imprimerie de musique, qui terminent l’exposition de cette galerie.

Pour terminer l’exposition française du rez-de-chaussée, nous proposons au visiteur d’avancer jusqu’à la grande entrée du côté est, qui sépare la partie anglaise de celle de France. Dans cette grande allée qui mène de la porte est au transept, on a placé les marbres des deux pays. Les marbres français sont à main gauche. On y remarque, entre autres, une belle étagère de M. Géruzet à Bagnères-de-Bigorre, des colonnes et des tables en stuc de M. Crapoix à Paris, un haut-relief représentant Andromaque à la prise de Troie, de M. Lépine (15,000 fr), des objets de marbre de Corse, un bénitier de M. Rougemont, de magnifiques cheminées deM. Désauges, à Paris.

Derrière cette allée et parallèlement, se trouvent un grand nombre d’allées dont chacune est consacrées une seule branche d’industrie. La première contient les corsets, les chemises et les cravates; la deuxième et la troisième, les articles de la bonneterie; la quatrième, les vêtements d’hommes et les vêtements de théâtre; la cinquième, les chapeaux de paille et de feutre, les coiffures et les perruques en cheveux; la sixième, te chapeaux de pailles et les poignes; la septième, les cotonnades ; la huitième et la neuvième, les blanchisseries, apprêts et teintures ; la dixième, les tissages de coton du Haut-Rhin ; la onzième enfin, les manufactures diverses. Ces allées sont flanquées à droite et è gauche de deux autres, dont celle de droite ou du mur, contient des fourrures, des bustes en cire, des coiffures, des bretelles, des chapeaux mécaniques et des guêtres ; celle de gauche contient les vanneries, les plumeaux, les lacets et cordons.

A gauche de ces allées et formant angle avec elles, s’en trouvent d’autres occupant l’espace derrière l’Imprimerie Impériale et jusqu’au mur nord du palais. On y voit, en commençant par celles du devant, la brosserie, tabletterie et des éventails; les reliures, cartons, livres et échantillons de fonderie typographique; des papiers, étiquettes, devises, musique gravée ; des registres de commerce, cartes géographiques, encres d’imprimerie, etc. Parmi les caries, se trouve un plan en relief du siège de Sébastopol, de M. Bauerkeller à Paris. Les allées du fond contiennent des broderies et des dentelles de Calais, des calicots, des mousselines, des tulles, des toiles, etc., de Colmar, de la Bretagne et de Laval, des cordages, etc., porcelaines, faïences et poteries ordinaires. En passant devant tous ces objets de moindre apparence, mais d’utilité générale, nous revenons à la grande entrée, où nous trouvons les objets de terre cuite dont nous avons parlé plus haut, et sur lesquels nous allons jeter un rapide coup d’œil en passant.

En tournant à droite, nous voyons, à l'entrée, les reproductions de monuments du moyen âge, de MM. Virebent frères, un grand portique roman , grandeur naturelle, et un petit portique composé de fragments du douzième siècle. M. Graillon, â côté, a de jolis petits groupes, entre autres celui des Enfants jouant, des Groupes de Paysans, etc. Landais, à Tours, suit avec de très-belles imitations de Bernard de Palissy ; la manufacture de Voisinlieu, avec des pots, des vases, etc. dé grès ; celle de Rubelles, avec des services, des pots, des vases; et enfin, M. Barbizét, avec des imitations de Palissy, et une belle corbeille au milieu ornée de pèches et de prunes bien imitées.

En face de M. Follet, avec différents objets pour ornements de jardins et un vase, imitation de Chine, on voit des algarazzas ou vases à rafraîchir. M. Lancestre, à côté, a de très-beaux vases, imitation de Chine, d’un métré et demi de hauteur, qui ne coûtent que 100 fr. pièce; MM. Rieder et Chambridge, de la porcelaine volcanique, grès durci et émaillé, procédé à eux. M. Boissimon, avec des corbeilles, des vase;, etc., décorés, et, au bout, M. Garnaud, avec un balcon et des statues en terre cuite blanche. Parmi ces dernières, Polhymnie, d’après l’antique, Léda, etc., et un grand groupe, le Sanglier chassé par des Chiens, d’une seule pièce.

En poursuivant les galeries, derrière les carré, nous trouvons des objets ordinaires de terre cuite, des briques, des dalles, des cheminées, etc. — Suivent les tissus de coton, les velours lisses de laine, les mérinos, les châles d’Amiens et de Paris, les draps d’Elbeuf et de Sedan, les étoffes de Roubaix, Lille, etc.

Le visiteur, arrivé au bout du côté nord, tourne à gauche où il trouve encore les produits de Lille, la ganterie de Paris et de la province, et les étoffes, articles ordinaires de Beauvais, Carcassonne, etc.

©Promenades dans l'exposition de 1855