Back - List of Pavilions

8th square (between columns 20 and 28) - Expo Paris 1855

Missing picture

Returning to the nave, to enter the bronze squares behind the trophy of this industry, we find clocks and vases in the Byzantine style, decorated with cold enamels in the manner of the ancients. M. Lechêne has a pretty mirror and two groups: the Child defended by the dog against a snake, and the Snake killed. -M. Susse, of whom we have seen some bronzes in the nave, has here the bust of the Emperor, and some mantelpiece trimmings, including a clock adorned with the pretty group, the Bacchante playing with Bacchus as a child. Charming little statuettes surround these objects. Note the Apollo of Belvedere, in miniature, Diana with a doe, etc. Mr. Raulin Bigot has among these groups and statuettes a Venus with a shell (800 fr.). M. Alix has Charming groups, as well as the two groups of Children with a Dog, on the right hand; M. Daubrée, among others, the Eagle and the Vulture disputing a prey; the Slave with the child of the young master; young boy carrying a young girl, etc. We pass a door and arrive at M. Delafontaine's display, where we see, among other things, a mantelpiece in the middle, a beautiful clock, with the group that surmounts the great portico at the entrance to the Palais de l'Industrie, France distributing crowns to Science and Industry.

M. Mignot exhibits art and fantasy bronzes, among which lamps and candlesticks, oriental style, of a very nice effect. - Griegnon-Meusnier has clocks, porcelain vases decorated with bronze, etc. - M. Dépensier, a very nice group, a small Faun dragged by a tiger in a carriage pushed by children. The wheel of the carriage serves as a dial. Another, in the same genre, next to it, is dragged by a goat; very beautiful lamp-holders (tripods), at the bottom, and fireguards at the bottom. - Mr. Bonnote has a very original mantelpiece. It is bronze imitating wood, with foliage of a very happy effect. The candelabras form trees, with birds' nests; a fox below is about to climb up to look for them. - M. Faye has, in the middle of his exhibition, a very beautiful mantelpiece, with a historical group. It is the Count of Soissons wounded to death at the battle of Sedan. The two candelabras represent Henri, Duke of Guise, on the left, and Frédéric de la Tour-d'Auvergne, Duke of Bouillon, on the right. This decoration is worth 1,200 fr. At the bottom, there is a pretty inkwell with children fishing with nets.

In the doorway we see M. Rollin, with a very pretty marble clock, and opposite, M. Gautier, with beautiful candelabra on imitation China vases. - M. Servant has gilt bronze mantelpieces, as does M. Bonnote. - On Mr. Bertault's display, we can see, among others, two greenish-grey candlesticks at the bottom, which seem to us very pretty. A turtle forms the base. A heron is standing on its back, and carries in its beak a snake which in turn carries the candle-holder: the price is 70 fr. - M. Mercier, next door, has gilt bronze clocks, the one on the left representing a Nymph tearing off the wings of Love asleep in a flower. Mr. Weygand has among his art bronzes, on the side of the door, two charming statuettes, representing the children of Queen Victoria, one as a grenadier, the other as a sailor. On the front, he has beautiful porcelain and gilt bronze mantelpieces. Mr. Barye has very pretty groups of animals, as well as the deer and the tiger on a clock, above, the tiger and the alligator on the right, the alligator and its prey below and on the left, the cat and the rooster above.

Opposite and in the middle square, M. Marchand's bronzes, among which two statuettes, the Archer and the Frondeur, of beautiful creation. Two candelabras forming branches filled with grapes on the front are of a very nice effect. - Mr. Buignier, on the right-hand side, has a bronze desk set, which rotates and is mobile. The inkstand, hourglass etc., are suspended and can be moved without tipping over.

The second side in the middle is occupied by Mr. Raingo, whose objects we have also seen in the nave. Here, there is a very beautiful vase, on a pedestal decorated with malachite, worth 1,100 fr., and two square vases worth 900 fr. a piece. -Mr. Noël, beside him, has among his charming little objects a box in the middle, and groups, the Dog standing on poultry, two candlesticks where a bird holds the wick, a white feather, to which a little Mephisto clings, an old witch holding a wick and serving as a candlestick; on the left, a little child asleep in his chair, his toys in his hand. - M. Lévy exhibits, among other things, two large porcelain lamps mounted in gilt bronze, decorated with the portrait of Marie-Antoinette, 850 fr.; and a chandelier in porcelain and bronze, 1,750 fr. M. Grivot still has some very pretty little things, a page standing, holding a banner in his hand: in the middle, One chair and a prie-dieu. Two knights' helmets are in front of him on the floor; the two helmets serve as an inkstand, while the chair hides matches; the prie-dieu is a bell, and the pope's head a seal: the price is 80 fr. A loaded carriage, below, is still an inkstand, as is the Boutique du Saltimbanque, which also hides a piece of music: price 450 fr.

The last side of this square is occupied by M. Lerolle, with a large standing figure holding a cup after the antique, in the middle, a beautiful chandelier decorated with glass grapes, clocks, etc.

Messrs Miroy frères have, in the middle, a very elegant basket of flowers in gilt bronze, on a tray also in gilt bronze. Around this tray are dogs chasing game, and in the middle the arms of Prince Jerome, to whom this piece belongs. The basket is worth 1,800 fr., and the tray 1,200. - Among the statuettes, the Amazon of Kiss, on the left; two flag bearers, on the right. - Victor Paillard, on the right, also has some beautiful clocks and candelabras. A small statuette, among others, the work of M. Tannière, is very remarkable in its execution. - Mr. Lesueur, who occupies the small corner on the next side, has, among these objects, a very beautiful ice bucket in the form of a jar, representing an Indian hunt in his composition. An Indian is standing on top of the lid. Another is lying at the bottom; the hunt is around the jar, and of a very remarkable execution. It is worth 1,000 fr. Its counterpart has been placed in the trophy cabinet of the Paris industry. Another small jar or glass, on the right hand, is an imitation of the model of Benvenuto Cellini in the museum of Venice, worth 180 fr. All these objects are in old silver colour. M. Charpentier occupies the middle of this side. Note the Belle Jardinière; in the middle, the Chasseur porte-lampe at the top, and the two French and Roman Warriors on marble pedestals at the entrance. Among the smaller objects of M.Perrot, next to it, small Etruscan pots, cups, etc.

The fourth side belongs to M. Labroue, with a beautiful silver basket, filled with grapes, in the middle, worth 2,500 fr. Among the objets d'art, the Lion in Love, by Geef (1,500 fr.), and a very fine vase by Ferrai, on the left hand; Love reading his arrow from the top of the lid, the two bows are formed by two figures of a woman, representing the Dawn; the rim bears antique subjects. The price is 950 fr. M. Gaudin shows us some very pretty objects silvered by the metallic application of platinum on metal by the galvanic way, a process of his invention.

M. Houdebine, the first on the right hand, has a very nice clock, gilt bronze, in the middle, representing Diana; two silver statuettes (Warriors), on the left hand, and medallions.- Next to it, MM. Delesalle et Cie, where we see a group with the inscription Italy which is represented by General Bonaparte on horseback, on a marble pedestal: in the corners, drums and trumpets give the signal of the attack. - Mr Regent follows with a very beautiful gilded bronze clock, representing Love coming, on the right, and Love going, on the left. At the bottom right is a very nice group representing a dinner of peasants in Italy. - Mr. Vauvray has a very fine statuette of William Shakespeare crowned by the Genius, (1,200 fr.), and below a magnificent mantelpiece, composed of a clock and two candelabras. The clock represents the Genius of Arts and Industry, calling to the Universal Exhibition the five parts of the world. In the centre, the Genius, leaning on the book of Science, holding palms in his hand, invites all the peoples of the universe to the peaceful struggle that is about to begin. On the left side, is the ancient Continent. In the foreground, modern Europe, holding the Press in her hand, is advancing and bringing in her wake Africa, still a child. In the background, Asia carries a perfume burner, emblem of the East. On the right, America unfurling the treasures of the New World, and Oceania. On the right and left, behind the groups, the prows of ships indicate the relationships that the peoples have managed to establish between them. The bas-relief of the frieze represents the work of the intellect and manual labour. The two candelabras represent Art and Science. The whole is designed by Vauvray frères, sculpted by Jules Salmson, Among the objects of art of great beauty, of Mr. Leblanc, one will notice a very pretty small cup, carried by a Faun charged with fish, and surmounted by Neptune. A small child on the left, and a paper-weight below, on the right, formed of a lizard and two snakes, are still worthy of attention.-M. de Sorcy has mantelpiece trimmings and some statuettes, among which, at the left end, the Meditation, seated figure, by Machault. - In the doorway, M. Laquis, with some sculptured marbles, including the Bird defending its nest against a Rat. Opposite, M. Samson, with pretty porcelain cups, trimmed with gilt bronze, and large imitation China vases serving as candelabras. - Mr. Fétu has, among other things, a very nice gilt bronze mantelpiece (Greek style), decorated with chains of a very nice effect. The Tragedy and the Comedy are seated on both sides of the dial. -Mr. Sorel-Dona has church ornaments, and Mr. Gallois aîné, on the other side of the door, among other things, two pretty cups, below, worth 150 fr., and two statuettes, above and to the left, Tragedy and Music, each costing 50 fr. - Messrs Duplan and Salle, a very fine gilt-bronze clock, in the middle, and statuettes of Mephisto, and the wounded Heron, after M. Comoleyra. Opposite and to the left, M. Dardonville exhibits lamps and chandeliers. Mercury carrying a torch which serves as a lamp holder is very beautiful.

M. Gautier has a very pretty group in the middle of his dressing room, and, at the sides, M. Lequesne's Dancing Faun and a Woman carrying a Faun. Another Dancing Faun, after the antique, at the back, on the right, will be noticed again. - Next comes Mr Boyer, with a beautiful clock surmounted by a group representing Industry crushing Ignorance, devoured by Envy. The figure of Industry is very beautiful, but the rest seems too confused and overloaded. The two knights guarding the entrance are charming in composition and execution. In the small display next to it, one can see a pretty little statue of Béranger, and two small statuettes, the Hunting and the Fishing.

Graux-Marly occupies the second side with large bronzes, among which two candelabras carried by Indian women on a base decorated with malachite, costing 18,000 fr., and above all a candelabra, very pure in style, a tripod imitating the antique, surmounted by a Mercury, costing 1,500 fr. and a large cactus vase, on the right, bought by the Emperor.

On the third side, church objects, by M. Désiré, and clocks by M. Lemaire, including the middle one of very original composition. A Venus with a small Love is standing in a niche surrounded by gilded bronze bobèches. - M. Pikard has a very nice clock for the dining room, decorated with the imperial eagle and medallions with the portraits of the Emperor and the Empress; a clock on the front, in marble, with a group, a Mother caressing her children, and the Horses of Marly. - The fourth side is occupied by M. Marquis, with very beautiful chandeliers and candelabras.

©Promenades dans l'exposition de 1855

Exposition universelle des produits de l'agriculture, de l'industrie et des beaux arts - Paris 1855

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-arts

15 mai 1855 - 15 novembre 1855


Retour - Liste Pavillons

8ème carré (entre colonnes 20 et 28)

manque image

Revenons encore dans la nef, pour entrer dans les carrés de bronze, derrière le trophée de cette industrie, et nous trouvons des pendules et des vases dans le style byzantin, ornés d’émaux à froid, à la manière des anciens. M. Lechêne a une jolie glace et deux groupes: l’Enfant défendu par le chien contre un serpent, et le Serpent tué. —M. Susse, dont nous avons vu quelques bronzes dans la nef, a ici le buste de l’Empereur, et des garnitures de cheminée, dont une pendule ornée du joli groupe, la Bacchante jouant avec Bacchus enfant. De charmantes petites statuettes entourent ces objets. On remarquera l’Apollon du Belvédère, en miniature, Diane à la biche, etc. M. Raulin Bigot a parmi ces groupes et statuettes une Vénus à la coquille (800 fr.)-. M. Alix a des groupes Charmants, ainsi que les deux groupes .d'Enfants avec un Chien, à main1 droite; M. Daubrée, entres autres, l'Aigle et le Vautour se disputant une proie; l’Esclave avec l’enfant du; jeune maître; jeune garçon portant une jeune fille, etc. Nous passons devant une porte et nous arrivons à l'étalage de M. Delafontaine, où nous voyons entre autres une garniture de cheminée au milieu, une belle pendule, avec le groupe qui surmonte le grand portique de l’entrée du Palais de l'Industrie, la France distribuant des couronnes à la Science et à l'Industrie.

M. Mignot expose des bronzes d’art et de fantaisie, parmi lesquels des lampes et des chandeliers, style orienta], d’un très-bel effet. — Griegnon-Meusnier a des pendules , des vases de porcelaine garnis de bronze, etc. — M. Dépensier, un très-joli groupe, petit Faune traîné par un tigre en voiture poussée par des enfants. La roue du chariot sert de cadran. Une autre, dans le même genre, à côté, est traînée par un bouc ; de très-beaux porte-lampes (trépieds), au fond, et des garde-feux en bas. — M. Bonnote a une garniture de cheminée très-originale. C’est du bronze imitant le bois, avec du feuillage d’un très-heureux effet. Les candélabres forment des arbres, avec des nids d’oiseaux; un renard en bas s’apprête à monter pour les chercher. — M. Faye a, au milieu de son exposition, une très-belle garniture de cheminée, avec un groupe historique. C’est le comte de Soissons blessé à mort à la bataille de Sedan. Les deux candélabres représentent Henri, duc de Guise, à gauche, et Frédéric de la Tour-d’Auvergne, duc de Bouillon, à droite. Celte garniture vaut 1,200 fr. —On remarquera encore en bas un joli encrier, des enfants pêchant au filet.

Dans la porte que nous rencontrons, nous voyons, M. Rollin, avec une très-jolie pendule en marbre, et en face, M. Gautier, de beaux candélabres sur vases imitation de Chine. — M. Servant a des garnitures de cheminée en bronze doré, ainsi que M. Bonnote. — Sur l’étalage de M. Bertault, on voit entre autres sur le bas deux chandeliers couleur vert-de-gris, qui nous paraissent très-jolis. Une tortue forme la base. Un héron est debout sur son dos, et porte dans son bec un serpent qui porte à son tour le porte-bougie : le prix est de 70 fr. On y remarquera encore l’Aigle terrassant une hydre. — M. Mercier, à côté, a des pendules en bronze doré dont celle à gauche représente une Nymphe arrachant les ailes à l’Amour endormi dans une fleur. M. Weygand a parmi ses bronzes d’art, du côté de la porte, deux charmantes statuettes, représentant les enfants de la reine Victoria, l'un en grenadier, l’autre en matelot. Sur le devant, il a de jolies garnitures de cheminée en porcelaine et bronze doré. M. Barye a de très-jolis groupes d’animaux, ainsi que le cerf et le tigre sur une pendule, en haut, le tigre et l’alligator à droite, l’alligator et sa proie en bas et à gauche, le chat et le coq au-dessus.

En face et au carré du milieu, les bronzes de M. Marchand, parmi lesquels deux statuettes, le Tireur à l'arc et le Frondeur, de belle création. Deux candélabres formant branches remplies de raisin sur le devant sont d'un très-bel effet. — M. Buignier, au côté droit, a un nécessaire de bureau en bronze, à rotation, et mobile. L’encrier, le sablier etc., sont suspendus et peuvent être mus sans se renverser.

Le deuxième côté du milieu est occupé par M. Raingo, dont nous avons vu également des objets dans la nef. Ici, il y a un très-beau vase, sur piédestal orné de malachite, de 1,100 fr., et deux vases carrés de 900 fr. la pièce. —M. Noël, à côté de lui, a parmi ses charmants petits objets un coffret au milieu, et des groupes, le Chien debout sur de la volaille, deux chandeliers où un oiseau tient la bobèche, une plume blanche, à laquelle se cramponne un petit Méphisto, une vieille sorcière tenant une bobèche et servant de chandelier; à gauche, un petit enfant endormi dans sa chaise, ses jouets en main. — M. Lévy expose entre autres deux grandes lampes de porcelaine montées, de bronze doré, ornées du portrait de Marie-Antoinette, 850 fr. ; et un lustre en porcelaine et bronze de 1,750 fr. M. Grivot a encore de très-jolies petites choses, un page debout, tenant une oriflamme à la main : au milieu, One chaise et un prie-dieu. Deux casques de chevaliers sont devant lui parterre; les deux casques servent d'encrier, tandis que la chaise cache des allumettes; le prie-dieu est une sonnette, et la tête du pape un cachet : le prix est de 80 fr. Une voiture chargée, au-dessous,-est encore un encrier, ainsi que la Boutique du Saltimbanque, qui cache en outre une musique: prix 450 fr.

Le dernier côté de ce carré est occupé par M. Lerolle, avec une grande figure debout tenant une coupe d’après l’antique, au milieu, un beau lustre orné de raisin en verre, des pendules, etc.

MM. Miroy frères ont, au milieu, une très-élégante corbeille de fleurs en bronze doré, sur un plateau également en bronze doré. Autour de ce plateau, on voit des chiens poursuivant du gibier, et, au milieu, les armes du prince Jérôme, à qui cette pièce appartient. La corbeille vaut 1,800 fr., et le plateau 1,200. — Parmi les statuettes, l’Amazone de Kiss, à gauche; deux Porte-drapeaux, à droite. — Victor Paillard, à droite, a aussi de belles pendules et de beaux candélabres. Une petite statuette, entre autres, œuvre de M. Tannière, est très-remarquable d’exécution. — M. Lesueur, qui occupe le petit coin du côté suivant, a, parmi ces objets, un très-beau seau à glaces en forme de bocal, représentant une chasse indienne ds sa composition. Un Indien debout surmonte le couvercle. Un autre est couché en bas ; la chasse est autour du bocal, et d’une exécution très-remarquable. Il vaut 1,000 fr. Son pendant a été mis dans le trophée de l’industrie de Paris. Un autre petit bocal ou verre, à main droite, est une imitation du modèle de Benvenuto Cellini du musée de Venise, de 180 fr. Tous ces objets sont en couleur vieil argent. M. Charpentier occupe le milieu de ce côté. On remarquera la Belle Jardinière; au milieu, le Chasseur porte-lampe du haut, et les deux Guerriers franc et romain sur piédestal de marbre, à l’entrée. Parmi les plus petits objets de M.Perrot, à côté, de petits pots étrusques, des coupes, etc.

Le quatrième côté est à M. Labroue, avec une belle corbeille argentée, remplie de raisin, au milieu, de 2,500 fr. Parmi les objets d’art, le Lion amoureux, de Geef (1,500 fr.), et un très-beau vase de Ferrai, à main gauche; l’Amour lire sa flèche du haut du couvercle, les deux arcs sont formés par deux figures de femme, représentant l’Aurore; le pourtour porte des sujets antiques. Le prix est de 950 fr. M. Gaudin nous montre de très-jolis objets argentés par l’application métallique du platine sur métal par la voie galvanique, procédé de son invention.

M. Houdebine, le premier à main droite, a une très-jolie pendule, bronze doré, au milieu, représentant Diane ; deux statuettes (Guerriers) argentées, à main gauche, et des médaillons.—A côté, MM. Delesalle et Cie, où on voit un groupe avec l’inscription Italie qui est représentée par le général Bonaparte à cheval, sur un socle de marbre : dans les coins, des tambours et des trompettes donnent le signal de l’attaque. — M. Régent suit avec une très-belle pendule de bronze doré, représentant l’Amour qui vient, à droite, et l'Amour qui s’en va, à gauche. On remarquera encore en bas et à droite, un très-joli groupe représentant un dîner de Paysans en Italie. — M. Vauvray a une très-belle statuette de William Shakespeare couronné par le Génie, (1,200 fr.), et en bas une magnifique garniture de cheminée, composée d'une pendule et de deux candélabres. La pendule représente le Génie des Arts et de l'Industrie, appelant à l’Exposition universelle les cinq parties du monde. Au centre, le Génie, appuyé sur le livre de la Science, tenant en main des palmes, convie tous les peuples de l’univers à la lutte pacifique qui va s'ouvrir. Au côté gauche, est l’ancien Continent. Au premier plan, l’Europe moderne, tenant en main la Presse, s'avance et amène à sa suite l’Afrique, encore enfant. Au second plan, l’Asie porte un brûle-parfums, emblème de l’Orient. Au côté droit, l’Amérique déroulant les trésors du Nouveau-Monde, et l’Océanie. A droite et à gauche, derrière les groupes, des proues de navires indiquant les rapports que les peuples sont parvenus à établir entre eux. Le bas-relief de la frise représente les travaux de l’intelligence et les travaux manuels. Les deux candélabres représentent l’Art et la Science. Le tout est dessiné par Vauvray frères, sculpté par Jules Salmson, Parmi les objets d’art d’une grande beauté, de M. Leblanc, on remarquera une très-jolie petite coupe, portée par un Faune chargé de poissons, et surmonté de Neptune. Un petit enfant à gauche, et un pèse-papier en bas, à droite, formé d’un lézard et de deux serpents, méritent encore l’attention.—M. de Sorcy a des garnitures de cheminée et quelques statuettes, parmi lesquelles, au bout gauche, la Méditation, figure assise, de Machault. — Dans la porte, M. Laquis, avec quelques marbres sculptés, dont l'Oiseau défendant son nid contre un Rat. En face, M. Samson, avec de jolies coupes en porcelaine, garnies de bronze doré, et de grands vases imitation de Chine servant de candélabres. — M. Fétu a, entre autres, une très-jolie garniture de cheminée en bronze doré (style grec), ornée de chaînettes d’un très-joli effet. La Tragédie et la Comédie sont assises des deux côtés du cadran. -M. Sorel-Dona a des ornements d’église, et M. Gallois aîné, de l’autre côté de la porte, entre autres, deux jolies coupes, en bas, de 150 fr., et deux statuettes, en haut et à gauche, la Tragédie et la Musique, du prix de 50 fr. chaque. — MM. Duplan et Salle, très-belle pendule en bronze doré, au milieu, et des statuettes de Méphisto, et le Héron blessé, d’après M. Comoleyra. En face et à main gauche, M. Dardonville expose des lampes et des lustres. Mercure portant un flambeau qui sert de porte-lampe est très-beau.

M. Gautier a un très-joli groupe au milieu de sa loge, et, aux côtés, le Faune dansant de M. Lequesne et une Femme portant un Faune. Un autre Faune dansant, d’après l’antique, au fond, à droite, sera encore remarqué. — Suit M. Boyer, avec une belle pendule surmontée d’un groupe représentant l’Industrie écrasant l'Ignorance, dévorée par l’Envie. La figure de l’industrie est très-belle, mais le reste paraît trop embrouillé et trop surchargé. Les deux chevaliers qui gardent l’entrée.sont charmants de composition et d’exécution. Dans son petit étalage, à côté, on voit une jolie petite statue de Béranger, et deux petites statuettes, la Chasse et la Pêche.

Graux-Marly occupe le deuxième côté avec de grands bronzes, parmi lesquels deux candélabres portés par des Indiennes sur un socle orné de malachite, du prix de 18,000 fr., et surtout un candélabre, très-pur de style, un trépied imité de l’antique, surmonté d’un Mercure, de 1,500 fr., et un grand vase à cactus, à droite, acheté par l’Empereur.

Au troisième côté, objets d’église, de M. Désiré, et pendules de M. Lemaire, dont celle du milieu de composition très-originale. Une Vénus avec un petit Amour se trouve debout dans une niche entourée de bobèches en bronze doré. — M. Pikard a une très-jolie pendule pour salle h manger, ornée de l’aigle impérial et de médaillons avec les portraits de l’Empereur et de l’Impératrice; une pendule, sur le devant, en marbre, avec un groupe, une Mère caressant ses enfants, et les Chevaux de Marly. — Le quatrième côté est occupé par M. Marquis, avec de très-beaux lustres et candélabres.

©Promenades dans l'exposition de 1855