Back - List of Pavilions

2nd square (between columns 7 and 10) - Expo Paris 1855

Missing picture

This room contains mainly reduced and enlarged reproductions of works of sculpture in plaster and other materials, sculptures on wood, plaster, etc., imitations of fruit, sculpture, etc., objects of fantasy.

As we enter the nave next to the trophy of Mr. Plon, we turn right and find before us a narrow display case well filled with wax imitations of fruits, from Mr. Barrois in Meaux. The baked apple, in front of the visitor, and the melon seem to us the most successful, as well as the two halves of a peach.

A panel with a wooden sculpture for architectural ornament, by Hardouin, in Paris, is next to it.

M. Thierry, next door, makes paper and cardboard frames for artists, which he calls artistic frames. The small frame to the side and on the left hand is more noteworthy, for it contains cameos and small heads serving as pins, very well sculptured, by M. Pline, engraver. A fireplace, all in wood, is then on our way, richly gilded, imitating marble in a rather imperfect manner.

Mr. Beauplan, official supplier to Their Majesties the Emperor and Empress and to Prince Napoleon, exhibited medallions containing the portraits of Their Majesties, Napoleon I and Marie-Louise, Queen Victoria and Prince Albert, and finally Prince Napoleon.

A second display of imitated fruit is made of stoneboard, a material that does not seem to lend itself as well as wax to this kind of reproduction. The pears, among others, are very well done. A medallion bearing the heads of Napoleon I and Marie-Louise, made of the same material, can still be found in the works of M. Louesse.

M. Sorly, gilder to the Minister of State and the Emperor's household and to the imperial factories of Sèvres, Gobelins, etc., exhibited, among others, a beautiful font in Gothic style, with Christ in the middle. The two chandeliers at the sides have a strange but new shape. Various beautifully crafted frames are spread out on the table below these objects.

The Virgin and the two angels, which we find continuing, are made of stone-cardboard, as are the other church ornaments which surround these objects, exhibited by Mr. Solon, who has put at the bottom of his exhibition a book full of sculptures reproduced by photography.

Mr. Heiligenthal, next door, uses a somewhat different material for similar objects; he calls it putty-stone, and makes very pretty things out of it, to which he sometimes gives the appearance of metal, as we see in the case of the little Christ placed in the middle on the table.

We pass in front of the entrance between columns 7 and 8, and we find more church ornaments; but this time the material of which they are made is even more curious than that of the previous ones. It is sawdust that makes up the paste used to form the statue of the Virgin with the Child Jesus, and the other ornaments that we find in the exhibition of Mr. Hugon-Roydor.

A large dressing room lined with wallpaper in relief of good effect and imitating woodcarving, presents itself to us in the middle of the panel we are reviewing. Two doors, also covered with arabesques and ornaments in relief, are leaning against the wall, in front of them, two chairs in the same style. All these arabesques and ornaments are made of leather, and come from the leather factory of Mr. Dulud. According to him, leather would replace carved wood, with an advantage of 200/000, presenting the same solidity: A painting forming a screen, on the left hand, made of paper and leather scissors, by Mrs. the countess of Dampierre, will attract the attention of the visitors. This landscape, with its paper trees and plants, and the frame with its garlands of leaves and grapes cut out of leather, show great skill and incredible patience.

Passing another exit, we have before us a wooden panel with a small group carved in wood, representing Bacchus as a child, of good execution, by M. Groset.

Mr. Courquin shows us his mother-of-pearl carving below. Amongst the various objects, one will notice in the middle a small medallion with the portrait of the Emperor, an eagle hovering over his head, and, at the sides, those bearing the heads of the Empress and Prince Napoleon, all sculpted in mother-of-pearl.

A large panel bearing Christ in natural size and surrounded by stone-cardboard ornaments, intended for the dome of a church, is exhibited by Mr. Tirant. After passing through the door, we find ourselves once more in front of a lady's work, which requires as much patience and perhaps as much skill as that of Madame la Comtesse de Dampierre. These are flowers in natural shells, made by Mme Rossi of Toulon. The most varied flowers, from the small daisy to the camellia, are imitated with shells picked up on the seashore, whose natural colour has been used to vary the colours of these three bouquets to infinity.

MM. Marcq and Coutan, manufacturers of moulds for gilders, exhibited beautiful samples of their industry.

A showcase filled with busts is next to it. The busts are made of white and pink sulphate of lime. The exhibitor has placed a sample of natural lime sulphate next to the busts, to show the variations it underwent before replacing plaster or marble. Below, we see engravings on metals reproduced by electroplating, by Mr. Gruaz.

We now come to the Société des Arts Industriels. For the last fifteen years or so, we have known the means of reproducing works of sculpture in any desired size, i.e. increased or reduced, but always mathematically, i.e. without changing either the details or the proportions, using very simple processes invented by Messrs Collas and Sauvage. The Société des Arts Industriels exhibits these reproductions. We see among others the plaster busts of Mansard, the architect of the Louvre; Lebrun, painter; Corneille, Crébillon and others, after the originals, most of which are in the foyers of our theatres. A beautiful bas-relief suspended above these busts shows a very successful reduction.

The mirror next to it shows by its frame the ornamentation process of M. Dupin, at the Conservatoire des Arts et Métiers. This frame, as well as the small plates for the doors underneath, looks like a painting on porcelain. The small dome next to it, with the Virgin in the middle, by M. Boucarut, is in gilded plaster. Samples of engravings, half of which are cleaned while the other half is left in its poor condition, show the exhibitor's skill in cleaning old engravings.

The large suspended bouquet under glass by M. Crière, of a very beautiful and skilful execution, seems to us to be made of red wax. A small showcase below and close to a door contains some pretty wood carvings by M. Planson. The small mirror, the boxes, the binding, all do credit to this artist.

Samples of bronze and religious plastic by Mr. Pillioud, and a large display case, are in front of us as we continue our tour. This one is filled with woodcarvings familiar to anyone who has travelled in Switzerland. Simple peasants of the Bernese Oberland transform by their great skill pieces of wood into delightful groups of chamois, goats, etc., build small models of chalets, and make statuettes and other carved objects, which are taken by travellers to all parts of the world. It is this industry, of which the Wirlh house, in Brienz, Switzerland, exhibits the most beautiful samples. Of particular note in the middle is the beautiful frame surrounding the glass, with the Last Supper from the famous fresco by Leonardo da Vinci underneath, and the two deer cut from a single block of wood at the sides.

From the glass frames of M. Mercier, we come to a small collection of plaster mouldings of natural history objects, made by M. Stahl, moulder at the Jardin des Plantes, consisting of three busts from the anthropology gallery and reproductions of molluscs and their parts. On the right hand side, as a sample of the precision of his moulding, one will notice the plaster reproduction of watermarked paper and pieces of linen, of which one can see each thread, so to speak.

A moulding of a different kind comes next, that of Mr. Vincent, who has exhibited pretty little mouldings of paintings in embossed silver and other materials.
M. Marchi shows us plaster reproductions of works of sculpture, the Leda by Pradier and others.

Mr. Dufailly exhibits beautiful plaster reproductions of works by Mène and Cain (animals); Vuillièrme, fantasy objects in alabaster, among which we will notice a beautiful small toilet, a clock, and a group of two dogs.

The middle of the square is occupied by a reproduction of the Venus de Milo in the Louvre, by M. Sauvage, the inventor of one of the reproduction processes mentioned above. This Venus is enlarged by half, while the same statue is greatly diminished on the front. The exhibitor informs us that the equestrian statue of the Emperor Napoleon we mentioned earlier, which is at the eastern entrance to the Palace, has been reproduced by the same process at a height of 3.20 metres, after the model at the Beaux-Arts, which is only 1.45 metres high.

On the right hand side, one should stop in front of a beautiful jewellery box, sculpted in bone. Eight artistically carved caryatids support the lid, which is richly decorated with arabesques also carved on the bone, and surmounted by a beautiful group representing a woman making her toilet. This chest, as well as the beautiful medallion below, is by M. Moreau, sculptor.

M. Deaure has exhibited, next to it, his medals reproduced by electroplating.

The gilder of the crown furniture, M. Dumont Pettrelle, follows with some samples of gilding and a painting carved on wood and prepared to be gilded with water.

This stoup, also carved on wood, by M. Froyer, is distinguished by its simplicity and perfect execution.

Mr. Blaid, from Dieppe, exhibited a Christ of beautiful workmanship, worth 4,000 fr., and of an unpublished composition, and other objects in ivory. Mr. Wolf, from Paris, also has a Christ and a Descent from the Cross and the handle of a whip, very artistically sculpted on ivory.

We find again the remarkable works of Mme de Dampierre as we continue; for we find ourselves again in front of her scissor cuts in paper and leather. It is a pleasure to see the small medallion of flowers, admirable in its finesse and execution. Cut-out screens and leather hangings imitating Cordoba leather cover the sides of the box in which Mr. Massonet has placed the medals struck in honour of the exhibition, and which are sold inside.

Opposite this box, there are engravings for buttons and seals which testify to the great skill of the engravers of Paris. Amongst these engravings, one should note a large first communion medal, composed by Father Martin and engraved by M. Oudiné, engraver of the Imperial Mint.

The medal is of large module.

On the right side, the Saviour of the world is standing under a tabernacle. He holds the chalice in one hand and the Eucharistic bread in the other. Two young children have just knelt at his feet. The smallest of the children has an angel who sees the face of the heavenly Father. Above the young boy and girl, large palm trees. At the bottom, two doves are drinking from a spring.

On the reverse side, a throne on which the open Gospel can be seen.

On both sides of the book, torches symbolise the light that the Gospel spreads in souls.

Next to it is a reproduction of a bas-relief in Roman cement, made by Messrs Rozel and Menisson. This cement is suitable for architectural construction and restoration. On the other side, a Descent from the Cross in relief, after the famous painting by Rubens, of the same cement.

The jewellery box, made of ebony wood, by Mr. Menisson, will stop the visitor for a moment, by its elegance and its beautiful layout. The vine borders on the feet are chiselled in silver. The group which surmounts it, representing a child fighting a dragon, is carved in pear wood, and the panels are in etched steel and inlaid with gold. The price of this box is 2,000 francs. Another box next to it, made of mosaic and marquetry in wood and inlaid mother-of-pearl, is of a very nice effect. Inside, one will notice some very well made flowers in aeolian. M. Gamet, head of the workshop, made this box, as well as the small model of a woodwork altar, composed, designed and executed by him in 1845, when he was only seventeen years old.

We now find ourselves, continuing, in front of M. Carrelle's imitated marble fruits, to be used as paper-ends and shelves. A large temple in paste at the corner is exhibited by Mr. Linder-Geofrien, manufacturer of pastillage. Columns support a dome, topped by an allegorical figure representing France standing on the globe. On the frieze, we read these inscriptions: To the arts, to agriculture, to trade and to industry. Small paintings corresponding to these inscriptions are found underneath. At the bottom of the columns, medallions contain these names: Homer, Arétin, Raphael, Phidias; Smith, Parmentier; Lafitte, Ternaux; Guttemberg, Papin; Archimedes, Pythagoras. A wooden altarpiece with a small statue of the Virgin, by M. Knecht, is next to it. This is followed by a large display case of imitated fruits, in a new composition, and small models of cathedrals and of a village near Bourg and Toul, very well executed in shells. M. Carette's marble fruits complete the Venus de Milo surround. Opposite the altarpiece of M. Knecht, we see a fireplace made entirely of glass, except for the hearth, which is the invention of M. Luce. This glass naturally resists the action of the fire, and should increase its brilliance. On the right hand side of this fireplace, we notice a very beautiful model of a large piece of silverware, known especially as a tableware, and which is an allegory of Peace. Peace is standing on the globe, holding a broken sword in her left hand and raising the palm of peace in her right hand. In the four corners are charming figures representing Commerce, Architecture, Art and Industry. Below, on the four sides, four pretty groups of children representing Fishing (in front), Harvesting (on the left hand), Harvesting (on the right hand) and Hunting (behind). This beautiful piece is made by M. Vidal, modeller.

The small church model, by M. Vincent, next to it, is a fine piece of work, as are the alabaster objects by M. Evrard, among which is a sculpted toilet with very graceful figures, priced at 800 fr. two small statuettes and the flower basket will be noticed. One will stop in front of the beautiful embossed shield and the carved wooden flowers of Mr. Lagnier.

Then comes the pomological museum, i.e. again imitated fruits, this time in wax-stone, by Mr. Montels, a retired captain in Toulouse, among which the melon, cherries and some apples seem to be the most successful. Messrs. Boulet and Durand show next to them some very nice inkwells and boxes in carved wood, and Mr. Faure ends our tour in this square with some very well executed Christs in bronze and wood.

©Promenades dans l'exposition de 1855

Exposition universelle des produits de l'agriculture, de l'industrie et des beaux arts - Paris 1855

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-arts

15 mai 1855 - 15 novembre 1855


Retour - Liste Pavillons

2ème carré (entre colonnes 7 et 10)

manque image

Ce carré contient principalement les reproductions réduites et augmentées des œuvres de la sculpture en plâtre et autres matières, sculptures sur bois , plâtre, etc., imitations de fruits, de sculpture, etc., objets de fantaisies.

En entrant par la nef à côté du trophée de M. Plon, nous tournons à droite où nous trouvons devant nous une vitrine étroite bien remplie de fruits imités en cire, de M. Barrois à Meaux. La pomme cuite, en face du visiteur et le melon nous paraissent les mieux réussis, ainsi que les deux moitiés d'une pêche.

Un panneau avec sculpture en bois pour ornement architectural, de Hardouin, à Paris, se trouve à côté.

M. Thierry, à côté, fabrique des cadres de papier et de carton pour les artistes, ce qu’il appelle encadrements artistiques. Le petit cadre à côté et à main gauche, est plus digne de remarque, car il contient des camées et des petites têtes servant d’épingles, très-bien sculptées, par M. Pline, graveur. Une cheminée, tout en bois, se trouve ensuite sur notre chemin, richement dorée, imitant le marbre d’une manière assez imparfaite.

M. Beauplan, fournisseur officiel de Leurs Majestés l’Empereur et l’Impératrice et du prince Napoléon, a exposé des médaillons contenant les portraits de Leurs Majestés, de Napoléon 1er et Marie-Louise, de la reine Victoria et du prince Albert, et enfin du prince Napoléon.

Viennent, une seconde fois, les fruits imités, mais cette fois-ci, ils sont en carton-pierre, matière qui ne paraît pas se prêter si bien que la cire à ce genre de reproduction. Entre autres cependant, les poires sont très-bien réussies. Un médaillon, portant les têtes de Napoléon Ier et de Marie-Louise, de la même matière, se trouve encore dans les œuvres de M. Louesse.

M. Sorly, doreur du ministre d’État et de la maison de l’Empereur et des fabriques impériales de Sèvres, des Gobelins, etc., a exposé entre autres, à côté, un beau bénitier en style gothique, avec le Christ au milieu. Les deux lustres, aux côtés, ont une forme bizarre, mais nouvelle. Différents cadres d’un beau travail sont étalés sur la table au-dessous de ces objets.

La Vierge et les deux anges, que nous trouvons en continuant, sont en carton-pierre, ainsi que les autres ornements d’église qui entourent ces objets, exposés par M. Solon, qui a mis au bas de son exposition un livre rempli de sculptures reproduites par la photographie.

M. Heiligenthal, à côté, emploie une matière un peu différente pour des objets pareils; il l’appelle mastic-pierre, et en fait de très-jolies choses, auxquelles il donne parfois l’aspect de métal, comme on le voit pour le petit Christ placé au milieu sur la table.

Nous passons devant l’entrée entre les colonnes 7 et 8, et nous trouvons encore des ornements d’église ; mais cette fois la matière qui les compose est encore plus curieuse que celle des précédents. C’est la sciure de bois qui constitue la pâte qui a servi â former la statue de la Vierge avec l'Enfant Jésus, et les autres ornements que nous trouvons dans l'exposition de M. Hugon-Roydor.

Une grande loge tapissés de papiers peints en relief d’un bon effet et imitant la sculpture sur bois, se présente à nous au milieu du panneau que nous passons en revue. Deux portes également couvertes d’arabesques et d’ornements en relief, sont adossées au mur, devant elles, deux chaises dans le même genre. Tous ces arabesques et ornements sont en cuir, et sortent de la fabrique de cuirs en relier de M. Dulud. D’après lui, le cuir remplacerait le bois sculpté, avec un avantage de 200/000, en présentant la même solidité : Un tableau formant écran, à main gauche, fait de découpures aux ciseaux en papier et en cuir, par Mme la comtesse de Dampierre, attirera l’attention des visiteurs. Ce paysage, avec ces arbres et plantes de papier, le cadre dont les guirlandes de feuilles et de raisin sont découpées en cuir, témoignent d’une grande habileté et d’une incroyable patience.

Passons devant une autre sortie, et nous avons devant nous un panneau de bois avec un petit groupe sculpté dans le bois, représentant Bacchus enfant, d’une bonne exécution, de M. Groset.

M. Courquin nous montre au-dessous ses travaux de sculpture en nacre. Parmi les différents objets, on remarquera au milieu un petit médaillon avec le portrait de l’Empereur, un aigle planant sur sa tète, et, aux côtés, ceux portant les têtes de l’Impératrice et du prince Napoléon, tous sculptés en nacre.

Un grand panneau portant le Christ en grandeur naturelle et entouré d’ornements en carton-pierre, destiné à la coupole d’une église, est exposé par M. Tirant. Après avoir passé la porte, nous nous trouvons encore une fois devant l’œuvre d’une dame, qui réclame autant de patience et peut-être autant d’habileté que celle de Mme la comtesse de Dampierre. Ce sont des fleurs en coquilles naturelles, faites par Mme Rossi de Toulon. Les fleurs les plus variées, de la petite marguerite jusqu’au camélia, sont imitées avec du coquillage ramassé au bord de la mer, et dont la couleur naturelle a servi à varier à l’infini les couleurs de ces trois bouquets.

MM. Marcq et Coutan, fabricants de moules pour doreurs, ont exposé de beaux échantillons de leur industrie. de plus deux Indiens en plâtre peints et bien exécutés.

Une vitrine remplie de bustes se trouve à côté. Les bustes sont faits de sulfate de chaux blanc et rose. L’exposant a mis à côté des bustes un échantillon de sulfate de chaux naturelle, pour montrer les variations que celui-ci a subies avant de remplacer le plâtre ou le marbre. Au-dessous, on voit des gravures sur métaux reproduites par la galvanoplastie, par M. Gruaz.

Nous arrivons à la Société des Arts Industriels. Ou connaît depuis une quinzaine d’années le moyen de reproduire par des procédés très-simples, inventés par MM. Collas et Sauvage, les oeuvres de sculpture dans toutes les grandeurs voulues, c’est-à-dire augmentées ou réduites, mais toujours mathématiquement, c’est-à-dire sans changer ni détails ni proportions. La Société des Arts Industriels expose de ces reproductions. Nous y voyons entre autres les bustes en plâtre de Mansard, l'architecte du Louvre; Lebrun, peintre; Corneille, Crébillon et autres, d'après les originaux dont la plupart se trouvent aux foyers de nos théâtres. Un beau bas-relief suspendu au-dessus de ces bustes montre une réduction très-bien réussie.

La glace à côté montre par son cadre le procédé d’ornementation de M. Dupin, au Conservatoire des Arts et Métiers. Ce cadre, comme les petites plaques pour portes, au-dessous, paraît une peinture sur porcelaine. Le petit dôme à côté, avec la Vierge au milieu, de M. Boucarut, est en plâtre doré. Des échantillons de gravures, dont la moitié est nettoyée tandis que l'autre moitié est laissée dans son mauvais état, montent l’habileté de l'exposant dans le nettoyage des vieilles gravures.

Le grand bouquet suspendu et sous verre de M. Crière, d’une très-belle et très-habile exécution, nous paraît fait de cire rouge. Une petite vitrine au-1 dessous et tout près d’une porte renferme de jolies, sculptures sur bois de M. Planson. Le petit miroir, les boîtes, la reliure, tout fait honneur à cet artiste.

Des échantillons de bronze et de plastique religieuse de M. Pillioud, et une grande vitrine, se trouvent devant nous en continuant notre tournée. Celle-ci est remplie d'objets sculptés sur bois, que connaissent tous ceux qui ont voyagé en Suisse. De simples paysans de l’Oberland bernois transforment par leur grande habileté des morceaux de bois en groupes délicieux de chamois, de chèvres, etc., construisent de petits modèles de chalets, et font des statuettes et autres objets sculptés, qui sont emportés par les voyageurs dans tous les coins du monde. C’est cette industrie, dont la maison Wirlh, à Brienz, en Suisse, expose les plus beaux échantillons. On remarquera surtout an milieu le beau cadre qui entoure la glace, et, au-dessous, la Cène, d’après la célèbre fresque de Leonard de Vinci, et, aux côtés, les deux cerfs coupés d’un seul bloc de bois.

Des cadres de glaces en verre de M. Mercier, nous arrivons à une petite collection de moulures en plâtre d'objets d’histoire naturelle, faites par M. Stahl, mouleur au Jardin des Plantes, composée de trois bustes de la galerie d’anthropologie et de reproductions de mollusques et de leurs parties. On remarquera, à main droite, comme échantillon de précision de son moulage, la reproduction en plâtre de papier filigrané et de morceaux de linge, dont on voit chaque fil pour ainsi dire.

Un moulage d’un autre genre vient après, c’est celui à la gélatine, de M. Vincent, qui a exposé de jolies petites moulures de tableau en argent repoussé et autres.
M. Marchi nous montre des reproductions en plâtre des œuvres de sculpture, la Léda de Pradier et autres.

M. Dufailly expose de belles reproductions en plâtre des œuvres de Mène et Cain (animaux) ; Vuillièrme, des objets de fantaisie en albâtre, parmi lesquels ou remarquera une belle petite toilette, une pendule, et un groupe de deux chiens.

Le milieu du carré est occupé par une reproduction de la Vénus de Milo du Louvre, par M. Sauvage, l’inventeur d’un des procédés de reproduction dont nous avons parlé plus haut. Cette Vénus est augmentée de moitié, tandis que la même statue se trouve de beaucoup, diminuée sur le devant. L’exposant nous avertit que la statue équestre de l’Empereur Napoléon dont nous avons parlé plus haut, qui se trouve à l’entrée Est du Palais, a été reproduite par le même procédé à 3 mètres 20 c. de hauteur, d’après le modèle aux Beaux-Arts qui n’a que 1 m. 45 c.

A main droite, on s’arrêtera devant un beau coffre à bijoux, sculpté en os. Huit cariatides artistement taillées soutiennent le couvercle très-richement orné d'arabesques également sculptées sur l’os, et surmonté d'un beau groupe représentant une femme faisant sa toilette. Ce coffre, ainsi que le beau médaillon, au dessous, est de M. Moreau, sculpteur.

M. Deaure a exposé, à côté, ses médailles reproduites par la galvanoplastie.

Le doreur du mobilier de la couronne, M. Dumont Pettrelle, suit avec quelques échantillons de dorure et un tableau sculpté sur bois et préparé pour être doré à l’eau.

Ce bénitier, également sculpté sur bois, par M. Froyer, se distingue par sa simplicité et le parfait de l'exécution.

M. Blaid, de Dieppe, a exposé un Christ d’un beau travail, valeur 4,000 fr., et d’une composition inédite, et d’autres objets en ivoire. M. Wolf, de Paris, a aussi un Christ et une Descente de croix et le manche d'un fouet, très-artistement sculptés sur ivoire.

Nous retrouvons les travaux remarquables de Mme de Dampierre en continuant; car nous nous trouvons encore devant ses découpures aux ciseaux en papier et en cuir. On verra avec plaisir le petit médaillon de fleurs, admirable de finesse, d’exécution. Des écrans découpés et des tentures de cuir imitant le cuir de Cordoue couvrent les pans de la loge dans laquelle M. Massonet a placé les médailles frappées en l’honneur de l’exposition, et que l’on vend dans l’intérieur.

En face de celle loge, il y a des gravures pour boutons et cachets qui témoignent de la grande habileté des graveurs de Paris. Au milieu de ces gravures, on en remarquera une grande de première communion, composée par le P. Martin et gravée par M. Oudiné, graveur de la Monnaie impériale.

La médaille est de grand module.

A l’endroit, le Sauveur du monde est debout sous un tabernacle. Il tient d’une main le calice et de l’autre le pain eucharistique. Deux jeunes enfants viennent de s’agenouiller à ses pieds. Le plus petit des enfants a un ange qui voit la face du Père céleste. Au dessus du jeune garçon et de la jeune fille, de grands palmiers. Au plan inférieur, deux colombes venant s’abreuver à une source jaillissante.

Au revers, se dresse un trône sur lequel on voit l'Évangile ouvert.

Des deux côtés du livre, des flambeaux symbolisent la lumière répandue par l’Évangile dans les âmes.

A côté, il y a une reproduction d’un bas-relief en ciment romain, de la fabrique de MM. Rozel et Menisson. Ce ciment est propre à la construction architecturale et à la restauration. De l’autre côté, une Descente de croix en relief, d’après le célèbre tableau de Rubens, du même ciment.

La boite à bijoux, en bois d’ébène, de M. Menisson, arrêtera le visiteur un moment, par son élégance et sa belle disposition. Les bordures de vigne elles pieds sont ciselés en argent. Le groupe qui la surmonte représentant un enfant combattant un dragon, est sculpté en bois de poirier, et les panneaux sont en acier gravé à l’eau forte et incrustés d’or. Le prix de cette boîte est de 2,000 francs. Un autre coffret à côté, composé de mosaïque et de marqueterie en bois et nacre incrusté, est d’un très-bel effet. A l’intérieur, on remarquera des fleurs très-bien faites en éolide. M. Gamet, chef d’atelier, a fait ce coffret, ainsi que le petit modèle d’autel en menuiserie , composé, dessiné et exécuté par lui en 1845, âgé alors de dix-sept ans seulement.

Nous nous trouvons maintenant, en continuant, devant les fruits imités en marbre, de M. Carrelle, pour servir de serre-papier et pour étagère. Un grand temple en pâte au coin, est exposé par M. Linder-Geofrien, fabricant de pastillage. Des colonnes portent une coupole, surmontée d’une figure allégorique représentant la France debout sur le globe. Sur la frise, on lit ces inscriptions : Aux arts, à l'agriculture, au commerce et à l'industrie. De petits tableaux correspondant à ces inscriptions se trouvent au-dessous. Au bas des colonnes, des médaillons contiennent ces noms : Homère, Arétin, Raphaël, Phidias; Smith, Parmentier; Lafitte, Ternaux; Guttemberg, Papin ; Archimède, Pythagore. Un retable sculpté en bois avec une petite statue de la Vierge, de M. Knecht, se trouve à côté. Suit une grande vitrine de fruits imités, en une nouvelle composition , eL de petits modèles de cathédrales et d’un village près de Bourg et de Toul, très-bien exécutés en coquillages. Les fruits en marbre de M. Carette terminent l'entourage de Vénus de Milo. En face du retable de M. Knecht, nous voyons une cheminée toute en glace, le foyer non excepté, de l’invention de M- Luce. Ces glaces résistent naturellement â l’action du feu, et doivent augmenter son éclat. A main droite de cette cheminée, on remarque un très-beau modèle d'une grande pièce d’orfèvrerie, dite surtout de table, et qui est une allégorie de la Paix. La Paix est debout sur le globe, tenant de la main gauche un glaive brisé, et élevant de l’autre main la palme de la paix. Dans les quatre angles on voit des figures charmantes représentant le Commerce, l’Architecture, l’Art et l’Industrie. En bas, sur les quatre côtés, quatre jolis groupes d’enfants représentant la Pèche (en face), la Vendange (à main gauche), la Récolte (à main droite) et la Chasse (derrière). Ce beau morceau est fait par M. Vidal, modeleur.

Le petit modèle d’église, de M. Vincent, à côté, est d’un beau travail, ainsi que les objets en albâtre de M. Evrard, parmi lesquels une toilette sculptée avec des figures très-gracieuses, du prix de 800 fr. deux petites statuettes et la corbeille à fleurs seront remarquées. On s’arrêtera devant le beau bouclier repoussé et devant les fleurs en bois sculpté de M. Lagnier.

Vient le musée pomologique, c’est-à-dire encore des fruits imités, cette fois-ci en cire-pierre, de M. Montels, capitaine en retraite à Toulouse, parmi lesquels le melon, les cerises, et quelques pommes paraissent les mieux réussis. MM. Boulet et Durand montrent à côté de très-jolis encriers et des boites en bois sculpté, et M. Faure termine notre tournée dans ce carré avec des Christ très-bien exécutés en bronze et en bois.

©Promenades dans l'exposition de 1855