Back - List of Pavilions

Austria - Expo Paris 1855

Missing picture

Next to Prussia are four trophies of Austrian industry, mainly porcelain and glassware.

The first trophy contains some samples of porcelain. A large vase, imitating China, adorns an upper part: above it is a sample of electrotyping, one of the most remarkable specialities of the Imperial Printing House in Vienna. It is a bas-relief representing David and Abigail from the first book of Kings, chapter XXV. Below this vase, others have been arranged, mixed with statuettes.
On both sides there are jars with engravings on one side, while opposite these engravings there is a lens, which is an integral part of the glass. Through this lens, one can see the small picture in relief, which is a charming effect. At the bottom, there are wooden boxes of original shape and workmanship, as well as a clock on the right side (Gothic style). In front of this trophy is a wooden mosaic prie-dieu. 2,500,000 small pieces of wood were used for this piece of furniture. Slammer and Dreul, in Vienna, are the manufacturers of all these wooden articles.

The second Austrian trophy is devoted exclusively to the famous Bohemian crystals. There will be jars, glasses and various glassware, blue and white engravings on a yellow background, of great perfection, etc. But the speciality of this industry is glazed glass, i.e. glass resembling the ice that settles on window panes in winter. On the top, there are two large, very elegant vases, pink and white, and, below, various objects made of this glass.

Two other large vases, below these, with blue arabesques in relief, will attract attention, as will the one below, of the same kind. The two smaller ruby vases are also noteworthy. This is another speciality of Bohemian glassware, for no other glassware has yet been able to produce such a beautiful ruby colour, with such intensity and brilliance of tone.

Opposite is a telescope for the Vienna Polytechnic, and next to it is a clock on a pedestal. The whole is of a polished black wood, resistant to the influence of heat, moisture and time.of the invention of the exhibitor, Mr. Raible, in Vienna.

Behind these objects is a model of a small steamboat, the Danube, a pyroscaphe which is distinguished by its shallow draught, which is only 1.22 m with cargo. Mr. Kitschelt has exhibited a small collection of bronzes, of which there is only one black vase on the left hand which deserves our attention.

Next to it are the bronze baptismal fonts, of great simplicity; then three tables decorated with inlays of aventurine, a kind of glass stone which is the speciality of the Venetian glass factory.

We now return to the third trophy.

The two large, richly gilded vases which adorn the front of the third trophy have that ruby colour of which we have just spoken. The rest are all kinds of crystal objects. It is the variety of design that is lacking in these crystals, which are otherwise of great purity and perfection of execution.

The fourth trophy represents the porcelain industry. One sees beautiful vases, imitation of China, statuettes of a good execution, and the current articles of this industry.

On the right-hand side is a small tea service (imitation China), which belongs to the Austrian Grand Duchess Sophie and was given to her by her son Emperor Franz Joseph.

A toilet in white Carrara marble, made by the chisel of M. Ciovani Isola, professor of sculpture at Massa, stands in front of this trophy. A round table supports three large oval mirrors surrounded by marble frames, representing ribbon bows, roses, loves and birds. Doves, very well executed, rest in the space between the mirrors and, above them, a small column supports Love sitting on a globe. Four vases, whose lids are sculpted with great perfection, are placed on the table to hold toiletries.

Mr. Sandri of Verona has exhibited beside and to the left a collection of terracotta marbles from Marbazt, in the province of Verona, forming the top of a mosaic table. A large, rather ungainly-looking scaffold rises behind it. It is filled with architectural ornaments, vases and terracotta statues of Austrian manufacture. All these articles are the common articles of the pottery factory at Wagram, near Vienna, and yet there are objects of real artistic merit: thus the statue of St. John Nepomuk, patron saint of Bohemia, and others.

©Promenades dans l'exposition de 1855

Exposition universelle des produits de l'agriculture, de l'industrie et des beaux arts - Paris 1855

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-arts

15 mai 1855 - 15 novembre 1855


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Autriche

manque image

A côté de la Prusse, se dressent quatre trophées de l'industrie autrichienne et principalement de la porcelaine et de la verrerie.

Le premier trophée contient quelques échantillons de porcelaine. Un grand vase, imitation de Chine, orne une partie supérieure : au-dessus, on a placé un échantillon de l'électrotypie, une des spécialités les plus remarquables de l'imprimerie impériale de Vienne. C'est un bas-relief représentant David et Abigaïl du Ier livre des Rois, chap. XXV. Au-dessous de ce vase, on en a ordonné d'autres, mêlés de statuettes.
Aux deux côtés on remarquera des bocaux ornés de gravures d’un côté , tandis qu'en face de ces gravures se trouve une lentille, qui fait partie intégrante du verre. A travers cette lentille, on voit le petit tableau en relief, ce qui est d’un effet charmant. Sur le bas, se trouvent des boîtes en bois d’une forme et d’une facture originales, ainsi qu'une pendule placée au côté droit (style gothique). En face de ce trophée, se trouve un prie-dieu en mosaïque de bois. 2,500,000 petites pièces de bois ont été employées à ce.meuble. MM. Slammer et Dreul, à Vienne, sont les fabricants de tous ces articles de bois.

Le deuxième trophée autrichien est exclusivement consacré aux célèbres cristaux de Bohême. On verra lè des bocaux, des verres et différents objets de verrerie, des gravures bleues et blanches sur fond jaune, d’une grande perfection, etc. Mais ce qui fait la spécialité de celte industrie, c’est d’abord le verre glacé, c'est-à-dire du verre ressemblant à la glace qui se dépose en hiver aux carreaux de fenêtre. On trouvera, sur le haut, deux grands vases très-élégants, rose et blanc, et, en bas, différents objets de ce verre.

Deux autres grands vases, au-dessous de ceux-ci, avec arabesques bleues en relief, attireront l’attention, ainsi que celui, en bas, du même genre. Remarquons encore les deux vases rubis de moindre dimension. C’est cette couleur qui frappera le connaisseur; elle constitue une autre spécialité de la verrerie de Bohême, car aucune autre verrerie n'a pu produire jusqu’à présent une aussi belle couleur rubis, avec autant d’intensité et un ton aussi brillant.

En face, se trouve un télescope destiné à l’École Polytechnique de Vienne, et, à côté, une pendule sur un piédestal. Le tout est d’un bois noir poli, résistant à l'influence de la chaleur, de l’humidité et du lemps.de l’invention de l’exposant, M. Raible, à Vienne.

Derrière ces objets, est le modèle d'un petit bateau à vapeur, le Danube, pyroscaphe qui se distingue par son faible tirant d’eau, qui n'est que de 1m 22 cent, avec cargaison. M. Kitschelt a exposé a coté une petite collection de bronzes, dont il n’y a qu'un vase noir a main gauche qui mérite notre attention.

Viennent les fonts baptismaux en bronze, a coté, d’une grande simplicité ; puis trois tables ornées d'incrustations d’aventurine, sorte de pierre de verre qui est la spécialité delà fabrique de verre de Venise.

Nous retournons maintenant au troisième trophée.

Les deux vases de grande dimension richement dorés qui ornent le devant du troisième trophée on t cette couleur rubis dont nous venons de parler. Le reste se compose de toutes sortes d’objets de cristal. C’est la variété du dessin qui manque à ces cristaux, d’ailleurs d’une grande pureté et d’une grande perfection d’exécution.

Le quatrième trophée représente l’industrie de porcelaine. On y voit de beaux vases, imitation de Chine, des statuettes d’une bonne exécution, et les articles courants de cette industrie.

Au côté droit, on remarquera entre autres un petit service de thé (imitation de Chine), qui appartient à la grande-duchesse d’Autriche Sophie, et qui lui a été donné par l'empereur François Joseph, son fils.

Une toilette en marbre blanc de Carrare, et due au ciseau de M. Ciovani isola, professeur de sculpture à Massa, se dresse devant ce trophée. Une table ronde supporte trois grandes glaces ovales entourées de cadres de marbre, représentant des nœuds de ruban, des roses, des amours et des oiseaux. Des colombes, très-bien exécutées, se reposent dans l’espace entre les glaces et, au-dessus d'elles, une petite colonne supporte Amour assis sur un globe. Quatre vases, dont les couvercles sont sculptés avec une grande perfection, sont placés sur la table pour recevoir les objet de toilette.

M. Sandri de Verone a exposé à côté et à main gauche une collection de marbres de terre cuite de Marbazt, de la province de Vérone, formant le dessus d’une table en mosaïque. Un grand échafaudage, d’un aspect assez disgracieux, s’élève derrière. Il est rempli d’ornements d’architecture, de vases et de statues en terre cuite de fabrication autrichienne. Tous ces articles sont les articles courants de la fabrique de poterie à Wagram, près Vienne, et cependant on y remarque des objets qui ont un véritable mérite artistique : ainsi la statue de saint Jean-Népomucène, patron delà Bohême, et autres.

©Promenades dans l'exposition de 1855