Universal Exhibition of Agricultural, Industrial and Fine Arts Products - Paris 1855

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

May 15, 1855 - November 15, 1855


Back - List of Pavilions

Products on display

manque image

In the centre of a large circular room, in which the light is skilfully arranged, rises a vast platform on top of which the crown diamonds attract numerous visitors; all around, the masterpieces of the Sèvres manufactory are outlined in graceful silhouettes next to the emperor's service, which has come out of the workshops of Mr. Chris-toile.

The walls are adorned with the magnificent carpets of the Gobelins and Beauvais, which represent the imperial manufactures with dignity, next to the tapestries of M. Sallandrouze and the carpets of Aubusson. What perfections in these products: these unalterable colours, fixed on the biscuit or the fabric, ensure to these works of art the admiration of the centuries to come.

The gallery at the periphery contains on the one hand musical instruments, weapons and cutlery; on the other hand, all the products of French cabinet making, with which the designs of our industrial artists occupy a special gallery.

In the garden, two sheds contain the coachwork of most of the nations represented at the Palais de l'Industrie, except for England and Austria. The building for agricultural instruments and products shows the achievements of mechanical arls in agriculture.

In the garden, construction models, the Emperor's yacht, a model of a propeller and a large number of pieces of considerable size surround the circular gallery which is the main buffet of the establishment. The canteen for the workers and service men is placed close to the model of a workers' city which Mr. Clarck has had built, and which will soon be furnished with all the objects specially intended for the working population.

©Visite à l’Exposition Universelle - 1855

Exposition universelle des produits de l'agriculture, de l'industrie et des beaux arts - Paris 1855

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-arts

15 mai 1855 - 15 novembre 1855


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Produits exposés

manque image

Au centre d’une grande salle circulaire, dans laquelle la lumière est adroitement ménagée, s’élève une vaste estrade au sommet de laquelle les diamants de la couronne attirent de nombreux visiteurs; tout autour, les chefs-d’œuvre de la manufacture de Sèvres, se dessinent en silhouettes gracieuses auprès du service de l’empereur, sorti des ateliers de M. Chris-toile.

Les murs sont ornés des magnifiques tapis des Gobelins et de Beauvais, qui représentent dignement les manufactures impériales auprès des tapisseries rie M. Sallandrouze et des moquettes d’Aubusson. Quelles perfections dans ces produits: ces couleurs inaltérables, fixées sur le biscuit ou le tissu, assurent à ces œuvres d’art l’admiration des siècles à venir.

La galerie au pourtour renferme d'une part les instruments de musique, les armes et la coutellerie; de l’autre, tous les produits de l’ébénisterie française auprès desquels les dessins de nos artistes industriels occupent une galerie spéciale.

Dans le jardin, deux hangars contiennent la carrosserie de la plupart des nations représentées au Palais de l’Industrie, l'Angleterre et l’Autriche exceptées. Le bâtiment des instruments et des produits agricoles étale les conquêtes dont les arls mécaniques ont doté l’agriculture.

Dans le jardin , des modèles de construction, le yacht de l’empereur, le modèle d’une hélice et un grand nombre do pièces de dimensions considérables entourent la galerie circulaire qui est le principal buffet de l’établissement. La cantine pour les ouvriers et les hommes de service est placée tout auprès du modèle de cité ouvrière qu’a fait construire M. Clarck, et qui sera meublé bientôt de tous les objets spécialement destinés aux populations ouvrières.

©Visite à l’Exposition Universelle - 1855