Back - List of Pavilions

Superior Gallery - Expo Paris 1855

Superior Gallery at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1855
© Source gallica.bnf.fr / BnF
English Watercolour Gallery (First Floor)

Watercolours, pastels, drawings, engravings, lithographs, etc. - As we left the sculpture rooms, which ran alongside the English gallery, we followed it as if we wanted to leave the palace. On our left, after passing the small buffet, we took the grand staircase that led to the upper gallery. This place had been used for the exhibition of some works that could not have been displayed below.
On this staircase, which was the one on the right as we entered, we noticed a bronze bust of Queen Victoria (1174), by Mr. Thornicroff, of London; a View of the Latrium (2530), by Mr. Benouville; the Christians (2530), by Mr. M. M., by Mr. M. M., by Mr. M. M., by Mr. M. M., by Mr. M. M. Benouville; the Christians delivered to the beasts in the circus of the Coliseum, under Domitian (3609), by M. Leullier; a Summer Evening on the banks of the Seine (4186), by M. Villevieille, and the Acropolis of Athens (2829), by M. de Curzon.
On entering the upper gallery, we have on the right the English and French engravings, etc., which were of only mediocre interest; they had almost all been exhibited, for several years, at the print dealers of the boulevards, which dispensed us from paying particular attention to them.
On the right were the English watercolours; at the bottom of each frame was attached a small label stating the name of the author and giving an explanation of the subject treated. Two large watercolours, however, were unmarked, numbers 1023 and 1024, belonging to the Queen of England and depicting an Evening at Balmoral Castle, when Prince Albert returns from hunting; and a Morning in the Scottish Mountains, the Royal Family climbing Lochnagar.
Some architectural compositions (1461) born of the artists' imagination, a View of the Synagogue of Great Saint-Helen's, London (1431), were especially worthy of note. Also noteworthy is a Barber's Shop in Seville (1981) by Mr. Lundgren of Stockholm, Sweden. Four views of the Moorish villa the Wilhelma, built at the expense of the King of Württemberg, in Cannstadt, near Stutt-gard (2171): the Vestibule, the Covered Courtyard, the Great Hall, the Great Feasting Hall, by Mr. Zanth, from Stuttgard (Württemberg).
We came to the miniatures, which were all very beautiful. First we had the portraits of M. de Pom-mayrac (3821), the miniatures of Mme Herbelin (3293) and of M. Rousseau (3916).
The enamels were also very remarkable: M. Waldeck (5063), Mlle S. Berthou (2543), M,le H. Mutel (3719), M. Devers, from Turin (2964), had exhibited charming works.
M. Maxime David (2850) had sent twenty-nine miniatures, among which were a portrait of Prince Napoleon and three portraits of Abd-el-Kader.
The paintings on porcelain were few in number. A copy of Prud'hon (4193), by M.Vion, was remarkable.
M. Maréchal, from Metz, exhibited four very remarkable pastels (3042 to 3045).
Mr Giraud has a Portrait of Princess Mathilde (3188) and a Portrait of M. Mélingue (3189).
M. Eugène Lami exhibited five watercolours (3463 to 3467).
We noticed three drawings by M. Bida (2563 to 2505), six watercolours by M. Salmon (3962 to 3907), two pastels by M. Jules Grenier (3214).
Seven drawings by M. Yvon, representing the seven deadly sins: 4220, Anger; 4221, Lust; 4222, Avarice; 4223, Gluttony; 4224, Pride; 4225, Envy; 4226, Sloth. The allegories were almost all borrowed from Dante's Inferno. This collection belongs to the Musée du Havre.
M. Janmot, from Lyon, had sent a series of allegorical paintings on the subject of the Soul, a poem in eighteen paintings (3402). Some of these paintings were original.
M. Th. Valerio had exhibited twenty-four studies, forming part of an ethnographic collection, and executed in Moldavia, Wallachia, Turkey, etc., by order of the French government.
4107, Hungarian shepherd from the banks of the Theùss; 4108, Egyptian Dervish, army of the Danube; 4109, Bachi-Bozouck, Silistria; 4110, Gypsy woman of Servie; 4111, Turk from the coasts of the Black Sea; 4112, Turk of Morea; 4113, Arab chief from the vicinity of Damascus; 4114, Kurdish chief; 4115, Hungarian gypsy; 4116, Hungarian gypsy; 4117, Gypsy woman from Hungary; 4118, Gypsy woman from Servie; 4119, Hungarian peasant from Szolnok; 4120, Hungarian peasant from Szolnok; 4121, Hungarian peasant from Jaziger country; 4122, Hungarian peasant from Matra mountains; 4123, Egyptian outpost in Dobruscha; 4124, Serbian woman from Belgrade; 4125, Albanian Bachi-Bozouck, Danube army; 4126, Vlach peasant; 4127, Hungarian shepherd from the Carpathians; 4128, Married woman from Arokszallas; 4129, Croatian woman from the Bosnian borders; 4130, Gypsy blacksmith from the Matra mountains.
Towards the back of the gallery we found some oil paintings that had not found a place in the lower rooms and galleries.
A Capture of Smolensk (3483), by M. Langlois; a Portrait of the late Abbé de Lamennais (3249), by the late Guérin; a Portrait of M. Manin, former Dictator of Venice (2522), by M. Belly; a Muleteer of the Var (3022), by M. Loubon; the Interview (3575); Manola, in Spain (3570), by M. Armand Leleux; Support and Forgiveness (2782), by M. Compte-Calix; Portrait de M. Peccarer,avocat (3849); Portrait de M. Chenavard, peintre, by M. Ricard; une Descente de croix (3514), by M. La-zerges; des Chevaux de labour d'Alsace (3451), by M. Lalaisse; finally a magnificent lithograph (4851) by M. Soulange-Teissier, representing St. François d'Assise, after M. Benouville.
We ended our walk in the upper gallery with a general view of Paris, taken from the terrace of the Observatory, by M. Marlet.
In the staircase that we took to descend from the gallery and leave the Exhibition, we point out some paintings that would have been worthy of a more favourable place: a Chain of convicts in 1788 (2739), by M. Cibot; the Acropolis, by M. Baudelaire, by M. Baudelaire; and a painting by M. Baudelaire, by M. Baudelaire. Cibot; the Acropolis of Athens (2413), and the Parable of the Good Samaritan (2415), by M. Claude Aligny; Marée basse (3542), by M. Lepoitevin; an Interior of Blacksmiths (3577), by Armand Le-leux; Donkey Carrying Relics, by M. Leray; and the Marchande d'amours (3380), by M. Isambert.

© Guide dans le Palais de l'Industrie et des Beaux-Arts 1855

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Galerie Supérieure



Aquarelles, pastels, dessins, gravures, lithographies, etc. — En quittant les salons de la sculpture qui longeaient la galerie anglaise, nous suivions celle-ci comme si nous voulions sortir du palais. A notre gauche, après avoir dépassé le petit buffet, nous prenions le grand escalier qui conduisait à la galerie supérieure. Cet endroit avait servi à l'exhibition de quelques œuvres qui n'auraient pu trouver place en bas.
Nous remarquions, dans cet escalier, qui était celui de droite en entrant, un buste en bronze de la reine Victoria (1174), par M. Thornicroff, de Londres; une Vue du Latrium (2530), par M. Benouville ; les Chrétiens livrés aux bètes dans le cirque du Colysée, sous Domitien (3609), par M. Leullier; un Soir d'été aux bords de la Seine (4186), par M. Villevieille, et l'Acropole d'Athènes (2829), par M. de Curzon.
En entrant dans la galerie supérieure, nous avons à droite les gravures anglaises, françaises, etc., qui n'offraient qu'un médiocre intérêt; elles avait presque toutes été exposées, depuis plusieurs années, chez les marchands d'estampes des boulevards, ce qui nous dispensait de nous y attacher plus particulièrement.
A droite étaient les aquarelles anglaises; au bas de chaque cadre était attachée une petite étiquette faisant connaître le nom de l'auteur et donnant l'explication du sujet traité. Deux grandes aquarelles cependant étaient dépourvues d'indication, c'étaient les numéros 1023 et 1024, appartenant à la reine d'Angleterre et représentant une Soirée au château de Balmoral, au moment où le prince Albert revient de la chasse; et une Matinée dans les montagnes d'Ecosse, la Famille royale gravissant le Lochnagar.
Quelques compositions architecturales (1461) enfantées par l'imagination des artistes, une Vue de la synagogue de Great Saint-Helen's, à Londres (1431), étaient surtout dignes d'être remarquées. Nous signalons aussi : une Boutique de barbier à Séville (1981), par M. Lundgren, de Stockholm (Suéde). Quatre Vues de la villa mauresque la Wilhelma, construite aux frais du roi de Wurtemberg, à Cannstadt, près Stutt-gard (2171) : le Vestibule, la Cour couverte, le grand Salon, le grande Salle de festin, par M. Zanth, de Stuttgard (Wurtemberg).
Nous arrivions aux miniatures, qui étaient toutes très-belles. Nous avions d'abord les portraits de M. de Pom-mayrac (3821), les miniatures de Mme Herbelin (3293) et de M. Rousseau (3916).
Les émaux étaient aussi très-remarquables : M. Waldeck (5063), Mlle S. Berthou (2543), M,le H. Mutel (3719), M. Devers, de Turin (2964), avaient exposé des œuvres charmantes.
M. Maxime David (2850) avait envoyé vingt-neuf miniatures, parmi lesquelles on remarquait un portrait du prince Napoléon et trois portraits d'Abd-el-Kader.
Les peintures sur porcelaine étaient peu nombreuses. On remarquait une copie de Prud'hon (4193), par M.Vion.
M. Maréchal, de Metz, a exposé quatre pastels fort remarquables (3042 à 3045).
M. Giraud a un Portrait de la princesse Mathilde (3188) et un Portrait de M. Mélingue (3189).
M. Eugène Lami avait exposé cinq aquarelles (3463 à 3467).
Nous remarquions trois dessins de M. Bida (2563 à 2505), six aquarelles de M. Salmon (3962 à 3907), deux pastels de M. Jules Grenier (3214).
Sept dessins de M. Yvon, représentant les sept péchés capitaux : 4220, la Colère; 4221, la Luxure ; 4222, l'Avarice; 4223, la Gourmandise, 4224; l'Orgueil; 4225, l'Envie; 4226, la Paresse. Les allégories étaient presque toutes empruntées à l'Enfer du Dante. Cette collection appartient au Musée du Havre.
M. Janmot, de Lyon, avait envoyé une série de tableaux allégoriques ayant pour sujet l'Ame, poème en dix-huit tableaux (3402). Quelques-unes de ces toiles avaient de l'originalité.
M. Th. Valerio avait exposé vingt-quatre études, faisant partie d'une collection ethnographique, et exécutées en Moldavie, en Valachie, en Turquie, etc., par les ordres du gouvernement français.
4107, Pâtre hongiois des bords de la Theùss; 4108, Derviche égyptien, armée du Danube; 4109, Bachi-Bozouck, Silistrie; 4110, Femme tsigane de Servie; 4111, Turc des côtes de la mer Noire; 4112, Turc de la Morée; 4113, Chef arabe des environs de Damas; 4114, Chef kurde; 4115, Tsigane hongrois; 4116, Tsigane hongrois; 4117, Femme tsigane de Hongrie; 4118, Femme tsigane de Servie; 4119, Paysan hongrois de Szolnok; 4120, Paysan hongrois de Szolnok; 4121, Paysan hongrois du pays des Jazigers; 4122, Paysan hongrois des montagnes du Matra ; 4123, Avant-poste égyptien, dans la Dobruscha; 4124, Femme serbe de Belgrade; 4125, Bachi-Bozouck albanais, armée du Danube; 4126, Paysan valaque; 4127, Pâtre hongrois des Carpathes; 4128, Femme mariée d'Arokszallas; 4129, Femme croate des frontières de Bosnie; 4130, Forgeron tsigane des montagnes du Matra.
Nous retrouvions, vers le fond de la galerie, quelques tableaux à l'huile qui n'avaient pu trouver place dans les salons et galeries inférieurs.
Une Prise de Smolensk (3483), par M. Langlois; un Portrait de feu l'abbé de Lamennais (3249), par feu Guérin; un Portrait de M. Manin, ancien dictateur de Venise (2522), par M. Belly ; un Muletier du Var (3022), par M. Loubon ; l'Entretien (3575) ; Manola, en Espagne (3570), par M. Armand Leleux ; Soutien et pardon (2782), par M. Compte-Calix; Portrait de M. Peccarer,avocat (3849) ; Portrait de M. Chenavard, peintre, par M. Ricard; une Descente de croix (3514), par M. La-zerges; des Chevaux de labour d'Alsace (3451), par M. Lalaisse; enfin une magnifique lithographie (4851) de M. Soulange-Teissier, représentant saint François d'Assise, d'après M. Benouville.
Nous terminions notre promenade dans la galerie supérieure, en citant une Vue générale de Paris, prise de la terrasse de l'Observatoire, par M. Marlet.
Dans l'escalier que nous prenions pour descendre de la galerie et sortir de l'Exposition, nous indiquons quelques toiles qui eussent été dignes de figurer dans un endroit plus favorable : une Chaîne de forçats en 1788 (2739), par M. Cibot; l'Acropole d'Athènes (2413), et la Parabole du bon Samaritain (2415), par M. Claude Aligny; Marée basse (3542), par M. Lepoitevin; un Intérieur de maréchaux ferrants ( 3577 ), par Armand Le-leux; l'Ane portant des reliques, par M. Leray ; et la Marchande d'amours (3380), par M. Isambert.

© Guide dans le Palais de l'Industrie et des Beaux-Arts 1855