Universal Exhibition of Agricultural, Industrial and Fine Arts Products - Paris 1855

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

May 15, 1855 - November 15, 1855


Back - List of Pavilions

Gallery at the back

manque image

France. - We began our visit with the right wall.
We noticed first the Harvest (3444), by M. Lafage; the Reading Lesson (3136), by M. E. Frère; the Morning (2657), by M. Cabat; a Morning (2406), by M. Achard; Poacher taking a goat (3994), by M. Schützenberger; Surprised deer (3201), by M. Haffner; Couple of dogs (3666), by M. Mélin; Landscape near Berlin (2426), by M. Anastasio; and the Haffner; Couple of dogs (3666), by M. Mélin; Landscape near Berlin (2426), by M. Anastasi; Evening (3993), by M. Schützenberger; Dog claiming (3665), the Aliali of the stag (3664), by M. Mélin; Portrait of M. F. Bonvin (2596), by himself.
M. Jadin, the famous painter of hunts, had exhibited some charming canvases; two paintings belonging to Count Ney, first veneur: L'Assemblé de la vénerie au carrefour d'Achères, à Fontainebleau (3387), and La Retraite prise (3388); a Relai de chiens (3386), and Chiens travaillant un terrier de badaireau (3391); Rigolette (3390); six Têtes de chiens (3392); Tippoo à seize ans (3393), and finally l'Ebat des chiens (3389).
We then find, on our way: a Horse Fair in Brittany (3450), by M. Lalaisse, a very distinguished horse painter; Binious bretons (3762), by M. Penguilly-l'Haridon; Duel de Coligny et de Guise (3580), by M. Léman; le Repos du matin (2773), by M. Coignard, belonging to the Emperor's household; Berthold Schwartz seeking the first application of gunpowder to weapons of war, victim of an explosion (3761); le Tripot (3763); l'Invitation (3765), by M. Penguilly; a portrait of Mlle Augustine Brohan, of the Comédie française (3789), by M. Philippe; the Miraculous Spring (2634); Corpus Christi (2633), and a Wooden Train on the Rhine, by M. G. Brion; Ce qu'on voit à vingt ans (3195), and a Pilori (3194), with this epigraph taken from Béranger: "If from the ranks some men come out, all of us shout : A bas les fous!" by M. Glaize; a Matinée intime (3064), by M. Fichel, belonging to Princess Mathilde; a Champ de foire (3567), by M. Adolphe Leleux.

© Guide dans le Palais de l'Industrie et des Beaux-Arts 1855

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Galerie au fond



France. — Nous commençions notre visite par la muraille de droite.
Nous remarquions d'abord la Moisson (3444), par M. Lafage ; la Leçon de lecture (3136), par M. E. Frère ; le Matin (2657), par M. Cabat; une Matinée (2406), par M. Achard; Braconnier prenant une chevrette (3994), par M. Schützenberger; Chevreuils surpris (3201), par M. Haffner; Couple de chiens (3666), par M. Mélin ; Paysage aux environs de Berlin (2426), par M. Anastasi; le Soir (3993), par M. Schützenberger ; Chien qui se réclame (3665), l'Aliali du cerf (3664), par M. Mélin ; Portrait de M. F. Bonvin (2596), par lui-même.
M. Jadin, le célèbre peintre de chasses, avait exposé de charmantes toiles; deux tableaux appartenant au comte Ney, premier veneur : l'Assemblé de la vénerie au carrefour d'Achères, à Fontainebleau (3387), et la Retraite prise (3388) ; un Relai de chiens (3386), et des Chiens travaillant un terrier de blaireau (3391) ; Rigolette (3390); six Têtes de chiens (3392); Tippoo à seize ans (3393), et enfin l'Ebat des chiens (3389).
Nous trouvons ensuite, sur notre route : une Foire de chevaux en Bretagne (3450), par M. Lalaisse, peintre de chevaux très-distingué; Binious bretons (3762), par M. Penguilly-l'Haridon ; Duel de Coligny et de Guise (3580), par M. Léman ; le Repos du matin (2773), par M. Coignard, appartenant à la maison de l'empereur; Berthold Schwartz cherchant la première application de la poudre aux armes de guerre, victime d'une explosion (3761); le Tripot (3763); l'Invitation (3765), par M. Penguilly; un portrait de Mlle Augustine Brohan, de la Comédie française (3789), par M. Philippe; la Source miraculeuse (2634) ; la Fête-Dieu (2633), et un Train de bois sur le Rhin, par M. G. Brion ; Ce qu'on voit à vingt ans (3195), et un Pilori (3194), avec cette épigraphe tirée de Béranger : « Si des rangs sortent quelques hommes, tous nous crions : A bas les fous! » par M. Glaize ; une Matinée intime (3064), par M. Fichel, appartenant à la princesse Mathilde; un Champ de foire (3567), par M. Adolphe Leleux.

© Guide dans le Palais de l'Industrie et des Beaux-Arts 1855