Back - List of Pavilions

Gallery of M. Decamps - Expo Paris 1855

Missing picture

France. - The gallery we entered was largely occupied by the works of Messrs. Decamps, Théodore Rousseau and Meissonier.
We were still obliged to make a simple enumeration. It was not possible for us to pass over in silence so many accumulated masterpieces.
First we found a painting belonging to the Emperor's household; the End of Winter (3128), by M. Français; then two paintings by M. Comte; the Meeting of Henri II and the Duke of Guise at the Château de Blois (2784), and the accusation of the Cardinal of Guise after the assassination of his brother (2785); two door tops for the Ministry of the Interior, by M. Baron Baron; Le Toucher (2476) and L'Ouïe (2473); un Paysan rabattant sa faux (3127), by M. Français; un Marais dans les Landes (3938), by M. Th. Rousseau; finally, Dans la coulisse, intérieur de saltimbanques (3455), by M. E. Lambert.
We were approaching the series of works by M. Decamps, a pupil of M. Abel de Pujol; who would believe it? so far was there from the manner of the master to that of his disciple. Decamps had been decorated in 1839 and made an officer of the Legion of Honour in 1851. His paintings fetched fabulous prices; his slightest sketches were literally covered with gold coins by the amateurs who competed for them.
We found first the Monkeys (2892); the Turkish Café (2865); Donkey and Dog (2876), one of his oldest paintings; Donkeys of the East (2868).
Two landscapes by M. Th. Rousseau: the Côtes de Granville (3927), the Barbison plain (3936), and some charming paintings by M. Meissonier; then come : Reading (3662); two Portraits (5061); a Young Man Working and a Man Drawing (5058, 5060); Bowlers (3663); Reading (5059); Barrel Game (5053); a Rixe in a Cabaret (3660), the author's last painting; the Bravi (3661), a painting exhibited two years ago; a Sunset (3931), and the Gorges d'Apremont (3935), by M. Th. Rousseau.
We found several other works by M. Decamps: the Dogs (2891); Hens and Ducks (2860); a fantasy, the Round of Smyrna (5035); the Turkish Butcher (2878), one of the author's masterpieces; a Village Street in Italy (2874); Spaniards (2806); Halt of Arab Riders (2890); Hunters (2889), and the Grandmother (2880).
The Exit from the Turkish School, a watercolour (5039), was considered one of the most magnificent things to come out of Decamps' studio. The story of Samson (2894), in 9 drawings, was also much admired. This magnificent collection belonged to M. Benjamin Delessert.
The Baker Monkeys, drawing (2898); the Ford, drawing (2897); the Souvenir de la Turquie d'Asie (2884); the Turkish Café (2887); the Turkish Children (2871); the Turkish Bazaar (2893); Joseph sold by his brothers (2857), are less famous, but equally beautiful.
We note, in the intervals left by M. Karl Bodmer; a Burial of a Young Girl in the Vosges (2032), by M. G. Brion; a Marsh (3933); a Morning Effect in the Landes (3930), and a Cultivated Hillside (3939), by M. Th. Rousseau.
The Monkey Painter (2861), belonging to M. de Morny; the Hunters with a Mirror (2863); Moses Saved from the Waters (2836); Eliezer and Rebekah (2858); the Miraculous Fishing (2855); the Bohemians (2886); the Tiger and the Elephant (2875); the Bowlers (2881), are very pretty pictures, though less admired by amateurs.
The Defeat of the Cimbres (2859) was a huge composition, in a very small space, which surprised and dazzled. In this fantastic work, appearance was everything. The artist had succeeded in using colour to create immense depths, where the viewer's gaze would be lost. Then came secondary works: The Improviser (2888); Don Quixote and Sancho (2864); Court Interior (5036); Beggar (2877); Tow Horses (2873); An Anatolian Landscape (5037); Italian Peasant (2879) ; The Hunting with a Falcon (2862); a Kennel (2882); the Child with a Lizard (2872); a Farmyard (2870); and finally, a small masterpiece, which was a great success as an art and as a spirit, the Monkey with a Mirror (5034).
Two landscapes by M. Ch.-F. Daubigny (2843 and 2844), and the Drum Lesson (3307), by M. Hille-macher, completed this interesting gallery.

© Guide dans le Palais de l'Industrie et des Beaux-Arts 1855

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Galerie de M. Decamps



France. — La galerie dans laquelle nous pénétrions était occupée en grande partie par les œuvres de MM. Decamps, Théodore Rousseau et Meissonier.
Nous étions encore obligés de faire une simple énumération. Il ne nous était pas possible de passer sous silence tant de chefs-d'œuvre accumulés.
Nous trouvions d'abord un tableau appartenant à la maison de l'empereur ; la fin de l'Hiver (3128), par M. Français; puis deux toiles de M. Comte ; la Rencontre de Henri II et du duc de Guise au château de Blois (2784), et l'accusation du cardinal de Guise après l'assassinat de son frère (2785); deux dessus de porte pour le ministère de l'intérieur, par M. Baron; le Toucher (2476) et l'Ouïe (2473); un Paysan rabattant sa faux (3127), par M. Français; un Marais dans les Landes (3938), par M. Th. Rousseau; enfin, Dans la coulisse, intérieur de saltimbanques (3455), par M. E. Lambert.
Nous abordions la série des œuvres de M. Decamps, élève de M. Abel de Pujol; qui le croirait? tant il y avait loin de la manière du maître à celle de son disciple M. Decamps avait été décoré en 1839 et fait officier de la Légion d'honneur en 1851. Ses tableaux étaient montés à des prix fabuleux; ses moindres croquis étaient littéralement couverts de pièces d'or par les amateurs qui se les disputaient.
Nous trouvions d'abord les Singes (2892) ; le Café turc (2865); Ane et Chien savants (2876), un de ses plus anciens tableaux ; Anes d'Orient (2868).
Deux paysages de M. Th. Rousseau : les Côtes de Granville (3927), la plaine de Barbison (3936), et quelques charmantes toiles de M. Meissonier ; viennent ensuite : la Lecture (3662); deux Portraits (5061); un jeune Homme travaillant et un Homme dessinant (5058, 5060) ; les Joueurs de boules (3663) ; la Lecture (5059) ; le Jeu du tonneau (5053) ; une Rixe dans un cabaret (3660), le dernier tableau de l'auteur; les Bravi (3661), tableau exposé il y a deux ans; un Coucher de Soleil (3931), et les Gorges d'Apremont (3935), par M. Th. Rousseau.
Nous retrouvions plusieurs autres œuvres de M. Decamps : les Chiens (2891); Poules et canards (2860); une fantaisie, la Ronde de Smyrne (5035) ; le Boucher turc (2878), un des chefs-d'œuvre de l'auteur; une Rue de village en Italie (2874) ; Espagnols (2806) ; Halte de cavaliers arabes (2890) ; Chasseurs (2889), et la Grand'mère (2880).
La Sortie de l'école turque, aquarelle (5039), était considérée comme une des plus magnifiques choses qui soient sorties de l'atelier de M. Decamps. L'histoire de Samson (2894), en 9 dessins, était aussi très admirée. Cette magnifique collection appartenait à M. Benjamin Delessert.
Les Singes boulangers, dessin (2898); le Gué, dessin (2897) ; le Souvenir de la Turquie d'Asie (2884) ; le Café turc (2887); les Enfants turcs (2871) ; le Bazar turc (2893) ; Joseph vendu par ses frères (2857), sont moins célèbres, mais aussi beaux.
Nous remarquions, dans les intervalles laissés par M. Karl Bodmer; un Enterrement de jeune fille dans les Vosges (2032), par M. G. Brion; un Marais (3933); un Effet du matin dans les Landes (3930), et un Coteau cultivé (3939), par M. Th. Rousseau.
Le Singe peintre (2861), appartenant à M. de Morny ; les Chasseurs au miroir (2863) ; Moïse sauvé des eaux (2836); Eliézer et Rébecca (2858) ; la Pêche miraculeuse (2855) ; les Bohémiens (2886); le Tigre et l'éléphant (2875); les Joueurs de boules (2881), sont de très-jolis tableaux, quoique moins admirés des amateurs.
La Défaite des Cimbres (2859) était une immense composition, dans un espace très restreint, qui surprenait et éblouissait. Dans cette œuvre fantastique, l'aspect était tout. L'artiste était arrivé, par la couleur, à créer des profondeurs immenses, où les regards confondus vont se perdre. Puis venait des œuvres secondaires : l'Improvisateur (2888) ; Don Quichotte et Sancho (2864); l'Intérieur de cour (5036); le Mendiant (2877) ; les Chevaux de halage (2873); un Paysage d'Anatolie (5037) ; un Paysan italien (2879) ; la Chasse au faucon (2862) ; un Chenil (2882) ; l'Enfant au lézard (2872); une Cour de ferme (2870) ; enfin, un petit chef-d'œuvre, qui était un immense succès comme art et comme esprit, le Singe au miroir (5034).
Deux paysages de M. Ch.-F. Daubigny (2843 et 2844), et la Leçon de tambour (3307), par M. Hille-macher, terminaient cette intéressante galerie.

© Guide dans le Palais de l'Industrie et des Beaux-Arts 1855