Universal Exhibition of Agricultural, Industrial and Fine Arts Products - Paris 1855

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

May 15, 1855 - November 15, 1855


Back - List of Pavilions

Right side gallery

manque image

France. - The French paintings continued along the left wall of the gallery to the back, where was the Chapelle des morts (3292), by M. Lehenaff, returning towards the other wall to the door which communicated with the end of the dark gallery, where a few good paintings had been relegated which unfortunately could not find a place elsewhere.
We had little to quote from this gallery, which contained the principal works of M. Courbet, the painter who had the privilege of realism, according to his own posters.
A View of London (3747), and a View of the Banks of the Rhine (3742), by M. Justin Ouvrié, opened this gallery. Then came six paintings by M. Courbet, most of them already known: the Demoiselles de village (2802), the Casseurs de pierre (2801), the Cribleuses de blé (2804), the Rencontre (2803): these two works were new: two Portraits of the author (2806-2807), and the Château d'Ornans ( 2811).
Then there was a Winter in Holland (3591), by M. le Poitevin, belonging to the State; the Capture of Jerusalem (4006), by M. Signol, belonging to the house of the Emperor; the Camp of Êquihem (3407), the Port (3409) and the Camp (3406) of Ambleteuse (Pas-de-Calais) by M. Jeanron; a View of Barbison, near Fontainebleau (3509), by M. Lavieille; a Youth (3736)
by Mrs. O'Connell; the End of Autumn, by Mr. Lafage; a View of the Seine, near Villequier (3318), by Mr. Edouard Hostein; and Jesus Christ in the Garden of Olives (3394), by Mr. Jalabert.

© Guide dans le Palais de l'Industrie et des Beaux-Arts 1855

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Galerie latérale de droite



France. — Les tableaux français continuaient la paroi gauche de la galerie jusqu'au fond, où se trouvait la Chapelle des morts (3292), de M. Lehenaff, en revenant vers l'autre muraille jusqu'à la porte qui communiquait avec l'extrémité de la galerie sombre, où l'on avait relégué quelques bons tableaux qui n'avaient malheureusement pu trouver place ailleurs.
Nous avions peu de chose à citer dans cette galerie, où se trouvaient les principales œuvres de M. Courbet, le peintre qui avait le privilège du réalisme, au dire de ses propres affiches.
Une Vue de Londres (3747), et une Vue des bords du Rhin (3742), par M. Justin Ouvrié, ouvraient cette galerie. Puis venait six toiles de M. Courbet, la plupart déjà connues : les Demoiselles de village (2802), les Casseurs de pierre (2801), les Cribleuses de blé (2804), la Rencontre (2803) : ces deux œuvres étaient nouvelles: deux Portraits de l'auteur (2806-2807), et le château d'Ornans ( 2811).
On remarquait ensuite un Hiver en Hollande (3591), par M. le Poitevin, appartenant à l'Etat; la Prise de Jérusalem (4006), par M. Signol, appartenant à la maison de l'empereur; le Camp d'Êquihem (3407), le Port (3409) et le Camp (3406) d'Ambleteuse (Pas-de-Calais) par M. Jeanron; une Vue de Barbison, près Fontainebleau (3509), par M. Lavieille; une Faunesse (3736)
par Mme O'Connell; la Fin d'automne, par M. Lafage: une Vue de la Seine, près Villequier (3318), par M. Edouard Hostein ; et Jésus-Christ au jardin des Olives (3394), par M. Jalabert.

© Guide dans le Palais de l'Industrie et des Beaux-Arts 1855