Back - List of Pavilions

English Gallery -

English Gallery at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1855
© Source gallica.bnf.fr / BnF
English Gallery
English Gallery at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1855
© Source gallica.bnf.fr / BnF
English Gallery

The English exhibition was of particular interest. English artists professed great independence in their art. The principles, the purely artistic rules which directed the French school and most of the other schools in Europe, seemed to have been completely neglected by them. In drawing, and especially in colour, their works generally left much, if not everything, to be desired. But careful study soon revealed in their principal artists a great sense of truth, in expression, in gesture, and in composition. Their canvases were talking pictures. The painter had put all his concern, all his talent, into making his painting say something. We leave to the charge, to lithography, the paintings of manners: Daumier, Cham, Nadar, who have a lot of wit, amused and interested everyone; but from the pencils of the Charivari or the Journal pour rire, they did not make paintings. The English had transported into painting these humorous jokes of the French sketch, adding to them the positive tinge of their grave and calm nature. They had taken the task seriously.
Their genre paintings, for this was where they excelled, were, moreover, executed with remarkable skill and conscience.
Britain had 232 paintings, sent in by a hundred artists. Along with France and Belgium, it was the most widely represented nation in the field of art. All the most famous had competed to support the old glory of England: Landseer, Leslie, Goodall, Mulready, O'Neil, Pyne, Roberts, Stanfield, Frost, Eastlake, Cooper, Chalon, Rankley, Salomon, Georges Lance, etc.
The works sent were estimated to be worth 130,000 pounds sterling, about 3,250,000 francs; they had been insured by the English companies before they left England.
We entered the English gallery through the portico which overlooked the vestibule of the staircase leading to the upper gallery, next to the buffet.
We began by visiting the left wall.
We first encountered the Scoffers (921), by Mr. Rankley, of London, with this epigraph from Goldsmith: "The fools, who came to scoff, stayed to pray. Then we noticed the Emotion of Esther (905), by Mr. O'Neil; the Interior of St. Stephen's Church, Vienna (929), by Mr. Roberts; the Village Coquette (853), by Mr. Georges Lance; a painting representing the Marriage of Queen Victoria (820), an official picture belonging to the Queen, by Sir G. Hayter.
Landseer, the illustrious painter of animals, whose smallest canvases can be bought in London for 40 and 50,000 francs, began with a superb painting of Animals at the Forge (858); then came Brazilian Monkeys on a Pineapple (856). These almost microscopic animals were executed with perfect skill and taste.
After Mr. Landseer, whom we shall soon meet again, came Claudio and Isabella (841), by Mr. Hunt; Sancho Panza and the Duchess (871), a masterpiece of finesse and wit by Leslie: Sancho's expression of good-naturedness and confidence, and the Duchess's somewhat forced composure, repressing a violent urge to laugh that manners restrain, were expressed with perfect art; Old Story (944), by Mr. Stone, was a very philosophical page, and the Duchess was a very good artist. Stone, was a very interesting philosophical page; the Scene from the Vicar of Wakefield (870), i.e. the episode of Mr. Burkell, by Mr. Leslie, was again a charming thing.
The Proof of Touch (884), by Mr. Maclise; the Widow's Ball (807), by Mr. Goodall, were also highly regarded.
Mr. Landseer then offered his Dogs by the Fire (863), whose types were so true and so skilfully rendered.
We met further on with the Red Hat (852), by Mr. G. Lance; a Presbyterian Baptism (909), a painting of English manners, by Mr. Phillip; the Showers (774), by Mr. Creswick.
The Purpose (891), a comic scene, a little forced perhaps, by Mr. Mulready; the Choice of a Wedding Dress (889); the Canon (897); Put a Child in the Way He Ought to Go (895), and Dr. Winston's Discussion of Principles, from the Vicar of Wake-field (896); the Brother, and the Sister (892); Blackheath Park (890), were charming canvases in which Mr. Mulready showed all the flexibility of an accomplished talent, and highly justified the great reputation he enjoyed in England.
Here we found ourselves in the presence of a little masterpiece of expression and wit: Uncle Tobias and the Widow Wadman, a subject from Tristram Shandy, Ac Sterne (869), by Mr Leslie. The naively witty bonhomie of Uncle Tobias, who took his pipe out of his mouth to blow into the eye of the pretty young widow, forms a charming contrast with the latter's mischievous coquetry.
The Wolf and the Lamb (893), by Mr. Mulready, was perhaps one of the most adorable creations of this artist. How well these two children were English! and how happily the threatening wolf clenching his fists and frowning, while the poor lamb seeks to cover his head with his elbow, represented the profound idea of the fable of La Fontaine! As an execution, this painting left little to be desired; as a spirit, it was a masterpiece.
In a lower rank, though remarkable, now came some paintings worthy of attention; these were: the Poacher (864), by Mr. Lee; a Village Church Choir (956), by Mr. Webster; Ophelia (925), by Mr. Redgrave; the Poets' Ravine (922), by the same; the Morra (Italian play), by Mr. Hurlstone.
English artists did not shine so brightly in their history pictures; they had exhibited only a few; the genre was their domain: they reigned supreme. The Battle of Meeanee (739), by Mr. Armitage, was proof of this. General Sir Ch. Napier, at the head of 2,500 men, won a victory on February 17, 1842, over the Beluchi army, which was ten times more numerous, and brought the Sindh provinces under English rule. This painting, which recalls a national triumph, belonged to Queen Victoria.
The Gentleman's Daughter (924), by Mr. Redgrave, was a melancholy episode of touching truth.
A Lodge (818), and the Reading of the Novel (817), by Mr. Hannah, were two compositions conspicuous for their English originality.
We shall now mention: the Spartan Isadas repelling the Thebans (785); Francis of Carrara, Lord of Padua, escaping from the pursuit of Ga-leazzo Visconti, Duke of Milan (788); the Pilgrims arriving in sight of Rome (786), by Mr. Eastlake, which were interesting canvases, but in another kind. The Deer Hunters in Scotland (761), by Mr. Cooper; Red and Black (756), by Mr. Cooke; The Pupil (816), by Mr. Gush; the. Last Call (942), by Mr. Stone; a Scene from Molière's Bourgeois gentilhomme (800), in which the spirit of our great comic was well rendered, by Mr. Frith; the Royal Family at the Temple (954); a Neapolitan Widow, weeping for her dead child, surrendered to despair on hearing the joyous sounds of the carnival (950), by Mr. Uwins; and the Judgment of Lord William Russell, in 1683 (821), by Mr. Hayter.
The Order of Enlargement (886), by Mr. Millais, deserved special mention. There had been much discussion in front of this painting, which was already a proof of its merit.
The Remonstrance (943), by Mr. Stone; Ascot Hunting Rendezvous and Her Majesty's Deer Hunting Crews (814), by Mr. Grant; John Knox seeking to stop the violence of the people exalted by his eloquent preaching against the Roman Church, at Perth, Scotland (850), by Mr. Knigth; Florentine Presentation (886), by Mr. Millais; and the Knigth; Flora Macdonald's Presentation to Prince Charles Edward (845), by Mr. Johnston; Henrietta Mary of France rescued in misfortune by Cardinal de Retz (790), by Mr. Egg, were works of different intent and style, but all equally remarkable.
The English exhibition was limited by a landscape by Mr. Hùlme, representing the Ffos Noddyn Gorge in Wales (838). We were therefore going to cross the gallery and resume, on the opposite wall, the series of English paintings, leaving behind us the resumption of the French school.
We first meet two charming canvases: an Episode of the Happy Days of Charles I (808), by Mr. Goodall; Brunetta and Phillis, a subject from The Spectator (936), by Mr. Solomon; a Scene of Religious Controversy under Louis XIV (794), by Mr. Elmore; the Deceptions of the Shareholders of the South Sea Company (953), by Mr. Ward; Childhood and Old Age. (833), by Mr. Horsley; The Novice (796), by Mr. Elmore; A Public Writer in Seville (910), by Mr. Phillip; the Sanctuary ( 857), by Sir E. Landseer.
The Baron's Manor (883), a Christmas feast in the old days, by Maclise, rather accurately portrays the manners and customs of old. The Evening Canon (777), by Mr. Danby, produced a certain effect, in spite of the strangeness and exaggeration of the general tone adopted.
Then came Catherine's Marriage Search (792), by Mr. Egg; Florence Cope before dinner (766), by Mr. Cope; Serena, overwhelmed, falls asleep, and, on awakening, finds herself surrounded by anthropophagi (752), by Mr. Chalon; Cardinal Wolsey's Arrival at Leicester Abbey (768), by Mr. Cope; Interior of St. Stephen's Church, Vienna (929), by Mr. Roberts; Metastasis discovered by the scholar Gravina, Rome (881), by Mr. M'Innes.
Mr. Frith had exhibited a charming little painting of a Russian pope trying to woo Lady Montagne (798), the witty wife of the English Ambassador to Constantinople in the late eighteenth century. Mr Egg had reproduced the first meeting, in a cabaret where she was a servant, of the future empress of Russia, Catherine, and Peter the Great (793).
Not far away are the Provost of Peterhead (810), by Mr. Gordon, of Edinburgh; the Tethered Ram (862), by Sir E. Landseer; a View of the Thames below Greenwich (826), by Mr. Holland: Catherine and Petrucch (826), by Mr. Egg; and a View of the Thames below Greenwich (826), by Mr. Holland. Holland; Catherine and Petrucchio (868), by Mr. Leslie; Job and the Messengers (917), by Mr. Poole; Buckingham Rejected (791), by Mr. Egg; Portrait of Paganini (907), by Mr. Patten.
There were now few paintings left to visit in the English gallery, but they are very interesting: these are: Luncheon in the Mountains of Scotland (860); Jack on Duty (859); Cattle Drivers in the Mountains of Scotland (861), by Sir E. Landseer:
Her Majesty Queen Victoria receiving the Blessed Sacrament on her Coronation Day, by Mr Leslie.
Lady Jane Grey and Royer Ascham (834), by Mr. Horsley; The Queen of the Gypsies (916), by Mr. Poole; A Musical Reunion (835), by Mr. Horsley, and, finally, Balloon Game (955), by Mr. Webster, concluded the exhibition of Great Britain.

© Guide dans le Palais de l'Industrie et des Beaux-Arts 1855

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Galerie Anglaise



L'exposition anglaise offrait un intérêt tout particulier. Les artistes anglais professaient une grande indépendance dans leur art. Les principes, les règles purement artistiques qui dirigaient l'école française et la plupart des autres écoles d'Europe, semblaient avoir été complètement négligés par eux. Comme dessin, et surtout comme couleur, leurs œuvres laissaient en général beaucoup, sinon tout, à désirer. Mais une étude attentive faisait bientôt découvrir chez leurs principaux artistes un grand sentiment de la vérité, dans l'expression, dans le geste, et dans la composition. Leurs toiles étaient des tableaux parlants. Le peintre avait mis toute sa préoccupation, tout son talent, à faire dire quelque chose à son tableau. Nous, nous laissons à la charge, à la lithographie, les peintures de mœurs: Daumier, Cham, Nadar, qui ont beaucoup d'esprit, amusaient et intéressaient tout le monde ; mais des crayons du Charivari ou du Journal pour rire, ils ne faisaient pas des tableaux. Les Anglais avaient transporté dans la peinture ces boutades humoristique du croquis français, en y ajoutant la teinte positive de leur nature grave et calme. Ils avaient pris la charge au sérieux.
Leurs tableaux de genre, car c'était là où ils excellaient, étaient, du reste, exécutés avec une habileté et une conscience remarquables.
La Grande-Bretagne comptait 232 toiles, envoyées par cent artistes. Avec la France et la Belgique, c'était la nation la plus largement représentée dans le domaine de l'art. Tous les plus célèbres avaient concouru à soutenir la vieille gloire de l'Angleterre : Landseer, Leslie, Goodall, Mulready, O'Neil, Pyne, Roberts, Stanfield, Frost, Eastlake, Cooper, Chalon, Rankley, Salomon, Georges Lance, etc.
On estimait les œuvres envoyées à une valeur de 130,000 livres sterling, environ 3,250,000 francs; elles avaient été assurées par les compagnies anglaises, avant leur départ d'Angleterre.
Nous pénétrions dans la galerie anglaise en entrant par le portique qui donnait sur le vestibule de l'escalier conduisant à la galerie supérieure, à côté du buffet.
Nous commençions par visiter la muraille de gauche.
Nous rencontrions d'abord les Railleurs (921), de M. Rankley, de Londres, avec cette épigraphe tirée de Goldsmith : « Les sots, venus pour railler, restèrent à prier. » Nous remarquions ensuite l'Emotion d'Esther (905), par M. O'Neil; l'Intérieur de l'église Saint-Etienne, à Vienne (929), par M. Roberts ; la Coquette de village (853), par M. Georges Lance ; une toile représentant le Mariage de la reine Victoria (820), tableau officiel appartenant à la reine, par sir G. Hayter.
Landseer, l'illustre peintre d'animaux, dont les moindres toiles s'enlèvent, à Londres, pour 40 et 50,000 fr., débutait par un superbe tableau représentant les Animaux à la forge (858) ; puis venait des Singes brésiliens sur un ananas (856). Ces animaux, presque microscopiques , étaient exécutés avec une habileté et un goût parfaits.
Après M. Landseer, que nous allons retrouver bientôt, venait : Claudio et Isabella (841), par M. Hunt; Sancho Pança et la duchesse (871), un chef-d'œuvre de finesse et d'esprit de Leslie : l'expression de, bonhomie et de confiance de Sancho, le sang-froid un peu forcé de la duchesse, qui réprimait une violente envie de rire que le savoir-vivre retient, étaient exprimés avec un art parfait; Vieille histoire (944), par M. Stone, était une page philosophique très-intéressante; la Scène tirée du Vicaire de Wakefield (870), c'est-à-dire l'épisode de M. Burkell, par M. Leslie, était encore une chose charmante.
L'Epreuve du toucher (884), par M. Maclise; le Bal au bénéfice de la veuve (807), par M. Goodall, étaient aussi très-estimés.
M. Landseer offrait ensuite ses Chiens au coin du feu (863), dont les types étaient si vrais et si habilement rendus.
Nous rencontrions plus loin la Toque rouge (852), par M. G. Lance; un Baptême presbytérien (909), peinture de mœurs anglaises, par M. Phillip ; les Averses (774), par M. Creswick.
Le But (891), scène comique, un peu forcée peut-être, par M. Mulready ; le Choix d'une robe de noces (889); le Canon (897) ; Mettez un enfant dans la voie qu'il doit suivre (895), et la Discussion sur les principes du docteur Winston, tirée du Vicaire de Wake-field (896); le Frère, et la sœur (892); le Parc de Blackheath (890), étaient de charmantes toiles où M. Mulready a montré toute la souplesse d'un talent accompli, et justifié hautement la grande réputation dont il jouissait en Angleterre.
Nous nous trouvions ici en présence d'un petit chef-d'œuvre d'expression et d'esprit : l'Oncle Tobie et la veuve Wadman, sujet tiré de Tristram Shandy,Ac Sterne (869), par M. Leslie. La bonhomie naïvement spirituelle de l'oncle Tobie, qui ôtait sa pipe de la bouche pour souffler dans l'œil de la jeune et jolie veuve, forme un contraste charmant avec la coquetterie malicieuse de celle-ci.
Le Loup et l'agneau (893), par M. Mulready, était peut-être une des plus adorables créations de cet artiste. Comme ces deux enfants étaient bien anglais ! et comme le loup menaçant qui serre les poings et fronce le sourcil, tandis que le pauvre agneau cherche à couvrir sa tête avec son coude, représentait heureusement l'idée profonde de la fable de la Fontaine ! Comme exécution, ce tableau laissait peu à désirer ; comme esprit, c'était un chef-d'œuvre.
Dans un rang inférieur, quoique remarquables cependant, venaient maintenant quelques toiles dignes d'attirer l'attention; c'était : le Braconnier (864), par M. Lee; un Chœur d'église de village (956), par M. Webster; Ophelia (925), par M. Redgrave ; le Ravin des poètes (922), par le même ; la Morra (jeu italien), par M. Hurlstone.
Les artistes anglais ne brillaient pas autant dans leurs tableaux d'histoire; ils n'en avaient exposé qu'un petit nombre ; le genre était leur domaine : ils y régnaient en maîtres. La Bataille de Meeanee (739), par M. Armitage, en était la preuve. Le général sir Ch. Napier, à la tête de 2,500 hommes, remportait, le 17 février 1842, sur l'armée beloutchi, dix fois plus nombreuse, une victoire qui fit passer les provinces du Sindh sous la domination anglaise. Ce tableau, qui rappellait un triomphe national , appartenait à la reine Victoria.
La Fille du gentilhomme (924), par M. Redgrave, était un épisode mélancolique d'une touchante vérité.
Une Loge (818), et la Lecture du roman (817), par M. Hannah, étaient deux compositions qui se faisaient remarquer par une originalité tout anglaise.
Nous citerons maintenant : le Spartiate Isadas repoussant les Thébains (785); François de Carrare, seigneur de Padoue, échappant à la poursuite de Ga-leazzo Visconti, duc de Milan (788) ; les Pèlerins arrivant en vue de Rome (786), de M. Eastlake, qui étaient des toiles intéressantes, mais dans un autre genre. Les Chasseurs de daims en Ecosse (761), par M. Cooper ; Rouge et Noir (756), par M. Cooke ; l'Elève (816), par M. Gush ; le. Dernier appel (942), par M. Stone; une Scène tirée du Bourgeois gentilhomme de Molière (800), où l'esprit de notre grand comique était bien rendu, par M. Frith ; la Famille royale au Temple (954) ; une Veuve napolitaine, pleurant son enfant mort, s'abandonnait au désespoir en entendant les bruits joyeux du carnaval (950), par M. Uwins; et le Jugement de lord William Russel, en 1683 (821), par M. Hayter.
L'Ordre d'élargissement (886), par M. Millais, méritait une mention spéciale. On avait beaucoup discuté devant ce tableau, ce qui était déjà une preuve de son mérite.
La Remontrance (943), par M. Stone; le Rendez-vous de chasse d'Ascot et les équipages de Sa Majesté pour la chasse au cerf (814), par M. Grant ; John Knox cherchant à arrêter la violence du peuple exalté par sa prédication éloquente contre l'Eglise romaine, à Perth, en Ecosse (850), par M. Knigth ; la Présentation de Flora Macdonald au prince Charles-Edouard (845), par M. Johnston ; Henriette-Marie de France secourue dans l'infortune par le cardinal de Retz (790), rie M. Egg, étaient des œuvres d'intention et de styles différents, mais toutes également remarquables.
L'exposition anglaise étaient limitée par un paysage de M. Hùlme, représentant les Gorges de Ffos Noddyn, dans le pays de Galles (838). Nous allions donc traverser la galerie et reprendre, sur la muraille opposée, la série des tableaux anglais, en laissant derrière nous la reprise de l'école française.
Nous rencontrons d'abord deux charmantes toiles : un Episode des jours heureux de Charles Ier (808), par M. Goodall ; Brunetta et Phillis, sujet tiré du Spectateur 936), par M. Solomon; une Scène de controverse religieuse sous Louis XIV (794), par M. Elmore; les Deceptions des actionnaires de la Compagnie de la mer du Sud (953), par M. Ward ; l'Enfance et la vieillesse. (833), par M. Horsley; la Novice (796), par M. Elmore; un Ecrivain public à Séville (910), par M. Phillip; the Sanctuary ( 857 ), par sir E. Landseer.
Le Manoir du baron (883), fête de Noël dans le bon vieux temps, par Maclise, peint assez exactement les mœurs et usages d'autrefois. Le Canon du soir (777), par M. Danby, produisait un certain effet, malgré l'étrangeté et l'exagération du ton général adopté.
Puis venait la Recherche en mariage de Catherine (792), par M. Egg; Florence Cope avant dîner (766), par M. Cope; Serena, accablée, s'endort, et, à son réveil, se trouvait entourée d'anthropophages (752), par M. Chalon ; l'Arrivée du cardinal Wolsey à l'abbaye de Leicester (768), par M. Cope; Intérieur de l'église Saint-Etienne, à Vienne (929), par M. Roberts ; Métastase découvert par le savant Gravina, à Rome (881), par M. M'Innes.
M. Frith avait exposé une petite toile charmante qui représentait un pope russe essayant de faire la cour à lady Montagne (798), la femme si spirituelle de l'ambassadeur d'Angleterre à Constantinople, vers la fin du dix-huitième siècle. M. Egg avait reproduit la première rencontre, dans un cabaret où elle était servante, de la future impératrice de Russie, Catherine, et de Pierre le Grand (793).
On remarque, non loin de là, le Prévôt de Peterhead (810), par M. Gordon, d'Edimbourg; le Bélier à l'attache (862), par sir E. Landseer; une Vue de la Tamise, en aval de Greenwich (826), par M. Holland : Catherine et Petrucchio (868), par M. Leslie; Job et les messagers (917), par M. Poole ; Buckingham rebuté (791), par M. Egg; le Portrait de Paganini (907), par M. Patten.
Il nous restait maintenant peu de toiles à visiter dans la galerie anglaise, mais elles sont très-intéressantes: ce sont : le Déjeuner dans les montagnes d'Ecosse (860 ) Jack en faction (859); les Conducteurs de bestiaux dans les montagnes d'Ecosse (861), par sir E. Landseer:
Sa Majesté la reine Victoria recevant le saint sacrement le jour de son couronnement, par M. Leslie.
Lady Jane Grey et Royer Ascham (834), par M. Horsley; la Reine des bohémiennes (916), par M. Poole; une Réunion musicale (835), par M. Horsley, et, enfin, Jeu du ballon (955), par M. Webster, terminait l'exposition de la Grande-Bretagne.

© Guide dans le Palais de l'Industrie et des Beaux-Arts 1855