Back - List of Pavilions

Swiss Gallery -

Missing picture

Grand Duchy of Baden. - On leaving the Belgian salon, we turned left and entered the Swiss gallery, where we first found the exhibition of the Grand Duchy of Baden. 5 artists had sent 10 paintings. Among these artists, two were out of the line: one, whose fame had long been an accomplished fact, Mr. Winterhalter, who had exhibited, among the French painters, a portrait of the French emperor and two portraits of the empress; the other, Mr. Knaus, who was destined to obtain, this year, a great and above all very legitimate success.
Mr. Winterhalter had exhibited only one portrait (169) in this gallery.
Mr. Knaus had three paintings, all three of which were charming: Morning after a Village Feast (172); a Fire (171), and a Camp of Bohemians in a Forest (170). Mr. Knaus had long lived in Paris, as had Mr. Winterhalter; he is therefore, so to speak, a French painter. We were happy to be able to almost claim for our country an incipient celebrity and an undisputed talent.
United States of America. - Opposite the Grand Duchy of Baden was the exhibition of the United States of America. Unfortunately, America did not retain the superiority in the arts that its ever-improving industry and extensive trade assured it. 9 artists exhibited 36 paintings.
A Little Girl at the Fountain (721), by Mr. Hunt, a pupil of Mr. Couture; Franklin pleading the cause of the American colonies before Louis XVI, by Mr. Healy, of Boston (712), a large canvas recalling a very remarkable fact in our history; two Views of Niagara Falls, by Mr. Cranck, attracted attention. There was also a portrait painted on rubber by Mr. Healy; but it was only remarkable because it revealed a new appropriation of this interesting product.
Pontifical States - The Pontifical States were next to America. Rome was represented by a very small number of artists: 7 painters had exhibited 10 paintings.
Virgil and Dante (667), by M. Bompiani, of Rome: Eve frightened at the sight of the Serpent, which reminds her of her first fault (665), by M. Agnemi, of Rome; the Reconciliation of the Montague and Capulet families, in the presence of the corpses of their children (670), by M. Leighton, of Scarbro, were the principal works of this exhibition.
Switzerland. - We would walk through the Swiss exhibition starting from the right of the large entrance door to the centre. This exhibition was relatively large: 38 artists had exhibited 97 paintings.
The most important paintings were those of M. Gros-claude père, from the canton of Neufchâtel, but living in Paris. His works included the Little Milk Sisters (2059), the Soap Bubbles (2065), the Drinkers (2065), the Card Tapper (2063) and the Card Players (2068).
Next came: the Reposoir of the Capuchins of Albano (2093), by M. Van-Muyden, of Lausanne; a Fair in the Bernese Oberland (2054), by M. E. Girardin, of Neufchâtel; a Hunters' Halt in the Alps (2090), by M. Meuron, of Neufchâtel; Ruth (2087), by M. Lugardon, of Geneva; the Family of the Condottier (2077), by M. Hébert, of Geneva; the Oak and the Reed (2046), by M. Diday, of Geneva; and finally the Bouffée de fumée (2066), the Madeleine repentante (2058), and the Toast à la vendange de 1834 (2069), by M. Grosclaude, completed a gallery in which one regretted not seeing a man of talent, M. Calame, landscape painter, of Geneva, and one of our artistic illustrations, M. Gleyre, whom France claimed as its child, and whose masterpiece, le Soir, was exhibited at the Musée du Luxembourg.

© Guide dans le Palais de l'Industrie et des Beaux-Arts 1855

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Galerie Suisse



Grand-duché de Bade. — En sortant du salon belge, nous prenions à gauche et nous pénétrions dans la galerie suisse, où nous trouvions d'abord l'exposition du grand-duché de Bade. 5 artistes avaient envoyé 10 tableaux. Parmi ces artistes, deux étaient hors ligne : l'un, dont la célébrité était depuis longtemps un fait accompli, M. Win-terhalter, qui avait exposé, parmi les peintres français, un portrait de l'empereur des Français et deux portraits de l'impératrice; l'autre, M. Knaus, qui était appelé à obtenir, cette année, un grand et surtout très-légitime succès.
M. Winterhalter avait exposé seulement un portrait (169) dans cette galerie.
M. Knaus avait trois tableaux qui étaient charmants tous les trois : le Matin après une fête de village (172); un Incendie (171), et un Campement de bohémiens dans une forêt (170). M. Knaus habitait depuis longtemps Paris, ainsi que M. Winterhalter; c'est donc, pour ainsi dire, un peintre français. Nous étions heureux de pouvoir presque revendiquer pour notre pays une célébrité naissante et un talent incontesté.
Etals-Unis d'Amérique. — En face du grand-duché de Bade se trouvait l'exposition des Etats-Unis d'Amérique. Malheureusement, l'Amérique ne conservait pas dans les arts la supériorité que lui assuraient son industrie sans cesse en progrès et son commerce étendu. 9 artistes avaient exposé 36 tableaux.
Une Petite fille à la fontaine (721), par M. Hunt, élève de M. Couture; Franklin plaidant la cause des colonies américaines devant Louis XVI, par M. Healy, de Boston (712), grande toile rappelant un fait très remarquable de notre histoire ; deux Vues des chutes du Niagara, par M. Cranck, attiraient l'attention. Il y avait aussi un portrait peint sur caoutchouc par M. Healy; mais il n'était guère remarquable que parce qu'il révèlait une nouvelle appropriation de cet intéressant produit.
Etats Pontificaux.— Les États Pontificaux étaient à côté de l'Amérique. Rome était représentée par un fort petit nombre d'artistes : 7 peintres avaient exposé 10 tableaux.
Virgile et Dante (667), par M. Bompiani, de Rome : Eve effrayée à la vue du Serpent, qui lui rappelle sa première faute (665), par M. Agnemi, de Rome; la Réconciliation des familles Montaigu et Capulet, en présence des cadavres de leurs enfants (670), par M. Leighton, de Scarbro, étaient les principales œuvres de cette exposition.
Suisse. — Nous parcourrions l'exposition suisse en commençant par la droite de la grande porte d'entrée du centre. Cette exhibition était relativement considérable : 38 artistes avaient exposé 97 tableaux.
Les toiles les plus importantes étaient celles de M. Gros-claude père, du canton de Neufchâtel, mais résidant à Paris. On avait de lui les Petites sœurs de lait (2059), les Bulles de savon (2065), les Buveurs (2065), la Tireuse de cartes (2063), les Joueurs de cartes (2068).
Venait ensuite : le Reposoir des capucins d'Albano (2093), par M. Van-Muyden, de Lausanne; une Foire dans l'Oberland bernois (2054), par M. E. Girardin, de Neufchâtel ; une Halte de chasseurs dans les Alpes (2090), par M. Meuron, de Neufchâtel; Ruth (2087), par M. Lugardon, de Genève; la Famille du condottier (2077), par M. Hébert, de Genève; le Chene et le roseau (2046), par M. Diday, de Genève ; et enfin la Bouffée de fumée (2066), la Madeleine repentante (2058), et le Toast à la vendange de 1834 (2069), par M. Grosclaude, complètaient une galerie où l'on regrettait de ne point voir figurer un homme de talent, M. Calame, paysagiste, de Genève, et une de nos illustrations artistiques, M. Gleyre, que la France revendiquait pour son enfant, et dont un chef-d'œuvre, le Soir, était exposé au Musée du Luxembourg.

© Guide dans le Palais de l'Industrie et des Beaux-Arts 1855