Universal Exhibition of Agricultural, Industrial and Fine Arts Products - Paris 1855

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

May 15, 1855 - November 15, 1855


Back - List of Pavilions

Sardinia Gallery

manque image

Sardinian States. - The exhibition of the Sardinian States was in the gallery on the left as you enter. There were 18 artists who had painted 36 pictures.

The most important painting in this exhibition was by M. G. Ferri, of Bologna, a pupil of M. Delaroche. It represented a young wounded Soldier, sent back to his family, hearing the news of the death of his general, the ex-King of Sardinia, Charles-Albert, who died in Oporto (Portugal), on 28 July 1849, shortly after his abdication (1915). Mr. Giacomelli, from Venice, exhibited a painting with Portraits of the King of Sardinia Victor-Emmanuel, the Duke of Genoa, the Prince of Carignan and General la Marmora (1920); Mr. Gamba from Turin, a Storm on the coast of Porto-Venere, at the entrance to the Gulf of La Spezia (1917); Mr. Porroti from Turin, a View of Capri and the Gulf of Naples (1922)

Belgium. - Belgium was one of the best represented nations at the Exposition Universelle des Beaux-Arts; it maintained its ancient reputation honourably. The paintings sent were numerous, some of them very beautiful; 108 Belgian artists exhibited 206 paintings. Belgium started after Sardinia, in the same gallery.

We will quote the most remarkable works, following the order in which they were presented to visitors. First we found :
Le Lendemain du bal, by M. Ch. Wauters, of Antwerp ( 473); Godefroy de Bouillon à l'assaut de Jérusalem, en 1099, by M. Verlat, of Antwerp (460), belonging to the Belgian government; a Clair de lune, by M. Winter, of Antwerp (304).
Further on we find the Promenade, by Mr. Lies, of Antwerp (364), a rather valuable painting.

Next came: the Last farewell, by M.- De-groux, of West Flanders (284); the Siesta, by M. Alfred Stevens (411), one of the most distinguished painters in Belgium; Bread and Wine (395), by M. Robie, of Brussels; the Philosopher without knowing it, by Rabelais (418): it is a dog gnawing on a bone, by M. Joseph Stevens, the brother of M. Alfred Stevens, his brother also by talent. Mr. J. Stevens had exhibited, two years ago, a painting which had obtained a great success, of Dogs dragging a cart, loaded with sand, with this epigraph: "A dog's job. "It was last exhibited in the Belgian Salon. La Fête au château (369), by M. Madou, of Brussels; a Synagogue (435), by M. Van-Hove Hubert, of The Hague (Holland); Souvenir du château de Petersenne (291), by M. de Knyff, of Brussels; the New Lord (272), by the late Coulon, of Nivelles (Brabant), pupil of M. E. Isabey; the First White Hair (273), by the same artist; a View of the Beach of Blankenberghe (360), by M. Lehon, of Hainaut; the Dyke of Westcapelle on a Fair Day (308), by M. Dillens, of Ghent; this painting belongs to the King of the Belgians.

Mr. Ch. Wauters had sent a large canvas (471), representing the Reading of the death warrant pronounced against the baron of Montigny, at the castle of Simancas (Spain), by order of Philip II; it is a souvenir of the Spanish occupation. This painting had a very nice effect.

We found a souvenir of the Campine (borders of Holland), by M. de Knyff (290); a carriage leaving the quarries (432), by M. Van-der-Vin, of Ghent; a market in the Hague, with a night effect, by M. Van-Schendel, which the French pronounce vend chandelles, because this artist, of great merit, had the speciality of light effects.

Mr. J. Stevens had exhibited a charming canvas representing an Episode of the Paris Dog Market (413).

We now crossed the Sardinian gallery, to take up the Belgian school, on the opposite wall to the one we had just visited.

We found M. Van-Schendel, who painted a View of Rotterdam, with moon and light effect (448); M. Bossuet, from Ypres, a Souvenir du lac des Quatre-Cantons (399); then came a portrait of Mme Léontine Fay-Volnys, by M. Alexis Fay, her son-in-law, residing in Brussels (319); an Interior of a forest, by M. Kuyten-Brower, from Brussels (350); the Day of Saint Thomas (281), by M. de Brackeleer, of Antwerp, a painting belonging to the king of the Belgians; Adrien Villaert, of Bruges (341), having a mass in music of his own composition performed, the first, it is said, to have been done, a painting belonging to the Belgian government, by M. Hamman, of Ostend; a Landscape (322), by M. Fourmois, of Namur; a House of Charity at Malines (423), by M. Stroobant, of Brussels.

M. Verboeckhoven, the most famous animal painter in Belgium with M. Robbe, had exhibited a Bergerie campinoise (453), M. Portaels of Brussels, a pupil of M. Delaroche, had exhibited several paintings of great merit. He is an artist of serious talent, worthy in every respect of the reputation that his works have earned him. His exhibition this year attracted a lot of attention. The Caravan in Syria surprised by the simoun (385) was a very beautiful thing. Mr. Portaels saw what he painted. Next to this painting were two delightful figures: a Jewess from Asia Minor (389), a Young Woman from the vicinity of Trieste (388); the Suicide of Judas (384) was a dark and terrible drama, largely executed.

M. Daems, of Brussels, had represented to us a Hal-lebardier in 1040 (277); M. Dillens, a Tournament of Rings (306); the Good Mother (417), by M. J. Stevens, was next door; then we met a fine picture by M. Mathysen, of Antwerp, a highly esteemed painter, depicting the Court of Miracles, in Paris, during the middle ages. Coquillard (the false pilgrim) and Malingreux (the one who feigns ulcers) were notable. Mr. Mathysen had already obtained a great success at the Brussels Universal Exhibition in 1851 with a painting of the same kind, which was very well executed.

We will end this gallery with the Souvenir de la patrie, by Mr. Alfred Stevens, one of the first works of this artist, and it is not the least good.
We will turn left to enter the Belgian salon.

Some statues were exhibited in this gallery: we noticed, among others, a very beautiful bronze by Mr. E. Cabuchet (4264), representing Saint Vincent de Paul. In addition to an exact likeness, the artist had given this venerable pastor a happy expression of physiognomy.

If we follow this gallery to the end, we will encounter four sculptures that we will mention here. These were :
- Baron Larrey (4560), by M. Robinet, of Paris,
- Buffon (4355), by M. Dumont, of the Institute,
- Mahé de la Bourdonnais (4563), by Rochet,
- Hercules (4250), by M. Bonheur.

© Guide to the Palais de l'Industrie et des Beaux-Arts 1855

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Galerie Sarde



Etats Sardes. — L'exposition des États Sardes se trouvait dans la galerie à gauche en entrant. Elle comptait 18 artistes qui avaient composé 36 tableaux.
La toile la plus importante de cette exposition était due à M. G. Ferri, de Bologne, élève de M. Delaroche elle représentait un jeune Soldat blessé, renvoyé dans sa famille, apprenant la nouvelle de la mort de son général, l'ex-roi de Sardaigne, Charles-Albert, mort à Oporto (Portugal), le 28 juillet 1849, peu de temps après son abdication (1915). M. Giacomelli, de Venise, a exposé une toile où on remarquait les Portraits du roi de Sardaigne Victor-Emmanuel, du duc de Gènes, du prince de Carignan et du général la Marmora (1920);M. Gamba de Turin, une Tempête sur la côte de Porto-Venere, à l'entrée du golfe de la Spezia (1917); M. Porroti de Turin, une Vue de Capri et du golfe de Naples (1922).
Belgique. La Belgique était une des nations les mieux représentées à l'Exposition universelle des beaux-arts; elle soutenait honorablement son antique réputation. Les
toiles envoyées étaient nombreuses, quelques-unes étaient très-belles; 108 artistes belges avaient exposé 206 tableaux. La Belgique commencait à la suite de la Sardaigne, dans la même galerie.
Nous citerons les œuvres les plus remarquables, en suivant l'ordre dans lequel elles se présentaient aux visiteurs. Nous trouvions d'abord :
Le Lendemain du bal, par M. Ch. Wauters, d'Anvers ( 473); Godefroy de Bouillon à l'assaut de Jérusalem, en 1099, par M. Verlat, d'Anvers (460), appartenant au gouvernement belge; un Clair de lune, par M. Winter, d'Anvers (304).
Nous trouvons plus loin la Promenade, de M. Lies, d'Anvers (364), une toile assez estimée.
Venait ensuite : le Dernier adieu, par M.- De-groux, de la Flandre occidentale ( 284 ) ; la Sieste, par M. Alfred Stevens (411), un des peintres les plus distingués de la Belgique; le Pain et le Vin (395), par M. Robie, de Bruxelles; le Philosophe sans le savoir, de Rabelais (418) : c'est un chien rongeant un os, par M. Joseph Stevens, le frère de M. Alfred Stevens, son frère aussi par le talent. M. J. Stevens avait exposé, il y a deux ans, un tableau qui avait obtenu un grand succès, des Chiens traînant un chariot, chargé de sable, avec cette épigraphe : « Un métier de chien. » Il avait été exposé, en dernier lieu, dans le salon belge. La Fête au château (369), par M. Madou, de Bruxelles; une Synagogue (435), par M. Van-Hove Hubert, de la Haye (Hollande) ; Souvenir du château de Petersenne (291), par M. de Knyff, de Bruxelles; le Nouveau seigneur (272), par feu Coulon, de Nivelles (Brabant), élève de M. E, Isabey; le Premier cheveu blanc (273), par le même; une Vue de la plage de Blankenberghe (360), par M. Lehon, du Hainaut ; la Digue de Westcapelle un jour de kermesse (308), par M. Dillens, de Gand; ce tableau appartient au roi des Belges.
M. Ch. Wauters avait envoyé une grande toile (471), représentant la Lecture de l'arrêt de mort prononcé contre le baron de Montigny, au château de Simancas (Espagne), par ordre de Philippe II; c'est un souvenir
de l'occupation espagnole. Cette toile était d'un très-bel effet.
Nous retrouvions un souvenir de la Campine ( frontières de Hollande), de M. de Knyff (290) ; un Attelage sortant des carrières (432), par M. Van-der-Vin, de Gand; un Marché à la Haye, avec un effet de nuit, par M. Van-Schendel, que les Français prononcent vend chandelles, parce que cet artiste, d'un grand mérite du reste, avait la spécialité des effets de lumière.
M. J. Stevens avait exposé une toile charmante représentant un Episode du marché aux chiens de Paris (413).
Nous traversons maintenant la galerie sarde, pour reprendre l'école belge, sur la muraille opposée a celle que nous venions de parcourir.
Nous retrouvions M. Van-Schendel, qui a peint une Vue de Rotterdam, avec effet de lune et de lumière (448); M. Bossuet, d'Ypres, un Souvenir du lac des Quatre-Cantons (399); puis venait un portrait de Mme Léontine Fay-Volnys, par M. Alexis Fay, son gendre, résidant à Bruxelles (319); un Intérieur de forêt, par M. Kuyten-Brower, de Bruxelles (350); le Jour de Saint-Thomas (281), par M. de Brackeleer, d'Anvers, tableau appartenant au roi des Belges; Adrien Villaert, de Bruges (341), faisant exécuter une messe en musique de sa composition, la première, dit-on, qui ait été faite, tableau appartenant au gouvernement belge, par M. Hamman, d'Ostende ; un Paysage (322), par M. Fourmois, de Namur; une Maison de charité à Malines (423), par M. Stroobant, de, Bruxelles.
M. Verboeckhoven, le peintre d'animaux le plus célèbre de la Belgique avec M. Robbe, avait exposé une Bergerie campinoise (453). , .
M. Portaels, de Bruxelles, élève de M. Delaroche, avait exposé plusieurs toiles d'un grand mérite. C'est un artiste d'un talent sérieux, digne à tous égards de la réputation que ses œuvres lui ont acquise. Son exposition, cette année, avait beaucoup attiré l'attention. La Caravane en Syrie surprise par le simoun (385) était une fort belle chose. M. Portaels a vu ce qu'il a peint. A côté de ce tableau étaient deux ravissantes figures : une Juive de l'Asie Mineure (389), une Jeune femme des environs de Trieste (388) ; le Suicide de Judas (384) était un drame sombre et terrible, largement exécuté.
M. Daems, de Bruxelles, nous avait représenté un Hal-lebardier en 1040 (277); M. Dillens, un Tournoi de bagues (306); la Bonne mère (417), par M. J. Stevens, était à côté ; puis nous rencontrons un beau tableau par M. Mathysen, d'Anvers, peintre très-estimé, représentant la cour des Miracles, à Paris, pendant le moyen âge. On y remarquait Coquillard (le faux pèlerin) et Malingreux (celui qui simule des ulcères). M. Mathysen avait déjà obtenu un grand succès à l'exposition universelle de Bruxelles, en 1851, avec un tableau du même genre très-heureusement exécuté.
Nous terminerons cette galerie par le Souvenir de la patrie, de M. Alfred Stevens, une des premières œuvres de cet artiste, et ce n'est pas la moins bonne.
Nous allons tourner à gauche, pour entrer dans le salon belge.
Quelques statues étaient exposées dans cette galerie : nous remarquions, entre autres, un bronze fort beau de M. E. Cabuchet (4264), représentant Saint Vincent de Paul. Outre une ressemblance exacte, l'artiste avait su donner à ce vénérable pasteur une heureuse expression de physionomie.
En suivant cette galerie jusqu'au fond, on rencontrait plus tard quatre sculptures que nous allons gnaler dès à présent ; c'étaient ;
Le baron Larrey (4560), par M. Robinet, de Paris
Buffon (4355), par M. Dumont, de l'Institut;
Mahé de la Bourdonnais (4563), par Rochet;
Hercule (4250), par M. Bonheur.

© Guide dans le Palais de l'Industrie et des Beaux-Arts 1855