Back - List of Pavilions

Realization -

Realization at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1855
Architect(s) : François Alexis Cendrier

The beginnings of the Palais de l'Industrie were rather complex; entrusted to the architect Jean-Marie Victor Viel (1796 - 1863), the project proved to be long and costly; only the English company York et Cie offered to take charge of the construction, but on condition that they could modify the design. They then commissioned the architect François Alexis Cendrier (1803 - 1893) and the engineer Alexis Barrault (1812 - 1867) to study a new project and to direct the work. The contract was signed in December 1852 and the first stone was laid on 10 February 1853; on 1 May 1854, Cendrier left and Viel took his place, while the engineer Georges Bridel managed the construction workshop and the assembly of the cast iron and irons. This was the first public metal building of this scale in France, and the work of putting the structure in place had to be given to engineers specialised in the use of this material. However, it was the architect Henri Labrouste who first used a cast and wrought iron frame for the Sainte-Geneviève library (1843 - 1850), then Louis Auguste Boileau in Saint Eugène de Paris, in 1853 and for the first time in a church, used iron and cast iron and succeeded in multiplying the perspectives and giving an impression of amplitude by using Gothic forms with inventiveness. Viel's design consists of a rectangular main body flanked by six pavilions containing offices, staircases, etc.; the interior includes a large central hall 48 m wide and 192 m long, surrounded on all sides by a gallery 30 m wide. It is preserved in its main lines, but all the masonry is rejected outside, in order to make it independent of the metal construction, which does not rise at the same rate and does not react in the same way. All the interior supports, floors, roofs, are entirely metal and exposed, of great simplicity; the real feat compared to the Crystal Palace is the central span of 48 m, without any tie rods interrupting the space. Unfortunately, the entrance is from the side, and the visitor cannot enjoy the height and light of the great central vault. And the horizontal thrust of the large glazed roof must be countered by heavy lead buttresses, hidden by the pavilions...

Inaugurated on 15 May 1855, the palace was strongly criticised: "Oh, the heavy mass! Oh, the thick, unstylish and tasteless shell! What elegant profiles it should have presented to show itself in such a place! What lightness of appearance! ". The palace made 30,000 square metres of flowerbeds and plantations disappear in this great Marigny Square where people used to play paume and boules. Octave Mirbeau castigated: "The Palais de l'Industrie, which scandalizes the trees and flowers, in the middle of which it appears, with the grace of an ox treading on a bed of roses, destroys all this ambient gaiety, all this clear and invigorating space through which the triumphal avenue of the Champs-Élysées, unique in the world, opens". It is compared, of course, to the Crystal Palace: "The visitor who arrives with the idea of an open-air palace, a palace of crystal, would be very surprised, in front of this enormous mass, to recognise that the crystal is nothing other than carbonate of lime to which the common people give the name of stone... The Palais de l'Industrie is neither a work of which architecture can be proud, nor a construction of which the art of building should be proud.

The two large painted windows by Maréchal de Metz, which close off the building, produce very large variations in light and coloured rays that are detrimental to the appreciation of works of art, for example fabrics. Finally, the monumental figures tend to reduce the proportions of the nave. The heat was intolerable and, after unsuccessful attempts to install strong canvases outside - because no access to the glass roofs had been provided - they were installed inside, but the Palais remained a real greenhouse... After welcoming more than five million visitors, the Exhibition closed on 31 October, and the prizes were awarded on 15 November (cat. 4 ); until its demolition in 1897, in order to build the Grand and Petit Palais, it hosted all sorts of events, mainly the Salon, but it had become much too large, and many spaces were condemned. The Palais de l'industrie had disappointed Parisians, but it was the first building in France to use metal to cover such a vast space; it set the model for the great metal constructions of the Second Empire, which always combined a stone envelope, even a non-load-bearing one, with a metal structure. What Count Léon de Laborde predicted after the 1851 exhibition: "God forbid an architecture of crystal palaces and chicken cages made exclusively of metal. Let us be convinced that after an initial craze, iron architecture will become the exception, and stone architecture associated with metal, the rule (...) the true architecture of architects will always dominate the expedient architecture of engineers and gardeners... " .

After the Universal Exhibition, the palace was used as a conference centre and was demolished in 1899 to make way for the Grand and Petit Palais.

© Article written by Caroline Mathieu, chief curator at the Musée d'Orsay.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Réalisation


Réalisation à l'exposition de Paris 1855

Architecte(s) : François Alexis Cendrier

Les débuts du palais de l'Industrie sont assez complexes; confié à l'architecte Jean-Marie Victor Viel (1796 – 1863), le projet se révèle long à mener et coûteux; seule l'entreprise anglaise York et Cie propose de se charger de la construction, mais à condition de pouvoir en modifier le dessin. Elle charge alors l'architecte François Alexis Cendrier (1803 – 1893) et l'ingénieur Alexis Barrault (1812 – 1867) d'étudier un nouveau projet et de diriger les travaux. Le contrat est signé en décembre 1852 et la première pierre posée le 10 février 1853; le 1 er mai 1854, Cendrier s'en va et Viel reprend sa place, tandis que l'ingénieur Georges Bridel conduit l'atelier de construction et le montage des fontes et des fers . C'est qu'il s'agit du premier bâtiment métallique public de cette ampleur en France, et le travail de mise en place de la structure se doit d'être donné à des ingénieurs, spécialisés dans l'emploi de ce matériau. C'est cependant l'architecte Henri Labrouste qui, le premier, utilise une armature en fonte et fer forgé pour la bibliothèque Sainte-Geneviève (1843 – 1850), puis Louis Auguste Boileau à Saint Eugène de Paris, en 1853 et pour la première fois dans une église, emploie le fer et la fonte et réussit, en usant des formes gothiques avec inventivité, à multiplier les perspectives et à donner une impression d'amplitude. Le projet de Viel se compose d'un corps principal rectangulaire flanqué de six pavillons contenant bureaux, escaliers, etc.; l'intérieur comprend une grande salle centrale de 48 m de large sur 192 m de long, entourée de tous côtés par une galerie de 30 m de large. Il est conservé dans ses grandes lignes, mais toute la maçonnerie est rejetée à l'extérieur, afin de la rendre indépendante de la construction métallique, qui ne monte pas au même rythme et ne réagit pas de la même façon. Tous les supports intérieurs, les planchers, les combles, sont entièrement métalliques et apparents, d'une grande simplicité; le véritable exploit par rapport au Crystal Palace est la portée centrale de 48 m, sans qu'aucun tirant ne vienne interrompre l'espace. Malheureusement, l'entrée se fait latéralement, et le visiteur ne peut pas jouir de la hauteur et de la lumière de la grande voûte centrale. Et la poussée horizontale du grand comble vitré doit être contrebutée par de lourds contreforts en plomb, masqués par les pavillons...
Inauguré le 15 mai 1855, le palais est en proie à de vives critiques: « Oh! La lourde masse! Oh! L'épaisse enveloppe sans style et sans goût! Pour se montrer en pareil lieu, quels élégants profils il eût fallu présenter! Quelle légèreté d'aspect! ». Le palais a fait disparaître 30.000 m_ de parterres et de plantations dans ce grand Carré Marigny où l'on jouait à la paume et aux boules. Octave Mirbeau fustige: « Le Palais de l'Industrie, qui scandalise les arbres, les fleurs, au milieu desquels il apparaît, dans la grâce d'un boeuf foulant un parterre de roses, désole toute cette gaîté ambiante, tout ce clair et vivifiant espace par où s'ouvre la triomphale avenue des Champs-Élysées, unique au monde » . On le compare, bien sûr au Crystal Palace: « Le visiteur qui arriverait avec l’idée d’un palais à jour, d’un palais de cristal, serait fort étonné devant cette énorme masse, de reconnaître que le cristal n’est autre que du carbonate de chaux auquel le vulgaire donne le nom de pierre… Le Palais de l’Industrie n’est ni une œuvre dont l’architecture puisse se montrer fière, ni une construction dont l’art de bâtir doive s’enorgueillir »
Intensité lumineuse et chaleur extrême sont deux des graves points faibles du bâtiment; trop de fenêtres inutiles au premier étage, et pas assez au rez-de-chaussée… Les deux grandes verrières peintes de Maréchal de Metz, qui ferment le bâtiment, produisent de très importantes variations lumineuses et des rayons colorés qui nuisent à l'appréciation des œuvres, par exemple des tissus. Enfin, les figures monumentales tendent à rapetisser les proportions de la nef. La chaleur est intolérable et, après avoir vainement essayé de poser des toiles fortes à l'extérieur –car aucun accès aux toitures vitrées n'a été prévu-, on les pose à l'intérieur, mais le Palais reste une vraie serre… Après avoir accueilli plus de cinq millions de visiteurs, l'Exposition ferme ses portes le 31 octobre, et les prix sont remis le 15 novembre (cat.4); jusqu'à sa démolition en 1897, afin d'élever les Grand et Petit Palais, il accueille toutes sortes de manifestations, principalement le Salon mais il est devenu beaucoup trop grand, et nombre d'espaces sont condamnés. Le Palais de l'industrie avait déçu les Parisiens, mais il s'agit du premier bâtiment en France utilisant le métal pour couvrir un si vaste espace; il donne pour longtemps le modèle des grandes constructions métalliques du Second empire, qui associent toujours une enveloppe de pierre, même non porteuse, à une structure métallique. Ce qu’avait prédit, après l'exposition de 1851, le comte Léon de Laborde: « Dieu nous garde d'une architecture de palais de cristal et de cages à poulets exécutés exclusivement en métal. Persuadons-nous bien qu'après une première folie d'engouement, l'architecture en fer deviendra l'exception, et l'architecture en pierre associée au métal, la règle (...) la véritable architecture des architectes dominera toujours l'architecture d'expédients des ingénieurs et des jardiniers... »

Après l'exposition universelle, le palais servit de palais des congrès et sera détruit en 1899 pour laisser place au Grand et Petit Palais.

© Article rédigé par Caroline Mathieu, conservateur en chef au musée d'Orsay.