Expo 2005 World Exposition - Aichi 2005

Wisdom and nature

March 25, 2005 - September 25, 2005


Back - List of Pavilions

Gas pavilion

As you pass through the North Entrance into the Nagakutee Area of EXPO 2005 Aichi, Japan, you will see the Gas Pavilion directly on your left. It is a beautiful pavilion covered with wood grain.

The shape of the pavilion is enhanced by a long series of pillars forming a rhythmic ellipse, and a gently sloping white staircase that encircles the entire building. The pavilion was designed not only to be barrier-free, but also to have a "piloti" structure on the ground floor (a roofed area supported by stilts), a spacious covered and open area where visitors can wait comfortably to enter the pavilion on rainy or hot days.

The pavilion is presented by the Federation of Gas Companies of Japan, which includes some 230 city gas companies throughout Japan. The basic theme of the pavilion is "Dream Energy for People and the Planet". The focus will be on the diversity and possibilities of natural gas, a clean energy source whose increasing use is hoped to be spread globally as an energy that does not harm people or the Earth.


The main show is the "Magic Flame Theatre", a show that combines real flames, special effects, videos and live performances by actors. In the main theatre, famous actors Masahiko Tsugawa and Arata Furuta will appear on screen as magicians, while young actors will serve as their disciples on the real stage. They will perform a humorous show, exchanging words with visitors to the pavilion. The magic formula will be "Flint, fire, foo! A curious magic begins with this incantation. At the climax, a flaming magic using real natural gas flames will be presented, showing the smoothness of the flames and their energy efficiency. The show lasts about 12 minutes, and 3 sessions are scheduled per hour.


The exhibition hall, whose keyword is "mysterious gas", will present state-of-the-art technologies and information about gas as an energy source, with a focus on natural gas. The central element of the exhibition will be "burning ice", or hydrolat methane, which is attracting a lot of attention as an energy source for future generations. It is said that the sea around Japan alone contains a reserve of methane hydrate sufficient to satisfy Japan's natural gas consumption for about 100 years. Methane hydrate, which looks like ice, will be actually burned in demonstrations. Other exhibits will include fuel cells for domestic use, producing electricity through gas, and gas air conditioners that burn gas to cool the air. They will be presented in a funny and easy-to-understand way.

The Gas Pavilion will be the only private pavilion that will open its roof terrace with a panoramic view to the public. From the terrace, which is decorated with all kinds of plants, visitors will be able to see the EXPO Plaza and the Global Loop and enjoy the abundant nature and festivities of the EXPO.

For more information, please visit the Gas Pavilion webpage
(http://www.gas.or.jp/english/gas-pavilion.html)

© Japan Association for the 2005 World Exposition

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Pavillon du gaz


En passant par l’Entrée Nord pour pénétrer dans l’Aire de Nagakuté de l’EXPO 2005 Aichi, Japon, vous apercevrez le Pavillon du gaz directement sur votre gauche. C’est un magnifique pavillon recouvert de bois veiné.

La forme du pavillon est mise en valeur par une longue série de piliers formant une ellipse rythmique, et un escalier blanc à pente douce qui encercle tout le bâtiment. Celui-ci a été conçu non seulement de façon à être accessible aux handicapés (barrier-free), mais comporte aussi au rez-de-chaussée, une structure « piloti » (espace couvert d’un toit soutenu par des pilotis) un endroit spacieux couvert et ouvert, où les visiteurs pourront attendre confortablement de pouvoir entrer dans le pavillon les jours de pluie ou de grandes chaleurs.

Ce pavillon est présenté par la Fédération des entreprises du gaz du Japon, qui comprend quelque 230 entreprises de gaz de ville dans tout le Japon. Le thème de base du pavillon est « Une énergie de rêve, pour l'homme et pour la planète ». L’accent sera mis sur la diversité et les possibilités du gaz naturel, une source d’énergie propre dont on espère que l’utilisation grandissante sera diffusée mondialement comme une énergie qui ne nuit ni aux gens ni à la Terre.


Le spectacle principal est le « théâtre magique de la Flamme », un spectacle qui combine flammes réelles, effets spéciaux, vidéos et performances en direct d’acteurs. Dans le théâtre principal, les célèbres acteurs Masahiko Tsugawa et Arata Furuta apparaîtront à l’écran dans des rôles de magiciens, alors que de jeunes comédiens leur serviront de disciples sur la scène réelle. Ils exécuteront un spectacle plein d’humour, en échangeant des propos avec les visiteurs du pavillon. La formule magique sera « Flint, fire, foo ! (pierre à feu, feu, foo !) » Une curieuse magie commence avec cette incantation. Au point culminant, une magie flamboyante utilisant des flammes réelles de gaz naturel sera présentée, montrant la douceur des flammes et leur efficacité énergétique. Le spectacle dure environ 12 minutes, et 3 séances sont prévues par heure.


Le hall d’exposition dont le mot-clé est « gaz mystérieux », présentera des technologies de pointe et des informations sur le gaz en tant qu’énergie, avec un gros plan sur le gaz naturel. L’élément central de l’exposition sera « la glace qui brûle », ou hydrolat méthane, qui attire fortement l’attention en tant que source d’énergie des générations futures. On dit que la mer qui entoure le Japon, à elle seule, contient une réserve d’hydrate de méthane suffisante pour satisfaire la consommation de gaz naturel du Japon pendant environ 100 ans. De l’hydrate de méthane, qui ressemble à de la glace, sera réellement brûlé lors de démonstrations. D’autres objets seront exposés dont des piles à combustible à usage domestique, produisant de l’électricité par le biais du gaz, ou encore des climatiseurs au gaz brûlant du gaz pour rafraîchir l’air. Ils seront présentés d’une façon drôle et facile à comprendre.

Le Pavillon du gaz sera le seul Pavillon privé qui ouvrira au public son toit-terrasse à la vue panoramique. Les visiteurs pourront à partir de cette terrasse agrémentée toutes sortes de plantes, voir l’EXPO Plaza et le Global Loop (Boucle du Monde) et jouir de la nature abondante et des festivités de l’EXPO.

Pour plus d’informations, veuillez consulter la page Web du Pavillon du gaz
(http://www.gas.or.jp/english/gas-pavilion.html)

© Japan Association for the 2005 World Exposition