Back - List of Pavilions

Hitachi Group Pavilion - Expo Aichi 2005

At the entrance to Private Pavilion Area B near the North Entrance, visitors will immediately notice a pavilion with a section that appears to have been cut out and through which water is flowing like a waterfall in a gorge. This is the "Encounter with Nature - Ubiquitous Entertainment Journey at the Hitachi Group Pavilion". The theme of this pavilion is "Encounter with Nature - Encounter with Endangered Species, Visually Reproduced by Hitachi IT Technologies".

Ubiquitous technology refers to technology that allows access to images and information services anywhere and anytime. At the Hitachi Group Pavilion, state-of-the-art ubiquitous technologies - including personal information viewing techniques and image processing computer technology - are used to bring rare endangered species to life, giving visitors the opportunity to encounter rare animals. Another feature of the pavilion is that it offers various services coupled with the 0.4 mm square µ-chip (miniaturised IC chip) integrated into all EXPO 2005 entrance tickets, giving each ticket a unique identification code.


Visitors to the Hitachi Group Pavilion first present their entry ticket at the counter and register their name and photo, and then are given a Nature Viewer information terminal. The Nature Viewer is a terminal that contains Hitachi Group's advanced technologies: a fuel cell for mobile devices, a "mini iVDR", which is a compact high-capacity hard disk drive (HDD) and a µ-chip reader. Weighing about 600g, the Nature Viewer operates in four languages: Japanese, English, Korean and Chinese.

Visitors then pass through the Pre-Show Area where 42 rare and endangered animals, such as the hawksbill turtle and the black rhinoceros, are displayed. By approaching the Nature Viewer, which can be worn around the neck near the integrated µ-chip access point, the rare animal's ID is read by the computer terminal. This allows images, photos and other data to be viewed anywhere and anytime.


Then comes the main show. It is a 16-seater vehicle that travels through five environmental zones, including a jungle, a savannah and the ocean. In each zone, visitors can interact with rare animals using state-of-the-art Mixed Reality (MR) imaging technology. It includes dioramas that realistically recreate the habitats of rare animals integrated with 3D computer graphics.

When visitors board the vehicle, they look through a type of binocular, the AdventureScope, and wear a sensor on their right hand that is used to communicate interactively with the rare animals.

When the Ubiquitous Entertainment Journey begins, Dr. Owl, the show's guide, appears in front of the visitors and surprises them by suddenly calling their names to welcome them to the journey. In the jungle area, the visitors throw a number of virtual bananas they find in their right hand to the monkeys; the primates approach and pick them up. A huge Orinoco crocodile suddenly appears close to the visitors with its mouth open, causing some people to shout in surprise. In the savannah area, a black rhinoceros irritated by the sound of the vehicle's horn starts charging at the visitors. During the ocean journey, visitors can take their time to observe a giant mantis and dolphins. They can place an approaching sea turtle on the palm of their hand and turn it as they wish. No doubt many will want to prevent the extinction of such animals at all costs. At the end of the journey, visitors will still be surprised to see themselves surrounded by animals in a photo projected in front of them.

The final attraction of the pavilion is the Post-show. By holding their EXPO 2005 admission ticket in front of a device, visitors will be called by name and will be able to see the photo they saw earlier on the screen. They will be able to see it again even after they have returned home. To do so, they simply access the Hitachi Group Pavilion website and enter the serial number from their EXPO 2005 ticket and the date they visited the pavilion. The commemorative photo will be visible at any time during EXPO 2005 from the day they visit the pavilion. The Hitachi Group Pavilion is truly a remarkable and satisfying pavilion.

© Japan Association for the 2005 World Exposition

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Pavillon du Groupe Hitachi


A l’entrée de la Zone des pavillons privés B proche de l’Entrée Nord, les visiteurs remarqueront immédiatement un pavillon dont une partie semble avoir été découpée et à travers laquelle s’écoule de l’eau comme une cascade dans une gorge. C’est la « Rencontre avec la nature – Voyage de divertissement ubiquiste au Pavillon du Groupe Hitachi ». Le thème de ce pavillon est « Rencontre avec la nature – Rencontre avec les espèces en danger de disparition, reproduites visuellement grâce aux technologies IT de Hitachi ».

La technologie ubiquiste se réfère à une technologie qui permet d’accéder à des images et des services d’information en tout lieu et à tout moment. Au Pavillon du Groupe Hitachi, des technologies ubiquistes de pointe – incluant des techniques de visionnage d’information personnelle et de la technologie informatique de traitement de l’image – sont utilisées pour faire revivre des espèces rares en voie de disparition, donnant ainsi aux visiteurs l’occasion d’une rencontre avec des animaux rares. Une autre caractéristique de ce pavillon est qu’il offre divers services couplés avec la µ-puce de 0,4 mm carré (puce CI miniaturisée) intégrée à tous les tickets d’entrée de l’EXPO 2005, donnant à chaque ticket un code identifiant unique.


Les visiteurs du Pavillon du Groupe Hitachi présentent d’abord leur ticket d’entrée au comptoir et enregistrent leurs noms et photos, puis un terminal d’information Nature Viewer (Visionneuse de la nature) leur est remis. Le Nature Viewer est un terminal qui contient des technologies de pointe du Groupe Hitachi : une cellule à combustible pour dispositifs mobiles, un « mini iVDR », qui est un disque dur haute capacité compact HDD et un lecteur de µ-puce. Pesant environ 600g, le Nature Viewer fonctionne en quatre langues : japonais, anglais, coréen et chinois.

Les visiteurs passent alors dans la Zone du Pré-show où sont présentés 42 animaux rares en voie de disparition, comme la tortue à écaille et le rhinocéros noir. En approchant le Nature Viewer qui peut se porter autour du cou, près du point d’accès à µ-puce intégrée, l’identifiant de l’animal rare est lu par le terminal informatique. Cela permet de voir des images, photos et autres données partout et à tout moment.


Ensuite vient le Show principal. C’est un véhicule à 16 places qui traverse cinq zones environnementales, y compris une jungle, une savane et l’océan. Dans chaque zone, les visiteurs peuvent communiquer de façon interactive avec des animaux rares grâce à la technique d’imagerie de pointe Mixed Reality (MR). Elle comprend des dioramas qui recréent de manière réaliste les habitats des animaux rares intégrés à des images de synthèse 3D.

Quand les visiteurs montent dans le véhicule, ils regardent à travers une sorte de jumelles, l’AdventureScope, et portent un capteur à leur main droite qui sert à communiquer de façon interactive avec les animaux rares.

Quand le Voyage de divertissement ubiquiste commence, Dr. Hibou, le guide du spectacle apparaît face aux visiteurs et les surprend en les appelant soudainement par leur nom pour les accueillir dans ce voyage. Dans la zone de la jungle, les visiteurs jettent aux singes une quantité de bananes virtuelles qu’ils trouvent dans leur main droite ; les primates s’approchent et les ramassent. Un énorme crocodile Orinoco apparaît subitement tout près des visiteurs la gueule ouverte, provoquant chez certaines personnes des cris de surprise. Dans la zone de la savane, un rhinocéros noir irrité par le bruit du klaxon du véhicule se met à charger les visiteurs. Au cours du voyage dans l’océan, les visiteurs pourront prendre leur temps pour observer une mante géante et des dauphins. Ils pourront placer sur la paume de leur main, une tortue de mer qui s’approche et la tourner à leur guise. Sans doute, beaucoup voudront empêcher à tout prix l’extinction de tels animaux. A la fin du voyage, les visiteurs seront encore surpris de se voir entouré d’animaux sur une photo projetée en face d’eux.

La dernière attraction du pavillon est le Post-show. En tenant leur ticket d’admission EXPO 2005 devant un dispositif, les visiteurs seront appelés par leur nom et ils pourront voir la photo qu’ils ont vue plus tôt sur l’écran. Ils pourront la revoir même après être rentré chez eux. Pour cela, il leur suffira d’accéder au site Web du Pavillon du Groupe Hitachi et d’entrer le numéro de série indiqué sur le ticket d’entrée de l’EXPO 2005 et la date de leur visite au pavillon. La photo commémorative sera visible à tout moment pendant l’EXPO 2005 à partir du jour de leur visite au pavillon. Le Pavillon du Groupe Hitachi est vraiment un pavillon remarquable procurant une grande satisfaction.

© Japan Association for the 2005 World Exposition