Back - List of Pavilions

The Earth Tower of Nagoya City -

"The Earth Tower, one of the tallest pavilions at EXPO 2005 Aichi, Japan, is an eye-catching structure located towards the centre of the Nagakute Area. It is exhibited by the city of Nagoya, the capital of Aichi Prefecture.

Visitors to the Earth Tower will be able to enjoy unexpected artistic performances by nature through light, wind and water.

The tower itself is the largest kaleidoscope in the world. Reaching 47 metres in height, it is shaped like a triangular pyramid with the tip cut at an angle. The sloping glass ceiling forms an isosceles triangle. It faces south to allow maximum light into the pavilion. The rays pass through three discs containing coloured oil and then hit mirrors on the walls, creating giant kaleidoscopic spherical images about 40 metres in diameter. From the viewing area on the first floor, visitors look up to see a fantastic and mystical world created by the sun's rays.

Pleasant tones resound in the tower. These are original melodies created by the wind through a series of "Sound Forms", a musical instrument that has its own musical range. Three handmade Sound Shapes have been set up. Each is approximately 8 metres high, with a windmill at the top playing a xylophone/metallophone-like musical instrument underneath. A different musical arrangement is created depending on the strength of the winds, which change according to the season and time of day. The Sound Forms play an infinite number of harmonies according to the whim of the wind, to relax the visitors.


An Aqua-wall, formed by water cascading from the top, pleasantly envelops the tower. The uneven surface of the outer walls causes the water to jump, creating a variety of random patterns.

When night falls, the lanterns surrounding the Earth Tower light up. Approximately two metres high, they are wrapped in some 2,000 paper cut-outs created by the citizens. The shimmering light of the lanterns adds a wonderful touch to the atmosphere of the tower, inviting visitors into a steamy world.


Fumiya Fujii, a famous Japanese musician and computer artist, is the general producer of the pavilion. He says that he wanted to make The Earth Tower a pavilion that would bring well-being and softness into the hearts of visitors.

We hope that visitors will appreciate the kindness of people (paper-cut lanterns) as well as the soothing powers of nature manifested through the performances of the three elements of light (Kaleidoscope), wind (Sound Forms) and water (Aqua-wall).

© Japan Association for the 2005 World Exposition

Retour - Liste Pavillons

La Tour de la Terre de la ville de Nagoya


« La Tour de la Terre », l’un des pavillons les plus hauts de l’EXPO 2005 Aichi, Japon, est une structure qui attire le regard, située vers le centre de l‘Aire de Nagakuté. Elle est exposée par la ville de Nagoya, la capitale du Département d’Aichi.

Les visiteurs de La Tour de la Terre pourront apprécier des performances artistiques inattendues, exécutées par la nature par le biais de la lumière, du vent et de l’eau.

La tour elle-même est le plus grand kaléidoscope du monde. Atteignant 47 mètres de hauteur, elle a la forme d’une pyramide triangulaire dont la pointe est coupée en biais. Le plafond incliné, en verre, forme un triangle isocèle. Il est orienté plein sud pour qu’un maximum de lumière pénètre dans le pavillon. Les rayons passent à travers trois disques contenant de l’huile colorée, puis touchent des miroirs sur les murs, créant ainsi des images sphériques géantes kaléidoscopiques d’environ 40 mètres de diamètre. De l’espace de visionnage du premier étage, les visiteurs voient en levant les yeux un monde fantastique et mystique créé par les rayons solaires.

Des tonalités agréables retentissent dans la tour. Ce sont mélodies originales créées par le vent à travers une série de « Formes sonores », un instrument de musique qui a sa propre gamme musicale. Trois Formes sonores faites main ont été mises en place. Chacune fait environ 8 mètres de hauteur, avec un moulin à vent au sommet jouant dessous d’un instrument de musique ressemblant à un xylophone/métallophone. Un arrangement musical différent est créé en fonction de la force des vents qui change selon la saison et l’heure. Les Formes sonores jouent un nombre infini d’harmonies selon la fantaisie du vent, pour détendre les visiteurs.


Un Aqua-wall (mur d’eau), formé d’eau tombant en cascade du sommet, enveloppe agréablement la tour. Les inégalités de la surface des murs extérieurs font sauter l’eau, créant une variété des motifs aléatoires.

Quand la nuit tombe, les lanternes qui entourent La Tour de la Terre s’allument. D’une hauteur de deux mètres environ, elles sont enveloppées de quelque 2000 découpages en papier créés par les citoyens. La lumière miroitante des lanternes ajoute une touche merveilleuse à l’atmosphère de la tour qui invite les visiteurs dans un univers vaporeux.


Fumiya Fujii, célèbre musicien et artiste infographe japonais, est le producteur général de ce pavillon. Il dit qu’il voulait faire de La Tour de la Terre un pavillon qui suscite le bien-être et la douceur dans le cœur des visiteurs.

Nous espérons que les visiteurs sauront apprécier la gentillesse des gens (lanternes faites de découpage en papier) aussi bien que les pouvoirs apaisants de la nature se manifestant à travers les performances des trois éléments que sont la lumière (le kaléidoscope), le vent (Formes sonores) et l’eau (Aqua-wall).

© Japan Association for the 2005 World Exposition